Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

Courtesy of claudius weson's blog

SOS

Name: STEPHANIE ANAK JOHNNES GOBLI
Profession: EXECUTIVE (PRODUCTION)
Origin: KUCHING, SARAWAK
1, How Did You Join Offshore / Oil And Gas Industry?

I enrolled myself in Graduate Employability Enhancement Scheme (SL1M- PETRONAS – GEES) on 2018 where I had 2 months of leadership training class followed by an On Job Training with SK Gas, Bintulu. All praise to God that towards the end of my training I got an interview with the company and managed to get in as an Operation Engineer for one of the offshore platforms.

2, What Do You Love About Offshore?

I love that I have so much to learn whenever I visit the platforms. Learning stuffs via books is not as interesting as compared to actually being there on site, looking at the equipment itself. Apart from that, the people there are very friendly and fun to be around, I am always amazed at how they keep themselves motivated whenever they are faced with difficulties. These are people that I enjoy being around, optimistic.

3, Challenges Faced Offshore And How Do You Stay Resilient Offshore?

Personally, simply getting to work can be dangerous if you do not stay vigilant. You might trip, fall, or get dangerous chemicals on you. However, for my case this has not occurred yet, hopefully never. Thus, as someone who works offshore, it is impossible to escape the risks that come with working on the open water and around hydrocarbons. My way of staying resilient is just to adhere closely to the safety procedures and to keep in mind that I am doing this to give back to my family and my country.

4, Advice To Ladies Planning To Work Offshore/Oil And Gas

My advice is to just go for it, do not let the words of others tell you that you are not strong or smart enough for it. I know many amazing and inspiring superwoman working offshore.

5, Future Career Plan For Yourself

Since I’m still new in the industry my focus is more towards improving myself technically and in 5-10 years from now to take on a managerial responsibilities. I have been working with many amazing managers and developing into a great manager myself is something that I’m excited about.

Name: Nadia Asshikin Kamaruddin
Profession: Process Technology
Origin: Miri

1, How did you join offshore / oil and gas industry?

– A few years back, like other fresh graduates, I applied to many companies, for a job that is related to my background as a Chemical Engineer graduate. I received a call from Petronas for an interview session and I passed. Now, I’m working at Sarawak Gas, Petronas Carigali in Bintulu.

2, What do you love about offshore?

– I’m currently based onshore and what I love about onshore is the opportunity to do hands-on whenever there’s ad-hoc activities/issues/incidents. It’s easy for me to commute and I can be at site any time to support operation frontline team.

3, What are the challenges faced offshore and how do you stay resilient offshore?

– For me, it is important to stay positive, be nice and friendly to everyone. No matter what happens or if there is any challenges that you face, you will be fine.

4, What are your advice to ladies planning to work offshore/oil and gas?

– My advice to them would be, ‘Have a go and give it a try.’ ‘Do not limit yourself and dare to do what you like!’

5, What is your future career plan for yourself?

– I will continue to have a work-life balance and job satisfaction.

Name: Corinna Omnie
Profession: Operation Engineer
Origin: Miri

Growing up in miri, oil and gas is basically your identity. Basically i would say the familiarity of the industry that sorts of captures my attention.

2, What do you love about onshore terminal?

The process and operation of it all. Its amazing how every little detail could mean so much to the whole industry. Moreover in onshore, you are basically the backbone of the offshore operation. Having that responsibility adds a bit of excitement in my life.

3, Challenges faced offshore and how do you stay resilient offshore?

In terms of challenges, one thing to remind yourself is you can never run away from it. You either dreadfully solve it or have fun and gain knowledge trying to get the answer. In the end, you will have the same result. But the process of achieving it is your choice. Having a crazy and fun colleague definitely makes the working place better.

4, Advice to ladies planning to work offshore/oil and gas

Do it!! Don’t let people stop you from working in this industry. I grew up in a time where only males can go offshore. Now i have a lot of female friends going offshore regularly. Its 2020, we can do whatever we want. Dont let your gender stop u.

5, Future career plan for yourself.

Don’t really have any for now. But there are some senior engineers that i look up to & maybe one day I can be like them.

https://claudiusweson.com/wp-content/upload...2-1536x1024.jpg

Name: Nor Azwani (Wani)
Profession: Construction Engineer
Origin: Kuching

A friend recommended me to join PCSB at Kerteh, Terengganu in 2012.

2, What do you love about offshore? I love that i can see first hand the projects that i have planned and executed

3, Challenges faced offshore and how do you stay resilient offshore?

Ratio of men to women is very different, need to be able to mingle around with men whilst at the same time watching out for the social limit between man and woman. Thought of completing my task and get back to my daughter makes me stay resilient

4, Advice to ladies planning to work offshore/oil and gas –

Always bring enough sanitary pad, they don’t have it at offshore. 🤣

5, Future career plan for yourself –

Managerial / TP role

Name: Joana Rochelle
Profession: Operation Engineer
Origin: Kuching

Started off as intern with chemical engineering background.

Currently based onshore. What I love about being onshore is its accessability to be balance in working and being at home.

3, Challenges faced offshore and how do you stay resilient at job?

Being positive, happy & friendly. Treat that every problem and challenges is an opportunity to grow and learn.

4, advice to ladies planning to work offshore/oil and gas –

Do not limit your goals & dreams. Pursue because you can!😂

5, Future career plan for yourself

Stay being an engineer and keep expanding own’s knowlege. On another note, I would like to reach out to women (this can be anything for e.g. rape and abuse victim) through public speaking.

Name: Erna binti Hamzah
Profession: Executive Cost Management
Origin: Igan, Mukah
Age is secret.

I started as a SL1M GEES Apprentice back then in 2018. It was a very good platform for all the fresh graduate as a beginning of their career journey. After 6 months of training here at SKG, Alhamdulillah, I have been offered this position and got accepted after attended a test and IV. Having an opportunity to be in oil and gas industry is always an honored. It was my all the time dreams to join this industry.

What I love about my work is the scope itself. As someone who have non-technical background, and currently in a technical department, it was truly a challenge for me to be part of them. But surely its very interesting to learn lots of technical terms, their activities and etc. I might go to offshore one day for exposure and I cannot wait for that day to come.

3. The challenges faced offshore and how do you stay resilient offshore?

I have never been to offshore yet, but to talk about challenges I faced in the office is to be in a technical department. From the terms, what they discussed and the knowledge I have to know is very different. What I’ve learned during my degree life is surely all about economics and finance, but now I have to know about how many manpower needed for HEX inspection, how many days is the execution for CO valve replacement and other activities. Others are just typical challenges faced by every working people. To stay resilient is to always take the challenges as way of improvement, to increase our knowledge and become a better version of ourself.

4, Advice to ladies planning to work offshore/oil and gas

Oil and gas is indeed a very interesting industry. So, take the challenges and join us in this industry.

5, Future career plan for yourself

To move to another OPU so I can have various experience.

This post has been edited by feekle: Jan 20 2020, 09:04 AM
Kyojin
post Jan 20 2020, 09:00 AM

38 posts

claudius weson please learn to focus.
SUSAud power
post Jan 20 2020, 09:02 AM

117 posts

So everyone should go do slim grese to get easy 20k celery
JoeK
post Jan 20 2020, 09:03 AM

1,099 posts

Joanne Rochelle seems ok
SUSAllnGap
post Jan 20 2020, 09:04 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

all muka tak bole pakai
s3polZ
post Jan 20 2020, 09:04 AM

286 posts

drips
more plox
TSfeekle
post Jan 20 2020, 09:05 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(Aud power @ Jan 20 2020, 09:02 AM)
who say salary 20k?
SUSSKY233
post Jan 20 2020, 09:06 AM

u x sukak u keluar
875 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Jan 20 2020, 09:03 AM)
Joanne Rochelle seems ok
tis brows.gif
cikalakacikaci
post Jan 20 2020, 09:11 AM

107 posts

mukak smua duduk dalam aircond je nehh
GOPI56
post Jan 20 2020, 09:13 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Jan 20 2020, 10:03 AM)
Joanne Rochelle seems ok
Another drillz of Joana:

latipbogiba
post Jan 20 2020, 09:14 AM

102 posts

patut letak la minya sikit

baru raw
GOPI56
post Jan 20 2020, 09:16 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(latipbogiba @ Jan 20 2020, 10:14 AM)
patut letak la minya sikit

baru raw
Put Petronas lubricant oil during piap piap.😈😈
utusanmeridian
post Jan 20 2020, 09:17 AM

110 posts

Joanne FTW!
SUS8bitguy
post Jan 20 2020, 09:17 AM

91 posts

Only last 2 can pakai.
eveready
post Jan 20 2020, 09:21 AM

242 posts

On offshore platform all of them will look the prettiest
faizal87
post Jan 20 2020, 09:22 AM

piko piko pong pong
1,384 posts

ERNA FTW!!!
SUSwadepak

after 10 years oil dry where to work?
faizal87

piko piko pong pong
1,384 posts

QUOTE(eveready @ Jan 20 2020, 09:21 AM)
On offshore platform all of them will look the prettiest
asal ada lubang
persona93
post Jan 20 2020, 09:23 AM

1,180 posts

Erna

hnnngghhhhhh
desmond2020
post Jan 20 2020, 09:23 AM

906 posts

Nice sausage fest offshore
drug5
post Jan 20 2020, 09:26 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 20 2020, 09:13 AM)
Another drillz of Joana:

Not bad yo
LimauKering
post Jan 20 2020, 09:28 AM

177 posts

Joana Rochelle hnnghhh
SUSAud power
post Jan 20 2020, 09:32 AM

117 posts

Another drillz of Joana:

Hnggh
If marry her, can get combined 40k celery
BS8110

128 posts

Being a lady offshore has its perks - one of them they are highly likely to be treated like a princess by others even though they are almost nobody onshore.

Should interview the ladies from the contractor side, they have more stories on the hardship.

vanbrah

220 posts

QUOTE(Aud power @ Jan 20 2020, 09:02 AM)
What makes you think it’s 20k?

The biggest myth perpetuated in this forum is that all offshore folks are making big money.
ak101ss
post Jan 20 2020, 09:35 AM

Tauke Mabuk Guinness Stout
449 posts

Diversity quota... oh wai....
GOPI56
post Jan 20 2020, 09:39 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(Goh LTD @ Jan 20 2020, 10:32 AM)
kene piap or not in offshore.
Curi curi piap got I think because living on an oil rig for quite some time makes you horny as hell. Even the ugly girls look sexy and hot because the penis is controlling the mind.
TSfeekle
post Jan 20 2020, 10:00 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(cikalakacikaci @ Jan 20 2020, 09:11 AM)
mukak smua duduk dalam aircond je nehh
you don't say?
JoeK
post Jan 20 2020, 10:07 AM

1,099 posts

Another drillz of Joana:

Stop posting. Later ayam terpancut brows.gif
SUSNew Klang
post Jan 20 2020, 10:13 AM

4,998 posts

In real life the women don't put on so much make up like you see on the photos.

urnicksux2
post Jan 20 2020, 10:13 AM

78 posts

Age is secret...still shy2
TrollNoob
post Jan 20 2020, 10:27 AM

627 posts

Erna for me.
SUSAud power
post Jan 20 2020, 12:48 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Cibicturbo @ Jan 20 2020, 09:32 AM)
Only dirty Thai moi want to ply with you, plenty of 20k in Malaysia la
Why so butthurt
TSfeekle
post Jan 20 2020, 03:55 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(urnicksux2 @ Jan 20 2020, 10:13 AM)
Age is secret...still shy2
sensitive teww..
wild_card_my
post Jan 20 2020, 04:15 PM

6,562 posts

Nice. They are young and making bank. I have a good number of oil and gas clients and they make good money for their age. Typical K/ not on the 20k list would be envious
speedfamgirl
post Jan 21 2020, 03:31 AM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

oh Claudius fames la blog already @ /k
i personally know him tongue.gif my colleague...been to our platform a few times. cool kid.

ni interview & photoshoot boss2 level je. kuli2 like us takde sapa nak pandang...
ayamxxx
post Jan 21 2020, 07:20 AM

4,056 posts

All similar born in sarawak. Inb4 Peninsular guys conquer their oil & gas industry, especially petronas there
RGRaj
post Jan 21 2020, 07:26 AM

560 posts

I thought awek at Petronas gas station.
TSfeekle
post Jan 21 2020, 08:10 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Jan 21 2020, 03:31 AM)
oh Claudius fames la blog already @ /k
i personally know him tongue.gif my colleague...been to our platform a few times. cool kid.

ni interview & photoshoot boss2 level je. kuli2 like us takde sapa nak pandang...
lol..same goes on facebook, ppl urge him to interview those really low level hardworking kuli rather than these executive levels.
deathTh3Cannon
post Jan 21 2020, 08:14 AM

248 posts

all so thin, won't kena blow away by strong winds?
ThirdSon
post Jan 21 2020, 08:16 AM

84 posts

ben affleck suka ni

bruce willis marah
SUSPerfect.Stranger
post Jan 21 2020, 08:19 AM

58 posts

Newbies pet dont make 20k la

Pet known to have among lowest salary
andyng38
post Jan 21 2020, 08:30 AM

2,402 posts

they must be used to handling non-sparking tools...
NuKkE
post Jan 21 2020, 10:32 AM

187 posts

Sarawakian easy to get into petronas
TSfeekle
post Jan 21 2020, 10:55 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(NuKkE @ Jan 21 2020, 10:32 AM)
Sure?
ayamxxx
post Jan 21 2020, 01:19 PM

4,056 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jan 21 2020, 10:55 AM)
Sure?
Work permit reason..cough..
superbike
post Jan 21 2020, 01:33 PM

224 posts

Joanna Rochelle looks like one of the student at a school i used to taught at.

This post has been edited by superbike: Jan 21 2020, 01:34 PM
derthvadar
post Jan 21 2020, 01:42 PM

(ง •̀_•́)ง
1,792 posts

All from Soviet Sarawak?
DuFfz
post Jan 21 2020, 01:58 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(NuKkE @ Jan 21 2020, 10:32 AM)
As a sarawakian recently didnt manage to get in..i'll say we're all on even ground..no such thing as easy.
fu'house
post Jan 21 2020, 02:01 PM

553 posts

Which of these are single?

siaoand1
post Jan 21 2020, 03:24 PM

210 posts

so...they searching for applicants ka tau finding soulmate?
ayamxxx
post Jan 21 2020, 10:12 PM

4,056 posts

QUOTE(DuFfz @ Jan 21 2020, 01:58 PM)
As a sarawakian recently didnt manage to get in..i'll say we're all on even ground..no such thing as easy.
At least half easy vs Peninsular guys. Few of my colleagues already get position etc but due to work permit did not approved, the position went to the "local"

Some even on contract work, permit somehow not approved after previously approved via 3 months basis, end up management let go cz cannot mobilize him to go project due to above reason.
Justin Jack$on
post Jan 21 2020, 10:17 PM

158 posts

Another drillz of Joana:

Pretty wub.gif
haroldz123
post Jan 21 2020, 10:28 PM

1,062 posts

Inb4 ada kabel kuat or rupa cantek
smwah
post Jan 21 2020, 10:31 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

Fat salary. You kuli work die die, they enjoy with super buying power.

GOPI56
post Jan 21 2020, 10:31 PM

1,495 posts

Petronas always hires those who are handsome, beautiful and have high confidence levels. Because they represent the Petronas image.
speedfamgirl
post Jan 21 2020, 10:33 PM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jan 21 2020, 08:10 AM)
lol..same goes on facebook, ppl urge him to interview those really low level hardworking kuli rather than these executive levels.
kuli all so busy buat keja... manada masa nak pose2 pasang mekap bagai baju coverall suma bersih2 takde renyuk2 like this one.
tell them to go line up well ambil gas sample, mau ka tidak
ListenToTheWind
post Jan 21 2020, 10:33 PM

453 posts

Amboi
DuFfz
post Jan 31 2020, 01:35 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Jan 21 2020, 10:33 PM)
Amboi
ehem...u know those ladies?
ListenToTheWind
post Jan 31 2020, 01:43 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(DuFfz @ Jan 31 2020, 01:35 PM)
ehem...u know those ladies?
Nope. From the handful of awek I meeted.

Only one got a similar body shape like that. Moderate size with baby fat.
SUSRorschach85
post Apr 25 2024, 07:59 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Jan 20 2020, 10:04 AM)
all muka tak bole pakai
Bolehhhh.......excited buka those coveralls for them..ops

This post has been edited by Rorschach85: Apr 25 2024, 08:02 AM

0.0288sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:23 AM