Economics Should I quit the MBA?, Unker is stuck

TScklimm
post Nov 12 2019, 10:11 AM, updated 4y ago

2,256 posts

Although managed to survive through the blood bath and gain a foothold in Chinaman Berhad,
Unker is stuck with his MBA thesis, 3rd time kena denied from submision.

Unker feels like a loser in academia.

Should unker just fallback and focus to his core business?

Update: The thesis has been passed with distinction, and unker is now a Chinaman MBA.

This post has been edited by cklimm: Nov 1 2020, 07:24 AM
ipohmali70
post Nov 12 2019, 10:16 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Nov 12 2019, 10:11 AM)
Although managed to survive through the blood bath and gain a foothold in Chinaman Berhad,

Even as an employer, I honestly don't see the relevance of an MBA in a company, unless you want to work in academia.

I'd much prefer real solid experience and achievements.

TScklimm
post Nov 12 2019, 10:41 AM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 12 2019, 10:16 AM)
Even as an employer, I honestly don't see the relevance of an MBA in a company, unless you want to work in academia.

I'd much prefer real solid experience and achievements.
Fun fact: Academia dont see relevance of an MBA too, they have plenty of proper masters in research. dry.gif

ipohmali70
post Nov 12 2019, 10:43 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Nov 12 2019, 10:41 AM)
Fun fact: Academia dont see relevance of an MBA too, they have plenty of proper masters in research.  dry.gif
Another fun fact: Academia also looking for people with industry experience. Just a piece of paper won't cut it.

What's your current job/business?

koaydarren
post Nov 13 2019, 01:02 AM

Mr D
421 posts

Can PM me. I do provide consultation for MBA research
TScklimm
post Nov 13 2019, 08:35 AM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 12 2019, 10:43 AM)
Another fun fact: Academia also looking for people with industry experience.  Just a piece of paper won't cut it.
What's your current job/business?
Printing plant
ipohmali70
post Nov 13 2019, 08:40 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Nov 13 2019, 08:35 AM)
Printing plant
100% confirm you don't need an MBA to run a printing plant.

It's totally irrelevant, IMHO.

TScklimm
post Nov 13 2019, 09:08 AM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Nov 13 2019, 08:40 AM)
100% confirm you don't need an MBA to run a printing plant.

It's totally irrelevant, IMHO.
Well, some of the knowledge learnt such as decision tree, linear analysis are quite useful, possibly more useful than the paper itself.
ipohmali70
post Nov 13 2019, 09:37 AM

1,133 posts

Same here.

Occasionally I buy engineering handbooks and do self study.

My neighbour also operate a printing plant. Studied up to Diploma only. Now multimillionaire and owns multiple houses. In fact my current house used to be his. He's grooming his son to take over his business.

calapia
post Feb 19 2020, 04:43 PM

683 posts

Unker i am another unker here too but completed my Master of Science... just not an MBA...
if MBA provide a path for your to progress further then by all means. many MNC co (industry are irrelevant because ultimately its business) when you move to management then having MBA is good. if your interested is very technical then its Msc not MBA.
Otherwise if its by your own initiative to expand your knowledge then you can continue or drop as and when you feel like it.

TScklimm
post Feb 19 2020, 06:41 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(calapia @ Feb 19 2020, 04:43 PM)
Unker i am another unker here too but completed my Master of Science... just not an MBA...
if MBA provide a path for your to progress further then by all means. many MNC co (industry are irrelevant because ultimately its business)  when you move to management then having MBA is good. if your interested is very technical then its Msc not MBA.
Otherwise if its by your own initiative to expand your knowledge then you can continue or drop as and when you feel like it.
Almost forgotten this thread that I started.
Despite some difficulties, I have completed the thesis and passed, though it wont be the same as MSc though.
Blofeld
post Feb 20 2020, 08:38 AM

4,455 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 19 2020, 06:41 PM)
Despite some difficulties, I have completed the thesis and passed, though it wont be the same as MSc though.
Congratz on your achievement!

Luckily you didn't listen to ipohmali's advice, where many ppl have already told him off many times in some other sections in LYN.
calapia
post Feb 20 2020, 09:19 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 19 2020, 06:41 PM)
congratz ya.... feeling great right passing it especially u doing it part time...
TScklimm
post Feb 21 2020, 07:39 AM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Feb 20 2020, 08:38 AM)
Congratz on your achievement!

Luckily you didn't listen to ipohmali's advice, where many ppl have already told him off many times in some other sections in LYN.
Well, he has got a point, now I am wondering what to do with this piece of paper.
TScklimm
post Feb 21 2020, 07:41 AM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(calapia @ Feb 20 2020, 09:19 AM)
congratz ya.... feeling great right passing it especially u doing it part time...
It feels great before the virus outbreak, now the business is getting worse day by day.
Blofeld
post Feb 21 2020, 07:55 AM

4,455 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 21 2020, 07:39 AM)
Well, he has got a point, now I am wondering what to do with this piece of paper.
You did mention earlier you learned some useful analytical tools. Perhaps you can apply that to your company.

tekkaus
post Jun 5 2020, 05:43 PM

364 posts

Don't let your effort go to waste!

I mati-mati completed my Master!
tekkaus
post Jun 5 2020, 05:45 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Nov 13 2019, 09:08 AM)
Well, some of the knowledge learnt such as decision tree, linear analysis are quite useful, possibly more useful than the paper itself.
Yes, not everything is completely useless and irrelevant. You will be surprised how handy it will be in the future.
Starbucki
post Sep 20 2020, 04:04 PM

Ayam betmen
1,353 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 21 2020, 07:41 AM)
It feels great before the virus outbreak, now the business is getting worse day by day.
How is your business now?
TScklimm
post Sep 21 2020, 07:53 AM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Sep 20 2020, 04:04 PM)
How is your business now?
Miraculously still afloat, seeing rebound right after end of MCO

0.0142sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 04:21 PM