Can you transfer / receive wechat rmb?, Now need bank account of China

TSSuperTuhan
post Nov 30 2019, 09:23 AM, updated 7y ago

278 posts

Guys, I had rmb in my wechat wallet
And Ytd I tried to transfer out but failed due to I am not registered with any debit/credit cards from China

Anyone got solutions to this?

I am in Malaysia, can I use any Malaysia banks card that are recognised by wechat?

This is a recent rule, early of this year I still can transfer in and out

Chengi
post Nov 30 2019, 09:29 AM

215 posts

i'm a step better than you but still the same as you

i have a chinese bank account/union pay card but the china phone number that i use doesn't have international roaming so i can't receive sms to add to my wechat account...
TSSuperTuhan
post Nov 30 2019, 09:34 AM

278 posts

QUOTE(Chengi @ Nov 30 2019, 09:29 AM)
i'm a step better than you but still the same as you

i have a chinese bank account/union pay card but the china phone number that i use doesn't have international roaming so i can't receive sms to add to my wechat account...
Means after u have China bank account, u need China number?? Can't u register with local number??

Alamak laugh.gif
Chengi
post Nov 30 2019, 09:42 AM

215 posts

there are few requirements to open a chinese bank account. one of the requirement is to have a china local phone number.
adamw
post Nov 30 2019, 11:46 AM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,352 posts

QUOTE(Chengi @ Nov 30 2019, 09:42 AM)
there are few requirements to open a chinese bank account. one of the requirement is to have a china local phone number.
Regulations have change since 2-3 years ago, now need employment letter, electricity or water bills in your name etc etc.
Newsray
post Dec 1 2019, 08:02 AM

1,022 posts

Wechat is a joke.
They might as well make it exclusive to PRC.
My account is still blocked because i didnt have a friend to unblock it.

You dont even need to try on the wallet with all these requirements.
Chengi
post Dec 1 2019, 03:26 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Nov 30 2019, 11:46 AM)
Regulations have change since 2-3 years ago, now need employment letter, electricity or water bills in your name etc etc.
i really just got it like 3 weeks ago. These were the requirements:

if i recall correctly, the requirements are

1) Malaysia Tax number
2) China address
3) China phone number
4) Passport

some bank required additional documents ie visa longer than 6 months and others
LaiN87
post Dec 2 2019, 01:41 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,320 posts

Use Alipay tour pass.

Top up up to 5000 RMB.
Use passport
After 90 days leftover money will come back to you.

https://www.soyacincau.com/2019/11/06/alipa...s-for-tourists/
Burningsunz
post Dec 2 2019, 03:12 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Dec 2 2019, 01:41 PM)
Use Alipay tour pass.

Top up up to 5000 RMB.
Use passport
After 90 days leftover money will come back to you.

https://www.soyacincau.com/2019/11/06/alipa...s-for-tourists/
can give me more info on this? i can't link my debit card in alipay apps.
any idea whats the conversion rate and stuff?
heading to china this month end so if alipay can give better conversion rate than money changer then i might as well use alipay

LaiN87
post Dec 2 2019, 06:06 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,320 posts

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Dec 2 2019, 03:12 PM)
can give me more info on this? i can't link my debit card in alipay apps.
any idea whats the conversion rate and stuff?
heading to china this month end so if alipay can give better conversion rate than money changer then i might as well use alipay
Try this link.
https://rapidtravelchai.boardingarea.com/alipay-tour-pass/

I tried setting it up but I was too late.
In the end it didn't work out as well.
sgpdsmss
post Dec 3 2019, 10:18 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Dec 2 2019, 06:06 PM)
Try this link.

try change your wechat to international version then only can use tour pass ..
Burningsunz
post Dec 3 2019, 10:41 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Dec 2 2019, 06:06 PM)
Try this link.

i read the comment all the payment still confusing and alot can't be used even after top up.
but can only top up rmb2000 and cannot top up again once you used finish is like serving no purpose cause i usually bring more than 10k rmb to china.
guess i have to carry all the cash with me again and losing few hundred rmb for the conversion rate losses at money changer.
mobileoop
post Dec 3 2019, 07:35 PM

129 posts

Just want to share my experience.

I will be going to China end of this month. For the last 1 week+, I have been trying to register for Wechat Pay and AliPay. I tried a few of my cards on AliPay (TourPass), all of them have been unsuccessful. I received the error related to "High Risk Card...". Then, yesterday afternoon I was messing with the chat bot inside Alipay app. I even typed some curse word like "F*ck you". lol. I didn't know what I did and it was transferred to a real support staff. After chatting, she said someone will call me tomorrow (which is today). I received the call about 2 hours ago. She said there will be an email send to me, and I will need to submit My passport and also the photo of my credit card. I just did that. And hopefully there will be a good news for the next few days.

Last night, I was playing with the Wechat Pay as well. I selected the region as "China". I was successfully Added my Visa Card there! I tried to top up to the WeChat Pay balance, all my cards will show errors. I believe it only allows top up balance using a China bank card. There is a page which is used to verify my real name identity, I tried to click everywhere, but there is no way for me to submit my passport. So right now, my Wechat Pay account is still NOT verified.

Just now, I tried to purchase the train ticket via "Rail & Flights" inside the Wechat Pay. The first time it failed. The 2nd time, It was successful! I receive the email "Thank you for your using Travelgo.com. You reservation has been submitted.Travelgo.com will attempt to reserve this ticket for you and purchase it automatically when the pre-sale period has begun."

I compare the train ticket price on wechat pay vs trip.com, it is CNY 20 more expensive than trip.com. Anyway, I just wanted to try to see if wechat pay actually works. And it did!

I will know for sure if works when I see my online credit card statement for the next few days.
BondIT
post Dec 4 2019, 08:06 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(mobileoop @ Dec 3 2019, 07:35 PM)

I will be going to China end of this month. For the last 1 week+, I have been trying to register for Wechat Pay and AliPay. I tried a few of my cards on AliPay (TourPass), all of them have been unsuccessful. I received the error related to "High Risk Card...". Then, yesterday afternoon I was messing with the chat bot inside Alipay app. I even typed some curse word like "F*ck you". lol. I didn't know what I did and it was transferred to a real support staff. After chatting, she said someone will call me tomorrow (which is today). I received the call about 2 hours ago. She said there will be an email send to me, and I will need to submit My passport and also the photo of my credit card. I just did that. And hopefully there will be a good news for  the next few days.

Last night, I was playing with the Wechat Pay as well. I selected the region as "China". I was successfully Added my Visa Card there! I tried to top up to the WeChat Pay balance, all my cards will show errors. I believe it only allows top up balance using a China bank card. There is a page which is used to verify my real name identity, I tried to click everywhere, but there is no way for me to submit my passport. So right now, my Wechat Pay account is still NOT verified.

Just now, I tried to purchase the train ticket via "Rail & Flights" inside the Wechat Pay. The first time it failed. The 2nd time, It was successful! I receive the email "Thank you for your using Travelgo.com. You reservation has been submitted.Travelgo.com will attempt to reserve this ticket for you and purchase it automatically when the pre-sale period has begun."

I compare the train ticket price on wechat pay vs trip.com, it is CNY 20 more expensive than trip.com. Anyway, I just wanted to try to see if wechat pay actually works. And it did!

I will know for sure if works when I see my online credit card statement for the next few days.
my god bro, so much of error and mistakes going around. Keep us posted see how it goes bro!
kons
post Dec 4 2019, 09:14 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(mobileoop @ Dec 3 2019, 07:35 PM)

I will be going to China end of this month. For the last 1 week+, I have been trying to register for Wechat Pay and AliPay. I tried a few of my cards on AliPay (TourPass), all of them have been unsuccessful. I received the error related to "High Risk Card...". Then, yesterday afternoon I was messing with the chat bot inside Alipay app. I even typed some curse word like "F*ck you". lol. I didn't know what I did and it was transferred to a real support staff. After chatting, she said someone will call me tomorrow (which is today). I received the call about 2 hours ago. She said there will be an email send to me, and I will need to submit My passport and also the photo of my credit card. I just did that. And hopefully there will be a good news for  the next few days.

i have been using tourpass in china just last week, works fine like normal alipay, can pay for cab and food and everything.
tourpass is super easy to sign up, not sure what you have been doing, i managed to get it working in less than 30 minutes.

already spent more than CNY 3000 so far.
guardioo
post Dec 4 2019, 10:39 AM

360 posts

I had spend more than 20k monthly on tour pass.
This is my experience
I went to first bank and tell me better go another bank as it take 2-3 month for verification, go to 2nd bank and require my employment letter and address, go to 3rd bank even ask require minimum 180 days in china and pay tax.

In the end i went to ICBC and get a tour card, register wechat pay and alipay with no hassle, what you require is actually get a China fren and use their mobile phone in case any thing goes wrong, but seriously it really painful getting bank account in china, when everything in China does not use much cash now.
mobileoop
post Dec 4 2019, 10:59 AM

129 posts

At 9 am just now, I receive a notification on the Alipay mentioned that they are reviewing the limitation of my account. Hopefully, it is a success later. :D
mobileoop
post Dec 4 2019, 11:01 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Dec 4 2019, 09:14 AM)
i have been using tourpass in china just last week, works fine like normal alipay, can pay for cab and food and everything.
tourpass is super easy to sign up, not sure what you have been doing, i managed to get it working in less than 30 minutes.

already spent more than CNY 3000 so far.
You are the luck one! Not everyone has the same smooth experience like you. If you read the comment section of https://rapidtravelchai.boardingarea.com/alipay-tour-pass/ you will see some people can not activate the alipay as well. One particular person had the exact same error that I saw = Error message “Fund loading failed” The current transaction is risky and we interrupted the transaction for your security.
mobileoop
post Dec 4 2019, 11:03 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(guardioo @ Dec 4 2019, 10:39 AM)
I had spend more than 20k monthly on tour pass.
This is my experience
I went to first bank and tell me better go another bank as it take 2-3 month for verification, go to 2nd bank and require my employment letter and address, go to 3rd bank even ask require minimum 180 days in china and pay tax.

In the end i went to ICBC and get a tour card, register wechat pay and alipay with no hassle, what you require is actually get a China fren and use their mobile phone in case any thing goes wrong, but seriously it really painful getting bank account in china, when everything in China does not use much cash now.
Right now, it does not require a china bank account nor a china bank card anymore to use wechat pay or alipay. Maybe it is still under experiment phrase. Still have lots of limitations.
hhkong
post Dec 4 2019, 04:06 PM

92 posts

i managed to use alipay tourpass without much issue during my trip to china last month. i linked my rhb credit card to my alipay account and get myself a hk data sim before the trip and it worked perfectly. i top up a few round of my alipay balance during the trip, no issue. only one thing to take note is never try to transfer rmb from your alipay to any local chinese. i bought something from the tour guide and have tried to pay him by transferring bal from my alipay to his alipay. my alipay account got blocked after a few unsuccessful attempts. howver, i managed to call local alipay helpline and got it all sort out in a morning.

0.0162sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:22 AM