2nd hand Nissan Teana 2013-2016

TSsk1l
post Dec 24 2019, 01:39 PM, updated 6y ago

151 posts

I recently sat in one of them and i was impressed so much so i am thinking of buying a 2nd hand unit so i can enjoy my weekend drive and long distance drive.

I'm not sure about the repairs, persistent issues that may cost a bomb buying 2nd hand Nissan Teana.

Any owner here can share ? types of issues u face normally as well as cost for maintenance, cost for part repairs recommended non Nissan workshops i can go to in Klang Valley.

Thanks in advance smile.gif

ejan_
post Dec 24 2019, 01:59 PM

148 posts

i'm own last model v6.. so far not much issue.. just sending for schedule service.. latest model shall more stable..
theanswer
post Dec 24 2019, 02:35 PM

1,024 posts

last model got no v6 right? only 2.5 inline 4.
ejan_
post Dec 24 2019, 02:50 PM

148 posts

mine last v6 model.. 2013. not last model..
empire
post Dec 25 2019, 05:18 PM

2,549 posts

My friend has one 2.5 TEanna. Comfy yes. Powerful? No.
TSsk1l
post Jan 2 2020, 01:57 PM

151 posts

so ive been doing some research the past week ... it seems quite a number of Teana's 2017 2016 2015 are on sale .. and the strange thing .. 2016 models are commanding as high 2nd hand value or more vs the 2017 model.

xe or xl doesn't seem to matter ..as 2nd hand price are around the same.

is the 2016 model better than 2017 ?

hope some sifu can shed some light on this. thanks.
coolkwc
post Jan 3 2020, 01:50 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

I bought my 2014 L33 2.5 April last year, mileage was 80k, price 80k, from direct owner, come with full service record, in fact still left half a year warranty.

Touch wood to say, right now no major issue with just normal service.

Just would like to give you some hint. Nissan spare part is very expensive, especially if you buy from Nissan Authorised SC. For Teana, you hardly can source 3rd party part so you force to settle with gebuine part. Nissan SC at my place is sucks too in terms of technical capability, so i just service outside.

Throughtout 20k drive in just 8 months, here is what i can tell:
1. The 4 inline 2.5 isn't as powerful as you thought, but enough and well complimented by the CVT. I believe Nissan CVT is among the best CVT tuning compare to others.
2. RPM @ national limit is 1.6k, 2k can reach 140km/h, engine noise virtually is nil.
3. Engine and transmission is buttery smooth.
4. FC is decent with such big displacement car. Highest 17km/L due to 80-90km/h traffic, 130-140km/h highway cruising can return between 14-15km/L. Now my average FC (highway + city) throughout 20k since i bought is 11.6km/L. In contrast my old BLM manual only return 12km/L average.
5. Comfort is good especially in highway, wind noise only start to appear 140km/h onwards, tyre noise minimum if you use comfy tyre. The only let down in NVH is the non acoustic mirror and windscreen, can slightly hear the noisy motorbike exhaust that is 200m away. Handling is good too compare to my previous so called 'Lotus handling' Saga BLM in cornering due to lower centre of gravity and multilink suspension. Yes, you didn't see it wrongly, this D seg car suspension is lower than those B and C seg car. But due to heavy weight and soft suspension, riding on city and trunk road that with alot of tight corner or braking could be slightly tiring compare to driving a small car due to body movement and nose diving caused by weight transfer.
6. Stock Bose 9 speakers SQ is decent enough, although the HU functionality could be dated (but still come with USB, bluetooth and hands free call)
7. Safety feature though not the updated one, but all Teana variant come with standard 6 airbags, VSC, Understeer control, ABS. Only lack those latest active feature such as BSM, collision avoidance etc. But this is 2014 model, what do expect? Try compare to Accord and Camry, win hands down.

So far what i upgrade since i bought the car was full car 3M crystalline tint 2700, xenon headlamp projector to LED projector (headlamp projector retrofit Malaysia or CSB auto)+ LED projector foglamp 3500, position/signal lamp assembly to LED DRL + flow LED signal 200+, reverse and rear signal lamp to LED <100, full car soundproof 12k (yes, i demand more on this although stock is adequate for most of the ppl).

Consumable wise, engine mounting changed for 1800, brake pad change to new ori Nissan for 400, engine hood gas strut for 170, spark plug to NGK iridium for 400+, the rest just 2 oil + filter change (self purchase and service outside). Fuel cost per month is RM50-100 more than previous Saga BLM.

Last but not least, Nissan is best if u buy it 2nd hand due to low resale value, with the same amount of money, mostly u can buy a empty spec 2L Camry or Accord only, or a new VIOS and City which 2 segment below of this, your choice.

Ah, not forget the road tax is expensive for 2.5. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jan 3 2020, 02:12 PM
TSsk1l
post Jan 3 2020, 02:30 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jan 3 2020, 01:50 PM)
I bought my 2014 L33 2.5 April last year, mileage was 80k, price 80k, from direct owner, come with full service record, in fact still left half a year warranty.

Touch wood to say, right now no major issue with just normal service.

Just would like to give you some hint. Nissan spare part is very expensive, especially if you buy from Nissan Authorised SC. For Teana, you hardly can source 3rd party part so you force to settle with gebuine part. Nissan SC at my place is sucks too in terms of technical capability, so i just service outside.

Throughtout 20k drive in just 8 months, here is what i can tell:
1. The 4 inline 2.5 isn't as powerful as you thought, but enough and well complimented by the CVT. I believe Nissan CVT is among the best CVT tuning compare to others.
2. RPM @ national limit is 1.6k, 2k can reach 140km/h, engine noise virtually is nil.
3. Engine and transmission is buttery smooth.
4. FC is decent with such big displacement car. Highest 17km/L due to 80-90km/h traffic, 130-140km/h highway cruising can return between 14-15km/L. Now my average FC (highway + city) throughout 20k since i bought is 11.6km/L. In contrast my old BLM manual only return 12km/L average.
5. Comfort is good especially in highway, wind noise only start to appear 140km/h onwards, tyre noise minimum if you use comfy tyre. The only let down in NVH is the non acoustic mirror and windscreen, can slightly hear the noisy motorbike exhaust that is 200m away. Handling is good too compare to my previous so called 'Lotus handling' Saga BLM in cornering due to lower centre of gravity and multilink suspension. Yes, you didn't see it wrongly, this D seg car suspension is lower than those B and C seg car. But due to heavy weight and soft suspension, riding on city and trunk road that with alot of tight corner or braking could be slightly tiring compare to driving a small car due to body movement and nose diving caused by weight transfer.
6. Stock Bose 9 speakers SQ is decent enough, although the HU functionality could be dated (but still come with USB, bluetooth and hands free call)
7. Safety feature though not the updated one, but all Teana variant come with standard 6 airbags, VSC, Understeer control, ABS. Only lack those latest active feature such as BSM, collision avoidance etc. But this is 2014 model, what do expect? Try compare to Accord and Camry, win hands down.

So far what i upgrade since i bought the car was xenon headlamp projector to LED projector (headlamp projector retrofit Malaysia or CSB auto), position/signal lamp assembly to LED DRL + flow LED signal, reverse and rear signal lamp to LED, full car soundproof (yes, i demand more on this although stock is adequate for most of the ppl).

Consumable wise, engine mounting changed for 1800, brake pad change to new ori Nissan for 400, engine hood gas strut for 170, spark plug to NGK iridium for 400+, the rest just 2 oil + filter change (self purchase and service outside). Fuel cost per month is RM50-100 more than previous Saga BLM.

Last but not least, Nissan is best if u buy it 2nd hand due to low resale value, with the same amount of money, mostly u can buy a empty spec 2L Camry or Accord only, or a new VIOS and City which 2 segment below of this, your choice.

Ah, not forget the road tax is expensive for 2.5. tongue.gif
hey man thanks for this review. most of your points check with the research i did on the car already and i totally agree that for 2nd hand car nissan gives value for money .. really big value.

when you say the parts are expensive ? can u give example and cost ? coz the consumable costs you highlighted are quite manageable if issues don't happen every 2 weeks tongue.gif

also what do u think of the Teana 2017 2.5 ? the 2nd hand price for the car now is around 71k to 83k depending on the seller... or should i go for 2.0 ?
coolkwc
post Jan 3 2020, 03:22 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(sk1l @ Jan 3 2020, 02:30 PM)
hey man thanks for this review. most of your points check with the research i did on the car already and i totally agree that for 2nd hand car nissan gives value for money .. really big value.

when you say the parts are expensive ? can u give example and cost ? coz the consumable costs you highlighted are quite manageable if issues don't happen every 2 weeks tongue.gif

also what do u think of the Teana 2017 2.5 ? the 2nd hand price for the car now is around 71k to 83k depending on the seller... or should i go for 2.0 ?
Teana 2.5 2017 got for 71 - 83k? I feel abit fishy as it is too cheap to be truth. Beware of tempered mileage if you buy from dealer.

Lol, still acceptable for u huh. CVT gearbox 18k, single side front wheel hub 900+, the rest never ask, lol. 1800 for engine mounting is expensive enuf. Even a rubber buffer for the front hood need 22/pcs. Rear absorber 500++, front absorber 700++, although all these not consumed every 2 weeks but enuf to make a hole on the pocket each time u change it.

I never regret to get the 2.5 as i intended for that last time, in fact Teana weight 1.5 tonne, just worry 2.0 is underpowered and the FC is not much better than 2.5 too. 2.0L is same engine with previous gen J32 and Sylphy, slightly old tech, so can share similar part with cheaper price, where 2.5L is newer engine with dual CVTC (same like Toyota Dual VVT-i), maintainance wise should be more expensive. Cruising speed wise 2.0L is at 2k rpm @ 110km/h.

Of course 2.0 roadtax is 500 cheaper per year. tongue.gif

If you buy 2017 model, look for full service record with Nissan warranty, it should have at least 3 years, otherwise just forget about it.

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jan 3 2020, 03:29 PM
TSsk1l
post Jan 3 2020, 03:30 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jan 3 2020, 03:22 PM)
Teana 2.5 2017 got for 71 - 83k? I feel abit fishy as it is too cheap to be truth. Beware of tempered mileage if you buy from dealer.

Lol, still acceptable for u huh. CVT gearbox 18k, single side front wheel hub 900+, the rest never ask, lol. 1800 for engine mounting is expensive enuf. Even a rubber buffer for the front hood need 22/pcs. Rear absorber 500++, front absorber 700++, although all these not consumed every 2 weeks but enuf to make a hole on the pocket each time u change it.

I never regret to get the 2.5 as i intended for that last time, in fact Teana weight 1.5 tonne, just worry 2.0 is underpowered and the FC is not much better than 2.5 too. 2.0L is same engine with previous gen J32 and Sylphy, slightly old tech, so can share similar part with cheaper price, where 2.5L is newer engine with dual CVTC (same like Toyota Dual VVT-i), maintainance wise should be more expensive. Cruising speed wise 2.0L is at 2k rpm @ 110km/h.

Of course 2.0 roadtax is 500 cheaper per year. tongue.gif
gearbox will always be expensive no matter what car la .. btw how often gearbox spoil ? tongue.gif
roadtax once a year 880 or so .. ok la .. not too bad ...

im thinking of the 2017 car becoz it is rather new or even the 2016 car ....buy ..use it for 5 years then sell .. get another 2nd hand car D segment again ... feels more worth than pay 160k-170k for a new D segment and see the value drop like shit so fast year after year.

I'll take note on your concerns and dig more info on the sellers then to see why the price is like that.

ok so it is settled 2.5 should be my target then instead of 2.0.

also what tyre rims are u using ? 16" or 17" ? comments say on 16" when u go hard over bumps u can actually feel it go really low. what is your experience ?
coolkwc
post Jan 3 2020, 03:46 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(sk1l @ Jan 3 2020, 03:30 PM)
gearbox will always be expensive no matter what car la .. btw how often gearbox spoil ? tongue.gif

im thinking of the 2017 car becoz it is rather new or even the 2016 car ....buy ..use it for 5 years then sell .. get another 2nd hand car D segment again ... feels more worth than pay 160k-170k for a new D segment and see the value drop like shit so fast year after year.

I'll take note on your concerns and dig more info on the sellers then to see why the price is like that.

also what tyre rims are u using ? 16" or 17" ? comments say on 16" when u go hard over bumps u can actually feel it go really low. what is your experience ?
Haha, actually i same like you, if you divide 800/365days, merely 2+ per day, what can you do with 2+ per day?
But still feel pain when you pay in lump sum, lol.

Gearbox wise, well, CVT is fragile then conventional AT, luck matter.
Talking about gearbox, this car really excel in hill climbing, just come back from Cameron Highland last week, the smoothness and power during climbing is very good, no need to hunt for gear so no repeatedly down and up shift.

2.5 original come with 17" rim, 215/55/R17 tyre. For me i'm kinda comfort oriented ppl, i even feel the stock tyre is too thin (AKA rim too big) and road feedback is slightly too much for comfy D segment car. So i slightly upsize my tyre to 215/60/R17 (5% increase in sidewall thickness) for max comfort without compromise on handling.

Go for Michelin Primacy 4ST if you want max comfort, tried Bridgestone T005A before, sidewall too stiff to my liking.

Stock suspension is soft, so even 17" will bottom up if go hard over bumps. I kena 2-3 times when fetch my 2 kids, my wife and with luggage on board, so just go SLOWWWW will do, haha.

SUSAllnGap
post Jan 3 2020, 04:42 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(sk1l @ Jan 3 2020, 03:30 PM)

On gearbox part, sorry to say Nissan CVT gearbox is notorious for failure.
Better check whether is it the same model as X-Trail cuz X-Trail CVT already famous to fail around 100,000km.

empire
post Jan 4 2020, 01:30 PM

2,549 posts

you want comfort? forget teana. Buy a CAMRY
TSsk1l
post Jan 4 2020, 02:09 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 4 2020, 01:30 PM)
you want comfort? forget teana. Buy a CAMRY
in terms of comfort ..after sitting in both cars over the years , the nissan stands out to me more...

however tbh both are very comfortable to sit in

price wise ..2nd hand camry is higher for same year and like to like comparison and now 2nd teana price now very attractive

it could be due to :
https://autobuzz.my/2019/05/03/nissan-teana...-focus-on-suvs/

@AllnGap @coolkwc

hmmm .... worth taking the risk buying teana since nissan discontinued it ? nissan teana parts outside workshop also got right ?

TSsk1l
post Jan 4 2020, 02:27 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Jan 3 2020, 04:42 PM)
On gearbox part, sorry to say Nissan CVT gearbox is notorious for failure.
Better check whether is it the same model as X-Trail cuz X-Trail CVT already famous to fail around 100,000km.
ya ..seems like x-trail cvt does have problem ... but teana owners no complains ..at least i can't find any
SportyHandling
post Jan 4 2020, 07:11 PM

623 posts

Talking about comfort, the quality of leather seats is one of the important factors apart from space and NVH. I've sat in the Teana, Camry and Accord about 4 or 5 years ago. The Teana felt most comfortable due to the soft and plush leather seats. The leather seat in the Teana feels like quality Rozel leather seat at home. The Accord comes in 2nd place for comfort. Leather seat is also soft but not as plush. Camry's leather is the hardest so it comes in last in terms of comfort. The Ford Mondeo's leather is also the hard type.

matrix88
post Jan 4 2020, 07:16 PM

2,236 posts

nissan cvt with cooler is ok, most of the problem ones in slyphy does not have cooler
empire
post Jan 4 2020, 09:03 PM

2,549 posts

Looks like no matter what we say, you will mati2 want to buy Teana haha. Ok la...its your money. Do what you like.
SUSAllnGap
post Jan 5 2020, 08:24 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(sk1l @ Jan 4 2020, 02:27 PM)
ya ..seems like x-trail cvt does have problem ... but teana owners no complains ..at least i can't find any
Read here

https://motoring-malaysia.blogspot.com/2014...na-and.html?m=1

Its fitted with cooling kit.
Thing is how the past owner drives it, if apek drive slowly then can last longer.

Anyway if failed, can get JDM halfcut or those rebuilt gearbox for 3k

My family got 2 Nissan cars (no CVT = no problems). Jatco CVT reliability not good btw

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Jan 5 2020, 08:25 AM
SUSAllnGap
post Jan 5 2020, 08:26 AM

4,561 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jan 4 2020, 07:11 PM)
Talking about comfort, the quality of leather seats is one of the important factors apart from space and NVH. I've sat in the Teana, Camry and Accord about 4 or 5 years ago. The Teana felt most comfortable due to the soft and plush leather seats. The leather seat in the Teana feels like quality Rozel leather seat at home. The Accord comes in 2nd place for comfort. Leather seat is also soft but not as plush. Camry's leather is the hardest so it comes in last in terms of comfort. The Ford Mondeo's leather is also the hard type.
Saw ex owner complained about the sampan ride during cornering.
But should be alright since it's driven slowly by ah peks

0.0193sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:37 PM