Jan 8 2020, 09:39 AM
2,730 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In the shadows behind you |
QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Jan 5 2020, 01:16 PM) Can sifu advice which is better car? I mostly used to travel work-to-home, fetch kids in city. Occasionally back to hometown once in 1-2 months. Go to Genting / Cameron like 3-5 year once. I'm looking for a long term car that can last for 10years above. Hopefully not expensive to maintain and reliable Most of the time any car < 5 yrs old in their warranty period are "cheaper" to maintain, since less chance of parts failing, hence why they give you a warranty. the test comes after the warranty period. In my opinion for your case, the X70 is the better bet.... with so many units on the road compared to the Subaru, you can be sure parts are abundant and there will be mechanic who are familiar with it even after your warranty is over. Worse case can always go back to Proton SC, which are everywhere. |
Jan 8 2020, 09:49 AM
1,148 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: HeRe |
QUOTE(dopamine @ Jan 6 2020, 08:05 AM) forester with NA is easier to maintain compared to X70 turbo engine. Forester spare part can be also easily available since it is quite common on the road nowadays. Heard from tyres shop that X70 needs to go back SC for some sort tyres system setting after changing or rotating the tyres. that because the tyre shop do not have the device to set the TPMS after tyre rotation now more n more tyre shop got this device d |
Jan 8 2020, 09:58 AM
2,736 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Penang |
QUOTE(unitron @ Jan 8 2020, 10:39 AM) Which is "better" depends on the owner requirements and capability (to pay for and time spend maintaining the car). Parts are abundant but choices is lessMost of the time any car < 5 yrs old in their warranty period are "cheaper" to maintain, since less chance of parts failing, hence why they give you a warranty. the test comes after the warranty period. In my opinion for your case, the X70 is the better bet.... with so many units on the road compared to the Subaru, you can be sure parts are abundant and there will be mechanic who are familiar with it even after your warranty is over. Worse case can always go back to Proton SC, which are everywhere. X70 can either get local or china new parts Subaru can get local, Thailand, China & Japan for new parts Got more performance option to upgrade due to Japanese & US performance tuners Finally got half-cut or engine lantai choice to upgrade or replace compare to X70. Subaru forester got the XT 2.0 turbo option, compare to X70 only 1.8T. If plan to own long term ownership Subaru got more aftermarket choice compare to X70 which is limited to local & China market. |
Jan 8 2020, 10:34 AM
5,464 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(littlefire @ Jan 8 2020, 09:58 AM) Parts are abundant but choices is less actually performance upgrade option for X70 is already available. you don't need to upgrade the engine or any of the component, the stock design is already a pimped up version of the Audi/VW 1.8T. Just a tune from stock you can get respectable numbers. if you're hard care, you may choose to upgrade a 2.0 stroker kit. accessories are abundant and cheaper than the Japanese counterpart. Depends on taste JDM will always have the JDM look, X70 has more of a continental design. spare parts are abundant, just that for electronic items, you will still need to source from Proton if you plan to keep the warranty. outside sourcing of parts option is available but the coding and calibration will still be needed.X70 can either get local or china new parts Subaru can get local, Thailand, China & Japan for new parts Got more performance option to upgrade due to Japanese & US performance tuners Finally got half-cut or engine lantai choice to upgrade or replace compare to X70. Subaru forester got the XT 2.0 turbo option, compare to X70 only 1.8T. If plan to own long term ownership Subaru got more aftermarket choice compare to X70 which is limited to local & China market. For TS, I will recommend you to stick with Subaru. we need more Scooby on the road. |
Jan 8 2020, 11:36 AM
Subaru MY total sales for all the models they have in 2019 i would guess didn't even hit 3000 units. (it was <2.5K in Oct'19)
Proton sold >26,000 X70 already. Hmm... wonder which SUV the parts are more abundant in the long run. |
Jan 8 2020, 01:49 PM
1,864 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(unitron @ Jan 8 2020, 11:36 AM) Subaru MY total sales for all the models they have in 2019 i would guess didn't even hit 3000 units. (it was <2.5K in Oct'19) Those are numbers only in the 2019, so it's already missing out the accumulated registered units dating back from 2013 for the XV (which shares a large amount of parts with this Forester generation), and NA Foresters beginning from the following year.Proton sold >26,000 X70 already. Hmm... wonder which SUV the parts are more abundant in the long run. IMHO and as an owner of used vehicles bought after their warranty periods, and not servicing them at SCs, the Subaru edges ahead in terms of aftermarket and 'mechanical maturity', as its sold, used and proven in a lot more regions and conditions compared to the Proton/Geely. However, because Subaru and its drivetrain are a lot less common locally, there will undeniably be less non-SC mechanics used to doing more complex servicing on the vehicle. But like many other things, know-hows increase overtime as more and more units roam the streets. |
Jan 8 2020, 02:40 PM
273 posts Joined: Sep 2009 From: Ladang Nasi Lemak |
X70
When buying a used car, always pick the newest one. The Subaru feels too damn old at this point, interior wise. Maintenance wise it is a Proton, u can find Proton SC nearly everywhere. Lets face it, you are not going to mod the car or repair it yourself. Max u will do is drive into a tyre shop and do your alignment and balancing or change new tyre. And buying your own parts ? You may for brake pads for engine oil, and cosmetic item. The rest is slightly more difficult, you need to deal with Part Number and call up a few places to save some money. |
Jan 8 2020, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(Deja Vu @ Jan 8 2020, 01:49 PM) Those are numbers only in the 2019, so it's already missing out the accumulated registered units dating back from 2013 for the XV (which shares a large amount of parts with this Forester generation), and NA Foresters beginning from the following year. So assuming every Subaru sold is a Foresters, that's 3000 units annually x 6 years (2013 - 2019 ) that's... 18,000 units for the Foresters.IMHO and as an owner of used vehicles bought after their warranty periods, and not servicing them at SCs, the Subaru edges ahead in terms of aftermarket and 'mechanical maturity', as its sold, used and proven in a lot more regions and conditions compared to the Proton/Geely. However, because Subaru and its drivetrain are a lot less common locally, there will undeniably be less non-SC mechanics used to doing more complex servicing on the vehicle. But like many other things, know-hows increase overtime as more and more units roam the streets. vs the >26,000 sold for the competitor in 2019 alone. Anyway TS can make his/her own decisions and only time will tell on the X70 long term reliability. |
Jan 8 2020, 09:44 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
166 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Your request is 10 years and above. Both are can drive 10 years and above but are you sure you willing to spend that kind of money ? After warranty period , standby RM5000 per year in case anything broke down. This should be enough. Maintenance cost for both car I think is same. If you really want to spend less for 10 years , both of the car you choose is not a good car. You should look for Myvi , Alza , Wira , Honda City , Toyota Vios. These car are cheap to maintain for 10years and above compare X70 & forester. My advise for you is , if you want choose either X70 / forester , don’t need to think about 10 years. Choose the 1 you like and drive until you can’t Tahan and sell. That’s easier.
Jan 8 2020, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(unitron @ Jan 8 2020, 04:04 PM) So assuming every Subaru sold is a Foresters, that's 3000 units annually x 6 years (2013 - 2019 ) that's... 18,000 units for the Foresters. FYI, Subaru market sold worldwide. X70 spare parts mostly for Malaysia & China market. vs the >26,000 sold for the competitor in 2019 alone. Anyway TS can make his/her own decisions and only time will tell on the X70 long term reliability. In term of options for sure Subaru got the edge. Volume does not speak for spare part options & availability. This depends on the spare part shop & car manufacturer logistic/demand. Example Ppl think BMW/Merc low volumn must spare part expensive or hard to get, go to any BMW/Merc spare part shop they can give you a lot of spare parts & options within 1 day & even ship from German, Taiwan or China from 1 week due to their strong logistic management. |
Jan 9 2020, 08:30 AM
1,796 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Jan 5 2020, 01:16 PM) But as I sit in the car, i feel the interior is rather small. I havent even fully extend my driver seat, I already feel the back seat is not as spacious (Maybe because I was testing other D-segment car liek Mazda 6 and Sonata. need to test wah I thought x70 interior much smaller? |
Jan 9 2020, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Jan 8 2020, 09:56 PM) FYI, Subaru market sold worldwide. X70 spare parts mostly for Malaysia & China market. I see more BMW/ Merc on the roads in MY vs Subaru In term of options for sure Subaru got the edge. Volume does not speak for spare part options & availability. This depends on the spare part shop & car manufacturer logistic/demand. Example Ppl think BMW/Merc low volumn must spare part expensive or hard to get, go to any BMW/Merc spare part shop they can give you a lot of spare parts & options within 1 day & even ship from German, Taiwan or China from 1 week due to their strong logistic management. Both BMW / Merc sold more than 3x the volume vs Subaru in MY. Finally while volume might not be the only factor, it is definitely the biggest factor. At least from my experience of hunting for spare parts. |
Jan 9 2020, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(unitron @ Jan 9 2020, 10:36 AM) I see more BMW/ Merc on the roads in MY vs Subaru BMW / Merc got more models selling in Malaysia with different price range sure combine volumn is more. In the end if you ask for spare parts availability & option, I will still stick with Japanese ride as they still got the advantage due to more half-cut & tuners options besides from new part. If you are talking about cheaper spare part price, for sure X70 got the advantage.Both BMW / Merc sold more than 3x the volume vs Subaru in MY. Finally while volume might not be the only factor, it is definitely the biggest factor. At least from my experience of hunting for spare parts. This post has been edited by littlefire: Jan 9 2020, 03:46 PM |
Jan 9 2020, 03:22 PM
55 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(keenhawk @ Jan 8 2020, 10:44 PM) Your request is 10 years and above. Both are can drive 10 years and above but are you sure you willing to spend that kind of money ? After warranty period , standby RM5000 per year in case anything broke down. This should be enough. Maintenance cost for both car I think is same. If you really want to spend less for 10 years , both of the car you choose is not a good car. You should look for Myvi , Alza , Wira , Honda City , Toyota Vios. These car are cheap to maintain for 10years and above compare X70 & forester. My advise for you is , if you want choose either X70 / forester , don’t need to think about 10 years. Choose the 1 you like and drive until you can’t Tahan and sell. That’s easier. +1 |
Jan 13 2020, 02:36 PM
650 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(keenhawk @ Jan 8 2020, 09:44 PM) Your request is 10 years and above. Both are can drive 10 years and above but are you sure you willing to spend that kind of money ? After warranty period , standby RM5000 per year in case anything broke down. This should be enough. Maintenance cost for both car I think is same. If you really want to spend less for 10 years , both of the car you choose is not a good car. You should look for Myvi , Alza , Wira , Honda City , Toyota Vios. These car are cheap to maintain for 10years and above compare X70 & forester. My advise for you is , if you want choose either X70 / forester , don’t need to think about 10 years. Choose the 1 you like and drive until you can’t Tahan and sell. That’s easier. that's mean only cheaper B/C-segment car is good for above 10 year use? |
Jan 13 2020, 02:37 PM
650 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(unitron @ Jan 8 2020, 03:04 PM) So assuming every Subaru sold is a Foresters, that's 3000 units annually x 6 years (2013 - 2019 ) that's... 18,000 units for the Foresters. ya, only problem with X70 is the unknown factor... no one know it's reliability coz the car is new, at most 1 year ... vs the >26,000 sold for the competitor in 2019 alone. Anyway TS can make his/her own decisions and only time will tell on the X70 long term reliability. and ofcoz other main drawback of x70 is it's FC |
Jan 14 2020, 09:03 AM
166 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Jan 13 2020, 02:36 PM) Do you think more expensive car mean more durable? Car more expensive because of premium, performance, branding. Actually the most expensive car less durable compare to cheaper car. |
Jan 14 2020, 10:01 AM
9,027 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
I remember Forester rear absorber, cost more than RM2700 each to replace.
Subaru parts are never cheap to source, and not many stockist keep them. I would take the X70. Japanese marques such as Mazda/Subaru wear and tear parts usually quite expensive due to no aftermarket brands being brought into Malaysia. Their original parts? Never cheap to begin with. |
Jan 16 2020, 07:11 AM
4,561 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penangites |
QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Jan 13 2020, 02:36 PM) what he said was "cheap to maintain for 10years".Good quality cars are those CBU made in Japan, lets say lexus, toyota, mazda. i drive mazda CBU so the quality is there, parts are more expensive than local B segment, mainly because parts are not thailand but made in Japan parts. but the quality of the part does hold up much longer. 5year old car only headlamp got moisture, my friend car travel 230,000km only got reverse sensor issue. due to brand perception that sort, workshop tend to chop ppl when it comes to changing parts. so what i do is i source my own parts from spare parts shop, ask workshop ppl charge workmanship. by doing so i save >30% on repair bills so for me, i'd do research whether that car brand has serious weak points. Join their FB groups to see what problems owners usually face lets saw like nissan is weak CVT gearbox that will die around 90,000km then i'd source for my own parts to maintain. because good quality cars are often CBU which is expensive, and workshop will definitely chop you. I'd go for Subaru than x70 because i trust Japanese quality parts than china parts. yep Japanese made parts are more expensive but they last much longer. |
| Change to: | 0.0181sec
5 queries
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:23 PM |