The most common tool for panel lining is to use gundam markers, although others may also use fine brushes. Below is an example of a commonly used gundam marker:

Notice the tip of the marker - see how fine it is!

Ok, let's go straight to it. How does one apply panel lines? Let's take the piece below as an example. See how it has a groove right in the middle?

In order to panel line, you just take your gundam marker, and draw inside the groove. Dont worry if it smudges a little, like the picture below:

After you've applied the ink, simply rub off the excess with your thumb or a cloth. The ink within the groove will not rub away, and voila, you have your panel line! Simple, no?

Just one simple step, and your kits look way better already! Notice the SD Gundam head in the first picture, and notice panel lines being drawn at the mouth vents and also the sides of the head. Now imagine if there are no panel lines. How dull would it be eh?
Now get out there and get your own gundam markers! Panel lining is easy! It's fun! And it certainly makes your kits look wayyyy nicer.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`
QUOTE(kyon22 @ Apr 3 2008, 09:51 PM)
Refer to the pictures in the manual, or even be creative and decide on your own! QUOTE(Tctf @ Apr 3 2008, 10:10 PM)
Bro, where to get those stuff, which my house all gundam not yet got line.. dont nice lah..
- gundam markers
- airbrush, incl all stuff.
- Self-made customizable topcoat solution = Primer spray in tin one, same? since i dont need whole tin for primer..
question:
topcoat solution seem the liquid is white, but after spray will not become white?
tq~! good tread to start. and let some newbie like me to follow..
You can ask here bro: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/478741- gundam markers
- airbrush, incl all stuff.
- Self-made customizable topcoat solution = Primer spray in tin one, same? since i dont need whole tin for primer..
question:
topcoat solution seem the liquid is white, but after spray will not become white?
tq~! good tread to start. and let some newbie like me to follow..
This post has been edited by jhcj: Apr 3 2008, 10:14 PM
Apr 3 2008, 09:46 PM
0.0177sec