BMW 3 series CBU vs CKD
TSouchie_88
Nov 1 2019, 10:32 AM, updated 6y ago
Hi Sifus,
Not sure if this is the right place to post.
I am thinking of getting G20 BMW 3 series (330i), and I'm thinking if it's worth getting the CBU unit.
Question is how different is it between a CBU made BMW versus our CKD ones?
Is it significantly better in terms of the build quality (less rattling) etc.
And what's your view if able to get CBU 330i at RM270k? Is it a good deal?
This post has been edited by ouchie_88: Nov 1 2019, 10:33 AM
nebula87
Nov 1 2019, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(ouchie_88 @ Nov 1 2019, 10:32 AM) Hi Sifus, Not sure if this is the right place to post. I am thinking of getting G20 BMW 3 series (330i), and I'm thinking if it's worth getting the CBU unit. Question is how different is it between a CBU made BMW versus our CKD ones? Is it significantly better in terms of the build quality (less rattling) etc. And what's your view if able to get CBU 330i at RM270k? Is it a good deal? Thanks I'll just get the CBU unit, never trust CKD unit.
driftmeister
Nov 1 2019, 11:02 AM
270k is pre-reg or un-reg? I have the same dilemma too but the unit is pre-reg, I want to do interchange my old number
TSouchie_88
Nov 1 2019, 11:28 AM
I believe it's pre-reg bro. So wait, pre-reg cannot change new number? Actually, do you think it's a good deal?
And do we get a premium if we sell it in future? For having a CBU unit? Or not really?
budang
Nov 1 2019, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(ouchie_88 @ Nov 1 2019, 11:28 AM) I believe it's pre-reg bro. So wait, pre-reg cannot change new number? Actually, do you think it's a good deal? And do we get a premium if we sell it in future? For having a CBU unit? Or not really? I think pre-reg can still change new number, just the process is more tedious and runner tends to charge quite a lot on this. I bought a 10 month old premium selection unit and the sales lady said if want to change new number the runner first have to register the plate onto an existing vehicle eg: motorcycle before can register new number for your car. Whereas for CBU/CKD resale value, from my experience the difference is almost negligible especially if both CBU & CKD comes with the same level of equipment which is the case for the new G20 3 series.
TSouchie_88
Nov 1 2019, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(budang @ Nov 1 2019, 03:17 PM) I think pre-reg can still change new number, just the process is more tedious and runner tends to charge quite a lot on this. I bought a 10 month old premium selection unit and the sales lady said if want to change new number the runner first have to register the plate onto an existing vehicle eg: motorcycle before can register new number for your car. Whereas for CBU/CKD resale value, from my experience the difference is almost negligible especially if both CBU & CKD comes with the same level of equipment which is the case for the new G20 3 series. Thanks for your response. I guess the key question here is how likely the 330i price would drop to RM240k- RM250k next year end (15% discount) - when they wanted to clear their 2020 stocks. That would mean that the current buyer of discounted CBU (RM270k) is paying a 30k premium for CBU unit? By any chance how much does it cost for the runner to do all those pre-reg work?
sheldonyong
Nov 1 2019, 08:18 PM
Bro check out the new Volvo s60 as well.. same price range cbu.. the HP and torque figures hnghhhh
budang
Nov 1 2019, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(ouchie_88 @ Nov 1 2019, 05:29 PM) Thanks for your response. I guess the key question here is how likely the 330i price would drop to RM240k- RM250k next year end (15% discount) - when they wanted to clear their 2020 stocks. That would mean that the current buyer of discounted CBU (RM270k) is paying a 30k premium for CBU unit? By any chance how much does it cost for the runner to do all those pre-reg work? 15% discount is unlikely, more like around 3-4% discount. I believe the CKD 320i is coming around next year if you're interested in that, should be priced around 240k brand new. If I recall correctly my sales lady said it's around RM3K for the new plate swap which turned me off. Initially I wanted a 20 month old car but the thought of having to pay extra 3k to get rid of that penang plate (I drive in klang valley) I might as well pay some premium and get a newer car, and ended up getting a 8 month old unit.
Jabra
Nov 1 2019, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(sheldonyong @ Nov 1 2019, 08:18 PM) Bro check out the new Volvo s60 as well.. same price range cbu.. the HP and torque figures hnghhhh The newly launched Volvo S60 T8 - Specifications wise (e.g. BHP, Torque, standard kit, etc.); it looks way better compared to BMW G20 330i (neither CBU nor CKD). However, if you’re a driving enthusiast - BMW G20 330i is the best car to drive due to is sporty characteristic & superb handling in its class. On the car depreciation - suggest you to get ready of this; which is unavoidable especially with the continental cars. My preference is always the CBU unit - i’m impress with the technology during assembly; as watched in the YouTube.
IamAHuman
Nov 2 2019, 12:30 PM
CBU is definitely better build than CKD or SKD. However, it doesn’t mean it is without any problems.
My neighbors’ CBU 5 series had more problems than my SKD 5 series. So, I guess it really depends on your luck!
Also, rm270k for G20 330i is pretty attractive.
19 Degree South
Nov 2 2019, 03:40 PM
Cbu has more issues than Ckd! Tyres for one is a major risk for cbu unit.
TSouchie_88
Nov 2 2019, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Nov 2 2019, 03:40 PM) Cbu has more issues than Ckd! Tyres for one is a major risk for cbu unit. Haha why? Tires of all things?
Jason
Nov 3 2019, 01:39 AM
Buy the S60. It’s AWD. Better spec car, full safety suite. Just butt ugly.
The 330i not worth the asking price.
KingArthurVI
Nov 3 2019, 05:16 PM
270k is a good price for CBU G20 330i at this time, but if you don’t really need it right now it’s likely the facelift in a couple years or so will contain better safety features like AEB, lane keep assist etc. It’s just completely unacceptable to me that a 200k+ car doesn’t contain such safety features, if not for me, for my family who I’ll be driving around.
arc_archive
Nov 11 2019, 09:55 PM
Aren't the CBU unit was built based on the home country climate; eg 4 seasons? Thus explain why CBU unit inherit more problems compared to CKD unit, aren't it?
Jason
Nov 12 2019, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(bigfanofcars @ Nov 11 2019, 09:49 PM) s60 t8 weights 2000kg. compared to 330i and c300 which are around 1500kg Your point being? Handles worst? Unless you’re carving maximum speed around an apex it doesn’t really matter. And for the average Joe AWD is safer as it tends to understeer.
TSouchie_88
Nov 12 2019, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(arc_archive @ Nov 11 2019, 09:55 PM) Aren't the CBU unit was built based on the home country climate; eg 4 seasons? Thus explain why CBU unit inherit more problems compared to CKD unit, aren't it? Not too sure if that's still the right logic because most of the cars in the developed nations like Singapore, Australia are mostly CBU. And their weather is very hot during summer (especially Australia) - maybe less of the humidity element? But I believe most of them have already looked into these factors when they build it now - maybe not in their earlier days. I could be wrong. Happy to hear the rest.
infiniti123
Nov 12 2019, 01:11 PM
CBU certainly feels more solid tbh. my family own a CBU and CKD F30 and the CBU doors close so much better, clicks better. built quality difference very obvious. the new G series we not sure
however its true that CBU built based on home country climate. we noticed the rubber cracked earlier, got some tiny aesthetic interior issue (due to park in the sun). but for the extra 40k+, i would save it and go CKD beause we have to consider depreciation.
as its a BMW, i dont see those safety lane assist as something that will be implemented on a 3series. so its either you want more horsepower or less (320i will launch soon). 320i will be 30k-40k+ cheaper so you think about it.
Boy96
Nov 12 2019, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(budang @ Nov 1 2019, 03:17 PM) I think pre-reg can still change new number, just the process is more tedious and runner tends to charge quite a lot on this. I bought a 10 month old premium selection unit and the sales lady said if want to change new number the runner first have to register the plate onto an existing vehicle eg: motorcycle before can register new number for your car. Pre-reg can register for newly bought number plate, but not an existing plate already registered on a car.. This post has been edited by Boy96: Nov 12 2019, 04:45 PM
littlefire
Nov 12 2019, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(ouchie_88 @ Nov 2 2019, 10:44 PM) Haha why? Tires of all things? Some CBU got special size tires & models which is hard to get within local market tire shop.. If anything happen, you might need to go back to SC and get slaughted by the high price..