SGD 3000 vs RM 5000 SALARY, who win?

deodorant
post Nov 27 2019, 11:16 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(kimjiwon @ Nov 27 2019, 11:02 AM)
If RM20k in Malaysia, will you consider SGD10k in Singapore?
Let say you have wife and kids.......for sure single probably will choose SG cause kids education, tuition, lifestyle is quite expensive in SG

That will be a huge downgrade in living standards.
SUSM4A1
post Nov 27 2019, 11:16 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Nov 27 2019, 11:12 AM)
I watch property hunting  channel in astro. Some of the episode got Singaporean looking for house.

1.4-1.5million shd only gets u 1.1-1.2k sqft condo its bullshit really.

In malaysia 1-1.5million sgd gets u a luxury mansion already biggrin.gif tongue.gif
why need buy condo when SG ppl can buy their own HDB hmm.gif
kenji1903
post Nov 27 2019, 11:17 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Nov 27 2019, 11:02 AM)
i tend to feel singkie girls are less materialistic and more conservative than msian girls.
So I guess the sought after are by your definition is for the fun by sg guys.
You'd be surprised that theres a demand for msian guys because to the eyes of SG girls. SG guys are all useless hamsap mommy boys.
while SG girls may sound nice. you gotta get used to their accent which sounds like they're permanently whining.
are we talking about the same Singapore? sweat.gif
in my circle... Singaporeans i know won't bat an eye on a Malaysian unless you are from a higher financial status... there are good neutral ones as well but mostly are the not laugh.gif

i know a lot of Singaporean who have Malaysian wives

where are you located bro?
Bonchi
post Nov 27 2019, 11:18 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 27 2019, 11:13 AM)
Sinkie girls are way more materialistic. They are just not that bothered about M'sian or SG boys given the international options they can choose from.
their materialistic is from their own spending instead of receiving as gifts... that's what i observed. Just like why some guys buy rolex as a token of achievement... maybe this is due to the spending power.

However their criteria is for a guy might be tougher than materialistic gifts: is to have a fat enough CPF to BTO a HDB the moment they ROM laugh.gif
SUSunforg1ven
post Nov 27 2019, 11:18 AM

Sgd$3k > myr$5k..

Malaysia go for PR route...
I got friend starter with $3k and roll up to $5k in 2 years..
kenji1903
post Nov 27 2019, 11:20 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Nov 27 2019, 11:12 AM)
I watch property hunting  channel in astro. Some of the episode got Singaporean looking for house.

1.4-1.5million shd only gets u 1.1-1.2k sqft condo its bullshit really.

In malaysia 1-1.5million sgd gets u a luxury mansion already biggrin.gif tongue.gif
RM4-5mil is just a nice bungalow, not exactly a mansion tongue.gif

and SGD1.5mil condo in singapore has quite a good location, not like the usual Jurong kind of distance tongue.gif
ZerOne01
post Nov 27 2019, 11:20 AM

124 posts

means both stay at respective places?
Bonchi
post Nov 27 2019, 11:22 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(kimjiwon @ Nov 27 2019, 11:11 AM)
SGD10k/month with the kids spending in SG would not have the lifestyle for RM20k/month in Malaysia. So means you would like sacrifice the lifestyle and less saving (compare to stay in Malaysia) for your kids better education in SG. Remember that tuition fee and expenses in SG are much higher, and to save more you need to trade off by taking public transport rather than have your own car
Many parents are willing to sacrifice lifestyle to secure the kid's future. Not having a car is probably just a small sacrifice... considering the transport options they have in SG... And tuition fee is heavily discounted for pr and citizen... consider dollar to dollar, it's actually cheaper than msia for higher education... not to mention scholarships for their citizens too.
afoka
post Nov 27 2019, 11:23 AM

315 posts

Come to Oman la dey... OMR 1 = MYR 11.00

Tuka duit kat exchange in london also feel richest.

SUSfuzzy
post Nov 27 2019, 11:25 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Nov 27 2019, 11:18 AM)
their materialistic is from their own spending instead of receiving as gifts... that's what i observed. Just like why some guys buy rolex as a token of achievement... maybe this is due to the spending power.

However their criteria is for a guy might be tougher than materialistic gifts: is to have a fat enough CPF to BTO a HDB the moment they ROM laugh.gif
Nope, they are even more materialistic. They compare really really hard with their peers about everything from the education to what their partners do/earn, etc...

They have spending power so they expect their partners to have even more.

Once you get out of the major cities in Malaysia, you will find partners that are way less materialistic simply because the environment isn't there.
xtylish
post Nov 27 2019, 11:25 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(afoka @ Nov 27 2019, 11:23 AM)
Come to Oman la dey... OMR 1 = MYR 11.00

Tuka duit kat exchange in london also feel richest.
Oman officially the Sultanate of Oman is an Arab country on the southeastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula in Western Asia. Its official religion is Islam.

not for me. i no tongkat
cassie_90
post Nov 27 2019, 11:26 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Nov 27 2019, 11:03 AM)
Let’s assume for singles scenario nett salary

3k SGD
Room 600
Phone 100
MRT 100
Food 600
Parent 100
Date 300
Loan 200
Savings 1k= rm3,000

5k MYR
Room 600
Phone 100
Unifi 200
Myvi 600
Petrol 300
Toll 100
Service 100
Food 600
Parent 300
Date 300
Loan 600
Starbucks 200
Savings 1k MYR

Truestory.jpg
Starbucks rm200?

Lol.
mushigen
post Nov 27 2019, 11:27 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(irise.ufall @ Nov 27 2019, 11:09 AM)
If u said it is more expensive in SG after conversion then u should also take into consideration the salary after conversion.

Eg: SGD 3k x 3 = RM9000 compare to RM5000 salary here.

So spending SGD 4.00 (RM12) while u r getting RM9000 (0.13% of your salary) vs spending RM7.50 for kt soup while u r earning RM5000 (0.15% of your salary).

I personally do not do direct conversion just like that.

I take other factors into consideration like one very important factor, public transport. In SG, u dun need a car, u can basically go everywhere with their PT. But working in KL (which has more matured PT), u still need a car to go to your workplace (u can still try to get PT, but u know la, u need to spend a lot of times to take PT here).
I knew you'd be doing the conversion right down to percentage. You become kuli yet you save only 0.02% per meal.
A Japanese restaurant dinner for 2 at neighborhood mall sets you back by Sgd40-50 whereas a similar meal here is around RM100.
A little here and there adds up. More so if he doesn't have CPF and hence no savings.

Those who say he doesn't need a car in Sgp is actually trying to console himself not to part with the Sgd1k per month additional expense.
You want to go jogging at East Coast Park when you stay in Jurong? Nah, better go Chinese Garden.
Bonchi
post Nov 27 2019, 11:32 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Nov 27 2019, 11:17 AM)
are we talking about the same Singapore? sweat.gif
in my circle... Singaporeans i know won't bat an eye on a Malaysian unless you are from a higher financial status... there are good neutral ones as well but mostly are the not laugh.gif

i know a lot of Singaporean who have Malaysian wives

where are you located bro?
maybe because i mixed with mostly average working class and not the atas business executive kind so maybe that'e why our perspective is different.
there are plenty with msian wives and even those dudes who became husbands to sgrean ladies (infact getting a msian husband more win.... no need worry of reservist and can use husband to invest in malaysian assets and get dependent visa to stay in msia long term) perks that sg men dont get with msian wives.

ayam currently in SG but not for long. in the progress of going down under mate laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Nov 27 2019, 11:42 AM
arza04
post Nov 27 2019, 11:34 AM

303 posts

If single go singapore
moosset
post Nov 27 2019, 11:34 AM

1,917 posts

what about RM 6k vs SGD 3k?
scorptim
post Nov 27 2019, 11:35 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(pg84 @ Nov 27 2019, 10:20 AM)
If u are single
Rental in sg, 550 with aircond own room.

No need to drive, don't need a car as public transport is so efficient, saving is huge.

Basically, work in sg u just need to pay rental n food, transport  is very minimal. U can save 2k sgd without a sweat. That's rm6k u can save monthly
Earn 3k SGD can save 2k sgd? How wei? Live like bangla issit?

Your public transport no need pay, makan no nee pay ah? Telephone etc all no need ah? Unless you live like a hikimori it’s impossible.
blueheaven
post Nov 27 2019, 11:39 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Nov 27 2019, 09:46 AM)
My friend earns 3.xk SGD now. He says earning 5k MYR is better. He could save more when he lived in Malaysia.
Haha, your friend do what?

If go there now, you're not pr, wont deduct CPF confirm can save around 1k. I started out 2.7k, rent shared room, eat kopitiam food save 1k everymonth. Shortly after, switch job, earn 3k, rent single room, food eat mall food like long John's, mcd, burger king, still save around there.

If your friend expenditure cannot save much with 3k in sg, i doubt can save much with 5k in kl either..
Bonchi
post Nov 27 2019, 11:41 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 27 2019, 11:25 AM)
Nope, they are even more materialistic. They compare really really hard with their peers about everything from the education to what their partners do/earn, etc...

They have spending power so they expect their partners to have even more.

Once you get out of the major cities in Malaysia, you will find partners that are way less materialistic simply because the environment isn't there.
kampung then cannot say la. but in terms of KL the demands are actually way much higher i feel.. and dont forget the whole island of SG can fit inside klang valley.... in terms of environment.

The gap in SG amongst the working class is actually not that big as compared to malaysia where one spot up the ladder can be 1 digit extra... deswai you dont see them throwing around materialistic comparison like branded bags but rather on their partner's career and their kid's achievements.. (i dont think that's considered as material but rather being vain)

for example between a wealthier businessman vs an accomplished doctor ... in SG the doctor would have a higher winning chance in the battle of the tai-tais, while in malaysia, the tai-tais would be comparing their branded bags, cars and diamonds without involving the husband.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Nov 27 2019, 11:59 AM
afoka
post Nov 27 2019, 11:41 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Nov 27 2019, 11:25 AM)
Oman officially the Sultanate of Oman is an Arab country on the southeastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula in Western Asia. Its official religion is Islam.
not for me. i no tongkat
Aiyo.. Half population there is expat.. Like UAE.

Arab ppl no kerja one... U guys thinking positive take opportunity create product or do services there can rich faster laa...

A lot asean ppl there bring in Thai product like cafe amazon... To pair along all petrol station.

Arab country got pile of money and endless oil, should take advantage maa. Yes they got tongkat, but money need to be spend maa... They got money, we offer services la.. Haiya

Even Malakoff and MMC is at Oman setup the sea water desalination to provide water to all household.

New Muscat Airport also use Malaysian engineer maa... Summer holiday can go UK go Europe feel so cheap coz being paid Oman money.

OMR 1 = MYR 11 is a lot worr.

16 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0236sec    1.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:56 AM