Which area do you think is good to invest?, Cheras,Setapak,Bukit Jalil,PJ

TSjcvstlys
post Jul 17 2007, 05:21 PM, updated 18y ago

1,655 posts

Come on! Vote now and give ur opinions on why you choose the area. rclxms.gifeuro

This post has been edited by jcvstlys: Jul 17 2007, 05:21 PM
yewkhuay
post Jul 17 2007, 05:48 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

given u my vote...
TSjcvstlys
post Jul 17 2007, 06:19 PM

1,655 posts

seems like a lot think PJ is good to invest. yewkhuay, u chose setapak or PJ? for me, i think PJ is going to reach its peak soon. so the property will appreciate slowly over time.
yewkhuay
post Jul 17 2007, 06:23 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Jul 17 2007, 06:19 PM)
seems like a lot think PJ is good to invest. yewkhuay, u chose setapak or PJ? for me, i think PJ is going to reach its peak soon. so the property will appreciate slowly over time.
low budget, go setapak, higher budget, go PJ , big budget , KL centre.
hackwire
post Jul 17 2007, 09:49 PM

4,256 posts

is setapak nice to live or not? places like this seem alien to me. can anyone describe this place to me? does the environment similar to Kepong or Sg buloh or balakong?
scorgio
post Jul 17 2007, 09:56 PM

4,695 posts

I chose Bkt Jalil.
If u noticed, the development locomotive is moving south, towards the airport.
5 years ago, if you take NSE from KL to S'ban, mostly rubber & oil palm estate. Now other than the stretch fr Nilai to S'ban, all are housing development.

Back to Bkt Jalil, the location is quite strategic. About 10 minutes drive away fr KL city centre, PJ, Puchong, Subang Jaya. Also surrounded by highways. Ammenities around considered above average.
hackwire
post Jul 17 2007, 10:05 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Jul 17 2007, 09:56 PM)
I chose Bkt Jalil.
If u noticed, the development locomotive is moving south, towards the airport.
5 years ago, if you take NSE from KL to S'ban, mostly rubber & oil palm estate. Now other than the stretch fr Nilai to S'ban, all are housing development.

Back to Bkt Jalil, the location is quite strategic. About 10 minutes drive away fr KL city centre, PJ, Puchong, Subang Jaya. Also surrounded by highways. Ammenities around considered above average.
are u sure its 10 minutes drive? i got to try it. but impossible lah driving to KL for 10 minutes only.
yewkhuay
post Jul 17 2007, 10:11 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jul 17 2007, 10:05 PM)
are u sure its 10 minutes drive? i got to try it. but impossible lah driving to KL for 10 minutes only.
bukit jalil to KLCC 10mins is possible, looking at the distance of +-10km only.
TSjcvstlys
post Jul 17 2007, 11:11 PM

1,655 posts

ya. bukit jalil to KL is very near only. for me, setapak isnt a nice place to live.(for wangsa maju) other area not sure. because the place looks dirty. you should look at the mice's size but there is a lot of food there.
yewkhuay
post Jul 17 2007, 11:14 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Jul 17 2007, 11:11 PM)
ya. bukit jalil to KL is very near only. for me, setapak isnt a nice place to live.(for wangsa maju) other area not sure. because the place looks dirty. you should look at the mice's size but there is a lot of food there.
u ask for Investment ma...not a residence place ...setapak condo/aprtment can fetch good rental , thanks to TARC, UKM , Putra wangsamaju, STAR Titiwangsa and monorail..
TSjcvstlys
post Jul 17 2007, 11:37 PM

1,655 posts

my post is to hackwire. sorry for the misunderstanding. setapak rental is quite ok la. how much can a condo fetch there? and how much does it cost for the condo?
yewkhuay
post Jul 17 2007, 11:56 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Jul 17 2007, 11:37 PM)
my post is to hackwire. sorry for the misunderstanding. setapak rental is quite ok la. how much can a condo fetch there? and how much does it cost for the condo?
condo can fetch rental from 1000-1500, cost 175k-300K n above.
old condo can fetch rental 500-750, cost 95k-120k
scorgio
post Jul 18 2007, 12:28 AM

4,695 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jul 17 2007, 10:05 PM)
Yup. From Bkt Jalil to MidV only take 5 minutes (assuming no jam at Desa Petaling/Kuchai Lama).
U can also take the OUG, old klang road route to PJ (besides Fed Highway).
On a non-working day, 10 mins can reach Pudu fr Bkt Jalil.
Btw, the places I mentioned are all within 10-15km only.
aaronpang
post Jul 18 2007, 09:45 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

I'd also agree with Bukit Jalil the place is under valued IMHO... there is an LRT, good road network and public parks.

I've heard that they're also gonna open a new hypermarket (underconstructions right now) in the vicinity... its long overdue and will make the Bukit Jalil a more attractive place to invest.

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jul 18 2007, 09:46 AM
TSjcvstlys
post Jul 19 2007, 11:06 AM

1,655 posts

What hypermarket is opening there? I got 2 property in mind for Bukit Jalil. Arena Green and Vista Comanwealth. What do you think about the 2?
yewkhuay
post Jul 19 2007, 05:53 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Jul 19 2007, 11:06 AM)
What hypermarket is opening there? I got 2 property in mind for Bukit Jalil. Arena Green and Vista Comanwealth. What do you think about the 2?
apart from the location n value of the property , do u hav any idea of the rental price range for these 2 project and potential value appreciation in future ? for the sake of Investment. do not investment in good projects for self-staying but poor in fetching rental n value appreciations...
TSjcvstlys
post Jul 20 2007, 02:17 PM

1,655 posts

Vista Komanvel can fetch around 1k-1.2k while Arena Green fetches around RM800-900. But i will only buy those properties if i can buy at around 10-20% lower than market price. so have to wait and c my luck.. still surveying other properties.
su8aru
post Jul 21 2007, 10:26 PM

No-Longer An Active User
Validating
1,735 posts

y not Sentul?? DUKES is somewhere there now...
TSjcvstlys
post Jul 22 2007, 07:42 PM

1,655 posts

whose DUKES?
quintessential
post Jul 29 2007, 06:32 PM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Jul 22 2007, 08:42 PM)
whose DUKES?
it's a short for jalan duta - ulu klang elevated expressway.
Tsukasa
post Jul 29 2007, 06:44 PM

1,042 posts

I choose Putrajaya as the property will at least get double after 10 years. Anyway that just an opinion as it is still under development and the government will be station there.

PJ is good area esp. if you can find freehold house there as nowdays there is lotsa house which is leasehold.
TSjcvstlys
post Jul 31 2007, 01:05 PM

1,655 posts

putrajaya still need quite sometime to expand. but putrajaya will be a good investment for a 10 years timeframe. m looking for properties that will boom in the 3-4years time frame.
yewkhuay
post Jul 31 2007, 02:00 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Jul 31 2007, 01:05 PM)
putrajaya still need quite sometime to expand. but putrajaya will be a good investment for a 10 years timeframe. m looking for properties that will boom in the 3-4years time frame.
u talk like an expert in property investment..... sweat.gif
utellme
post Jul 31 2007, 03:25 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Jul 31 2007, 02:00 PM)
u talk like an expert in property investment..... sweat.gif
my good friend bought one double storey town house for 330K at cyberjaya (not putrajaya) + spent 60K on renovation and damm regret now.

This post has been edited by utellme: Jul 31 2007, 03:25 PM
TSjcvstlys
post Jul 31 2007, 03:48 PM

1,655 posts

@yewkhuay
Just giving my opinion.. =.= not an expert.

@utellme
if ur good fren is working there then wont so regret la.. if for investment purpose then........
utellme
post Aug 1 2007, 03:08 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Jul 31 2007, 03:48 PM)
@yewkhuay
Just giving my opinion.. =.= not an expert.

@utellme
if ur good fren is working there then wont so regret la.. if for investment purpose then........
lucky me, I almost bought one.., biggrin.gif , at cyber and putrajay. not thing happening during night time and it's like canberra. sad.gif
vreis
post Aug 1 2007, 03:40 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

Putrajaya is like Shah Alam of few yrs back, a ghost town where after working hours, you will not see a single living soul on the streets sweat.gif
Like it or not, the place wont boom unless more private sector moving in. What do you expect when you need to go to Sri Kembangan for Chinese food. doh.gif

TSjcvstlys
post Aug 1 2007, 06:53 PM

1,655 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Aug 1 2007, 03:40 PM)
Putrajaya is like Shah Alam of few yrs back, a ghost town where after working hours, you will not see a single living soul on the streets sweat.gif
Like it or not, the place wont boom unless more private sector moving in. What do you expect when you need to go to Sri Kembangan for Chinese food. doh.gif
totally agree with you so thats y i said that need at least 10 years to boom there. cause tht time near 2020 d.. tongue.gif
scorgio
post Aug 2 2007, 01:26 AM

4,695 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Jul 31 2007, 03:25 PM)
my good friend bought one double storey town house for 330K at cyberjaya (not putrajaya) + spent 60K on renovation and damm regret now.
The properties at Cyber & PuJ is overpriced.
Only expats or the rich students studying in LKW or MMU can afford the rental.
A lot of students studying there rather rent at Puchong or SK.

What about the Govt servants working there? They either got housing allowance or live in Govt quarters leh.
sirxl
post Aug 20 2007, 02:15 AM

583 posts

For nearer drive, u can also goto Dengkil. But of coz, SK has more variety. I work in CBJ by the way

QUOTE(vreis @ Aug 1 2007, 03:40 PM)
Pai
post Aug 28 2007, 02:05 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

jcvstlys, whats ur budget?

Am quite familiar with Setapak, B. Jalil and PJ, and all those place got good investment property, provided u know how to look smile.gif
Dr. Miranda Bailey
post Aug 29 2007, 12:05 AM

Poliglot Niqabist AB(-) = a rare breed
619 posts

Taman Tun Dr. Ismail! A 2-storey terraced house has gone really really high till RM 800K. But due to Penchala Link, maybe drop a bit.
quintessential
post Aug 30 2007, 04:18 AM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

QUOTE(Dr. Miranda Bailey @ Aug 29 2007, 01:05 AM)
Taman Tun Dr. Ismail! A 2-storey terraced house has gone really really high till RM 800K. But due to Penchala Link, maybe drop a bit.
not forgetting, bandar utama and kota damansara.
kenji1903
post Aug 30 2007, 03:41 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Dr. Miranda Bailey @ Aug 29 2007, 12:05 AM)
for properties, it all boils down to per sq ft price... RM800k is not expensive if the land area is for instance 40x80... i would say its a good deal as its only RM250psf...

what do you think of RM370k for a 1250sf Riana Green condo? cheap/expensive?

hope this will help you in determining your investment location, all locations are different... KLCC area is around RM800 - RM1300 psf, Mont Kiara is about RM400-RM650 psf, just an average... furnished/partially furnished will demand a higher price...
yourgadget
post Aug 30 2007, 03:44 PM

468 posts

CHERAS u can start to invest now......not so expensive right now!
after few years the price will be same as PJ
kenji1903
post Aug 30 2007, 04:06 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(yourgadget @ Aug 30 2007, 03:44 PM)
CHERAS u can start to invest now......not so expensive right now!
after few years the price will be same as PJ
any reason why you think the price will equate to PJs level? smile.gif
yourgadget
post Aug 30 2007, 04:09 PM

468 posts

hmmm.....just built new road
no traffic jam is a important thing!
kenji1903
post Aug 30 2007, 04:24 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(yourgadget @ Aug 30 2007, 04:09 PM)
Cheras is huge, which new road and where does it lead to? any tolls? smile.gif
suiteng
post Sep 1 2007, 06:23 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(yourgadget @ Aug 30 2007, 04:09 PM)
Which new built road?
Pai
post Sep 1 2007, 06:51 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Aug 30 2007, 03:41 PM)
what do you think of RM370k for a 1250sf Riana Green condo? cheap/expensive?
quite expensive fren.

RIANA GREEN lowrise 1400 sf 2+1r2b lanai gdn terrace tastefully reno RM355k neg. 019-2620470/ 62016288 E11007

RIANA GREEN 1500sf excellent cond & loc, f/furnish below RM390k George 012-2830110 / 80241663 E10452/2 30/8/2007

RIANA GREEN 1400sf 3+1r 3b f/f well kept hi flr RM2.5k sale RM350k Jeremy 012-2555448 , 61407911 E31086 29/8/2007

RIANA GREEN 4r3b ff 1498 sf RM410k neg 3r2b f/f 1.4ksf RM360k Urgent sale cheap 012-3779005 Victoria E31086 28/8/2007

and all the before NEGO sweat.gif
suiteng
post Sep 2 2007, 05:00 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

In a way, I still like Cheras. In another way.. I like Puchong. Both have their own good.
TSjcvstlys
post Sep 17 2007, 08:02 PM

1,655 posts

@Pai
Which area would you recommend for capital appreciation properties?
Pai
post Sep 17 2007, 11:20 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Sep 17 2007, 08:02 PM)
@Pai
Which area would you recommend for capital appreciation properties?
fren, tell me what r the must have and nice to have feature u would like, then I can probably help out smile.gif
Notoriez
post Sep 17 2007, 11:40 PM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

For me..

I'll be going for Sunway, Kelana Jaya & Puchong..still can get apartment below RM200k wink.gif
TSjcvstlys
post Sep 19 2007, 07:59 PM

1,655 posts

Kelana Jaya yea.. cause its just beside petaling jaya.. not sure about puchong.. sunway landed properties around how much? for 2story links or semi D
Pai
post Sep 19 2007, 11:45 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Sep 19 2007, 07:59 PM)
Kelana Jaya yea.. cause its just beside petaling jaya.. not sure about puchong.. sunway landed properties around how much? for 2story links or semi D
jcvstlys,

If u r looking at Pj, than KJ is perfect as you can still get SSL or DSL in KJ within your budget. Plus, as I've mentioned before, the capital appreciation for Kelana Jaya SSL has been quite decent, about 20% appreciatioon over the last 5 years. Plus, there are practically zero supply of new SSLs, so the demand has always been quite good in case u decide to load off the property.

Sunway property prices has been stagnant over the past few years, and the main put off would be the increasing number of crime activity.

Puchong are rather new, and first time buyers are making good money on their SSLs and DSLs as they enjoyed steady cap gains. Price wise about the same as KJ, so I had to choose, I'd go for KJ. More mature area, nearer to KL & PJ, plus no need to pay toll tongue.gif
soitsuagain
post Sep 20 2007, 03:20 PM

Let's do it together!
3,818 posts

Cheras has lots of new development but one exit, no major roads. Buy house now asking for lots of trouble! At least Puchong will have higher chances to have better road networks than Cheras imho.
gaston
post Sep 20 2007, 10:47 PM

38 posts

petaling jaya will be great place to invest... many exits.... convenient to go most of the places in KL city... but i guess there's limited development there nowdays...
zeist
post Sep 21 2007, 10:50 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

PJ ---> Damansara

Stefanov
post Mar 19 2008, 10:59 AM

400 posts

IMO, putra heights and putra avenue is a good place to invest.
provided if you got the $

I don't recommend puchong and cheras,
cause you know the place la biggrin.gif

cody99
post Mar 19 2008, 12:26 PM

734 posts

hmm... putra height still got many vacent house after few years.
some selling at develover price...
Maybe in the future it will developed.
Pai
post Mar 20 2008, 12:54 AM

3,318 posts

Revisting this thread.

Think Kota Damansara has a very bright prospect 5 years down the road. Reasons for my call are :

1. Cheap : Still got apartments selling for less than 200k in a prime area. Properties in KD is cheaper than any of the surrounding areas, such as TTDI, Damansara Perdana, Mutiara Damansara, Bandar Utama, Damansara Intan, DPC etc.

2. Transportation : They will be LRT station serving KD residents, and that will basically connects KD to the rest of KV. This is the biggest boost for KD.

3. Apparently Giant & Carefour is planning to open their malls in KD as well. Good addition to the existing Tesco.

4. Ammenities - SHopping mall, movies, decent food are all within 5 minutes drive.

5. ROI has been decent. All the ppl I know who bought KD developements all made decent money(20%-50%) upon VP. Rental is OK despite currently lacking major public transport.

In terms of drawback, i see 2 major negatives in KD :

1. Its leasehold.

2. Traffic jam and illegal parking. But think its bound to happen anywhere within the KV area.
outsider
post Mar 20 2008, 01:03 AM

~ get out ~
1,270 posts

i think is PJ nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif those properties at there rise up very fast, and also the development is high....

setapak, although a lot of student, but there a lot of high rise building also...like unstopable....traffic is getting worse, crime also getting worse... it still a good investment if buy properties at there. but can rent to other ppl or not is another issue.

cheras....not sure....depend on which part of cheras gua

other i not sure
rollinpark
post Mar 20 2008, 02:30 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Sep 1 2007, 06:51 PM)
quite expensive fren.

RIANA GREEN  lowrise 1400 sf 2+1r2b lanai gdn terrace tastefully reno RM355k neg. 019-2620470/ 62016288 E11007

RIANA GREEN  1500sf excellent cond & loc, f/furnish below RM390k George 012-2830110 / 80241663 E10452/2 30/8/2007

RIANA GREEN  1400sf 3+1r 3b f/f well kept hi flr RM2.5k sale RM350k Jeremy 012-2555448 , 61407911 E31086 29/8/2007
RIANA GREEN  4r3b ff 1498 sf RM410k neg 3r2b f/f 1.4ksf RM360k Urgent sale cheap 012-3779005 Victoria E31086 28/8/2007

and all the before NEGO  sweat.gif
The ads posted is it from the Star paper? Or from website. Vista Komanwel saw around 170k. Is the price reasonable.
Pai
post Mar 20 2008, 03:34 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(rollinpark @ Mar 20 2008, 02:30 AM)
The ads posted is it from the Star paper? Or from website. Vista Komanwel saw around 170k. Is the price reasonable.
Its from The Star.

Define the word "reasonable", in your own context wink.gif
TSjcvstlys
post Mar 20 2008, 03:46 PM

1,655 posts

I think reasonable compared to the market price?
rollinpark
post Mar 22 2008, 12:46 AM

134 posts

I mean reasonable price considering the location, age and facilities of the apartment.
TSjcvstlys
post Mar 22 2008, 01:28 AM

1,655 posts

QUOTE(rollinpark @ Mar 22 2008, 12:46 AM)
I mean reasonable price considering the location, age and facilities of the apartment.
Hard to say whether it's reasonable that way. Some person may like the location while some don't. A better way to compare is to compare with the market price there. Or by Price/Sq. Feet.

@Pai,
Want to ask your opinion on Parkville at Sunway Damansara. I passed there a few days back and the place was really huge. But the place are townhouses. Anyway, what you think about it?
alanyuppie
post Mar 22 2008, 09:32 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Mar 22 2008, 02:28 AM)
Want to ask your opinion on Parkville at Sunway Damansara. I passed there a few days back and the place was really huge. But the place are townhouses. Anyway, what you think about it?
hope you won't mind me barging in .One of my client lived there and I have the chance to visit the place.

the pros
- the good location obviously, near big malls like the curve/ikano
- its tranquil and quiet
- the road in front of the house is suprisingly wide. Can accomodate 2 cars parked outside, (no obstruction to neighbours AND the road)
- the living room is spacious
- there's a nice well kept garden behind the house
- the guards are quite friendly and professional (< susceptible to change, if they accidentally hire nasty ones in the future tongue.gif

the cons
- living room located behind the house,instead of the front.
- porch is long enough for 2 cars (and still left 2 metres or more empty space), but narrow. So the inner one car will be blocked by the outer one. A hassle when driving the former one out (since you need to move the outer car to the side first).
- the playground is too near the PLUS highway/interchange. If I have children, I wouldn't want to expose them to the dust and noise there.
- seen lots of traffic/cars parked on the roadside near palm spring on the way out. And that's the ONLY route out from parkville.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Mar 22 2008, 09:35 AM
phalanxx
post Mar 22 2008, 09:42 AM

79 posts

What about condos in sentul east ? Like Tamarind and Saffron.

Original i think is around 2.30/sf .. now is 3.20+ for tamarind!

Is it still worth to buy ?

Saffron I think handling out keys soon. Its around 3.80/sf now.
harrychoo
post Mar 24 2008, 01:42 PM

3,589 posts

Do u guys think this is a good place to stay?

plan to buy a house there. how about traffic?

need some inputs..thanks notworthy.gif
rollinpark
post Mar 30 2008, 12:57 AM

134 posts

What do you think about kinrara mas. Would 200k plus buy good for a condo in kinrara?
Pai
post Mar 30 2008, 02:23 AM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Mar 22 2008, 01:28 AM)
U buying for investment or fo own stay, bro? wink.gif

Either way, Im never a big fan of townhouses for 3 major reasons :

1. Its neither here or there. Facilities is less than a condo but u dont have the privacy of a landed property.

2. Generally town-houses are poor investments.

3. Usually unreasonably expensive due to their lower density. Never bothered checking this Parkville but somehow can tell its not gonna be cheap despite the fact that it is LH, knowing Sunway. whistling.gif

lelynx
post Apr 9 2008, 01:19 PM

838 posts

for me, none of the above options from voting is worth the trouble...
if u r aiming for higher ROI, try these areas... (of course, it depends on ur budget as well)

1. KD or Ara D
2. Puchong
3. Setia Alam / Ecopark
4. PH (Gaint hv confirmed to open a branch there)
5. Those luxury condo in KL town
TSjcvstlys
post Apr 12 2008, 04:36 PM

1,655 posts

Where is PH? luxury condo in kl town as in the city centre?
cody99
post Apr 12 2008, 11:11 PM

734 posts

When to Ecopark. The landscaping, design, and other looks very very nice
only 1 drawback... a lil far from the city.

btw, I think Ara D is over rated
tinkerbel
post Apr 13 2008, 12:20 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@cody99,
In a decade, it won't be that far blush.gif
lelynx
post May 2 2008, 03:10 PM

838 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Apr 12 2008, 04:36 PM)
Where is PH? luxury condo in kl town as in the city centre?
PH = PutraHeights, near to USJ under SimeDarby... http://property.simedarby.com/Putra_Heights.aspx
Online Community - www.putraheights.com

luxury condo in kl town as in the city centre - yup... smile.gif
ADRIAN MOLE
post May 5 2008, 01:34 AM

49 posts

ddd

This post has been edited by ADRIAN MOLE: Jun 28 2008, 12:58 AM
Sri Suajaya
post Aug 8 2012, 10:58 AM

26 posts

Sentul is my choice..close to city centre...easy access to all major areas.
fahrur_07
post Aug 8 2012, 11:50 PM

~unite against racism~
1,273 posts

i vote for cheras
Vestor
post Aug 8 2012, 11:59 PM

825 posts

Wow an almost dead thread being revived. Anyway, I think PJ subsale should give good return as elsewhere, prices are selling 2-3 years in advance.
Chris Chew
post Aug 9 2012, 12:09 AM

10,387 posts

For me, Bukit Jalil, Puchong, Alam Impian or Setia Alam ...

Anyhow, depends on what kind of range of properties and price point ...

0.0688sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:07 AM