angpow vs no angpow
TSBLKH3
Feb 9 2020, 01:20 AM, updated 6y ago
This will trigger a lot but I don't care. this needs to be expressed to low yat people. Those who get triggered are those who ate chilli anyway and therefore deserve the following reminder.
Inviting people to your wedding dinner in the hopes of your guests paying you enough angpow to cover the cost of the dinner or heaven forbid, earn a profit is tacky. Reason 1) if you are not in the financial position to have a wedding, you should not have it in the first place. 2) the purpose of wedding celebration/dinner is to hold a party to you know... celebrate a union, not to a business transaction. 3) if you have the intention to have your guest pay for their dinner, you need to evaluate your character. 4) any angpow to be given should be voluntary and not just because the guest feels the need to cover his meal. 5) have a bit of compassion and think about the guest who can't pay but want to celebrate with you.
Come to me with your pitchforks!
xDingx
Apr 8 2020, 11:50 AM
I am totally agreed with you on everything you mentioned!
I always think that it is your wedding, and you decided to "invite" people to your wedding dinner to celebrate for you and give you bessing. You are INVITING them and it is your own fxxking wedding, so please dont expect people to pay you back to cover the cost! If you want people to pay for the dinner, write clearly in your invitation card that the dinner is on their own cost!
Most of the Chinese even recorded how much ang pao money each guest paid, why the hell is that for? So if a guest pay you less, you going to pay them lesser next time? or totally unfriend that person? This is seriously so ridiculous.
This post has been edited by xDingx: Apr 8 2020, 11:52 AM
brinastar P
Apr 9 2020, 10:38 AM
100% agreee
fu'house
Apr 11 2020, 01:44 PM
Depends. Some people like to earn back or over profit. Some are generous say not needed all paid for.
Up to you. Up to other people. However covid season now till future, less people will gather for weddings. Which means less angpow.
Who knows, stream online and gaining online transactions will be the new way.
stchoong
Apr 15 2020, 03:44 PM

Yes, do agree too.
The guest already spending their time, petrol, attired, make up and what so ever to attend your wedding, they did not even ask for compensation also.
Their presence is the best gift from guest, ang pau is additional gift as a wish. But yet the market nowadays is worst, guest ang pau have to AT LEAST equivalent value to the meal
kokwei1125
Apr 16 2020, 09:15 AM

100% agree.
I always think that you must always have that amount of money and assume its a zero return before planning a wedding banquet
precept66
Apr 18 2020, 05:24 PM
Wedding expenditure shall always be considered expenses out. To expect returns of any quantum to justify expenses out will only bring misery to a happy occasion. Marriage means lots more than just money out and saving faces gestures.  But seldom people do these days.
IMF2025
Apr 23 2020, 11:52 PM

I’m not paying for your luxury wedding. Wanna show off but got no money puiii
lizjanson90
Apr 29 2020, 10:25 AM
During my wedding about 2 years ago.. I let my guests know it is not needed to write their name on the angbao if they wish to give. Whatever amount is appreciated, what is most important is their presence and time. My ji mui x need to record or write down who gives what.. just accept and put it aside in a box and that's it. More focus on giving guests the doorgifts and be ready to makan frm buffet selection. Honestly, me and hubby x expect anything as we kept it to a simple small affair. We both had prepared financially for it. Guests are not there to fund your wedding but to celebrate and capture beautiful memories together.
jyll92
Apr 29 2020, 10:38 AM

QUOTE(xDingx @ Apr 8 2020, 11:50 AM) I am totally agreed with you on everything you mentioned! I always think that it is your wedding, and you decided to "invite" people to your wedding dinner to celebrate for you and give you bessing. You are INVITING them and it is your own fxxking wedding, so please dont expect people to pay you back to cover the cost! If you want people to pay for the dinner, write clearly in your invitation card that the dinner is on their own cost! Most of the Chinese even recorded how much ang pao money each guest paid, why the hell is that for? So if a guest pay you less, you going to pay them lesser next time? or totally unfriend that person? This is seriously so ridiculous. Its for maximum return. this is what i hate about being a typical chinese everything revolves around money. i was having a hell load of stress during my wedding but i cant argue with my parents or my wife parents. my dad has to pay deposit of 50k. i dont have that much of money so i have to rely on him on the restaurant deposit. i didnt pick the restaurant so i dont have power to say anything. reason being i have already spent a lot on other things and to prepare for my wife pregnancy. i have to intentionally find people i dont wish to invite just to feel my dad's ego cause he invited like 50 tables and give my wife and i 35 tables to fill. thats like 350 ppl leh and this is only the issue with my dad. with her dad also got issue also revolve around money. so i learn my lesson the hard way, plan the wedding yourself minimize your family or her family help. if u dont have money just do a vacay wedding and invite your close friends. no need to show off in the end of the day nobody cares
jyll92
Apr 29 2020, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(xDingx @ Apr 8 2020, 11:50 AM) I am totally agreed with you on everything you mentioned! I always think that it is your wedding, and you decided to "invite" people to your wedding dinner to celebrate for you and give you bessing. You are INVITING them and it is your own fxxking wedding, so please dont expect people to pay you back to cover the cost! If you want people to pay for the dinner, write clearly in your invitation card that the dinner is on their own cost! Most of the Chinese even recorded how much ang pao money each guest paid, why the hell is that for? So if a guest pay you less, you going to pay them lesser next time? or totally unfriend that person? This is seriously so ridiculous. Its for maximum return. this is what i hate about being a typical chinese everything revolves around money. i was having a hell load of stress during my wedding but i cant argue with my parents or my wife parents. my dad has to pay deposit of 50k. i dont have that much of money so i have to rely on him on the restaurant deposit. i didnt pick the restaurant so i dont have power to say anything. reason being i have already spent a lot on other things and to prepare for my wife pregnancy. i have to intentionally find people i dont wish to invite just to feel my dad's ego cause he invited like 50 tables and give my wife and i 35 tables to fill. thats like 350 ppl leh and this is only the issue with my dad. with her dad also got issue also revolve around money. so i learn my lesson the hard way, plan the wedding yourself minimize your family or her family help. if u dont have money just do a vacay wedding and invite your close friends. no need to show off in the end of the day nobody cares