Helmet Discussion, Everything about helmet..

WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 29 2022, 10:24 AM

194 posts

Guys, need your opinion.

I am noobs in riding bike, not into fast ride, only small scooter.

Wanted to try out full face helmet.

What would be your recommendation for a newbie to budget buy just to try out full face for long ride? Anything I should look out for?

I know wind noise is one thing that can annoy me big time 'cos it muffle up the bluetooth speakers.
WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 29 2022, 10:26 AM

194 posts

by the way, I had gone tested the HJC CS-15, but shop does not have XXL size and XL is too hard on my cheek.

Going to look for another shop that has XXL for testing.
WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 29 2022, 07:56 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 29 2022, 01:36 PM)
Weight, budget and features.
A full face will undoubtedly be heavier than your current open face. The more premium helmets will be a composite or carbon shell, which can be as light as an open face, but we are talking something north of 2,000. Zeus has budget full carbon full faces that are quite light at the 1000rm range.

Look for the safety certs, at bare minimum, look for something with ECE 22-05. ECE 22-06 is out already but still not many available in the market.

If you are using bluetooth coms, look for a helmet with speaker pockets.
Assuming if you have the budget, try getting a full face that is compatible with pinlock, as full faces tend to fog up easier in cooler weather or when raining. There are aftermarket stick on "pinlocks" if your helmet is not compatible with one.

If you are planning to buy one online, please go to a shop and test the helmet fitting first then order the same one online. remember the helmet is supposed to be tight at the cheeks until is beds in after a few weeks to use.
I fully understood the sizing part.

Crown size fit tightly, but the cheek pads are overly tight to a point my wisdom tooth on both sides felt like gonna be squeezed out of the gum after putting on for 10mins in the showroom.

Was thinking about changing to XXL cheek pad, but I needed to test the XXL helmet first and see if it's loose around the crown or fitting.

Will be visiting another shop tomorrow to check out their XXL CS-15.

No intention to splurge yet 'cos I am waiting for GT Air 2 stock to come in for the color I want. I am just not too sure if I really want a full face in the long run, hence testing out with budget one to start with. CS-15 looks right from budget and build perspective to be experimenting.

Appreciate your kind input.
WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 30 2022, 09:25 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Jul 29 2022, 10:08 PM)
Woweee so glad I’m reading this. At the point of trying my M helmet, I felt a little bit tight having difficulty talking. But the assistant was kind enough to assure me that it was a good fit after asking me to shake my head thumbup.gif
I did the headshake test on the XL and that's where I confirm it fits the crown but oh my teeth ... sweat.gif
WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 30 2022, 09:28 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(007SMH @ Jul 30 2022, 07:43 AM)
I recently bought a Revo Red visor from Shopee for my HJC C70 , The fittings not as perfect as the original and there's wind noises coming from the gaps when fully closed , and some lens distortion (slight lens flaring). Overall still okie , might need to add some thin noise insulation tapes to overcome the issues.

I haven't seen the real think yet, the C70 helmet (not my grandpa's C70).

Reading from specs sheet there is no mention of speaker pocket to install bluetooth,
but I see you have bluetooth installed.

How tight fit is it to slot the speaker in?
Mine is 40mm speaker.

WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 30 2022, 02:07 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 30 2022, 10:44 AM)
If the crown fits well, then you can get a size up for the cheek pad. At worst, you still have the ori cheek pads.

HJC publishes in detail all Thier sizing and padding sizes so you can confirm if it's just the cheek pads are different moving from size to size.

Some other helmets may actually have different EPS layer and others simply just don't test the larger helmets for 2XL and above. Generally most people will fit M or L.

Also if you have a round head, you might need to look for a helmet that is round and not an intermediate oval (narrower on the sides) like most HJC helmets.
Thanks dude for the great input.

As a bike noob myself despite my unker age group, I had spend a lot of time trying out helmets, wasted some money on some but I called it education fees.

Biggest issue is my glasses, other than my big head.

Most helmet that fits me properly, I am unable to insert my glasses.

So ended up paying for one open face Shoei that fits really well and able to let me insert my glasses.

Since then I had “upgraded” my glasses, this time around it seems like I hit the jackpot with the frame, I am able to insert into many helmets.

Going to check out XXL HKC later
WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 30 2022, 09:56 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 30 2022, 03:48 PM)
Look for helmets with dedicated eyeglass channels...although you might have to shop at the premium end of the scale. Good luck.
Gone checking.

That shop really a lot of hoccus poccus lazy salesman when asked if they have XL or XXL for CS-15, they say don't have but keep pushing me to try more expensive variant.

Since I am already there, so tested a few different model and turn back asking for CS-15.

Another guy more helpful, found an XL one but not XXL for me to test.

Second time testing XL CS-15, this time, my specs refused to go in. doh.gif

Walk out empty handed.

Looks like I might just go for GT Air 2 size L which I have tested and fits properly, can slide in my specs with ease too.
WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 31 2022, 08:43 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 30 2022, 10:32 PM)
I think you might be dealing with a headshape issue more than helmet sizing. I find it odd not being able to fit an XL helmet but can fit a L size Shoei.... Ironically the GT Air 2 is also an intermediate oval like the CS15.

How much are you getting the GT Air 2 for? That's a huge step up from the CS15
Yes. Definitely is head shape + glasses issue combined.

My first helmet is a Magnum. Bought for learning bike.
It's loose and able to accommodate my head, specs and sun glasses.

Then a half helmet, quite squishy on crown but I have no issue with my glasses.
Just can't install intercom on this one.

3rd one, KHI open face, XXL. Loose, but able to let me wear with my glasses on, not inserting glasses after wearing.
This one is noisy as )(#*), at 60km I can't hear my intercom anymore.

Gone serious hunting for helmet since then, tried many brands / model over many shops.
Price range from RM250 to RM6000.
With design mentioning "glasses friendly".
All failed to take in my glasses while having a good fit, except Shoei.

Need to special mention GoMoto, Gene Advance and Takong Racing.
GoMoto (Shoei) measured my head and provided the first guidance for me on how to fit a helmet.
Gene Advance's boss taught me glasses should not rest on ear, and first timer's mistake about feeling uncomfortable to squeeze into the right fitting helmet, how helmet should stick with your head when you are shaking your head.
Takong's girl taught me how to check the gap of fitting around forehead and un-bias opinion on which helmet fits me, pro / cons of each helmet I inquired about.

The famous shop at Serdang, boss patiently took the trouble to bring out I think nearly different ones for me to try and all failed at me unable to insert my glasses.

Other shops were just pushing me helmets without guidance, only guide me to spend more even if it does not fit.

So ended up getting a Shoei open face as my first proper helmet.
All because of my glasses.

Not convinced about that, I took advise from some senior bikers and gone make 2 different glasses with straight frame.
One actually easier to insert into helmet, it's the one I am wearing now to go testing helmet.
Easier but still kinda hit and miss with non-Shoei helmet with my glasses. doh.gif

Fast forward till today, after some serious riding trip, I have decided to give full face a try.
Hence the hunt for helmet starts all over again, trying not to just buy another Shoei, and to make sure I can stand wearing a full face for a long trip.
Since have a new glasses that's more suitable with helmet, really want to try if I can go with cheaper helmet.
WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 31 2022, 11:05 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Jul 30 2022, 10:28 PM)
FYI I’m wearing specs also bro, and I’m using cS15, need to really sumbat the specs in and then push down so that it rests on my ears

Pondering on contacts dy, but not because of riding. But with this helmet issue, I just might go contacts
It's very tight when I first managed to sumbat my specs into XL CS-15.
Scared it will break my frame after few rides.
that's the first try at batu cave dealer.

Second try at old klang road dealer, can't even sumbat in despite all the help from nice HJC distributor rep there.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 30 2022, 10:32 PM)
I think you might be dealing with a headshape issue more than helmet sizing. I find it odd not being able to fit an XL helmet but can fit a L size Shoei.... Ironically the GT Air 2 is also an intermediate oval like the CS15.

How much are you getting the GT Air 2 for? That's a huge step up from the CS15
I am looking at GT Air 2 - plain white. This is RM2,350.
Any other design that's not plain is RM2,700

QUOTE(007SMH @ Jul 31 2022, 08:42 AM)
Have you tried HJC C70 ? Cuz i did try using my specs and i find it quite easy to slip inside and use.
Not C70 but it's predecessor IS-17.
Yes, it does slip in easier.
Aktwali, I went out to get the C70 XL if it fits, but they say no more XL despite their website has quite a number of them. Also intrigued by it's trade in promotion.
Even brought my bluetooth kit planning to test install if C70 XL is available.

WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 31 2022, 09:03 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(007SMH @ Jul 31 2022, 01:04 PM)
I'm using L size eventhough their sizing chart recommends M size , can't fit at all.
I'm using Cardo Spirit in my C70 helmet , so far no issue even without a dedicated intercom speak port
Yeah, I realized that.
Shoei sized me borderline L and XL. Tried both, found L to be more fitting.
HJC sized me L, but no can go at all. XL seems just nice.
Others like KYT I had to go XXL.

BTW, took the plunge and ordered a C70 XL.
Guy from HJC been very helpful at side, so decided to take the plune.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 31 2022, 03:09 PM)
Well that's the going rate for the more premium range of helmets. Not much options if lightweight, fitment comfort and features is what you are looking for.

Can't go wrong with Shoei anyway. Good aftermarket support
Have to agree with you when come to specs fitting into a head fitting helmet for me... sigh... expensive problem

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 31 2022, 05:34 PM)
WH4CockcooBird

try also looking at LSH Racing world near publika.

they carry lazer, caberg and also AGV.

the caberg drift evo carbon is pretty cheap for a carbon fiber helmet and very comfy as well.

works with my glasses at least...

otherwise u can look at the AGVs as well.
Tried AGV, no go with my specs.
Moreover, at the price point, I am more inclined to spend on Shoei that I am already familiar with.
Just my preference lah.

WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 31 2022, 11:12 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jul 31 2022, 01:29 PM)
bell broozer looks more gaya

Had seen this kind of design before at a shop, not HJC but can't remember the name. Might be Nolan or something.

Looks really cool, but just feels like a little too much "components" to be bringing out on a bike ride that's supposed to be light on luggage and bits/pieces.

WH4CockcooBird
post Aug 1 2022, 09:32 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 1 2022, 08:47 AM)
This is what they call a "street fighter" convertible. MT has them, as does Scorpion and as you mentioned, Nolan, although Nolan's version tend to gravitate towards a more adventury look.

Other than the looks, its not my cup of tea. They tend to be heavier (the nolan version weights a brick), compromised visibility and safety, and very noisy.
As for me, I'm still waiting for the Scorpion ADX2 to come in to replace my MT modular.
Yeah, same here not my cuppa.

This shop I went to look for full face and in turn they try to upsell me that Nolan that weighs a brick and quite m9lf (mahkaolanfan) to handle.

That fella also gave me the wrong advise on what type of frames I should go for if I wanted good fit in helmet.. followed his advise spent Rm600 for a wrong result biggrin.gif

Another education fees paid. biggrin.gif
WH4CockcooBird
post Aug 3 2022, 10:40 PM

194 posts

Received my HJC C70.
Tried installing speakers, no can go.
Hitting my ear and cheek regardless on the position.
So need to mod it a little.

WH4CockcooBird
post Aug 4 2022, 12:15 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 4 2022, 09:20 AM)
Eh? No speaker pockets on the C70? You didn't check?
Yeah, no speaker port.

Bought with full knowledge about it.

Expecting to mod a little if needed. Now confirm need to mod laugh.gif

Not a difficult mod if you are a DIY person.
WH4CockcooBird
post Aug 7 2022, 04:42 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(007SMH @ Aug 6 2022, 11:13 PM)
Eh ?  Your speaker thicker than the cardo 35mm speakers ?
Mine no issue though ~
Mine is 40mm speaker. Thickness about the same as Cardo.

I think your head shape may not be as wide as mine.

No matter where I position the speaker it will hit my head / ear

Now have to make a speaker pocket inside. Still waiting for my cookie cutter to arrive for this job 😬
WH4CockcooBird
post Aug 8 2022, 12:23 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(007SMH @ Aug 6 2022, 11:13 PM)
Eh ?  Your speaker thicker than the cardo 35mm speakers ?
Mine no issue though ~
Ok, mod done. Will share pic if you want to see how it's done.

Have to totally bury the speaker in and flush with the original foam level, even 1mm above the original level, it hits my head.

Means XL size is really wrapping my head in the right way but without pressure points.
WH4CockcooBird
post Aug 8 2022, 08:10 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Aug 8 2022, 07:20 AM)
Would love to test and wear your helmet for audition.
Please let me know when.
Audition? Means you want to know the SQ?

Take my word, if you are into SQ, use ear bud. tongue.gif
WH4CockcooBird
post Aug 8 2022, 02:28 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Aug 8 2022, 09:17 AM)
Would love to meat up with you one day
I think I know who you are rclxs0.gif
WH4CockcooBird
post Aug 8 2022, 03:58 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Aug 8 2022, 08:57 AM)
Bro, wanna ask how you think bout the helmet? Anyway, does it have speaker holes inside? Looking for replacement for my daily helmet LS2 modular.. Watch few YT reviews but none showing the inside part, give up d..  sweat.gif
Anyway, the side view wide enough? Coz my other shark helmet side view is significantly less than LS2 which I need to make some effort to look left and right and also need to take out my helmet if I need to reverse..  rclxub.gif
CS-15 has speaker hole.

I itchy backside die die want double visor so gone with C70.
WH4CockcooBird
post Aug 8 2022, 05:29 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Aug 8 2022, 05:06 PM)
Oh okay thanks bro.. My current one got sunvisor, but my daily ride route I never used before.. Only sometimes ride with friend got use when facing direct sunlight.. But for leisure ride I have other helmet, so try get this for daily as cheap as possible and yet still provide decent protection.. CS-15 seems like good choice for me..
Yeah, CS-15 is best available option in it's price point.

0.0548sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:00 AM