What is the Pro and Cons for Ipod Video 30GB?, Interested to buy, please advice...

limyusiong
post Jul 19 2007, 12:50 AM

2,815 posts

having my 30gb ipod video wif me bout a yr d...most of de time, it jus sit in my drawer...use it when on trip...so wat do u think???haha, jus my 2 cents here...
MadZiZ
post Jul 19 2007, 05:06 PM

727 posts

It is basically a on the go kind of music machine. Like me, i usually use my house system when i am at home, my alpine in my car and when i am doing work at coffee bean or anywhere else with Wifi then i find that Ipod does help or for many other reasons. Try it to believe it. smile.gif
TSKenix L
post Jul 20 2007, 08:34 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 18 2007, 07:05 AM)
To get an account on the US iTunes Store if you don't have a US credit card, you need to get a gift cert. Easiest and cheapest way of doing this is by getting one song (US$0.99) given to you as a gift. It's a one time thing, once you have an account, you don't have to pay any more money to continue downloading free stuff.

Otherwise, yes, you can just use any old mp3 song. Note however that the iPod does not and probably will not support WMA. You will have to convert them to MP3 or AAC. Also, the standard way of managing songs is through iTunes, not the direct drag and drop method. I thought this was weird at first, but after using iTunes I understand why it's necessary.
Does it means after purchasing one song for USD$0.99, I can continue to download for free from the site?
TSKenix L
post Jul 20 2007, 08:34 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Jul 18 2007, 06:28 PM)
its USD0.99 per song....

not per month or 1 time fee
Not a one time fee? I am confuse now... rclxub.gif
TSKenix L
post Jul 20 2007, 08:36 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(MadZiZ @ Jul 19 2007, 05:06 PM)
It is basically a on the go kind of music machine. Like me, i usually use my house system when i am at home, my alpine in my car and when i am doing work at coffee bean or anywhere else with Wifi then i find that Ipod does help or for many other reasons. Try it to believe it. smile.gif
Oh yes, I can feel it... cool2.gif
tishaban
post Jul 20 2007, 11:20 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Kenix L @ Jul 20 2007, 08:34 PM)
Does it means after purchasing one song for USD$0.99, I can continue to download for free from the site?
You need an account to download the free stuff.

You get an account either by using a US credit card, or if someone sends a song to you as a gift.

civic98
post Jul 20 2007, 11:39 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 20 2007, 11:20 PM)

You get an account either by using a US credit card, or if someone sends a song to you as a gift.
It sounds like Kenix is not even familiar with iTunes Store to start off with!!??

Anyway there is a way for you to get an iTunes account without credit card or gift cert, from there you can download ONLY those offered for free, iTunes Store usually releases one free song per week (dont expect top chart songs though!) If you want to get an account, get the US Store account. More offered there.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/482790

If somehow you manage to get your hands on some gift certs, or managed to register your credit card, you can purchase anything offered from iTunes Store, you get what you purchased ONCE ONLY. If you ever lose it, you have to pay again to get it again.

This post has been edited by civic98: Jul 20 2007, 11:39 PM
TSKenix L
post Jul 20 2007, 11:39 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 20 2007, 11:20 PM)

If I do not have a US credit card, I will need to ask a friend to send song to me in order to get a registered account?
civic98
post Jul 20 2007, 11:51 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Kenix L @ Jul 20 2007, 11:39 PM)
If I do not have a US credit card, I will need to ask a friend to send song to me in order to get a registered account?
Haha looks like we posted at the same time, me a little faster though, which is why your question came after the answer icon_rolleyes.gif
TSKenix L
post Jul 20 2007, 11:59 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Jul 20 2007, 11:51 PM)
Haha looks like we posted at the same time, me a little faster though, which is why your question came after the answer  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hi civic98... tongue.gif

Oh yes, I am not very familiar with iTunes.

Since it is like this, I think the more cost-effective way is to convert CD songs to MP3 or download from other free website and upload to my Ipod right?
civic98
post Jul 21 2007, 12:11 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Kenix L @ Jul 20 2007, 11:59 PM)
Hi civic98... tongue.gif

Oh yes, I am not very familiar with iTunes.

Since it is like this, I think the more cost-effective way is to convert CD songs to MP3 or download from other free website and upload to my Ipod right?
Ya ya.. Thats what most people are doing.. Not that we have any choice though, cause there are no Malaysia iTunes Store for us to purchase from. iTunes Store prices are not expensive actually, almost same as buying an original CD here from the stores. But advantage on iTunes Store is you get to buy individual songs that you like, and not forced to purchase the whole album.

Anyway since you will be listening from your iPod, it would be wise to set the conversion to Apple Lossless Encoder instead of MP3, using iTunes to convert your CD songs (iTunes-Preference-Advanced-Importing). Better import quality. But only Apple/Mac based players will recognize this format.

This post has been edited by civic98: Jul 21 2007, 12:12 AM
TSKenix L
post Jul 21 2007, 12:37 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Jul 21 2007, 12:11 AM)
Ya ya.. Thats what most people are doing.. Not that we have any choice though, cause there are no Malaysia iTunes Store for us to purchase from. iTunes Store prices are not expensive actually, almost same as buying an original CD here from the stores. But advantage on iTunes Store is you get to buy individual songs that you like, and not forced to purchase the whole album.

Anyway since you will be listening from your iPod, it would be wise to set the conversion to Apple Lossless Encoder instead of MP3, using iTunes to convert your CD songs (iTunes-Preference-Advanced-Importing). Better import quality. But only Apple/Mac based players will recognize this format.
ooo...you mean the Apple Lossless Encoder format will have better sound quality as compared to MP3 format? How about the file size? Is it a bigger file size?
Imdarren
post Jul 21 2007, 01:26 PM

370 posts

Pros
Looks cooler than other mp3
Stylish
The fact tht the ipod is well known and is not very common around ,make u a lil cooler

Cons
VERY scratchable
Expensive
TSKenix L
post Jul 21 2007, 03:16 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(Imdarren @ Jul 21 2007, 01:26 PM)
Pros
Looks cooler than other mp3
Stylish
The fact tht the ipod is well known and is not very common around ,make u a lil cooler

Cons
VERY scratchable
Expensive
Is there any seller selling Ipod video screen protector that protects both the whole front and back surface of the device? This is available in Hong Kong, wonder if there is anyone selling here.
d_scientist
post Jul 23 2007, 01:52 AM

248 posts

got la... jus find one of the guys frm the bulk section... i forget the name of the screen proctector de but if u search in bulk... oni one guy doing it... or... u order invisible shield lor...

i think mac shops oso sell it.. the big shop in midvalley shld hav it...
even the fame iskin is there...
TSKenix L
post Jul 23 2007, 10:56 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(d_scientist @ Jul 23 2007, 01:52 AM)
got la... jus find one of the guys frm the bulk section... i forget the name of the screen proctector de but if u search in bulk... oni one guy doing it... or... u order invisible shield lor...

i think mac shops oso sell it.. the big shop in midvalley shld hav it...
even the fame iskin is there...
Can you remember how much is it? I bought from HK around RM30 per set, 3 pcs screen protector, front&back body and click wheel...
kwekeugene
post Jul 23 2007, 07:28 PM

1,479 posts

Kenix L,

You sure do have lots of questions. Just wondering, do you know searching on Google usually gets you answers you want faster....
TSKenix L
post Jul 25 2007, 01:23 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Jul 23 2007, 07:28 PM)
Kenix  L,

You sure do have lots of questions. Just wondering, do you know searching on Google usually gets you answers you want faster....
Yup I agree...but certain information suits you if you are in countries like US, or UK. For example, if certain software, or the website that offer freebies for Ipod, is it applicable to Malasian or not and stuff like that...

Or like the Ipod screen protector, after searching on google, I manage to buy from Hong Kong, but if I ask here, got seller in Malaysia selling this, don't you think it is better I buy from Local seller? Save on postage and transaction fee?

There are still a lot of questions which user from different countries will give you different answers, if they find the same products user friendly in their particular country, in terms of availability of accessories, software, repair fees etc...

0.0204sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:56 AM