Shebby Singh, Best commentator ?

Duke Red
post Jul 17 2007, 02:15 PM

6,112 posts

Shebby has been criticised to death. He is not only a lousy commentator, he is a lousy pundit as well. To top it off, he has a whiny, annoying voice.
Duke Red
post Jul 17 2007, 02:21 PM

6,112 posts

Yes he does have limited vocabulary and when he gets stuck, he tries to invent words or he uses sound effect to describe things. Like when he said, "so and so is looking for that 'wow' pass".
Duke Red
post Jul 17 2007, 02:31 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Jul 17 2007, 02:30 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

But at least Shabby... oops Shebby is on international media.... our local footballers ... better not say much.. it may affect my blood pressure...
That's because he is probably the only ex-Malaysian player that speaks proper English.
Duke Red
post Jul 17 2007, 02:42 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Jul 17 2007, 02:38 PM)
Pasukan Malaysia cuba mengatur serangan dari kiri padang... oh.. dia berjaya mengelecik seorang pemain lawan.. hantar ke TENGAH... Azman Adnan MENANDUK... GOOOOOOOOLLLL... cantik sekali tandukan Azman.. menewaskan penjaga gol lawan....

Oh.. tidak.. tidak... rupa rupanya bola terkena sebelah jaring... ahahaha.. nampak macam gol tadi... tak ada gol rupanya... kedudukan masih kekal.. 0-0... malang sekali Azman.. beliau pun merasakan bola itu telah masuk gawang lawan...
You forgot every famous lines like "ah nampaknya kite ada sikit silap teknik... baik kita tengok pesanan dari penaja" or "ah, kita telah menerima isyarat dari Wembley.... oh nampaknya ada masalah teknikal".

Seems we used to have a lot of technical problems in the past.
Duke Red
post Jul 17 2007, 06:11 PM

6,112 posts

Whenever I hear Shebby's voice, it makes me feel like digging my eye out with a spoon.
Duke Red
post Jul 17 2007, 07:46 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Jul 17 2007, 07:29 PM)
...that botak mat salleh fella is a pool fan.
Are you referring to Steve McMahon? If so, he's more of an Evertonian.

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Jul 17 2007, 07:35 PM)
jamie yeo from crazy football is a gunner, her guai-lou partner is a southampton supporter. & another chinese fella ( forgot his name oso) is a devil.
Andy Penders and Soo Kui Jien (used to work in the same office as him).

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jul 17 2007, 07:53 PM
Duke Red
post Jul 17 2007, 07:55 PM

6,112 posts

Yeah when he was with Disney Channel. No need for the thanks mate, cheers smile.gif
Duke Red
post Jul 18 2007, 08:37 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(lawsh @ Jul 18 2007, 08:01 AM)
sheikh heikel sweat.gif is a liverpool fan
That he is. I actually recognised him during the most recent McLaren F1 Party @ Maison. Walked up to him and we spoke a little about Liverpool. Decent blokes.
Duke Red
post Jul 19 2007, 09:30 AM

6,112 posts

I watched last nights game on RTM2. Commentators were Hasbullah Awang and another dude who's name I can't remember. At one point Hasbullah went, "Ah itu dia, pemain terbaik Iran, Mehdi Mada..medi..midi..madi...ah hahaha, tak boleh cakap pulak nama dia" or something to that effect. It's not like Mahdahvikia sounds like fjdshfkxdfhusei-kov or something right? As a commentator, should you not do some homework and at least make an effort to pronounce someones name right? Even more so when he's been commentating for ages! His partner in crime, I have labeled "Mr. Obvious". Comments like, "Ah pemain Korea tinggi, sepatutnya kita jangan main bola tinggi" Really????, and "dari serangan serang balas, kita boleh jaring gol", make me wanna throw the TV out the window.
Duke Red
post Jul 19 2007, 12:33 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(hanky93 @ Jul 19 2007, 09:55 AM)
Hasbullah Awang is still the best local commentator
And that isn't even a compliment smile.gif
Duke Red
post Jul 20 2007, 11:34 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Haunkiem @ Jul 19 2007, 11:39 PM)
Are you sure ? that seems a hell of a lot for a cushy job .
I seriously doubt the validity of that claim as well. I had heard he gets much less which is why he's into so many other things, like his own footy programme, the MyTeam assignment, etc.
Duke Red
post Jul 23 2007, 02:07 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Haunkiem @ Jul 20 2007, 07:24 PM)
yep , how much do you reckon he gets from ESPN per month ?
I can't say for sure mate, right now it's all hearsay. I had heard that it's more around the region of 4-5K, but like I said, it's just what someone said.
Duke Red
post Jul 24 2007, 04:04 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 23 2007, 06:49 PM)
i second hannah t
Well I actually know her mate even from before she was famous and I can tell ya, she ain't no footy fan smile.gif I do however agree, you'll probably get a whole lot more viewers though biggrin.gif
Duke Red
post Jul 24 2007, 04:26 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 24 2007, 04:11 PM)
if you can get her mate to get her to attend our match day parties, i'd sign up for life!
Erm what I meant to say was, " I actually know her, mate" and not "I actually know her mate". Sorry for the confusion. I'd ask her to come but like I said, she ain't all that into footy and her schedule is really tight.
Duke Red
post Jul 24 2007, 04:52 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 24 2007, 04:38 PM)
heheh duke you know her? that's even better! heheh
Yeah she's really nice but really busy as well. Oh well, back to the Shebby bashing eh?
Duke Red
post Jul 24 2007, 09:08 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(JonC @ Jul 24 2007, 06:07 PM)
Geeez, duke, we'll need to charge cover charges if that ever happens.  brows.gif While at TV3 - it was Hannah Tan. After the release of her album, it became Hannah T.
Well it was Hannah Sarah Tan even before, but she didn't want people to confuse her with Sarah Tan. She's a great singer I can tell ya that. We used to go to the Karaoke before she got so busy and you just didn't feel like singing lah.

Anyway, back to Shebbie. I agree with Glozz, he is Mr. Obvious which incidentally is my nickname for his as well. One sometimes wonders if he's narrating for the blind.
Duke Red
post Aug 9 2007, 01:06 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(toshio14 @ Aug 9 2007, 12:29 PM)
madrealjl, i'm talking purely on the ability to commentate on any football match. bringing in the suspense into word etc. in this aspect, Hasbullah is way way better than Shebby. yeah, Habullah make some mistakes sometimes but he also will appologise when he realise that he made the mistake. let's put it this way, if there's a football match being reported thru radio, who would you rather listen commentating the match. Shebby or Hasbullah? for me there's not even a question here

as I said earlier, in my opinion Shebby is an OK pundit, but a well below average commentator
Hasbullah's problem is that he doesn't do any research before he commentates. Often he doesn't know names of players, which is weird because they are given a sheet of paper with players names and numbers on it. He doesn't practice pronunciating the names either. Once, I heard him commentate on a basketball game, and he actually said, "Itu dia, percubaan sepuluh markah". Other than that, he has enthusiasm but should brush up on his research.
Duke Red
post Aug 9 2007, 05:06 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Aug 9 2007, 04:59 PM)
Dun lar critic him so kau kau..as least his the only Malaysian commentor able to be commenting for EPL sometimes..
Who? Shebby? What is your definition of 'able'? smile.gif
Duke Red
post Aug 13 2007, 01:05 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Aug 9 2007, 11:22 PM)
u try being up there with jamie,big mac and the others and see..u boleh sampai there, i say u good? notworthy.gif
So we should pity him because he's not at their level? Then what the hell is he doing there in the first place?

I'm not saying he's bad compared to them, he is bad despite them. Firstly, he doesn't have a wide enough vocabulary to maintain a viewers interest for 90 minutes, as a commentator. He keeps repeating himself, using the same words.

Secondly, he either makes really obvious, or really far out comments.

Why do you think he is a good commentator or pundit then?
Duke Red
post Aug 13 2007, 01:14 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Aug 13 2007, 01:10 PM)
I dun know what the fuss is all about. Shebby is doing a good job..
Read all the comments.

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Aug 13 2007, 01:10 PM)
..and his football commentating?..Same as other commentating from ex-footballers..
But that's like comparing him with the worst. His only plus is he speaks fluent English.

Added on August 13, 2007, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(KimRoss @ Aug 13 2007, 01:14 PM)
Shebby is somewhat like getting Alex Yoong as a guest commentator on F1  blink.gif
but the, they're probably there because they're the best of the rest. So, so long it's in the range it's still acceptable?  blink.gif
I personally think Alex Yoong is pretty good alongside Steve Slater. Unlike Shebby, he has driven at the highest level. He also has a wider vocabulary and better command of the language. Shebby sometimes resorts to having to do sound effects as I previously stated.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Aug 13 2007, 01:16 PM

0.0224sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:56 AM