Rental Agreement Fee, Who pay

TSsai2
post Nov 27 2019, 01:48 PM, updated 6y ago

233 posts

I going to rent an apartment but the agent ask me to pay for the Rental Agreement Fee.
I tot only the owner pay, i no need to pay right ? I am tenant.
Usually how much is Rental Agreement Fee ?

This post has been edited by sai2: Nov 27 2019, 02:53 PM
tmc
post Nov 27 2019, 02:13 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(sai2 @ Nov 27 2019, 01:48 PM)
I going to rent an apartment but the agent ask me to pay for the Rental Agreement Fee.
I tot only the owner pay, i no need to pay right ?
Rental agreement fees usually tenant pays. This is just the agent trying to make additional income due to difficult to survive based on selling property tenancy.

If the agent charges you ( as a owner), but you refuse to pay, so tenancy cannot be closed. If you play hardball, and agent play hardball, and tenant also play hardball, then no deal. It's simple.
Mikeshashimi
post Nov 27 2019, 02:17 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

Usually tenant pay for the agreement, but depends how you nego with the landlord or if agent, then agent.

Price of the agreement depends on who will be drafting it.
boelat
post Nov 27 2019, 02:20 PM

23 posts

Mine is RM250 per year. RM350 per 3 years.
But the thing is, my sister is a lawyer who can do this for free.
I think the money goes to agent and landlord as extra income.
Really leceh.
tmc
post Nov 27 2019, 02:29 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(boelat @ Nov 27 2019, 02:20 PM)
Mine is RM250 per year. RM350 per 3 years.
But the thing is, my sister is a lawyer who can do this for free.
I think the money goes to agent and landlord as extra income.
Really leceh.
The money is too good and too easy, no way the agent is going to give a single cent to the landlord !
mini orchard
post Nov 27 2019, 02:34 PM

14,511 posts

In a tenancy, all charges and stamp duty are borned by the tenant ... same procedure as buying a property.

TA fees is about RM300 to RM500 depending on monthly rental excluding stamping fees if is done by 'illegal' lawyer aka the agent. If you ask a lawyer to prepare the TA, is 1 month's rental excluding stamping and misc charges.

So as tenant, you call the shot. I dont have to say which person to do, right?

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 27 2019, 02:40 PM
TSsai2
post Nov 27 2019, 02:51 PM

233 posts

Since it is the landlord who is making money, so why the tenant have to pay ? So this money goes to whose pocket ?
I am tenant, can i do it by myself and what is the DIY true cost ?

This post has been edited by sai2: Nov 27 2019, 02:52 PM
mini orchard
post Nov 27 2019, 03:00 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(sai2 @ Nov 27 2019, 02:51 PM)
Since it is the landlord who is making money, so why the tenant have to pay ? So this money goes to whose pocket ?
The landlord dont collect any money from TA. Is a service provided by the agent to facilitate the transaction. But ...

If you know how to draft the TA, then you dont have to pay.

If you can drive to the landlord's place to sign the agreement, then you dont have to pay.

If you can take time off to drive to lhdn to have the TA stamped, you dont have to pay.

If you can drive to the landlord's place to handover the TA after stamping, then you dont have to pay.

If you know how to do everything, you dont have to pay.

True cost ..
Paper, printing and binding cost
Petrol and parking
Time
Stamping fee

It is good experience if you want to learn.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 27 2019, 03:08 PM
TSsai2
post Nov 27 2019, 04:47 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 27 2019, 03:00 PM)
The landlord dont collect any money from TA. Is a service provided by the agent to facilitate the transaction. But ...

If you know how to draft the TA, then you dont have to pay.

If you can drive to the landlord's place to sign the agreement, then you dont have to pay.

If you can take time off to drive to lhdn to have the TA stamped, you dont have to pay.

If you can drive to the landlord's place to handover the TA after stamping, then you dont have to pay.

If you know how to do everything, you dont have to pay.

True cost ..
Paper, printing and binding cost
Petrol and parking
Time
Stamping fee

It is good experience if you want to learn.
Sound like an agent, receive 1 month commission from landlord and still want more ....

mini orchard
post Nov 27 2019, 05:17 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(sai2 @ Nov 27 2019, 04:47 PM)
Sound like an agent, receive 1 month commission from landlord and still want more ....
You cannot know a person profession from sound of keyboard.

I cannot sound like a lawyer meh?

In life, I never fight with money. If I want to save money, then diy. Otherwise pay to get service.

So you need the templates ... 1 time payment, use lifetime? Good for people forever rent property. Save alot. Then I can tarpau my legal office. Oops just told you my profession from the sound of keyboard !

Lawyers earn 2 type of fees from a purchaser. Snp legal fees and Loan Agreement legal fees. If using your logic, since he oredi earn the snp fees, then he should NOT charge loan agreement fees. Correct? Greedy ?

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 27 2019, 05:43 PM
mini orchard
post Nov 27 2019, 06:38 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(sai2 @ Nov 27 2019, 02:51 PM)
Since it is the seller who is making money, so why the purchaser have to pay? So this money goes to whose pocket?
InitialB
post Nov 27 2019, 06:40 PM

700 posts

Pay la... Kalo kedekut cari la sendiri

You pay agent 1/2 month
Owner pay agent 1/2 month

vckc
post Nov 28 2019, 12:14 AM

418 posts

I tot only the owner pay, i no need to pay right ? I am tenant.
Its just how things are done. If you want you can draft your own, as long as the owner agrees to it. However its part of the market practice and method for agents to make a living.
mini orchard
post Nov 28 2019, 07:13 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(vckc @ Nov 28 2019, 12:14 AM)
Its just how things are done. If you want you can draft your own, as long as the owner agrees to it. However its part of the market practice and method for agents to make a living.
Some people have very poor understanding on how things are done in the market place.

Paying for one and expect combo services.

Like this ..

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4868557

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 28 2019, 07:31 AM
landplus
post Aug 22 2023, 05:34 PM

31 posts

I think it is a bit overprice for agent to charge up to RM400 for a standard tenancy agreement. You can generate one for free at this link: https://www.land.plus/malaysia/tools/tenanc...ement-generator

The stamping fee will just cost tens of ringgit, and you can do it yourself at the LHDN.
hanhanhan
post Sep 1 2023, 09:08 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

QUOTE(landplus @ Aug 22 2023, 05:34 PM)
I think it is a bit overprice for agent to charge up to RM400 for a standard tenancy agreement. You can generate one for free at this link: https://www.land.plus/malaysia/tools/tenanc...ement-generator

The stamping fee will just cost tens of ringgit, and you can do it yourself at the LHDN.
using a standard template may not fully protect you if you want to rely on the agreement to enforce it.

that being said, it's rarely housing tenancy gets pulled to court proceedings as the cost is not worth the amount claimed.

0.0142sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:02 AM