Xbox Series X, The next Xbox generation

andrewtho
post Mar 14 2021, 10:52 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(calmshot @ Mar 14 2021, 12:12 AM)
Got my Series X last wednesday, preorder from shopitree (gamemartz) Singapore on Saturday. Didnt know that the stock come early.

[attachmentid=10809901]
I’m more interested in that racing cockpit on your left 🤣

Damn what a setup
andrewtho
post Mar 31 2021, 12:19 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 31 2021, 08:16 AM)
headset for orang atasan like the airpod max  rolleyes.gif
Honestly AirPods Max are comfy as hell, I use it for XBOX gaming as well - because its mesh / fabric vs leather or PU leather.

For the price of the B&O Portal, would rather get Arctis Pro for the same reason as above.
andrewtho
post Mar 31 2021, 01:42 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Mar 31 2021, 01:19 PM)
arctis pro cannot connect wireless to xbox. Tats y we have b&o portal 😄
Yalor, so need to use 3.5mm like my current setup.

Another solid headset you guys can consider is the Audeze Penrose X, can switch between PC and XBOX via 2.4 transmitter.

But another PU finish earcups.. ugh.
andrewtho
post Mar 31 2021, 02:05 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Mar 31 2021, 02:01 PM)
always wanted to try planar type headphone.. but not sure where to start, especially now most my collection is spotify sweat.gif but penrose review also seems like having problem of its own.

i guess xbox wireless headset is the most valuable one for xbox usage. too bad steelseries 7x don have here.
That’s true, until Spotify Hi-Fi comes along, sticking to normal headphones will do just fine.

7X is a really good buy, the reviews are quite positive as well - I guess you’ll have to buy from Amazon if you really want it. The Xbox Wireless Headset seems like quite a bang for buck for sure.
andrewtho
post Mar 31 2021, 03:41 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 31 2021, 02:20 PM)
I'm using the same setup like yours, but it drained my battery pretty fast

my batts now only can last half of the usual time before the batt low warning came up
Yeah it does drain quite a bit. Which battery brand are you using right now?

I’m using Panasonic Eneloops and usually get around 2 weeks of usage, on and off use headset / soundbar etc.
andrewtho
post Mar 31 2021, 04:42 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 31 2021, 03:54 PM)
eneloop as well, if use without headset, about 1 week+ of juice for daily 3 hours gaming

with headset plugged in, 3 or 4 days only
I think perhaps I have lesser play time hours, that explains haha.

But good thing about rechargables you can swap out for the next batch and charge while using, this way you won’t have to wait for it.
andrewtho
post Apr 15 2021, 04:49 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(tripleB @ Apr 12 2021, 12:14 PM)
What I really want out of official Malaysia support is for warranty and refunds. Since I use a credit card with a fake address in my profile, asking for refund is impossible. I bought Crash trilogy on Xbox, then had a change of mind after I also bought it on Steam. Tried to ask for a refund, they just refused it without any good reason. Most likely because of my obviously fake address not matching the issuing bank's country.
I previously purchased a wrong item via the Microsoft store and managed to get the support to refund my purchase - I paid via gift card thou, maybe thats why?
andrewtho
post Apr 25 2021, 02:47 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 24 2021, 05:04 PM)
U can see somebody selling xbox wireless headset for rm699, i hope their soul rot in hell to capitalize on covid19 and taking advantage of people at such hard times. Ancestor also will cry for them

Sorry on my words, but these ppl taking advantage of covid19 hard times is really worst. I think people don mind paying rm50-100 for the service, but scalping is another level.
Desperate times calls for desperate measures = milking at every opportunity cool2.gif
andrewtho
post May 6 2021, 10:52 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

The Navy version of the Portal looks great... temptations.

https://www.amazon.com/Beoplay-Portal-Black...B08WJ65MXN?th=1

andrewtho
post May 7 2021, 01:53 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dx_treme @ May 7 2021, 12:46 PM)
review said sound awesome for anything except gaming sad.gif
Why le? If use Dolby Atmos for gaming should be fine, only drawback is the mic only kan?

I’m pretty convinced this is one of the most well rounded headphones around, can use for PC, XBOX, Music etc - and thar Navy color is really calling to me.
andrewtho
post May 7 2021, 03:54 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ May 7 2021, 02:43 PM)
for me it's only drawback is my wallet don't have that kind of moolah to buy it tongue.gif

it cost as much as a unit of XsX  blink.gif
Haha that's true, thats why I'm still waiting for 'long term' reviews to reconsider.

On the bright side, you don't need so many headphones for your daily life, one Beoplay Portal to cover them all. brows.gif
andrewtho
post May 7 2021, 04:54 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dx_treme @ May 7 2021, 04:49 PM)
cant hear enemy foodstep etc

I’d take it as a pinch of salt. Might wanna do more reading, especially from Reddit when users actually deep dive into the details and adjusted the EQ + using Atmos to customize different eq for games.

If you read the comment section of the video, you can see people are also disagreeing with the hosts.
andrewtho
post May 10 2021, 02:16 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

I reached out to B&O’s page and asked about the Beoplay Portal- seems like they’ll be bringing it to Malaysia, but right now affected by supply chain shortages.

Hopefully there will be some demo units available to test out before burning a hole in your wallet.
andrewtho
post May 12 2021, 10:50 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(lightonokira @ May 11 2021, 10:28 PM)
A friend of mine have tried multiple CC and DC to no avail.

- Citibank
- BigPay
- Maybank

He used Microsoft SG HQ for the address lol. Can someone help?
Perhaps might want to explore buying prepaid cards instead.

Buy according to the store location (US/SG) from G2A or Offgamers etc.
andrewtho
post May 27 2021, 10:02 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ May 26 2021, 05:03 PM)
I'll be the first to admit i'm not an expert on all this.  I thought that the preferred option was to turn off dynamic tone mapping on the TV, enabling HGiG so that the xbox can send the HDR info to the TV.  When i was using the HDR Calibration Setting app on the XSX both pictures would look the same until you turned the TV setting off.  Also, what's the point of Cinema mode if you're going to turn off all the post processing?  So much jargon and technical settings that i get confused about it.

The DV implementation for the Netflix app is not great, the most annoying thing being the menus.  But Netflix does have tons of Dolby Vision Content as well as plain old bog standard UltraHD 4k content.  After reading what you wrote i went and compared some non DV content on the xbox netflix to the webOS app.  True enough xbox app is running DV while the WebOS app was not based on the DV notification.  However, I had trouble differentiating the colours and presentation between the 2 apps.  Maybe the xbox is asking the TV to turn on DV but because the source recording was in SDR, the tv is just not receiving any HDR content?  Like i said, i'm no expert but it looks good to me? (I used Master of None season 3 for this comparison)

Prime is just normal HDR while HBO Max is only outputting SDR even though it says DV on their same day releases.  Disney + is the only other app on xbox that's in full DV as far as i can tell.
Speaking of HBO Max, not sure what’s taking HBO so long to update the app for XBOX - it’s clearly awful and despite being DV-ready, it’s not available on XBOX.

andrewtho
post May 27 2021, 12:15 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ May 27 2021, 12:12 PM)
It's a shame because there's so much good content on HBO Max.  Unfortunately this type of thing means that we are always at the mercy of the app developers - hopefully it comes soon, they announced last week that we're getting apple+ in dolby vision so devs are interested in upgrading the apps.  Apps like Disney/Hotstar - Im pretty sure we wont see an xbox version but I would be happy to be proven wrong..
That’s true, hence why I only stream HBO Max via my AppleTV - if you’re using AndroidTV you are able to sideload the apps too.

So I came to the conclusion that my XBOX is strictly a game-only tool now. But one of the benefit of using the XBOX to stream is the benefit of using Dolby Atmos for Headphones - if you dont have an Atmos setup.
andrewtho
post May 28 2021, 04:15 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ May 28 2021, 03:57 PM)
damn you talking about GPU & XBL Gold Brazil reminds me I need to renew my GPU in about a year. Is almost 2 years since GPU exist time fly really quick tongue.gif
I was lucky I manage to top up 2 more years Gold Brazil before converting it to GPU for a dollar. My buddy tried to do this trick about 2-3 months later it didnt work. MS knows all the cheap trick ph34r.gif
Tell me about it, mine is expiring in November, extended a little thanks to EA Play conversion.

Now need to think if I wanna continue subscribing annually or whack 3 years terus of GamePass, thou exciting games are only coming in 2022 onwards.
andrewtho
post May 28 2021, 04:44 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 28 2021, 04:28 PM)
actually the library is awesome only if u have time. I am playing back games like rage 2, shadow warrior 2 and shadow warrior 2 looks damn good 60fps smooth. Auto hdr and fps boost is the best feature ever. Plus quick resume. Shadow warrior 3 looks promising, the series shooter is really fun to play. And alot more other games as well. Just play 3-4 games and u actually earn back 3 yrs worth of game pass lol. Not to say the upcoming AAA games
Not enough time, that's the problem haha. #firstworldproblem

Imagine after work around 8-9pm (WFH), then only left a few hours to either divide between Netflix / PC Game / XBOX then sleep before 12am, repeat 5x a day. Lucky still single, can't imagine for those married gamers, especially if got kids.
andrewtho
post May 29 2021, 10:58 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ May 28 2021, 04:53 PM)
me = married with 2 kids, still gaming on average 2.5 to 3 hours daily icon_rolleyes.gif

#spoiltforchoice caused by the gamepass is my firstworldproblem now tongue.gif
You sir, have my respect thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 29 2021, 08:59 AM)
Why work until 9pm lol.. tat is hard labor bro. Normal work hour 8 only.. ur boss also paid u 8 hours, unless u wfh also can get OT la

i wfh also around 8-9 to 4, flexi hours. As long as jawab skype call and work get done. Cos my actual work is at offshore. So i normally game until got ppl skype me lol.

But i still prefer to work at office la ergonomic wise. And more productive. Unless mandatory workspace provided at home, which my puny small house dont have.

My firstworld problem is too many game dont know wat to play end up not playing anything 🤣

Anyway, offtopic edi lol. Anyone already tried knockout city? Boleh help check the hdr ka? Cos mine no hdr langsung
haha I also wish can claim OT, but it's normal for my line of work.

I wonder when will Flight Simulator will be available on XBOX, played it on my PC and the feeling is so immersive - imagine playing it on a tv rclxm9.gif
andrewtho
post Jun 3 2021, 03:16 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(jeman @ Jun 2 2021, 12:12 PM)
Been hunting for spore set for series x. Man, cant find it anywhere..
Should I just buy the japan set? 😪
No difference except the warranty part and the plug point.

My Japan set since Dec-20 still going strong tongue.gif

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0367sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:12 AM