Since it's a Donnie Yen topic, I'll mention this again.
His best modern film (movies made in recent years, NOT set in recent era) is
Wuxia / Dragon (2011).S.P.L and Flashpoint are awful, why? Again, self-indulgent animay bullshit.
The fighting scenes in those two movies were choreographed just for the sake of looking cool. It's sef-aware and pretentious.
Look back at Flashpoint scene, it's actually cringey. Syok sendiri moments. Donnie looking directly at the camera, such moments much cool.
The grappling and jiujitsu scene is fucking lol, in just a few seconds Donnie Yen nonchalantly pulls of like a dozen jiujitsu techniques effortlessly on Collin Chou.
Then they proceed to falling off the balcony and survived the impact and then fight again, conveniently showing off pretty much every single fighting combos possible for the camera.
Flashy much?
Wuxia / Dragon on the other hand is a masterpiece.
Great cinematography, good choreography, good storytelling, good acting, good setting etc. It's a damn good movie.
It's a wuxia film, so it's a fantasy film, so you kinda divert your expectations for realism a bit, bikos there's going to be some wirefu and flashy kungfu showcase in it, right?
So you're expecting bullshitry from it...
But the end result is actually glorious.
It's very drama-heavy, conflict is severe, consequences are harsh.
Acting is great, you actually feel for the family.
Donnie Yen's acting here is superb too.
He's not sporting his usual egotestical cool hero look, or his nonchalant sifu face in Ip Man.
You could see the guilt, conviction in his character in WuXia, you could see the fear in his eyes when he faces his father, even when he's furious and retaliated you could still see vulnerability in him.
WuXia is supposed to be a wirefu fantasy film, yet it's more grounded to reality and has more weight and impact than fucking Ip Man.
Ip Man series sucks ass. Movie bodo.
More bodo is the ktards who keep bukkake tered asking HURR DURR DID IP MAN REALLY GO TO USA ETC MUH IP MAN HURR