QUOTE(gapnap @ Jul 18 2007, 01:27 PM)
lol..i think looking good on stage , showmanship , appearance , choosing the right cover for the right crowd has its own difficulties lor ..
there are mainly 2 parties you need to satisfy
1.Crowd
2.Judge
3.yourself/band (which seldom happens)
..most of the cover song..either satisfy the "crowd only" ..but not the judges..
some ..satisfy the judges ..not the crowd..
its difficult getting Both sides..
thats why a good medly..is quite a good idea
reminds me of 1 of the battle of the bands i joined during high school time..
one of the band (metal band ) ..asked their fans to "mosh" to their music..
the crowd loved it ...the judges walked away..
Don't get me wrong, I never implied that to look good on stage is easy, was just trying to describe what kinda BotBs there are. We've entered some BotBs that focused on the more technical aspect of performing on stage, and saw that the judges are looking for bands that can actually play, appearances are not as important to them; on the other hand, there are judges in other BotBs that know nothing of band-music, and tried to comment on the bands, American-Idol-style, those are just plain idiotic, but then again, can't blame them la, who doesn't want to make money?
Honestly, I can only think of Asian Beat that has these two aspects in balance.