Anybody regret buying service apartment?

TShazremi
post Dec 2 2019, 06:58 PM, updated 7y ago

1million people saved this avatar bcoz she's too cute!
5,676 posts

Anybody regret? Either for own stay or investment?

Regret because of high cost to maintain?
SUSwadepak
post Dec 2 2019, 06:59 PM

QUOTE(hazremi @ Dec 2 2019, 06:58 PM)

actually what is the different service appt and normal appt?
jmas
post Dec 2 2019, 07:14 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(wadepak @ Dec 2 2019, 06:59 PM)
actually what is the different service appt and normal appt?
commercial title vs residential title, thats all

by right, in europe, “Serviced apartments” are commercial units, fully-furnished, with services such as housekeeping, room service, and concierge. They are usually rented out for short-term or long term to tourists, business travellers, or expats.
But in malaysia just another way to say, "We built this on commercial land, you will have to pay commercial rate. btw you will share the land with a mall, and sometimes a hotel"
SUStyrionlannister10
post Dec 2 2019, 07:20 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Dec 2 2019, 07:14 PM)

by right, in europe, “Serviced apartments” are commercial units, fully-furnished, with services such as housekeeping, room service, and concierge. They are usually rented out for short-term or long term to tourists, business travellers, or expats.
But in malaysia just another way to say, "We built this on commercial land, you will have to pay commercial rate. btw you will share the land with a mall, and sometimes a hotel"
Nicely explained. No wonder price is so unnecessary high for serviced apartments
rooney723
post Dec 2 2019, 07:22 PM

596 posts

n not to mention got very expensive maintenance fees every month need to pay
Phoenix_KL

156 posts

A serviced apartment is a fully furnished apartment available for short-term or long-term stay, providing hotel-like amenities such as room service, house keeping, a fitness center, a laundry room, and a rec room.
Most of them are equipped with full kitchens, Wi-Fi and in-apartment washers and dryers.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serviced_apartment

You buy then rent out?
SUSAllnGap

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Dec 2 2019, 07:22 PM)
n not to mention got very expensive maintenance fees every month need to pay
commercial title cant borrow so high percentage from banks compared to residential ones

This post has been edited by AllnGap: Dec 2 2019, 07:23 PM
xpole
post Dec 2 2019, 07:23 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

I used to work in property management company.

The service apt price cost RM600k and above, but the residence there memekak need to pay expensive maintenance fees and higher electricity bill.

I was like, who ask you to buy the service appt if you can't afford to pay for it, go stay at PPRT if don't want to pay so much.

The mentality of some people is really unbelievable.

This post has been edited by xpole: Dec 2 2019, 07:24 PM
viole
post Dec 2 2019, 07:23 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

So actually do we have housekeeping service here for service apartment?
Phoenix_KL
post Dec 2 2019, 07:24 PM

156 posts

damn. that stupid.
jmas
post Dec 2 2019, 07:25 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(viole @ Dec 2 2019, 07:23 PM)
no, you get nothing other than higher maintenance cost.

I am always miffed by the way developer in Malaysia called it "Serviced Apartment".

But then, I recall nearby KLCC got a few REAL full Serviced Apartment, full service like a 5-stars hotel.
Except you bought the house instead of renting a room.

This post has been edited by jmas: Dec 2 2019, 07:28 PM
SUSzerozero00
post Dec 2 2019, 07:26 PM

Actually not much point in Msia.
Expensive maintenance fees without real perks
reed90
post Dec 2 2019, 07:27 PM

Road to the End
1,552 posts

Last time lot of property "sifu" here said BBB, now senyap dy? biggrin.gif
dares
post Dec 2 2019, 07:34 PM

834 posts

Actually my service apartment mentenen fees /sqft abang adik with my other normal apartment.

Also TNB bill can be converted to residential rate, just call up TNB and ask them to come inspect. The developer already did that for us.

All in all....not really a downside for me....dunno about others.

This post has been edited by dares: Dec 2 2019, 07:35 PM
jmas
post Dec 2 2019, 07:36 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Dec 2 2019, 07:34 PM)
Actually my service apartment mentenen fees /sqft abang adik with my other normal apartment.

Also TNB bill can be converted to residential rate, just call up TNB and ask them to come inspect. The developer already did that for us.

All in all....not really a downside for me....dunno about others.
how about Quit rent?
zerorating
post Dec 2 2019, 07:37 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Dec 2 2019, 07:23 PM)

The service apt price cost RM600k and above, but the residence there memekak need to pay expensive maintenance fees and higher electricity bill.

I was like, who ask you to buy the service appt if you can't afford to pay for it, go stay at PPRT if don't want to pay so much.

what kind of service they are getting, normal apartment oso can have gym, swImming pool too
ukauka2020
post Dec 2 2019, 07:38 PM

316 posts

investment wise ok what. do airbnb lo.
xpole
post Dec 2 2019, 07:40 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Dec 2 2019, 07:37 PM)
what kind of service they are getting, normal apartment oso can have gym, swImming pool too
Just like normal facilities such as Gym, Swimming pool, meeting room and below got a small shopping mall.
But the company I worked before is a small company only and they manage 1 property only laugh.gif

But the price they paid is not worth with the facilities that they are supposed to get.

SUStalzer
post Dec 2 2019, 07:41 PM

bagusnya
757 posts

Water bill rate heard cant change. There will be minimum charges, use or no use.

There are too many additional cost that are invisble, commercial property better kira baik baik if want commit. Else sure bleed
MrBlackie33
post Dec 2 2019, 07:42 PM

Shhhhhhh
834 posts

luckily mine is residential title, all utilities follow residential rate
alexkos
post Dec 2 2019, 07:44 PM

2,275 posts

How expensive? Rm100 per Month? Got pao what?

Pao clean inside Outside
Pao throw rubbish vacuum inside, mop

What else?
buysellaccount
post Dec 2 2019, 07:44 PM

127 posts

- boop -

This post has been edited by buysellaccount: Dec 2 2019, 07:45 PM
silent_stalker
post Dec 2 2019, 07:55 PM

852 posts

Serviced apartments in malaysia is bullshit.

Developer just use that name to build residential properties on top of commercial land.
ikankering
post Dec 2 2019, 07:57 PM

42 posts

no buyer can sell to foreigners.
novblaze
post Dec 2 2019, 07:59 PM

328 posts

Why no polls Pandan
max_cavalera
post Dec 2 2019, 08:04 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(silent_stalker @ Dec 2 2019, 08:55 PM)

Developer just use that name to build residential properties on top of commercial land.
This
TShazremi
post Dec 2 2019, 10:38 PM

5,676 posts

QUOTE(silent_stalker @ Dec 2 2019, 07:55 PM)

but still lots of ppl bought them...i guess they regret later?want to sell also not easy i guess
rooney723
post Dec 2 2019, 10:40 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Dec 2 2019, 10:38 PM)
but still lots of ppl bought them...i guess they regret later?want to sell also not easy i guess
all buy to flip when the property sector boomed many years bck, nw all crying cannot rent cannot sell
emburrar
post Dec 2 2019, 10:41 PM

14 posts

cukur ayam no buy
silent_stalker
post Dec 2 2019, 10:43 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Dec 2 2019, 10:38 PM)
Coz, the so called "serviced apartment" normally dev sell it with attractive offers. And not many people knows what serviced apartments actually is.

This post has been edited by silent_stalker: Dec 2 2019, 10:44 PM
thefryingfox
post Dec 2 2019, 10:51 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

I live in a service apartment.

Nice thing is....pool always clean 3 times a week,. Gardner clean the garden area .make sure everything trim etc...cleaner mop the hallway 4 time a week...mop everything.....it's clean that's all I can say.....maintenance about 320 a month.
silent_stalker
post Dec 2 2019, 10:52 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Dec 2 2019, 10:51 PM)
I live in a service apartment.

Nice thing is....pool always clean 3 times a week,. Gardner clean the garden area .make sure everything trim etc...cleaner mop the hallway 4 time a week...mop everything.....it's clean that's all I can say.....maintenance about 320 a month.
Thats not what serviced apartment is. U just have good management.
holypredator
post Dec 2 2019, 10:53 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

Maintenance cost is to cover building and facilities maintenance.

Most of the time, people buy service apartment is due to convenience and lifestyle because service apartment mostly located in the city center itself.

It is generally safer to live in a service apartment due to its security but many new landed project these days include fully gated and guarded facility which you would need to pay for the monthly maintenance as well.

New landed project is mostly outskirt hence some may not prefer the distance and the costs needed to travel to cities and workplace.

Overall, there is nothing to regret about buying a freehold service apartment situated in the city itself and you need not to worry about property appreciation because the property will appreciate overtime due to the limited land within the city itself.

However, if you bought service apartment located in the outskirt then you might worry in terms of property value and the long term costs travelling costs.

This post has been edited by holypredator: Dec 2 2019, 10:55 PM
SUSAud power
post Dec 2 2019, 11:03 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Dec 2 2019, 07:25 PM)

I am always miffed by the way developer in Malaysia called it "Serviced Apartment".

But then, I recall nearby KLCC got a few REAL full Serviced Apartment, full service like a 5-stars hotel.
those ones sound like you pay like 2mil for a 2 bed room lel
SUSlurkingaround
post Dec 2 2019, 11:15 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

Serviced apartments with commercial titles(= not residential titles) only started about 15 years ago - they are different from the previous normal residential apartments and condos. The BIG question is why did the government allow serviced apartments.? In the beginning many gullible buyers were quietly misled by housing developers into thinking they were buying the usual residential apartments until they got slapped with commercial rates for their maintenance fees, utility bills, cukai pintu and quit rent.
holypredator
post Dec 2 2019, 11:24 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Dec 2 2019, 07:25 PM)

You need to study more about property.

Those are service residence units of the hotel building. They are units owned by individual buyers and normally are above the hotel units.

These units ARE NOT serviced by the hotels staff. They are allowed to use the same facilities in the hotel building but the hotel cleaners, bellboy and receptionist/concierge does not form part and parcel of your unit bought, meaning to say they will not do housekeeping for you or handle airBnB for you.

However, there are some that allows you to do pay-per clean service, meaning to say they will help you to do housekeeping if you request and they will charge you a fee each time they clean for you (and it is normally more expensive than you getting a part time maid).

For any other service apartment that are not built on a hotel building, they function just like a condo except they have either a mall/shops on the lower ground floor or within close proximity. They are allowed to convert their utilities to residential rate.

The maintenance costs are like condo, which is to pay for security, facilities maintenance etc.

pisces88
post Dec 2 2019, 11:26 PM

3,969 posts

Regret bought a condo , should have invested in different area, bcos that condo cannot appreciate
holypredator
post Dec 2 2019, 11:32 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Dec 2 2019, 11:15 PM)
Serviced apartments with commercial titles(= not residential titles) only started about 15 years ago - they are different from the previous normal residential apartments and condos. The BIG question is why did the government allow serviced apartments.? In the beginning many gullible buyers were quietly misled by housing developers into thinking they were buying the usual residential apartments until they got slapped with commercial rates for their maintenance fees, utility bills, cukai pintu and quit rent.
Serviced apartment in Malaysia is basically building a residential building on a commercial land. They normally need to fulfill the commercial requirement by building shops or commercial units at the bottom floors.

Quit Rent = Cukai Pintu in the Malay language

All owners of landed property and also strata titled property needs to pay quit rent.

Utility rates for serviced apartments are commercial by default but can be changed to residential upon appeal. However, as far as I know, only the electricity bill can convert but I heard some projects are able to convert the water bill as well.

Maintenance fee basically covers your facility, building and security maintenance.

Please get a better understanding about how the property market works before commenting.

This post has been edited by holypredator: Dec 2 2019, 11:32 PM
Pichu00
post Dec 2 2019, 11:33 PM

640 posts

Want investment always buy residentail unit and land not commercial unit
rrmax112
post Dec 3 2019, 12:15 AM

Studio unit not easy to sell.
AskarPerang
post Dec 3 2019, 12:26 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

The best service apartment. Located in Dengkil. New township by Mah Sing.

accitzone
post Dec 3 2019, 12:39 AM

399 posts

Not necessarily Service Apartment... any kind of strata Property lah...

As they required constant common maintenance....

If all were to think of it... the common facilities, required a huge dedicated maintenance of TLC.....

Once the root start to come and ppl start to slack on the maintenance payment... mati lahh...

Come to think of it... the current condos that comes with big ass swimming pools, with infinity pools, gyms, common facilities...

Marilah oi.... once the responsibility transferred to the JMB... and once the volunteer JMB felt penat oredi... habislahhh
Twins10
post Dec 3 2019, 12:45 AM

919 posts

Service apt no housekeeping included in malaysia. Its a con job.
toda_erika_II
post Dec 3 2019, 12:57 AM

rawr~~
540 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Dec 2 2019, 11:24 PM)
You need to study more about property.

Those are service residence units of the hotel building. They are units owned by individual buyers and normally are above the hotel units.

These units ARE NOT serviced by the hotels staff. They are allowed to use the same facilities in the hotel building but the hotel cleaners, bellboy and receptionist/concierge does not form part and parcel of your unit bought, meaning to say they will not do housekeeping for you or handle airBnB for you.

However, there are some that allows you to do pay-per clean service, meaning to say they will help you to do housekeeping if you request and they will charge you a fee each time they clean for you (and it is normally more expensive than you getting a part time maid).

For any other service apartment that are not built on a hotel building, they function just like a condo except they have either a mall/shops on the lower ground floor or within close proximity. They are allowed to convert their utilities to residential rate.

The maintenance costs are like condo, which is to pay for security, facilities maintenance etc.
You need to learn more about what he just said.
zerorating
post Dec 3 2019, 01:05 AM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Dec 3 2019, 12:26 AM)

@2:40 suddenly become US highway
holypredator
post Dec 3 2019, 01:20 AM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(toda_erika_II @ Dec 3 2019, 12:57 AM)
You need to learn more about what he just said.
Which is?
billylks
post Dec 3 2019, 01:22 AM

180 posts

If your service apartment is in KL, prepare to pay an insanely high assessment tax just because the land is commercial.

Bodo piang DBKL.
SUSBillCollector
post Dec 3 2019, 01:36 AM

818 posts

I have invested in 2 of these, Mercu Summer Suites and the other is Accoris.

The MSS was a positive cashflow investment and made around 24% when I flipped it.
Accoris I recently flipped it to one Hongkie buyer.

Won't touch any of these shit again.

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Dec 2 2019, 07:22 PM)
commercial title cant borrow so high percentage from banks compared to residential ones
That depends whether or not it is developed under the HDA Schedule H or not.

If it is then you can borrow similar to residential.
kkboy
post Dec 3 2019, 02:06 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Dec 3 2019, 01:20 AM)
Which is?
Wahlao

kkboy
post Dec 3 2019, 02:07 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Dec 3 2019, 01:22 AM)
If your service apartment is in KL, prepare to pay an insanely high assessment tax just because the land is commercial.

Bodo piang DBKL.
I think that is smart of DBKL
Neo8663
post Dec 3 2019, 02:14 AM

1,244 posts

Almost go for service apartment
But check the maintenance rate, electricity rate
Im out.

Doesn't make sense at all for such place

jmas
post Dec 3 2019, 10:52 AM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(Neo8663 @ Dec 3 2019, 02:14 AM)
Almost go for service apartment
But check the maintenance rate, electricity rate
Im out.

Doesn't make sense at all for such place
Maintenance rate similar to other apartment/condo go compare, electricity rate can convert to residential rate
problem is bigger on quit rent.
SUSBillCollector
post Dec 3 2019, 11:00 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Dec 3 2019, 10:52 AM)
Maintenance rate similar to other apartment/condo go compare, electricity rate can convert to residential rate
Maintenance charges for those that are managed by hotel chains or to a hotel standard are extremely expensive.

You cannot convert the electricity tariff to residential on certain commercial title service apartments, it can only be converted where it was developed under HDA Schedule H rules and many of these boxes in sky are ineligible.
MeToo
post Dec 3 2019, 11:04 AM

9,336 posts

When I retire I want to stay in a small ~1500sqft condo that is attached to a decent mall.

Whether its commercial or residential rate shouldnt be a factor for me..
zhou.xingxing
post Dec 3 2019, 11:05 AM

:3
1,863 posts

QUOTE(viole @ Dec 2 2019, 07:23 PM)
stayed at one serviced apartment at hartamas. they do provide house keeping services and clean up for my unit every 2 3 days...
TShazremi
post Dec 3 2019, 11:06 AM

5,676 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 3 2019, 11:04 AM)
When I retire I want to stay in a small ~1500sqft condo that is attached to a decent mall.

when i retire i want to stay at landed house with land. Shops and malls should be nearby.
MeToo
post Dec 3 2019, 11:08 AM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Dec 3 2019, 11:06 AM)
when i retire i want to stay at landed house with land. Shops and malls should be nearby.
nah.. i have bene staying in landed houses my whole life.. the current one is way too big for retirement..
mamata
post Dec 3 2019, 11:09 AM

better get laid early then regret later on
699 posts

beli ppa1m , maintenance 215 sebulan ,mula ke mahai?
TShazremi
post Dec 3 2019, 11:10 AM

5,676 posts

QUOTE(mamata @ Dec 3 2019, 11:09 AM)
mahal la..bukan ada swimming pool..bayar security saja..parking 1 saja kan?
bristlebb
post Dec 3 2019, 11:11 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(reed90 @ Dec 2 2019, 07:27 PM)
Last time lot of property "sifu" here said BBB, now senyap dy? biggrin.gif
becoz they dpt $ ady
TShazremi
post Dec 3 2019, 11:11 AM

5,676 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Dec 3 2019, 12:26 AM)

service apartment at outskirt location..dont think can get capital appreciation
MohdPuskas
post Dec 3 2019, 11:16 AM

189 posts

How much the monthly maintenance fee roughly? For service apartments
mamata
post Dec 3 2019, 11:16 AM

better get laid early then regret later on
699 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Dec 3 2019, 11:10 AM)
mahal la..bukan ada swimming pool..bayar security saja..parking 1 saja kan?
yep
tmc
post Dec 3 2019, 11:17 AM

1,185 posts

: wrong post:

This post has been edited by tmc: Dec 3 2019, 11:18 AM
carloz28
post Dec 3 2019, 11:19 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

It’s not only the tariffs are higher

But the thought of having non residential ppl hanging around ur living quarters doesn’t really appeal to me

Bluntly put it, ur living quarters is not a public pasar
kyxxx
post Dec 3 2019, 11:20 AM

284 posts

is there such thing as service apartment, but at residential they charge you residential rate instead of commercial?
cause this is what i always heard from those sales people
cubiclecarbonate
post Dec 3 2019, 11:24 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(mamata @ Dec 3 2019, 11:09 AM)
my wife ppa1m application been pending for months closed to a year without updated current status

setiap kali tanya, the date will be extended to a new date

nokharom
mushigen
post Dec 3 2019, 11:31 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 3 2019, 11:04 AM)

Thing is, if you buy now the decent mall might not be decent any more when you're ready to move in. When you buy later, it will be more expensive.
Namelessone1973
post Dec 3 2019, 11:35 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 3 2019, 11:19 AM)
It’s not only the tariffs are higher

But the thought of having non residential ppl hanging around ur living quarters doesn’t really appeal to me

Bluntly put it, ur living quarters is not a public pasar
I thought non residential will not get access to the living quarters areas and the facilities. The only place which is shared is usually the mall.
MeToo
post Dec 3 2019, 11:36 AM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Dec 3 2019, 11:31 AM)
Thing is, if you buy now the decent mall might not be decent any more when you're ready to move in. When you buy later, it will be more expensive.
Ofcourse it will be more expensive, its called inflation.

But I dont see the problem here, my current property will also appreciate.
ClericKilla
post Dec 3 2019, 11:36 AM

1,789 posts

No raegrets.

The concierge signs my parcel for me everyday. I send my clothes to concierge for dry cleaning and someone will pick them up.

The concierge bitches about his work in another serviced apartment servicing Malaysian resident so I hear juicy stories from him.

Also the concierge is way smarter and has a better career chance ahead because he has a Master in Law and practiced for the past 7 years but got retrenched..
alanchong88
post Dec 3 2019, 11:42 AM

152 posts

Heard it was around 0.25-0.33 per square feet last time which is not that much of a difference compared to current residential apartments.

To put it simple, maintenance fee (excluding sinking fund and quit rent) is basically the maintenance cost (facilities, cleaning, security) shared by the number of units in the development. Then, the amount you need to paid is based on your unit's square feet X fee per square feet.

More facilities and service, less units = extra expensive
Less facilities and service, more units = cheaper

If not much facilities and expenses but still expensive, then something is wrong. Check with JMB or MC. There are cases where JMB/MC was accused of mismanagement.
kuci_mayong
post Dec 3 2019, 12:26 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(accitzone @ Dec 3 2019, 12:39 AM)
Not necessarily Service Apartment... any kind of  strata Property lah...

As they required constant common maintenance....

If all were to think of it... the common facilities,  required a huge dedicated maintenance of TLC.....

Once the root start to come and ppl start to slack on the maintenance payment... mati lahh...

Come to think of it... the current condos that comes with big ass swimming pools, with infinity pools, gyms, common facilities...

Marilah oi.... once the responsibility transferred to the JMB... and once the volunteer JMB felt penat oredi... habislahhh
I just want to stay in a condo/apartment that doesn't have all these added facilities, rather just pay for the basics like apartment/condo upkeep. For those pool or gym, i rather go to a reputable place that actually takes care of their equipment and pool.

Thing is in Malaysia, if you buy those apartments/condo with no facilities is considered like PPR.

This post has been edited by kuci_mayong: Dec 3 2019, 12:27 PM
Nanti Sekejap
post Dec 3 2019, 12:38 PM

411 posts

I don't think it is out-rightly wrong, or ones is always default-ly programmed to be regret for buying a service apartment.

I saw too many people profited from their transactions of their service apartments, or many who happily live in a services apartment.

Properties is really a case by case matter.
hurricane21
post Dec 3 2019, 12:46 PM

Senior Probation
1,389 posts

if include topless maid then can consider
accitzone
post Dec 3 2019, 01:03 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Dec 3 2019, 12:26 PM)
I just want to stay in a condo/apartment that doesn't have all these added facilities, rather just pay for the basics like apartment/condo upkeep. For those pool or gym, i rather go to a reputable place that actually takes care of their equipment and pool.

Thing is in Malaysia, if you buy those apartments/condo with no facilities is considered like PPR.
Yup... only old condos / apartments doesn't have all the bells n whistles now...
Alpha.1
post Dec 3 2019, 01:13 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(silent_stalker @ Dec 2 2019, 10:43 PM)
Coz, the so called "serviced apartment" normally dev sell it with attractive offers. And not many people knows what serviced apartments actually is.
second to this. most people font even know what service apartment is
jmas
post Dec 3 2019, 01:31 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(kyxxx @ Dec 3 2019, 11:20 AM)
is there such thing as service apartment, but at residential they charge you residential rate instead of commercial?
cause this is what i always heard from those sales people
never heard of serviced apartment charging residential rate, only electricity rate can convert for some.
but things like quit rent (cukai pintu) will always be commercial rate

QUOTE(alanchong88 @ Dec 3 2019, 11:42 AM)
Heard it was around 0.25-0.33 per square feet last time which is not that much of a difference compared to current residential apartments.

To put it simple, maintenance fee (excluding sinking fund and quit rent) is basically the maintenance cost (facilities, cleaning, security) shared by the number of units in the development. Then, the amount you need to paid is based on your unit's square feet X fee per square feet.

More facilities and service, less units = extra expensive
Less facilities and service, more units = cheaper

If not much facilities and expenses but still expensive, then something is wrong. Check with JMB or MC. There are cases where JMB/MC was accused of mismanagement.
try 1.80-2.50 per sqft.
last time got quoted this viewing unit at old klang road.
kyxxx
post Dec 3 2019, 05:09 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Dec 3 2019, 01:31 PM)
never heard of serviced apartment charging residential rate, only electricity rate can convert for some.
try 1.80-2.50 per sqft.
do you have information on service apartment like Geo Bukit Rimau?
actually i was told previously from the sales person that we are charged residential rate for electricity and water.
maintenance fee is 0.30 per sqft

but anyhow, i moved on and went for Tropicana Aman apartments laugh.gif

Understand for cukai pintu.
jmas
post Dec 3 2019, 06:53 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(kyxxx @ Dec 3 2019, 05:09 PM)
do you have information on service apartment like Geo Bukit Rimau?
actually i was told previously from the sales person that we are charged residential rate for electricity and water.

but anyhow, i moved on and went for Tropicana Aman apartments  laugh.gif

Understand for cukai pintu.
nope, sorry
my info is mostly from previous visits to showroom, online research, and experience sharing from others.
Neo8663
post Dec 3 2019, 07:32 PM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Dec 3 2019, 10:52 AM)
U sure ? Haha..
jmas
post Dec 3 2019, 07:39 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(Neo8663 @ Dec 3 2019, 07:32 PM)
U sure ? Haha..
hahaha, my bad, another comment got mentioned, maintenance rate also quite hight
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 3 2019, 07:56 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

> But in malaysia just another way to say, "We built this on commercial land, you will have to pay commercial rate. btw you will share the land with a mall, and sometimes a hotel"

LOL only bodo ppl buy that.
alanchong88
post Dec 3 2019, 10:07 PM

152 posts

try 1.80-2.50 per sqft.
There are still ones with lower maintenance fee psf but of course depends on your facilities and density. If paying 2.50 psf, then the place should be low density with impressive facilities or they are collecting extra to cover uncollected fees.

But to be fair, it is usually quoted low in sales room because develop wanted to push sales. After 1 year of free maintenance from developer, the rate would usually be increased to cover various stuff (uncollected fees, increasing cost, etc).
Neo8663
post Dec 3 2019, 10:50 PM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Dec 3 2019, 07:39 PM)
hahaha, my bad, another comment got mentioned, maintenance rate also quite hight
Yeap, thats what turn me off
I go for condo, residential
holypredator
post Dec 3 2019, 11:09 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

try 1.80-2.50 per sqft.
Pavilion residences also don't have 2.50 psf.... are you sure you know what you are talking about? That is RM2,500 for a 1k psf unit every month!

Average service apartment maintenance fee is about RM0.35 to RM0.50 depending on density and facilities. Those RM0.6 to RM0.8 normally they throw in a lot of extra services like Seputeh Avara project which includes shuttle service to Mid Valley.

gooroojee
post May 5 2021, 10:37 PM

LowYee
2,193 posts

Has anyone experienced or know of any other differences between residential high rise vs. commercial high rise under HDA, besides the difference in utility bills, quit rent, assessment tax, etc.?

How about leasehold lease renewal? Claim to the underlying land? Car park I heard also can't sell or transfer when we sell our unit (not sure how true)? Formation of MC? Strata titles? Authority or influence over the retail or commercial shops under our residences?

Real life experiences and lessons learnt will be greatly appreciated!
nohow22
post May 6 2021, 01:42 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ May 5 2021, 10:37 PM)
Has anyone experienced or know of any other differences between residential high rise vs. commercial high rise under HDA, besides the difference in utility bills, quit rent, assessment tax, etc.?

How about leasehold lease renewal? Claim to the underlying land? Car park I heard also can't sell or transfer when we sell our unit (not sure how true)? Formation of MC? Strata titles? Authority or influence over the retail or commercial shops under our residences?

Real life experiences and lessons learnt will be greatly appreciated!
it is slightly difficult to sell or transfer your unit and it takes longer time
lease renewal is different for KL and Selangor so which state you are in?
what are the differences you want to know regards on the title of residence?
JimbeamofNRT
post May 6 2021, 01:48 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Dec 2 2019, 07:23 PM)

some ppl never bother to read the details, kana conned by agents BBB UUU then KPKB when see the bills.
Lembu Goreng
post May 6 2021, 01:49 PM

1,129 posts

yeah, i used to pay RM800+ for maintenance alone

now i just rent

Doomsday
post May 6 2021, 01:51 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ May 6 2021, 01:48 PM)
some ppl never bother to read the details, kana conned by agents BBB UUU then KPKB when see the bills.
shit, I terasa dah
ti.infinion
post May 6 2021, 01:55 PM

40 posts

It really depends, it unit come with stunning view, worth it for me
thxxht
post May 6 2021, 01:58 PM

368 posts

don't buy SOHOs, it's a stupid concept, you either buy office or buy residential. anyway, condos and offices and sohos are pretty oversupplied at the moment, plus market is extremely soft. This can be a good time to sapu some cheap property provided you can hold for long periods of time.
dickybird
post May 6 2021, 02:11 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ May 6 2021, 01:58 PM)
don't buy SOHOs, it's a stupid concept, you either buy office or buy residential. anyway, condos and offices and sohos are pretty oversupplied at the moment, plus market is extremely soft. This can be a good time to sapu some cheap property provided you can hold for long periods of time.
Buy bona fide condos la.
All this shit soho, sofo, sovo are all con jobs.
And buy for rental yield not capital appreciation.

nohow22
post May 6 2021, 02:20 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ May 6 2021, 01:58 PM)
every property has its own market and soho suitable for single or newly wed
small type company with not more than 10 ppls in a team can choose for this type of property as office, save more on renting huge office
agree that now is a good time to purchase affordable property since supply > demand
gooroojee
post May 6 2021, 08:34 PM

LowYee
2,193 posts

QUOTE(nohow22 @ May 6 2021, 01:42 PM)
it is slightly difficult to sell or transfer your unit and it takes longer time
lease renewal is different for KL and Selangor so which state you are in?
what are the differences you want to know regards on the title of residence?
Thanks. So commercial with HDA strata titles are harder to sell or transfer compared to residential strata titles ya?

Let's try KL lease first. Someone told me Selangor just pay RM1k can renew lease for 99 years already.

I was thinking about resident's rights on common property where the property is actually a mix of homes and shops/offices and common areas like a ground floor park or open space.

In a condo, the MC has full authority to change condo facilities, change the landscape, fencing, facade, and strata owners have a proportion of the land according to their unit size. For commercial with HDA, how is the shared grounds apportioned? I'm told the residents have no management control over the shops and ground floor area, and can only manage their own residential space above the commercial properties. Is that right?
nohow22
post May 7 2021, 01:31 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ May 6 2021, 08:34 PM)
Thanks. So commercial with HDA strata titles are harder to sell or transfer compared to residential strata titles ya?

Let's try KL lease first. Someone told me Selangor just pay RM1k can renew lease for 99 years already.

I was thinking about resident's rights on common property where the property is actually a mix of homes and shops/offices and common areas like a ground floor park or open space.

In a condo, the MC has full authority to change condo facilities, change the landscape, fencing, facade, and strata owners have a proportion of the land according to their unit size. For commercial with HDA, how is the shared grounds apportioned? I'm told the residents have no management control over the shops and ground floor area, and can only manage their own residential space above the commercial properties. Is that right?
there are some restriction with commercial title like u can't turn into house, require to install water sprinkle, utilities bill is higher compare to residential as well
of course if you are planning to buy for own stay, always go for residential title
here is a reference for you on KL and Selangor lease calculation so u can have a better idea

https://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-gu...ing-lease-34288

0.0363sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:19 PM