Second hand MYVI vs secondhand 2005 SWIFT
netmatrix
Dec 8 2019, 04:52 PM
Why buy 2006 Swift when you can have 2008 Myvi for cheaper or same price? And i can confirm you will not have problems finding any shop that can fix/ replace Myvi parts easily compared to Swift.
The only thing is Myvi have a bad rep on the road. That is also because of the driver. And bad drivers of Myvi are quite plentiful. Does not mean there are no bad Swift drivers either.
netmatrix
Dec 9 2019, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Dec 9 2019, 12:22 AM) Swift lah. It's a better handling car than MyVee. And also Swift is more towards Japanese built vs Myvi. Im sure someone will argue say that Perodua = Toyota. Okey that's fine that's your opinion. Not mine. Japanese built....  That car very likely made by any other country shipped into Malaysia except Japan. Another point to get a Myvi is, neither car has good safety rating either. Both are fast. Handling? There are differences. But pointless when the main function is just puttering around the city. This post has been edited by netmatrix: Dec 9 2019, 09:33 AM
netmatrix
Dec 9 2019, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Dec 9 2019, 08:20 PM) Suzuki Swift 2006-2008 is made in Japan. CBU model. anyways, TS, for swift the spare part is more quality if you use back SGP spare part (Suzuki Genuine Part) . Myvi 1st generation is a good car, but the spare part quality is not that great. The common problem for myvi is; 1) engine mounting failing under 100k km mileage 2) Brake rotors wrapped (vibrate) 3) Brake caliper noise over uneven road (klurk klurk sound) 4) Brake pump failure Other than that, its a solid car, if you change the fluid & lubricants on time. I have own these cars before. 2 Swifts, 2007 Swift and 2010 Swift sport. and Myvi SE 2009. Swift not much issues, Myvi got those small issues. But Suzuki spare part is expensive. For example, engine mounting Myvi only cost rm400+ labour. Swift cost about rm750+labour.RM400 for Myvi engine mounting, the balance RM350? RM260 for new front disc & pads. RM90 balance ngam2 replace brake caliper pins.  So cost of ownership is about the same. Just more common things to replace for about same cost. About the brake pump thing. Yes that one is because the damn brake fluid. Toyota brake fluid actually needs to be changed in shorter period than most cars. I did that myself just today. The reservoir actually has algae growing in it!!! So it needs to be cleaned and changed yearly if possible.
netmatrix
Dec 9 2019, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Dec 9 2019, 08:52 PM) Agree, Just get Myvi TS, since you don't care much about the handling of the Swift which is the main point of this car. Myvi is cheaper and parts are widely available. the brake caliper pins is a scam lol, don't buy it, just re-grease the pins every 6 months. i also did the same mistake with my brake fluid, didn't service the brake fluid since i got the car and at 100+k km, it failed on me. Makes sense to change it more often also, since brake fluid is hygroscopic. My routine for my myvi now is. change brake fluid every 2 years, grease brake caliper every 6 months, change engine oil every 10k km/6 month and transmission oil & filter every 20k km/2 years. Oh yea, service & re oil ac compressor every year, since cooling coil is a tedious job which requires dashboard removal. Still on my original AC system after 10 years.  This year i did lots of major stuff for the 2008 1.3 Myvi. Middle of the year Air cond service, compressor oil, valve, corroded hose, blower, filters, etc. 2 months ago radiator top cover, radiator fan motor, thermostat. November disc & pads, top valve cover oil seal. And today brake fluid. The caliper pin wanna change to measure to fit type. The other way is ram an oversized pin that is not recommended. Or the gila kuasa mod of using Honda Odessey disc & caliper kits.