9,275 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Oct 19 2023, 08:27 PM)
Kesimpulanya: MCMC is screwing with us.

I honestly think that

1- Being forbidden from covering the National Day Parade
2- Astro announces they will be dropping Awesome
3- MyTV announces they will be dropping Awesome

Awesome really had struck a nerve with someone in the govt, and they are teaching Awesome a lesson
linkinstreet
post Mar 12 2024, 01:01 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(NoNameSoldier @ Mar 11 2024, 08:47 PM)
Still have people watch local channels ??
QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Mar 11 2024, 08:54 PM)
Also for elderly populations that's looking to cut costs, local FTA TV is ok if you want ok local programming without using something like a smartphone...
For local broadcast I will always use antenna. 50FPS, better quality and you get the fastest time with no lag, which is great for sports.

I think young people are just too used to everything must be streamed that they don't realise they are missing out on quality and speed, and it's FREE. You are not paying for any data transfer in ajy case.
linkinstreet
post Mar 12 2024, 01:27 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Mar 12 2024, 01:06 PM)
True, OTA TV always have lowest latencies... With online you probably need some buffer to avoid buffering which hurts latency. But there's attempts to reduce the latency, see BBC...

For better framerates, I think the broadcasters probably see no value of implementing it en masse, since not much use beyond sports... I wonder if Astro IPTV Plug and Play have 50/60fps on sports channels?
Astro IPTV is 50FPS, similar to Sooka.
linkinstreet
post Mar 13 2024, 10:48 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Mar 12 2024, 10:11 PM)
So that's why things like Astro Plug and Play and its shady alternatives got some popularity... Online watching TV with no need to change apps...

We probably need something like Freely in UK, lets you watch TV online with simple channel +/- buttons... Maybe can use HbbTV or unofficial direct streaming links?

But first, need good content to make viewers of course...
FWIW, our broadcasters being fragmented is also not helping. For examply, while Media Prima is available on MYTV with an antenna, for online they would only allow free streaming through Tonton (Unifi TV also has, but it's paid). If they can get everything on one place, with a specific quality, then it would life easier for everyone.
linkinstreet
post May 24 2024, 06:43 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 24 2024, 12:21 AM)
JUST IN: Awesome TV to be cease on MYTV platform from 26 May 2024
https://www.facebook.com/mytvbroadcasting/p...nRRX1ZChcBtR9Rl

Apparently this is coming from a "court case decision"... Seems like it's really happening now? And it's a short notice of just 48 hours away somemore... sweat.gif
Deja Vu
linkinstreet
post Jun 13 2024, 04:58 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Jun 13 2024, 12:52 AM)
No UEFA EURO 2024 on RTM. Sorry.

SPOTV Asia is the official broadcaster of UEFA EURO 2024 in Malaysia & Singapore. Astro, for the first time, isn’t holding the exclusive pay-TV rights of UEFA EURO 2024 in Malaysia.

Which means, you’ll have the flexibility to pay via SPOTV NOW (SPOTV Asia) or sooka (Astro) to stream all 51 live matches & VOD content from as low as RM30 one-off.
Yeah. Once it's the right is not directly held by Astro, it's hard for kerajaan to taichi get the rights for cheaper like before.

Nak sangat bola Astro tak pegang. Terus takde free 🤣
linkinstreet
post Jun 15 2024, 09:58 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Jun 14 2024, 03:38 PM)
Last last time World Cup 2018 Gobind said corporate sponsored.. now nobody want to sponsor liao.. or even RTM never made an effort to get sponsor we donno

That being said.. any idea will we get Copa America live?
IIRC last month there was a company promising to sponsor. But I think they didn't realise how expensive it is and pulled put.

But honestly for me, these live tournaments broadcast are considered public service, especially for rural people who can only reply on free TV and have slow internet.

Govt should have prepared years ago with the funds instead of waiting for someone to come in.
linkinstreet
post Jul 2 2024, 07:37 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Jun 27 2024, 03:15 AM)
This should be provided a long time ago, but thanks MYTV for the effort on creating an estimated coverage map. But maybe they can improve the resolution of the coverage map, provide 2 levels of coverage map (indoor, outdoor) and coverage of individual transmitters.

Labuan is still the only major area (a federal territory) which is out of the range of TV transmitter coverage - which is very ridiculous. MYTV don't even take effort to take either Bukit Tampalagus or Bukit Timbalai in service.
I presume Labuan is covered via the DVB-S2 (satellite) instead of via antenna.
linkinstreet
post Sep 4 2024, 06:09 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Sep 4 2024, 12:27 PM)
In other words, not ALL channels receive the same bitrate streaming.
Yeah. Depends on the provider encoder. That's why for terrestrial I actually bought a DVB-T2 usb adapter. The DVB signal is normal H264 video, just interlaced, so you can play it directly on any media player on your PC.

So I get 50FPS delay free stream.
linkinstreet
post Feb 5 2025, 09:57 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(devil_may_cry08 @ Feb 5 2025, 05:49 PM)
hello guys, I just bought an indoor antenna, after installed I able to watch all the malaysia channels with clear picture, but I can't find the singapore channel, is there any steps that I missed out? Or I need to do manual tuning?
Where do you live?
What kind of antenna are you currently using?

linkinstreet
post Feb 6 2025, 08:24 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(devil_may_cry08 @ Feb 6 2025, 08:17 PM)
I see, based in Kulai actually, the external aerial that selling in shopee able to work? how many elements will work?
Try using Booster (powered by usb) and fishbone antenna (usually it will say how many meters of range).
linkinstreet
post Feb 11 2025, 06:32 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(Armab @ Feb 10 2025, 12:33 AM)
NTV7 & TV9 not in 16:9 ?
IIRC Media Prima sends 4:3 SD with black bars for NTV7 and TV9, similar it is on Astro.
For Awesome, I presume they are using a more modern solution where it's downscaled without changing the resolution.
linkinstreet
post Feb 25 2025, 07:05 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 23 2025, 10:52 PM)
MYTV refuses to provide statement on channels being downgraded to SD

Then the reason behind this, is very likely because of broadcasters unable or no longer want to pay for HD fees anymore.

If that's the case, there's nothing we can do  whistling.gif
I mean, anyone can just reach out to Media Prima about this, but I don't think we'll get fruitful answers out of it, other than "no money to pay, or want to save cost".
likely they want ppl to use their own Tonton service.

I actually still use antenna, since there is no delay so for Maghrib azan especially during puasa, you won't have that 1 minute delay.
linkinstreet
post Mar 3 2025, 11:17 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Hmm, I am having issues with mux 666Mhz in KL. I can get 650Mhz fine

linkinstreet
post Mar 3 2025, 02:56 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Mar 3 2025, 02:09 PM)
Can’t watch MPB channels?
Yep. maybe they have different signal strength due to the different frequency? in any case I'll try adjusting the antenna angle later
linkinstreet
post Oct 14 2025, 06:00 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Oct 14 2025, 12:59 AM)

On related note Singtel is bringing Drama Sangat, which is free over tonton.
I presume Tonton is geoblocked to Malaysian IP only so Singaporeans can't just watch the free version

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0239sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:36 PM