Used Subaru Forester 2.0i vs X70 Standard
unitron
Jan 8 2020, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Jan 5 2020, 01:16 PM) Can sifu advice which is better car? I mostly used to travel work-to-home, fetch kids in city. Occasionally back to hometown once in 1-2 months. Go to Genting / Cameron like 3-5 year once. I'm looking for a long term car that can last for 10years above. Hopefully not expensive to maintain and reliable Which is "better" depends on the owner requirements and capability (to pay for and time spend maintaining the car). Most of the time any car < 5 yrs old in their warranty period are "cheaper" to maintain, since less chance of parts failing, hence why they give you a warranty. the test comes after the warranty period. In my opinion for your case, the X70 is the better bet.... with so many units on the road compared to the Subaru, you can be sure parts are abundant and there will be mechanic who are familiar with it even after your warranty is over. Worse case can always go back to Proton SC, which are everywhere.
unitron
Jan 8 2020, 11:36 AM
Subaru MY total sales for all the models they have in 2019 i would guess didn't even hit 3000 units. (it was <2.5K in Oct'19)
Proton sold >26,000 X70 already.
Hmm... wonder which SUV the parts are more abundant in the long run.
unitron
Jan 8 2020, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(Deja Vu @ Jan 8 2020, 01:49 PM) Those are numbers only in the 2019, so it's already missing out the accumulated registered units dating back from 2013 for the XV (which shares a large amount of parts with this Forester generation), and NA Foresters beginning from the following year. IMHO and as an owner of used vehicles bought after their warranty periods, and not servicing them at SCs, the Subaru edges ahead in terms of aftermarket and 'mechanical maturity', as its sold, used and proven in a lot more regions and conditions compared to the Proton/Geely. However, because Subaru and its drivetrain are a lot less common locally, there will undeniably be less non-SC mechanics used to doing more complex servicing on the vehicle. But like many other things, know-hows increase overtime as more and more units roam the streets. So assuming every Subaru sold is a Foresters, that's 3000 units annually x 6 years (2013 - 2019 ) that's... 18,000 units for the Foresters. vs the >26,000 sold for the competitor in 2019 alone. Anyway TS can make his/her own decisions and only time will tell on the X70 long term reliability.
unitron
Jan 9 2020, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Jan 8 2020, 09:56 PM) FYI, Subaru market sold worldwide. X70 spare parts mostly for Malaysia & China market. In term of options for sure Subaru got the edge. Volume does not speak for spare part options & availability. This depends on the spare part shop & car manufacturer logistic/demand. Example Ppl think BMW/Merc low volumn must spare part expensive or hard to get, go to any BMW/Merc spare part shop they can give you a lot of spare parts & options within 1 day & even ship from German, Taiwan or China from 1 week due to their strong logistic management. I see more BMW/ Merc on the roads in MY vs Subaru Both BMW / Merc sold more than 3x the volume vs Subaru in MY. Finally while volume might not be the only factor, it is definitely the biggest factor. At least from my experience of hunting for spare parts.