> Unfair to give free breakfast to the rich - Dr M

SUSraynman
post Jan 16 2020, 02:10 PM, updated 6y ago

4,333 posts

Acting Education Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad has opined that it is “not fair” for the government to provide free breakfast to those who can afford it.

“We will continue with the programme that we have now and focus on those who can’t afford to have breakfast.

“But to provide breakfast to all means that those who have money, who are rich and eat a lot at home will also get it.

“So this is not fair,” he said when door-stopped by the media after launching TNB’s Balai Islam Complex in Kuala Lumpur this morning.

The Supplementary Food Programme presently ongoing in primary schools is for students from rural areas and underprivileged backgrounds.

The Education Ministry previously announced that this initiative would be replaced with a free breakfast programme for all students regardless of their socio-economic background.

This was one of Maszlee Malik’s key decisions before he resigned as the minister on Jan 3 this year.

Asked today if the all-encompassing programme would roll out on Jan 20 as previously planned, the prime minister appeared to imply that it would but with added emphasis on needy pupils.

“We will continue with what we have now and we will add in those who deserve to have some support,” Mahathir said.

Malaysiakini is attempting to clarify the issue with the Education Ministry.

The first phase of the free breakfast programme is slated to roll out this coming Monday at 100 primary schools nationwide.

The schools were selected for their high number of students from B40 households.

The first phase is set to cost RM22 million and involve 37,000 pupils as well as 1,600 teachers.

Mustapa has experience

Mahathir also defended the appointment of former international trade and industry minister Mustapa Mohamed as the new chairperson of Peneraju Agenda Bumiputra (Teraju).

“He has some experience.

“We have very few people with experience in the government and also outside (the government). So we need to have people with some experience,” he said when asked today.

Teraju is a government agency parked under the Economic Affairs Ministry tasked with spearheading economic participation by the bumiputera.

Mustapa, who is also the Jeli MP, left Umno to join Bersatu in October 2018.

During the BN administration, he was the international trade and industry minister for nine years from 2009 to 2018.

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/507347
Mikeshashimi
post Jan 16 2020, 02:14 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

why not fair?

semua pay tax le
alextan99
post Jan 16 2020, 02:16 PM

Wassup
2,660 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 16 2020, 02:10 PM)

Acting Education Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad has opined that it is “not fair” for the government to provide free breakfast to those who can afford it.

“We will continue with the programme that we have now and focus on those who can’t afford to have breakfast.

“But to provide breakfast to all means that those who have money, who are rich and eat a lot at home will also get it.

“So this is not fair,” he said when door-stopped by the media after launching TNB’s Balai Islam Complex in Kuala Lumpur this morning.

The Supplementary Food Programme presently ongoing in primary schools is for students from rural areas and underprivileged backgrounds.

The Education Ministry previously announced that this initiative would be replaced with a free breakfast programme for all students regardless of their socio-economic background.

This was one of Maszlee Malik’s key decisions before he resigned as the minister on Jan 3 this year.

Asked today if the all-encompassing programme would roll out on Jan 20 as previously planned, the prime minister appeared to imply that it would but with added emphasis on needy pupils.

“We will continue with what we have now and we will add in those who deserve to have some support,” Mahathir said.

Malaysiakini is attempting to clarify the issue with the Education Ministry.

The first phase of the free breakfast programme is slated to roll out this coming Monday at 100 primary schools nationwide.

The schools were selected for their high number of students from B40 households.

The first phase is set to cost RM22 million and involve 37,000 pupils as well as 1,600 teachers.
Mustapa has experience

Mahathir also defended the appointment of former international trade and industry minister Mustapa Mohamed as the new chairperson of Peneraju Agenda Bumiputra (Teraju).

“He has some experience.

“We have very few people with experience in the government and also outside (the government). So we need to have people with some experience,” he said when asked today.

Teraju is a government agency parked under the Economic Affairs Ministry tasked with spearheading economic participation by the bumiputera.

Mustapa, who is also the Jeli MP, left Umno to join Bersatu in October 2018.

During the BN administration, he was the international trade and industry minister for nine years from 2009 to 2018.

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/507347
Its bladdy unfair for the stupid government to use my tax money to feed those B40 that I doubt less than 50% of them pay tax
SUSM4A1
post Jan 16 2020, 02:18 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

HAHAHAHAHHAHA

i already said this long time ago...many ktard marah me
kopihazelnut
post Jan 16 2020, 02:18 PM

42 posts

Usually the free meal really basic one..
For those who get like rm10 allowance prefer buy their own food..

Crovoseas
post Jan 16 2020, 02:19 PM

352 posts

- work hard pay tax, no free breakfast
- lazy and avoid paying tax, free breakfast

Atuk always suka kasi tongkat. Bila nak teaching to fish?

This post has been edited by Crovoseas: Jan 16 2020, 02:20 PM
ZeaXG
post Jan 16 2020, 02:19 PM

342 posts

OK la, this free breakfast also not sure after eated will stomachache or not.
wotvr
post Jan 16 2020, 02:20 PM

177 posts

All Maslee work hard for undone.
SUSNachiino Etamay
post Jan 16 2020, 02:20 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jan 16 2020, 02:14 PM)
why not fair?

semua pay tax le
dude.

the government's secondary job is to take from the rich and give for the poor. because the rich will never help the poor because most of them are BBB's who lack empathy, and dont realise the danger. If you dont give to the poor, they will all go riot and destroy property. this is consistent across the world.
imperialrealcs
post Jan 16 2020, 02:21 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

This mamak better step down.
pundek we all tax payer it should be FAIR to give everyone and unfair to only give selected party!
SUSMasterConfucion

911 posts

i thought it has been discussed before and the free meal is to emulate jepun and pupuk fairness socio economy.
teehk_tee

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

So u gonna segregate the kids?

How they gonna face their friends? Sure kena ejek budak miskin. From young also get faced with harsh reality of tongkat and 'fairness'

Worst education minister

This post has been edited by teehk_tee: Jan 16 2020, 02:22 PM
SUSwadepak
post Jan 16 2020, 02:22 PM

Haiz. Another u turn

Never ending u turn.

Can not count already.

Useless government
SUSM4A1
post Jan 16 2020, 02:22 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

RViN nah on ur face ReWeR kan dulu i dah kata

see i told u before

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4829815/+40?...lee%20breakfast
Nanti Sekejap
post Jan 16 2020, 02:23 PM

409 posts

Got money give all, no money dont implement. Why make it so complicated?

Tu bukan hal mati/hidup kan?
NataM
post Jan 16 2020, 02:23 PM

19 posts

babi semua ini
Henry T
post Jan 16 2020, 02:24 PM

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jan 16 2020, 02:14 PM)
why not fair?

semua pay tax le
That's right. In fact the rich pay more tax.

wkn
post Jan 16 2020, 02:25 PM

178 posts

he always like to say rich people don't deserve this or that like he got something against rich people. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by wkn: Jan 16 2020, 02:25 PM
HD-10
post Jan 16 2020, 02:26 PM

47 posts

come on la, we should treat our children all the same, why must separate rich children, poor children,
SUSBluePants
post Jan 16 2020, 02:26 PM

20 posts

Yay now everyone can have 5 children with 3K salary... Gov bagi makan pree... We must stay poor otherwise we won't qualify.

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » 

0.0175sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:18 AM