Can you transfer / receive wechat rmb?, Now need bank account of China

mobileoop
post Dec 4 2019, 06:34 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(hhkong @ Dec 4 2019, 04:06 PM)
i managed to use alipay tourpass without much issue during my trip to china last month. i linked my rhb credit card to my alipay account and get myself a hk data sim before the trip and it worked perfectly. i top up a few round of my alipay balance during the trip, no issue. only one thing to take note is never try to transfer rmb from your alipay to any local chinese. i bought something from the tour guide and have tried to pay him by transferring bal from my alipay to his alipay. my alipay account got blocked after a few unsuccessful attempts. howver, i managed to call local alipay helpline and got it all sort out in a morning.
What do you see under "Identity Verification"? My account is still showed as "Unverified".

Other than the hk data sim, do you use alipay for other transaction? If yes, what are the transactions?

An update on my case, I receive the notification related to "Account limitation Removed". I thought I could add then CNY 2000 via Tourpass already. I just tried it and I still received the "Fund loading failed" error!

At least, I believe the Wechat pay is working fine for me. As I already received the Train Ticket Pickup Code. But, I need Alipay just for backup.
hhkong
post Dec 5 2019, 06:52 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(mobileoop @ Dec 4 2019, 06:34 PM)
What do you see under "Identity Verification"? My account is still showed as "Unverified".

Other than the hk data sim, do you use alipay for other transaction? If yes, what are the transactions?

An update on my case, I receive the notification related to "Account limitation Removed". I thought I could add then CNY 2000 via Tourpass already. I just tried it and I still received the "Fund loading failed" error!

At least, I believe the Wechat pay is working fine for me. As I already received the Train Ticket Pickup Code. But, I need Alipay just for backup.
identity verification shows "unverified". no, when i said hk data sim i meant i got it while still in msia becos you need a data line to make this ewallet works. btw, i used alipay for hotel accommodation, at shopping centers, supermarkets, convenient stores, kaki lima petty traders. basically 99% of the spending in china i used alipay other than some angpao i gave to china relative in kampung area i used rmb cash. i add rmb1000 while still in msia to the tourpass and made another 2 top up while in china. it all worked perfectly, no error message.
mobileoop
post Dec 5 2019, 09:49 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(hhkong @ Dec 5 2019, 06:52 AM)
identity verification shows "unverified". no, when i said hk data sim i meant i got it while still in msia becos you need a data line to make this ewallet works. btw, i used alipay for hotel accommodation, at shopping centers, supermarkets, convenient stores, kaki lima petty traders. basically 99% of the spending in china i used alipay other than some angpao i gave to china relative in kampung area i used rmb cash. i add rmb1000 while still in msia to the tourpass and  made another 2 top up while in china. it all worked perfectly, no error message.
Thanks for the info! Good to hear that it can be used at most of the places. I guess my Wechat pay should be almost the same. Maybe there will be a slightly fee. My Alipay still not working. I almost give up on Alipay. I have some paper CNY cash, just for backup in case I really need it.
hhkong
post Dec 5 2019, 10:16 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(mobileoop @ Dec 5 2019, 09:49 AM)
Thanks for the info! Good to hear that it can be used at most of the places. I guess my Wechat pay should be almost the same. Maybe there will be a slightly fee. My Alipay still not working. I almost give up on Alipay. I have some paper CNY cash, just for backup in case I really need it.
bring a credit card just for emergency purpose. most 4 star hotels, shopping centers and supermarket accept credit cards for payment...
Jay Chua CC
post Dec 5 2019, 02:12 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(mobileoop @ Dec 3 2019, 07:35 PM)
Just want to share my experience.

I will be going to China end of this month. For the last 1 week+, I have been trying to register for Wechat Pay and AliPay. I tried a few of my cards on AliPay (TourPass), all of them have been unsuccessful. I received the error related to "High Risk Card...". Then, yesterday afternoon I was messing with the chat bot inside Alipay app. I even typed some curse word like "F*ck you". lol. I didn't know what I did and it was transferred to a real support staff. After chatting, she said someone will call me tomorrow (which is today). I received the call about 2 hours ago. She said there will be an email send to me, and I will need to submit My passport and also the photo of my credit card. I just did that. And hopefully there will be a good news for  the next few days.

Last night, I was playing with the Wechat Pay as well. I selected the region as "China". I was successfully Added my Visa Card there! I tried to top up to the WeChat Pay balance, all my cards will show errors. I believe it only allows top up balance using a China bank card. There is a page which is used to verify my real name identity, I tried to click everywhere, but there is no way for me to submit my passport. So right now, my Wechat Pay account is still NOT verified.

Just now, I tried to purchase the train ticket via "Rail & Flights" inside the Wechat Pay. The first time it failed. The 2nd time, It was successful! I receive the email "Thank you for your using Travelgo.com. You reservation has been submitted.Travelgo.com will attempt to reserve this ticket for you and purchase it automatically when the pre-sale period has begun."

I compare the train ticket price on wechat pay vs trip.com, it is CNY 20 more expensive than trip.com. Anyway, I just wanted to try to see if wechat pay actually works. And it did!

I will know for sure if works when I see my online credit card statement for the next few days.
tourpass is good. top up rmb with debit card. no issues. payment is less than 2 seconds
mobileoop
post Dec 5 2019, 04:02 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(hhkong @ Dec 5 2019, 10:16 AM)
bring a credit card just for emergency purpose. most 4 star hotels, shopping centers and supermarket accept credit cards for payment...
Yes, definitely will bring credit card too.
mobileoop
post Dec 5 2019, 04:04 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 5 2019, 02:12 PM)
tourpass is good. top up rmb with debit card. no issues. payment is less than 2 seconds
I have been trying so hard to get the Alipay tourpass. But, still it failed to load the fund.
mobileoop
post Jan 4 2020, 12:00 PM

129 posts

FYI, I just came back from China. My WeChat pay is garbage. Can not be used anywhere else. I only successfully purchased a train ticker using a travel app inside WeChat. I can't even use it on Didi e-hailing inside the WeChat! I can link the Wechat Pay to Ctrip but I also can not use it to purchase the one day trip tickets!

Wasting so much time in setting up wechat pay and alipay, at last the hard cool paper money is the most reliable. I already cancelled my wechat pay and alipay account!
tvcat
post Jan 4 2020, 10:16 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,913 posts

QUOTE(hhkong @ Dec 5 2019, 06:52 AM)
identity verification shows "unverified". no, when i said hk data sim i meant i got it while still in msia becos you need a data line to make this ewallet works. btw, i used alipay for hotel accommodation, at shopping centers, supermarkets, convenient stores, kaki lima petty traders. basically 99% of the spending in china i used alipay other than some angpao i gave to china relative in kampung area i used rmb cash. i add rmb1000 while still in msia to the tourpass and  made another 2 top up while in china. it all worked perfectly, no error message.
where to get hk sim card in msia?
hhkong
post Jan 15 2020, 10:23 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Jan 4 2020, 10:16 PM)
where to get hk sim card in msia?
just type china sim and search at shopee...
tvcat
post Jan 15 2020, 10:25 AM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,913 posts

QUOTE(hhkong @ Jan 15 2020, 10:23 AM)
just type china sim and search at shopee...
i see, thanks bro
ladytarot99
post Jan 16 2020, 02:46 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(SuperTuhan @ Nov 30 2019, 09:23 AM)
Guys, I had rmb in my wechat wallet
And Ytd I tried to transfer out but failed due to I am not registered with any debit/credit cards from China

Anyone got solutions to this?

I am in Malaysia, can I use any Malaysia banks card that are recognised by wechat?

This is a recent rule, early of this year I still can transfer in and out

It’s because of your initial region restrictions when the money in into your wallet. You only can transfer to your chinese friend through wechat. You can’t use malaysian bank card to withdraw your RMB if your initial registration was mainland. You have to use chinese/local bank account to withdraw.
kons
post Jan 16 2020, 05:30 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(mobileoop @ Jan 4 2020, 12:00 PM)
FYI, I just came back from China. My WeChat pay is garbage. Can not be used anywhere else. I only successfully purchased a train ticker using a travel app inside WeChat. I can't even use it on Didi e-hailing inside the WeChat! I can link the Wechat Pay to Ctrip but I also can not use it to purchase the one day trip tickets!

Wasting so much time in setting up wechat pay and alipay, at last the hard cool paper money is the most reliable. I already cancelled my wechat pay and alipay account!
didi e-hailing does not even need a local e-wallet. i am using mastercard for didi.. it's working fine and comes with discount too.

0.0164sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:41 AM