Toyota Corolla Altis 12th Gen Owner/Fans Club, THE ALL-NEW COROLLA 2019 ~ 2020

SportyHandling
post May 8 2023, 06:39 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Apr 15 2023, 02:08 PM)
Just came back from showroom, got discount rm8k now, they are clearing stock before new corolla altis, expected july..
Is the discount of RM8k the same for both low spec and high spec? Or the high spec has higher discount? Thanks.
SportyHandling
post May 8 2023, 08:51 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ May 8 2023, 08:13 PM)
1st time i went the SA didnt say but 2nd time around, he said only for high spec. Its not mentioned in the website so its debatable. I see in fb some ppl get 10k+ rebate while i only got 8k..
Ok thanks for the info. Useful to know. Looks like the discount is not the same with all showrooms so need to ask few to determine the lowest one.
SportyHandling
post May 9 2023, 03:39 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 9 2023, 02:19 PM)
March time I went showroom, the SA told me no longer selling Corolla Altis low spec, all standardized high spec 1.8G available only since this year.

Facebook club saw got people got 8k + 4k
I see, good to know. Looks like they are clearing stock. I was wondering how the new Corolla model, presumably just facelift will be different to the current model.

So it's total RM12k discount. May I ask why is it split into 8k and 4K?
SportyHandling
post May 10 2023, 10:24 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 9 2023, 04:03 PM)
That member mentioned additional 4k rebate came from SA himself...

If looking at facelift model for Taiwan market, they've revert back to Torsion Beam rear setup, double wishbone only for those GR model. Just hope it's not the same for our market...
Thanks for the information. Appreciated. Will see if I can visit the showroom soon to view and test-drive the car. A bit busy and caught up lately with very close relative who just passed away this morning.
SportyHandling
post May 11 2023, 07:50 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 10 2023, 10:08 PM)
Sorry to hear that and take care.
You planning to replace the Ford Focus with Altis?
Thanks. Altis is to replace an older Proton Persona which is rarely used since it's a backup car. The Ford Focus, it's a long story but I"ll make it short. It gave me a lot of problems starting from last year and this year. Initially I wanted to keep this car for another 8 years or so and replaced the front absorbers just earlier last month. However, the steering rack failed for the 2nd time this year and it's very costly to replace this part, not to mention the hassle and danger that comes with it especially when the steering wheel became very stiff suddenly when driving on the road and cannot be turned easily when the steering rack fails. Now I don't think I"ll keep the Focus for more than 5 years.

I now need a new and reliable car to turn to in case the Ford Focus give me problems again, so I have a reliable backup car to use, hence looking at this Altis. Looking at all the history, I would expect the Altis to be problem free for at least 10 years if not 20. biggrin.gif
SportyHandling
post May 11 2023, 06:03 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(hjack @ May 11 2023, 05:30 PM)
Since you are looking at a spare car and with Altis budget, why don't you consider getting EV instead? Stretch a litte, BYD Atto 3 should be reliable enough as a spare, plus the EV hype.
If I am staying in landed property with solar power installation facilities with TNB, then may consider an EV. Otherwise no.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: May 11 2023, 06:03 PM
SportyHandling
post May 13 2023, 06:42 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 9 2023, 04:03 PM)
That member mentioned additional 4k rebate came from SA himself...
Sorry to come back again. Is it possible if you can let me know which branch where the SA is located who gave the additional RM4k on top of the RM8k discount? I tried to search for the info on Facebook but the Altis owner Facebook group is locked and only accessible to owners. Thanks.
SportyHandling
post May 13 2023, 02:32 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 13 2023, 09:28 AM)
Yes, someone ask him which showroom, he replied Laser Motor.
Just went to Wing Hin showroom and the sales lady informed Corolla Altis all sold out in Malaysia. So I called Laser Motor to confirm if that is true. Unfortunately it is true.

So no choice have to see if new Corolla is worth the price or not. The sales lady informed there is no information on the details of the new model at this point of time which is surprising. Not sure if it's just a face-lift on the exterior of major changes in the engine, transmission etc.
SportyHandling
post May 14 2023, 10:22 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(loongchai @ May 14 2023, 01:01 AM)
Any chances of Corolla Altis hybrid in Malaysia? Seems like many of our neighbors already have it for some time.
Yes, I tried searching for new Corolla model in Thailand since we are getting our CBU units from there. Some investigation revealed that the Corolla 1.8V hybrid is currently being sold not only in Thailand but Indonesia, Singapore and Phillipines since 2019 or 2020 which is surprising since we are so late in getting the new hybrid model if the new replacement model is confirmed to be the hybrid model. We are 2 to 3 years late in getting the hybrid in comparison to our Asean neighbours.

I would be interested to know more about the power and performance of the hybrid model if it is confirmed that we are getting it. The hybrid will be more fuel efficient than the outgoing model, that's for sure but I'm curious how much quicker and powerful it will get when compared to the 1.8 NA.
SportyHandling
post May 25 2023, 08:45 AM

623 posts

No information on the new upcoming Corolla model. Does anybody here has any leaks? If the new model is expected to launch by the 3rd quarter of this year, I presume there would already be arrangement for it already.

SportyHandling
post May 27 2023, 09:15 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 25 2023, 09:04 PM)
No news on the club either.
However these few days got a few members collected the "special" SA discount car, my guess from Bangsar, did you try to ask this branch?
Sorry, what is special SA discount car? Is it the current Corolla model which has been all sold out throughout the country? If yes, I will likely pass since the new and upcoming Corolla model is now appealing to me if it's a hybrid (which I suspect is highly likely). If it's the same old engine and mechanical gearbox with changes in exterior face-lift only, then I'll drop it and go for something else instead.
SportyHandling
post May 27 2023, 09:21 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ May 25 2023, 10:14 PM)
There's an Altis Hybrid spotted in UMW plant way back in 2020. Not sure what happened to it

https://www.dsf.my/2020/01/toyota-corolla-a...d-in-shah-alam/

But I'm guessing UMW decided to prioritise Corolla Cross since crossover / SUV is a bigger market nowadays
Yes, it's an SUV market these days but I'm not so keen on SUVs. I've seen the Corolla Cross in the showroom and don't quite like the interior door panels at the rear seat as the handles look too chunky to me and also a colleague who recently bought the Cross hybrid model mentioned that it's underpowered. The Corolla Cross looks pretty good on the exterior though but as an overall package it does not appeal to me as much as the Corolla Altis as I always prefer a more nimble drive and comfortable suspension of a sedan apart from the more elegant looks (which is subjective) .
SportyHandling
post May 27 2023, 09:27 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ May 27 2023, 09:22 AM)
The 8k + SA 4k discount.
Not sure if sold out, perhaps you may try reach out Bangsar showroom ask, coz inside the Facebook group nobody mention no more stock...

My guess would be same old engine and gearbox, with rear change back to Torsion Beam for cost saving, referring to Taiwan market...
Ok thanks for the info. If that's true, it's a backward move for Toyota which is surprising. A worse model with higher price, I wonder how they will market the improved features or aspects of the new model when they introduce it to the market later this year.
SportyHandling
post Jun 1 2023, 02:20 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(supersonic707 @ Jun 1 2023, 01:27 PM)
Sorry for pulling the old post. Yours is mk3 or mk3.5? My mk3.5 already starts to eat my wallet from time to time. May i know if u did consider Civic FE? I am also currently eying for altis vs civic. But I couldnt tahan the looks of New Civic even the powers looks temping. On spec- almost same like mk3.5..argh...damn hard to decide...
No problem. Mine is Mk3. In my case, the cost of maintenance starting from the 8th year is very high. It's mainly caused by the replacement of steering rack which I believe may be the costliest part for the Focus mk3. I'm not sure if this steering rack problem in the mk3 affects the mk3.5 or not as it appears it doesn't last very long and will fail in 8 to 10 years. Some owners of the Mk3 experienced much earlier failure of the steering rack in their cars. It's not only the cost of steering rack is high (claimed new one RM13k from service centre, RM9k+ or lower from workshop outside) but the dangerous situation when the steering rack fails. It can fail when one is still driving the vehicle on the road, and when it happens, you will not be able to turn the steering wheel as it will be very stiff. Imagine you suddenly can't turn the steering wheel left or right when you are still driving the car on the road. Very dangerous! I created a thread here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5382790

It started from last year, I spent RM3k for a half-cut steering rack. Perhaps it is a mistake on my part to save cost. Just after 8 months, the steering rack failed again and I had to spent another 2.7k to replace it. If it fails another time, I have no choice but to go for a new one. Apart from steering rack, the O2 sensor also failed, together with clock spring, and I spent RM1.5k for the replacement of all these parts at the cheapest workshop in town. If at other workshops, it will cost me RM2k. Also replaced front suspension RM2k original.

So all in all, in just within 8 months, I have spent RM9.2k just to keep the car going on the road. If I went for new steering rack the cost would be higher. I am not sure about your mk3.5 but if it isn't the steering rack, the cost of maintenance would be fine. It's the steering rack where the price of a new one is high.

Honda vehicles are not in my shortlist all this while as the quality is poor to me. The design of the new Civic is good but every Honda cars I sat in will show higher than normal rattling sound. Perhaps others who are not critical will be able to accept it but I am sensitive to rattling sound which shows poor QAQC. The new Civic (low and mid spec) looks good. The looks of the RS isn't to my taste as I am an old man already, perhaps will appeal to youngsters. I don't go for power and spec these days but more to comfort, quietness and smooth drive with little to zero rattling sound inside the cabin. The Toyota Corolla Altis is at the top of my list at the moment. Some people pay a lot of attention to the screen at the centre of the dashboard claiming the Android system is outdated or the screen is low resolution or doesn't have 360 degrees camera etc. but I don't put any emphasis to it at all. My priority is just to have a safe a problem-free car, comfortable and quiet drive. No more sporty handling anymore as it is of no use if it keeps breaking down with high maintenance cost like the Ford Focus.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Jun 1 2023, 02:24 PM
SportyHandling
post Jun 2 2023, 05:14 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jun 2 2023, 01:27 PM)
Bro, gen 12 Altis does came with 360 degree camera, at least that's what on the Test Drive 1.8G unit I drove... I still remember the salesman ask me to adapt looking at the screen instead of rear side mirror while doing reverse parking, haha.
Good to hear that bro. To me, it's a feature that is not a must-have but useful if provided. For me, the reverse beeping sensors would be good enough. I don't pay much attention to the touch screen or built-in features of any cars other than the air-conditioner controls.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Jun 2 2023, 05:15 PM
SportyHandling
post Jun 14 2023, 12:17 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 14 2023, 03:07 AM)
Corolla Altis faceliift (more like a spec or very minor cosmetic upgrade actually) just launched in Thailand last week

good news - still double wishbone rear

bad news - no changes when it comes to powertrain, still the old 1.8

there's rumours flying around that UMW will launch the Hybrid Altis as part of the facelift line up around July/Aug

Is the Thailand model a 1.8 hybrid? If the Thailand model is a hybrid, then chances are high it's a hybrid here as well since we are importing the CBU model from Thailand? Hopefully rumour is true it's a hybrid otherwise the new model won't make much sense. Ideally they price it around RM140k also.
SportyHandling
post Jun 14 2023, 02:20 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 14 2023, 02:07 PM)
Thailand have 1.6, 1.8 and 1.8 hybrid

Rumour is they gonna CKD the 1.8 hybrid model but I feel its not gonna be as fully loaded as the Thai GRS model. (No 12.3 inch digital cluster and HUD)
Thanks for the information. A lot of rumours waiting to be proven, soon. CKD will be surely cheaper but I'm afraid it will ruin the quality of the vehicle, just like what Honda Malaysia did to their cars. Does Toyota have a manufacturing plant in Malaysia producing CKD vehicles at this moment or for the past years?
SportyHandling
post Jun 25 2023, 10:48 AM

623 posts

Close to the end of the month and nothing yet from Toyota on this new Corolla.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Jun 25 2023, 10:49 AM
SportyHandling
post Jun 25 2023, 10:45 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(jackpop @ Jun 25 2023, 10:15 PM)
Heard it will launch around August.
Thanks for the information. Any other leaks beside the launch date? Hybrid engine, improved interior etc.?
SportyHandling
post Jun 25 2023, 10:56 PM

623 posts

Those differences are not really important to me especially item no. 1. Hopefully there are larger differences such as a different engine..

0.0352sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:09 PM