FOREX: Instarem v BigPay v Transferwise, True as at 6/7/2020

Ramjade
post Sep 29 2020, 09:43 AM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Sep 29 2020, 07:19 AM)
Very poor security. And can expand into Singapore. Lol
Too and they have too many competitors there. No first mover advantage.
Youtrip (sg own version of bigpay, first mover), tw card, instarem card, revolut.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 29 2020, 09:45 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 13 2020, 08:58 AM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(rozack @ Nov 13 2020, 02:09 AM)
Hmm, what do you mean by it being country-specific? Meaning to say that if I am a Malaysian, I can only transfer out from Malaysia to other countries, but cannot transfer to Malaysia from other countries? So it only allow one way-out...

Also, are there any fintech companies that allow money to be transferred from Singapore to Malaysia? I know some don't allow that. Is it true that TW borderless account had been closed, if so, what are the other alternatives?
So far the ones with international presence are instarem and tw.
Instarem is country specific while TW is not. So yes instarem is only one way out.

Yes there are. Lots. Question is do they accept retail customer with no business dealings in Singapore. I only know of 2 which accept Malaysian. TW and one more I have not tested. So I can't comment yet.

Rumours said they blocked Malaysian to have access to borderless account. Only valid if you are new customer. If you are old customer like me, I still have access to my functioning borderless account.

Alternative? Wait for revolut to set up shop in Malaysia. If they are going to set up shop.
Ramjade
post Jan 30 2021, 09:25 AM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jan 25 2021, 09:11 AM)
Sorry, off topic a bit.

I received this e-mail from InstaReM.

I can login to my InstaReM once a month, to ensure that my InstaReM account is active. However, if InstaReM 'forces' me to transfer money via InstaReM, I feel that this action is not right and fair, if I feel that InstaReM's currency exchange rate is not as competitive as their competitors'.

For example, InstaReM's fee for conversion of MYR to SGD was progressively increased from 4%, 4.5% to 5% now.
Don't care. They can deactive my account for all they like. I also have not been using them to transfer money as they are expensive.
Ramjade
post Jan 30 2021, 10:10 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jan 30 2021, 09:50 PM)
what do u recommend nowadays? thought u were instarem staunch supporter last time
Intially but I stopped using them after seeing that I am getting less foreign currency per RM. Don't know how many months I never use Instarem already. Nowadays it's Sunway money, Bigpay, Transferwise (whoever is the cheapest at that time - more foreign currency per rm)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 30 2021, 10:11 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 1 2021, 02:09 AM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Jan 31 2021, 10:50 PM)
If I want to transfer 60000hkd to myr, I saw there is 360hkd fees.

Is it still cheaper compare to wire transfer?
Use transferwise or some other HK fintech remittance company. There's bound to be a lot in HK as it's a financial hub.
Ramjade
post Feb 16 2021, 09:42 AM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Feb 16 2021, 06:00 AM)
I plan to use Sunway Money to remit SGD to Singapore Savings Account. Some of the SGD fund will be used to invest in SGX.

So, can I declare the following, in Sunway Money website?

Purpose of Payment Category: Investment
Purpose of Payment: Corporate stocks and shares.
Or, should I declare the Purpose of Payment, as Deposit with financial institutions aboard?

Thank you for the clarification. smile.gif
Yup that will do. That's what I fill up too.

PS stop buying sg stocks. Don't waste money and time anymore Open IB and buy better companies.
Ramjade
post Feb 24 2021, 05:18 AM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Feb 23 2021, 10:26 PM)
I just did a comparison using my own sheet (thank you TS for the format), BigPay's winning by a big shot because it has fixed RM5 transfer compared to the other 2 charging proportionate to your transfer amount.

(I've never used BigPay international transfer, so I minused the RM5 fee i.e. by inputting 995, 2995, 4995... to get the numbers)

I guess I'm going there this time haha, no more manual minus.

edit: Just read up past messages about SunwayMoney, added to list for quick comparison... still BigPay
I added the "special discounts" manually such that Total Payment tallies with the rest (with about 2 cent spread)
Don't compare during non office hour. Compare during office hour.
Bigpay problem. Max only RM10k/transfer.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 24 2021, 05:19 AM
Ramjade
post Feb 24 2021, 10:27 AM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Feb 24 2021, 06:31 AM)
In general, we get better conversion rate from MYR to SGD during office hour, right?
Yes. Always. Hence I do my transaction during office hours.

QUOTE(Takudan @ Feb 24 2021, 10:20 AM)
I wasn't aware that they have a different rate during office hour O.o
Alright I did another comparison as below, funny BigPay doesn't allow me to screenshot in the phone app...

SunwayMoney has a much better rate now, but still very slightly losing out to bigpay on larger amount.
BigPay uses the exact same rate as yesterday night (12h ago), which was slightly higher, so the gap seems bigger to the other 2. I'm surprised to see Instarem and TW having such a shitty rate, in fact I used TW last year as it was the best at that time.

Conclusion:
1k = SunwayMoney
3k-10k=BigPay
20k+ = SunwayMoney
SunwayMoney is the best choice if BigPay indeed has max 10k/transfer. I didn't see anywhere in the app though... then again I don't have more than 10k to see the app rejecting my transaction lol.
Max amount you can have inside bigpay is rm10k.
Ramjade
post Mar 6 2021, 10:54 AM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(Ladszy @ Mar 6 2021, 09:44 AM)
What's your experience with sunway money? Do they often fuss for supporting documents? Submitted my e-kyc documents twice but they don't seem to be getting it thus stopped registering with them for now.
No problem with them. All my application done online. Fuss free for me. I am repeated customer because their rates are super good.
Ramjade
post Mar 6 2021, 05:21 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 6 2021, 04:11 PM)
Is this Sunway Money good for sending tuition fees of Euro 42(per lesson per week) to Austria's bank account?
Compare the rates. I know Sunway money is good for SGD. Maybe TW is cheaper.
Ramjade
post Apr 4 2021, 03:48 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ Apr 4 2021, 01:44 PM)
i am planning to open instarem account

any referal?
Don't bother with instarem. Nowadays they have lousy rates. I have not used them for almost a year already cause they are more expensive Vs others (I get less foreign currency when I use instarem Vs others)
Ramjade
post Apr 4 2021, 07:56 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 4 2021, 04:34 PM)
So what is your new recommendation, sifu? biggrin.gif
Sunway money, TransferWise.

QUOTE(taiping... @ Apr 4 2021, 04:45 PM)
So much to keep up

I was just reading On IB from first based on ur recommendation of IBKR

Now hav to change strategy of reading
You just follow me or bookmark my page.

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Apr 4 2021, 07:20 PM)
Compare all fintec you can register with.
Instarem
Wise
Sunway money
Big pay
Money match

I only used instarem for its first time because of referral promo, reduced RM25-ish or something. Other times it is usually TransferWise or Sunway Money that gives the best value.
For me Sunway money, TransferWise.

Ramjade
post Apr 9 2021, 04:23 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(KenYoung @ Apr 9 2021, 03:54 PM)
Sunway money can send frm sgd acc to myr? I'm in Malaysia now
No. It only works from Malaysia to any other country. If you want other country back to Malaysia use TransferWise.
Ramjade
post Apr 9 2021, 08:07 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(KenYoung @ Apr 9 2021, 05:25 PM)
OK thanks.. Is it safe to transfer like 4k sgd at 1 time? 😅
Of course.
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2021, 12:19 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(hedfi @ Apr 24 2021, 12:13 PM)
If sending RM200k to AUD or GBP, it's cheaper using CIMB cos don't have to incur many times charges cos max for Wise is only 30k per transaction right?
Wrong. Cause the rates charge by CIMB is more than the fees by Wise.
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2021, 01:07 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(hedfi @ Apr 24 2021, 12:54 PM)
Sending RM30k to Oz cost RM160+. 200k is 7x ie. more than a thousand just on fees alone, rates is better now at CIMB for PB customer but need to check rate before sending and compare who's cheaper
Go compare with
Rm210k on CIMB
And RM30kx 7 using TransferWise. Don't look at the fees.

Look at final cash in AUD. What is important is final amount in AUD. If CIMB can give more AUD than TransferWise, then yes they are cheaper.

If they give you less AUD than transferwise means TransferWise is cheaper.
Ramjade
post Apr 24 2021, 02:35 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(hedfi @ Apr 24 2021, 01:39 PM)
CIMB will give special rate but Wise I don't know
Even with special rate, always check with other fintech. Cause fintech are basically giving money changer rate and bank can never match money changer rate. Remember see final amount received.
Ramjade
post Jul 12 2021, 11:10 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 12 2021, 10:54 PM)
What if compare with foreign curency account in local banks, difference based on MYR30k?
As long as you are using banks get ready to be charged extra markup by 2-3% for each transaction/conversation. Only way is fintech then deposit into Interactive Broker and you can convert at market rate (even cheaper than fintech)
Ramjade
post Jul 13 2021, 08:19 AM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 13 2021, 01:06 AM)
Thanks. But i dont quite understand your 2nd sentence:
Using Instarem or BigPay or Transferwise to transfer to IB?
What  is even cheaper than fintech?
No use fintech to transfer to sg nank account. Then deposit SGD into interactive broker. From there convert using interactive broker. Interactive broker conversion rate is the lowest in town. No priority banking/fintech can beat their rates as they are giving you interbank rates. I don't think private bank also can get those rates. Cause the rates offer by Interactive broker is what the banks use to exchange currency among themselves.

You can convert millions and only pay USD2.00/conversion. That's it. No markup rates. No hidden fees. No extra fees.
Ramjade
post Jul 13 2021, 09:38 AM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Jul 13 2021, 09:28 AM)
converting such huge amount might need watch out FEA rule malaysia right?
i remember Malaysian is allowed to invest+exchange only up to 1million MYR per calendar due to this FEA rule
If you got no debts you can remit out how much you want. If you have debts then you are only limited to RM1M/year.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 13 2021, 09:39 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0183sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:42 PM