> Is your commute killing you?

TSeXTaTine
post Jan 15 2020, 05:34 PM, updated 6y ago

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

How many /k/ here stay in bird lay no egg place like Semenyih, Rawang, Klang, Seremban and travel over 1 hour to work?
Or worse still, anyone commute from JB to Singapore? (gasp!)

Do you think your lifespan shorter because of your commute?

Now my commute also not that great. Around 50 mins to work and 1 hour 15 minutes back. sad.gif

This post has been edited by eXTaTine: Jan 15 2020, 07:10 PM
Rusty Nail
post Jan 15 2020, 05:37 PM

Why am I still here?
4,882 posts

cuckur, my daily commute 30-45 minutes to work
30 minutes back home
thank you reverse traffic
pilot202
post Jan 15 2020, 05:39 PM

77 posts

damn chibai

when I go to college back few years, we have to take LRT everyday to class
we spend about 1 hour 30 minutes in order to arrive KLCC station
sometimes if break down it will be worse
we arrive class= class end
Jasonist
post Jan 15 2020, 05:40 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

tak suka balik hutan/gua lar
pokchik
post Jan 15 2020, 05:40 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

cukur my daily commute is 5mins.
if include starting the car, parking, etc. 10mins.
longinusshortleg
post Jan 15 2020, 05:41 PM

141 posts

hhnnngggghh
emino
post Jan 15 2020, 05:42 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

I cakap ah, if I naik kereta my commute would be like:

1-2 hours to go to gym. 1 hour from gym to office. 1-2 hours to go back home.

With motor:

15-20 minutes to go to gym. 10 minutes from gym to office. 20-30 minutes to go home.

Padahal my house to gym/office 10 km je.

HAIL MOTOR!

This post has been edited by emino: Jan 15 2020, 05:43 PM
lucifer_666
post Jan 15 2020, 05:43 PM

234 posts

35km commute one way. 30 mins from car door closed to car door opened.
tky1993
post Jan 15 2020, 05:44 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Jan 15 2020, 05:34 PM)

How many /k/ here stay in bird lay no egg place like Semenyih, Rawang, Klang, Seremban and travel over 1 and half hours to work?

Staying in outskirt area doesnt mean have to travel 1hr+ to work bodo. U think every1 kuli like u?
kopihazelnut
post Jan 15 2020, 05:45 PM

42 posts

I cannot afford decent house in kl
Tired of renting
ketupatlazat
post Jan 15 2020, 05:52 PM

555 posts

Cukur my opis near pavi pun takes 20 minutes even if depart at 730
GHBZDK
post Jan 15 2020, 05:54 PM

173 posts

last time 1 hour one way. quite suffer.
now i work next street, still suffer but i dont spend hundreds commuting to suffer.

my first job spend 5% of income and 4 hours back and forth travel in jam. feel so retarded now that i think of it.

This post has been edited by GHBZDK: Jan 15 2020, 05:56 PM
tedisgodlike
post Jan 15 2020, 05:59 PM

582 posts

How many /k/ here stay in bird lay no egg place like Semenyih, Rawang, Klang, Seremban and travel over 1 and half hours to work?

LOL.. i everyday commute from melaka to kl. bye.gif
TSeXTaTine
post Jan 15 2020, 06:00 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(tky1993 @ Jan 15 2020, 05:44 PM)
Staying in outskirt area doesnt mean have to travel 1hr+ to work bodo. U think every1 kuli like u?
If you stay those areas tell me how you get to work in KL in less than one hour?
Here to buy
post Jan 15 2020, 06:04 PM

1,379 posts

Walk to office, under 10min.
Shuffle while gout to office under 30min.
wild_card_my
post Jan 15 2020, 06:06 PM

6,562 posts

My office is on lv 15 of a building that is attached to my residence building at lv 2

Less than 5 minutes to get from my home to my office
J1g54w
post Jan 15 2020, 06:08 PM

1,449 posts

Read books or listen to podcasts during commuting instead of gaming/sleeping/chatting/watching movies. Imagine spending 2-3 hours a day getting productive knowledge.
jmas
post Jan 15 2020, 06:11 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

come try fight, my colleague somewhere near Eco-majestic (she wont let us know where) to 1U
on train + MRT/LRT
MR_alien
post Jan 15 2020, 06:21 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

my 2 ex job is this kind
1st job 1.5 hours per way
2nd job at 1st is 45 minutes per way, thn they move so far, it became 2 hours per way

i quit because i can assure u guys it takes a toll on u
do it long enough, you'll suffer from sleep deprivation meaning once u reach office, you'll be so tired...u only want to sleep
and since need that much time to reach office, u need to wake up super early so the lack of sleep contributes to the sleep deprivation
SUS8bitguy
post Jan 15 2020, 06:22 PM

91 posts

7 min to work. 20 min to 1 hour when go back.
MR_alien
post Jan 15 2020, 06:22 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jan 15 2020, 06:11 PM)
come try fight, my colleague somewhere near Eco-majestic (she wont let us know where) to 1U
on train + MRT/LRT
able to sit inside train/LRT/MRT is totally different than driving/riding
despite the trip is the same 2 hours
SUSnasilemaksedap
post Jan 15 2020, 06:25 PM

120 posts

Good lah

After die road less car

Kek
apecorp
post Jan 15 2020, 06:32 PM

480 posts

Im one of those who travel frm JB to SG. Average 2way, 5 - 6h.
TSeXTaTine
post Jan 15 2020, 06:34 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jan 15 2020, 06:11 PM)
on train + MRT/LRT
My condolences to you.

How you take train from near eco majestic?
TSeXTaTine
post Jan 15 2020, 06:35 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(apecorp @ Jan 15 2020, 06:32 PM)
Oh this is the worst commute even worse than the worst you can have in KL. You take bus or motor/drive in?
SUSBora Prisoner
post Jan 15 2020, 06:39 PM

532 posts

Why so bodoh go live so far from work

wild_card_my
post Jan 15 2020, 06:42 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 15 2020, 06:22 PM)
able to sit inside train/LRT/MRT is totally different than driving/riding
despite the trip is the same 2 hours
For the time being you can still sit if you board MRT from some ulu like eco majestic, but LRT unlikely to be able to sit because there are more people
TSeXTaTine
post Jan 15 2020, 06:42 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Jan 15 2020, 06:39 PM)
No mani...
SUSAud power
post Jan 15 2020, 06:58 PM

117 posts

My commute 2 minute walk to bus stop, 5 minit bus ride , 8 minit train ride

Total 15 min
Feel gooding can sleep until 9am in morning

But 6000rm rent
SUSAud power
post Jan 15 2020, 06:59 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(apecorp @ Jan 15 2020, 06:32 PM)
Lol you probably gain 10 years age after few years working like this
SUSBora Prisoner
post Jan 15 2020, 06:59 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Jan 15 2020, 06:42 PM)
No mani...
Wonder where do janitors and cleaning ladies that work in the city live

SUSAud power
post Jan 15 2020, 07:02 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(GHBZDK @ Jan 15 2020, 05:54 PM)
last time 1 hour one way. quite suffer.
now i work next street, still suffer but i dont spend hundreds commuting to suffer.

my first job spend 5% of income and 4 hours back and forth travel in jam. feel so retarded now that i think of it.
Wow 5%

Mine is about 2%
tictac88
post Jan 15 2020, 07:03 PM

191 posts

useful lifespan definitely is wasted during the time spent on commuting. luckily smartphone is invented, so that time can be wasted on /k during commuting instead.
tictac88
post Jan 15 2020, 07:04 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 15 2020, 06:42 PM)
For the time being you can still sit if you board MRT from some ulu like eco majestic, but LRT unlikely to be able to sit because there are more people
cannot take LRT in the opposite direction to reach the end point, then immediately grab a seat in the empty train? biggrin.gif

Richkierich
post Jan 15 2020, 07:06 PM

57 posts

Commuting in kl is the ultimate productivity killer
MR_alien
post Jan 15 2020, 07:20 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

as long as you're not driving, anything is better than driving/riding
because driving/riding is an energy intensive "sport"
it drains u physically and mentally

people thought oh!, just sit and drive only...u still need to switch your feet from gas to brake and your eyes needed full attention
it's really tiring to be driving long hours whether is short or long distance

standing vs driving/riding, i'd take standing anytime

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Jan 15 2020, 07:21 PM
wild_card_my
post Jan 15 2020, 07:21 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(tictac88 @ Jan 15 2020, 07:04 PM)
cannot take LRT in the opposite direction to reach the end point, then immediately grab a seat in the empty train? biggrin.gif

You could, this is what LRT users for Kelana Jaya line used to do; the ones that are 2 or 3 stations from the end line would board the train going the opposite direction to where they were going, riders from KJ station would end up without any seats.

Now the line has extended, staying close to the end line is not worth it anymore. Even as a man, I hate going onto LRT, I wouldn't like my wife to use it too, so no to working in KL for here - that is fine, KL office is overrated, I am based only in the lame-duck Cyberjaya laugh.gif
wild_card_my
post Jan 15 2020, 07:23 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 15 2020, 07:20 PM)
as long as you're not driving, anything is better than driving/riding
because driving/riding is an energy intensive "sport"
it drains u physically and mentally

people thought oh!, just sit and drive only...u still need to switch your feet from gas to brake and your eyes needed full attention
it's really tiring to be driving long hours whether is short or long distance

standing vs driving/riding, i'd take standing anytime
Two words: PILOT ASSIST

or whatever those things are called by different manufacurers now

I understand where you are coming from though, and I doubt at your age you will let AI take control of your life hehehe
PulseAngel
post Jan 15 2020, 07:24 PM

Validating
181 posts

30 minute to work, 1 1/2 hours go back. kota kemuning to KLCC
arsenwagon
post Jan 15 2020, 07:33 PM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

Kek

Smart ppl stay not more than half an hour

I've had to commute via mrt and bus before, fhuuuu. Experience not gooding. Have to rely on bus timing which is infrequent. Then have to keep being on alert else miss bus stop. CCB .Only good thing is sometimes got gooding amoi . Last time got one amoi everyday I see her altho I sometimes change time balik. Sighs. Jelly single guys, can do whatever the f they want without repercussions

MR_alien
post Jan 15 2020, 07:34 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 15 2020, 07:23 PM)
Two words: PILOT ASSIST

or whatever those things are called by different manufacurers now

I understand where you are coming from though, and I doubt at your age you will let AI take control of your life hehehe
even tesla auto pilot isn't fully auto pilot
it requires u to touch the steering every few minutes
and u still need to focus on the road in case the computer didn't do it right, u need to step in
and this is in USA where the road markings is very clear

won't work in malaysia where the road marking is not clear, faded or non-existent at all

as for cruise control, it only works on roads that are clear but steering control still required
i think the only 1 that works in jam in malaysia is volvo and volvo isn't affordable laugh.gif

wild_card_my
post Jan 15 2020, 07:47 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 15 2020, 07:34 PM)
even tesla auto pilot isn't fully auto pilot
it requires u to touch the steering every few minutes
and u still need to focus on the road in case the computer didn't do it right, u need to step in
and this is in USA where the road markings is very clear

won't work in malaysia where the road marking is not clear, faded or non-existent at all

as for cruise control, it only works on roads that are clear but steering control still required
i think the only 1 that works in jam in malaysia is volvo and volvo isn't affordable laugh.gif
The touch-steering every few minutes is due to local regulations, not the lack of capability of the AI. In China there isn't such a rule/law so the Pilot Assists can be left to run until it reaches a point where it needs some of the drivers' input. So far things are improving and this will help a lot in cutting down stress from traffic jam

I am sure things will improve going forward and I can't wait. I drive quite a bit for work (sales) and although I try to avoid going through traffic by being scheduling my appointments right, but sometimes I get it wrong too
SUSBug Juice
post Jan 15 2020, 07:52 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Jan 15 2020, 06:39 PM)
Suddenly kena fired from boss but already bought a house, new work place very far. Or being a pathetic kuli that suka2 manager transfer you to elsewhere.
lolwei
post Jan 15 2020, 07:53 PM

43 posts

My house is 10km from my workplace for reference. I take buses.

Door to door going is 50mins, back home is 1hr 15mins.

Wish I can rely more on MRT and LRT next time.
SUSMy Name is Sheila
post Jan 15 2020, 07:54 PM

13 posts

beli jer la moto, but not sure if can lane split in NY
kcchong2000
post Jan 15 2020, 07:57 PM

189 posts

Come sit at 6pm lor. And the mrt never reach eco majestic. Stop at Kajang then drive saje.
SUSMy Name is Sheila
post Jan 15 2020, 07:58 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 15 2020, 06:06 PM)
My office is on lv 15 of a building that is attached to my residence building at lv 2

Less than 5 minutes to get from my home to my office
How to you live where you work? That sounds awful.
wild_card_my

6,562 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Jan 15 2020, 07:57 PM)
Come sit at 6pm lor. And the mrt never reach eco majestic. Stop at Kajang then drive saje.
kajang not for people live one. I hate everytime I have a salescall to Kajang. but I would still go, but curse the MPK or the JPJ Kajang a bit la.
SUSBora Prisoner

532 posts

QUOTE(Bug Juice @ Jan 15 2020, 07:52 PM)
Suddenly kena fired from boss but already bought a house, new work place very far. Or being a pathetic kuli that suka2 manager transfer you to elsewhere.
Ever heard of rent?

kcchong2000
post Jan 15 2020, 07:59 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 15 2020, 07:58 PM)
kajang not for people live one. I hate everytime I have a salescall to Kajang. but I would still go, but curse the MPK or the JPJ Kajang a bit la.
Why lor? Jam or jalan sial?
wild_card_my
post Jan 15 2020, 07:59 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(My Name is Sheila @ Jan 15 2020, 07:58 PM)
How to you live where you work? That sounds awful.

I don't live where I work. I may live near to where I work, but not at the exact place.

But to answer a more serious inquiry, I rented a house close to where I rented my office.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jan 15 2020, 08:01 PM
gx_azam
post Jan 15 2020, 08:01 PM

22 posts

If leave by 730 reach 8am
wild_card_my
post Jan 15 2020, 08:01 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Jan 15 2020, 07:59 PM)
Why lor? Jam or jalan sial?
Jam I wouldn't forgie due to the high number of cars i the country and on the road during peak hours, but the city is an old city, the roads were not well-planned. traffic lights in the middle of a busy road, with "force" turn junctions to the right and to the left, making someone not familiar with the city having to cut queue due to taking the wrong lane

The city center is a horrible place to drive, especially at night for someone not familiar
kcchong2000
post Jan 15 2020, 08:02 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 15 2020, 08:01 PM)
Jam I wouldn't forgie due to the high number of cars i the country and on the road during peak hours, but the city is an old city, the roads were not well-planned. traffic lights in the middle of a busy road, with "force" turn junctions to the right and to the left, making someone not familiar with the city having to cut queue due to taking the wrong lane

The city center is a horrible place to drive, especially at night for someone not familiar
Lul. Other place not for human live.
Quantum Geist
post Jan 15 2020, 08:09 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 15 2020, 06:21 PM)
my 2 ex job is this kind
1st job 1.5 hours per way
2nd job at 1st is 45 minutes per way, thn they move so far, it became 2 hours per way

i quit because i can assure u guys it takes a toll on u
do it long enough, you'll suffer from sleep deprivation meaning once u reach office, you'll be so tired...u only want to sleep
and since need that much time to reach office, u need to wake up super early so the lack of sleep contributes to the sleep deprivation
The only time I experienced something like that was when I had meetings 1 week straight in KL, 1st time got stuck in traffic jam in smart tunnel also
taiping...
post Jan 15 2020, 08:13 PM

1,056 posts

That’s why I prefer to work and live right outside PJ and KL (Shah alam) but get “city pay”
MR_alien
post Jan 15 2020, 08:19 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 15 2020, 07:47 PM)
The touch-steering every few minutes is due to local regulations, not the lack of capability of the AI. In China there isn't such a rule/law so the Pilot Assists can be left to run until it reaches a point where it needs some of the drivers' input. So far things are improving and this will help a lot in cutting down stress from traffic jam

I am sure things will improve going forward and I can't wait. I drive quite a bit for work (sales) and although I try to avoid going through traffic by being scheduling my appointments right, but sometimes I get it wrong too
the touch steering every few minutes isn't just local regulation
it's to make sure that the driver is alert all the time and is aware of what is in front
because even in USA where road marking is clear, accidents happen too due to sudden confusing road markings
this touch steering movement happens in many countries outside of USA as well

the difference between tesla's auto pilot and china's autopilot is that
tesla's auto pilot uses the cameras and computer to read the road(the computer adapt)
while china uses human to link the map dot by dot manually, so the car just follow the dot that is being implemented into a map like google street

start from 5:20

poooky
post Jan 15 2020, 08:29 PM

837 posts

use to work cbd drive to lrt then take lrt chage line to klcc. then realise drive much faster. but stil over an hour to go 20km. then give up start leave work 15 mins earlier jes to beat d trafic. then resign liao errday spend 2 hrs to commute for 3 yrs. that time no mrt oso. now wif mrt still arpund 40m but less stress
GHBZDK
post Jan 15 2020, 08:51 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(Aud power @ Jan 15 2020, 07:02 PM)
Wow 5%

Mine is about 2%
thats just the tip of the iceberg. thumbup.gif
this is carpooling with mapren some more. i foot the toll + littlebit petrol.
he carried on solo for almost a year after i left.
tomato people
post Jan 15 2020, 09:00 PM

Tomato fan
1,730 posts

Just ride motor to work...15 mins sampai
hirano
post Jan 15 2020, 09:47 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,335 posts

Becos ayam using public transport, need to tukar many from bus, tren, bus... 1 way minimum 1hour ++. Cannot sit somemore cos full.

So yeah very tiring. But that's life.

amir.asyraf
post Jan 15 2020, 10:01 PM

504 posts

cuku i got balls and ride motor, unlike a lot of people nowadays lol
AdisonMak
post Jan 15 2020, 10:17 PM

168 posts

hmmm let see... 20mins walk from home to mrt station.... 30-35mins in train to office. so far still ok. what will kill me is when i miss the last train or last stop on station that is not my destination.
arsenwagon
post Jan 15 2020, 10:39 PM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

QUOTE(amir.asyraf @ Jan 15 2020, 10:01 PM)
cuku i got balls and ride motor, unlike a lot of people nowadays lol
Alot ppl type liddis until one fine day something happen n they can't type

Oh wai-

Just kidding tongue.gif
amir.asyraf
post Jan 15 2020, 10:42 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Jan 15 2020, 10:39 PM)
Alot ppl type liddis until one fine day something happen n they can't type

Oh wai-

Just kidding tongue.gif
lol i accept je.. if i die i die haha

i've crashed probably 4 times already, still not insaf

i'd rather die than spend additional 40 minutes stuck in traffic every damn day, probably not but whatever.

This post has been edited by amir.asyraf: Jan 15 2020, 10:44 PM
lambsauce
post Jan 15 2020, 10:50 PM

311 posts

cukur ayam still renting, move around je when chg job

inb4 poorfag cant buy property
jmas
post Jan 16 2020, 12:09 AM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Jan 15 2020, 06:34 PM)
My condolences to you.

How you take train from near eco majestic?
not me (thank god), I live 10min from office
its someone in my team, I never ask for details, but daily transit is nightmare
kerolzarmyfanboy
post Jan 16 2020, 12:38 AM

575 posts

How many /k/ here stay in bird lay no egg place like Semenyih, Rawang, Klang, Seremban and travel over 1  hour to work?

Now my commute also not that great. Around 50 mins to work and 1 hour 15 minutes back. sad.gif
My company near Raja Chulan, my home Bkt. Antarabangsa

commute time if driving to work = 1 hour 30 min - 2 hour despite the relatively short distance, due to traffic congestion.. haven't really drive to workplace due to if adding up the fuel cost + KL parking cost, really not worth it vs my monthly salary

hence currently using LRT KJ Line (from Sri Rampai LRT) + Monorel, even then the commute still 1 hr 15 min 1-way.. total commute per day easily 2 hr 30 min+, really drain my mental well-being..

fuck me, why all companies die2 want to have office at these congested places

This post has been edited by kerolzarmyfanboy: Jan 16 2020, 12:43 AM
dean.ab25
post Jan 16 2020, 12:40 AM

47 posts

Hidup di kampung & guna motor bukan budaya kita

0.0261sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:30 PM