Digital TV Malaysia v2, Malaysian Digital Terrestrial TV

kazexx
post Apr 7 2020, 05:39 PM

168 posts

Hi LYN,

i recently purchased a TV, Samsung nu7090 which i believe build in dvbt2

however i failed to scan any channel, tried googling but failed, do i need to purchase antenna? i lived in condo, not sure if the wall.socket is work or not, or my setup is wrong

im using this cable

https://shopee.com.my/product/45285202/4504054968?smtt=0.0.9

and plug to.wall.socket here

please help
kazexx
post Apr 7 2020, 07:49 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Apr 7 2020, 06:41 PM)
Likely to be the MATV system not working.
Recent TVs should work with MyTV.
Where are you?
My condo beside jalab kuching only, KL

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 7 2020, 07:08 PM)
Yes, new TVs are already built-in with DVB-T2, so for that one, no need to worry.

By right it is correct, but whether you condo's MATV system (centralised antenna) supports digital TV or not, that's another story.
Contact your building management about this, if you still couldn't get digital TV channels.

Otherwise, buy a UHF antenna (which you can find it easily on Shopee/Lazada).

Btw, what is your area and state?
what do i ask to the building management? they do responsive to emails

if i need to.purchase an antenna, can you suggest uhf antenna that no need to stick to windows, as my tv not near to it

my area is jalan kuching, KL

This post has been edited by kazexx: Apr 7 2020, 10:13 PM
kazexx
post Apr 8 2020, 10:20 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Apr 8 2020, 09:42 AM)
Can you see Menara KL, Genting or Bkt Sg Besi from your unit?
yes can see menara KL, not sure about bkt sg besi or genting
kazexx
post Apr 8 2020, 02:29 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Apr 8 2020, 01:32 PM)
from the tv location can see KL tower?
nop, tv location not near window
kazexx
post Apr 9 2020, 09:28 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Apr 8 2020, 03:22 PM)
You only need to be able to see one of the three Klang Valley transmitters.
If you can see Menara KL, you should get enough signal for an indoor aerial.

Wangsa Maju and Melawati cannot see any of the three.
distance between my place to KL tower should be 5-6KM, this should be fine?
kazexx
post Apr 11 2020, 09:58 AM

168 posts

just got reply from the building management, the centralized antenna is not digital, so far only 2 unit requested that, so they wont go digital yet

hence im.waiting my antenna from shopeee 🙏

do i need to purchase decoder as well?

This post has been edited by kazexx: Apr 11 2020, 10:33 AM
kazexx
post Apr 11 2020, 02:10 PM

168 posts

welp i purchased this antenna, not sure good enough or not

the bonefish i not sure how to attach in my.condo

kazexx
post Apr 17 2020, 12:01 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Apr 11 2020, 03:12 PM)
Bonefish antenna?

This is a thing of the past... now outdoor antenna are smaller already actually and VHF are no longer in use after ASO
Now antenna can get as small as this( this one can be used indoor and outdoor.. primarily designed for outdoor), easy to install too( can just put on top of bookshelf also can as long as you can get a decent signal ) and it works better(for me) than that old fishbone antenna(that fishbone antenna gives Astro rain fade issues even when it's not raining) 
Hope that your antenna works fine for you  thumbsup.gif
received the antenna,

managed to get signal now, not sure if i get all the signal or not.

but with all the cables hanging, wife will not approve when she sees this hahaha biggrin.gif

thanks for the help LYN.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

0.0986sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:45 PM