Q on in-laws situation (Updates), Updated.

SUSlurkingaround
post Jan 28 2020, 11:51 AM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Jan 27 2020, 11:53 PM)
You should spend less time having your head stuck in a 2000 year old book and try Googling instead.

https://www.epa.gov/regulations-emissions-v...-and-aircraft-0

https://dieselnet.com/standards/inter/imo.php

You can read up on the rest by spending less time on /k.
Light-duty vehicles

Light-duty vehicles are certified for compliance with emission standards by measuring their tailpipe emissions during rigorously-defined driving cycles that simulate a typical driving pattern. The FTP-75 city driving test (averaging about 21 MPH) and the HWFET highway driving test (averaging about 48 MPH) are used for measuring both emissions and fuel economy.

Two sets, or tiers, of emission standards for light-duty vehicles in the United States were defined as a result of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990. The Tier I standard was adopted in 1991 and was phased in from 1994 to 1997. Tier II standards were phased in from 2004 to 2009.

Within the Tier II ranking, there is a subranking ranging from BIN 1–10, with 1 being the cleanest (Zero Emission vehicle) and 10 being the dirtiest. The former Tier 1 standards that were effective from 1994 until 2003 were different between automobiles and light trucks (SUVs, pickup trucks, and minivans), but Tier II standards are the same for both types.

These standards specifically restrict emissions of carbon monoxide (CO), oxides of nitrogen (NOx), particulate matter (PM), formaldehyde (HCHO), and non-methane organic gases (NMOG) or non-methane hydrocarbons (NMHC). The limits are defined in grams per mile (g/mi).
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States...ssion_standards
The catalytic converter is a device placed in the exhaust pipe, which converts hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide, and NOx into less harmful gases by using a combination of platinum, palladium and rhodium as catalysts.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vehicle_emissions_control
Rule Summary

EPA is amending the existing emission standards for oxides of nitrogen (NOx) for new commercial aircraft engines. These standards are equivalent to the NOx emission standards of the United Nations International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), and thereby will bring United States aircraft standards into alignment with the international standards. These standards will go into effect on December 19, 2005 and they will apply to new aircraft engines utilized on commercial aircraft that include small regional jets, single-aisle aircraft, twin-aisle aircraft, and 747s and larger aircraft.
https://www.epa.gov/regulations-emissions-v...-and-aircraft-0

Like I said before, non-cars like aircrafts, ships, power-plants, factory boilers, electric generators(eg used at pasar malams), chainsaws, lawn-mowers/grass-cutters, ATVs, motorbikes, etc do not have catalytic-converters and/or particulate filters = they come under much less stringent emission control standards/regulations compared to cars/light-vehicles.

Afaik, the limit on NO-x emission by aircrafts is not stringent at all, ie nearly all modern aircraft engines already are within the limit or compliance of the emission control standards set by ICAO and EPA since many years ago. It was as if the aircraft manufacturers were the ones who set the limits/standards, like how Boeing was delegated by the FAA to self-approve its new oddly-designed B737-MAX for flight and 1-hour iPad conversion training for the pilots.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Jan 28 2020, 12:29 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Jan 29 2020, 02:58 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Jan 20 2020, 12:39 PM)
Last day of work Wednesday.

Will return to work on the 10th as need to go to China again that day.

China is presently Coronavirus-infested country. Still going to China(Shanghai.?) on 10 Feb 2020.? Quite risky, oh.!
SUSlurkingaround
post Jan 30 2020, 06:06 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Jan 23 2020, 02:22 AM)
The final reason that caused the cold war is MIL found out wife is carrying a boy and a girl, wife told her mother both of them will be named the same way as our son, her mother requested that the boy follow her family name so the father can have his wish come true. Wife told her mother to forget it as it wasn't happening. 

Any chance of your MIL paying you about RM300k or contra something else valuable to you to buy the birthname right of the baby-boy that is growing in your wife's belly, like what Team B had offered your FIL last year.?
....... Maybe, look at it as your last parting gift to your 'not-going-to-last-very-long' FIL who had doted on your wife some years ago when she was still studying.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Jan 30 2020, 06:12 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Jan 31 2020, 06:19 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Jan 31 2020, 10:45 AM)
TS explained in another post some time ago. Spent the whole morning trying to dig it out but failed. Darn it.

Basically it's an act of revenge, like a middle finger to his Father in Law (and by extention FIL's family). He painted their family name on the building (loan shark style I'd imagine) and hung a PRC flag to signify their 'chinese-ness' and all the Chinese way of life they tried to force on TS, and demolished the building with a excavator with attached US & UK flags as they represent what the values that TS stood for.

Also, his FIL is just greedy and overly confident he can get away with bad things he did, at least from what I read so far.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4835181/+20 - post #29

SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 3 2020, 05:06 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Feb 3 2020, 02:32 PM)
Lurkingaround was free enough to dig it out and I wrote why I did it there.

In short, I was simply being an ass.
Took me less than 3 minutes to dig it out, and not a whole morning.

When you retire, you should write a novel based on your eventful life. If so, don't forget to mention lurkingaround. biggrin.gif

SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 3 2020, 05:38 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Feb 3 2020, 05:09 PM)
I cannot afford to retire sad.gif

Not with 2 newborns on the way this late in life.
You should think and retire the American/angmoh way, ie at about 70 years old = your twins will be about 27 years old.
....... Only mostly Asians and Chinese retire at about 60 years old.
https://www.cnbc.com/2018/07/11/if-you-cant...im-social-.html - If you can’t wait until 70, this is the next best age to claim Social Security benefits - 2018

Come to think of it, Malaysia and East Asia is a small market for the suggested novel like yours = you should have married the Swedish girl. smile.gif

P S - You retiring at about 70 yo = more grandmother story for you to tell us, ie in the 2040s. smile.gif

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Feb 3 2020, 07:48 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 3 2020, 07:56 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Feb 3 2020, 07:04 PM)
I don't think he can include you, it's gonna lead to a whole lot of questions from his wife. Lol! I can already imagine her reaction tongue.gif

Who is this lurkingaround in your novel?
He's from where? Forum??? What forum!?
What you post there!?
Show me! SHOW ME RIGHT NOW!
In that case, BillCollector will likely have to spend a few mornings to dig out the forum to prove to his knife-wielding "Lorena Bobbitt" wife that lurkingaround is actually a man, ie not a woman rival like the Swedish girl. biggrin.gif
SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 3 2020, 08:40 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Feb 3 2020, 08:11 PM)
Haha, that's not the point, I don't think she would approve of how much TS is sharing about.. stuff tongue.gif
If BillCollector publishes a novel based on his own life, he would already be sharing most of his life with the general public. Mentioning lurkingaround in the novel would just be a small part of the sharing. IIRC, a female forummer even suggested herself selling BillCollector's drama-story rights to a TV station, eg HK TVB.

So, if his wife disapproves of the sharing, she would not allow BillCollector to publish such a novel at all since it would have her as one of the main "bitchy" characters.

Afaik, most old folks do not mind their life story being told, warts and all, eg Steve Jobs of Apple during his last decade on earth after getting pancreatic cancer.

SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 24 2020, 11:26 AM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(Liamness @ Feb 24 2020, 09:42 AM)
Where do you draw the line at making a quick buck? I'm pretty sure I would draw the line at family..

But that's what happens when you grow up without a father..

You don't know where the limits in morality and ethical behaviour are.. You never had a stronger man, usually a father, to properly put you in your place.. This is why having a masculine father is important for young boys.. Fathers are there to teach their sons, by forcing compliance through raised voices and if necessary through using blunt force to impart a hard message of being compliant and agreeable. The wolf was never domesticated to be a Sheppard dog.

and the opposite of compliance is a destructive male who never learnt any hard limits, so in their eyes, everything goes. And if they have self-narcissistic tendencies then in all likelihood, they will develop to become malevolent Dark Triad psychopaths, and a skilled Machiavellian..

Not entirely your fault here either. You are just a victim of circumstances..

These sort of male figure is the total opposite of what we should be creating and a huge reason why our society is fracturing and falling into bad times.

There is no reasoning with such a person. In their eyes, decisions are made in absolute resolution. The only way to force compliance here is to dish out a beat down. But as there is no authoritarian figure in your life anymore, the likelihood of a bigger male figure in your life forcing you to comply and be more agreeable is low.

In other words, the only person that can recognise these destructive behaviour is yourself.. put yourself in the old dog position here. If you can empathize with his position, then you would know how much he is hurting and maybe you should afford him some respite and relief in the form of not taking advantage of him.
Quite agree with your assessment.

IIRC, when he started earning and working as an architect, TS's purpose in life was to own 40 houses by 40 yo = belief in mammon god, even though he was a baby-Christian. He pursued it legally but wrt his FIL, it was immorality against family, like dishonoring your father and mother(= broke God's Law in the Bible). To fulfil this greedy purpose in life, he even gave up a happy family life with his ideal Swedish gf = ended up with a troubled family life with a non-Christian Malaysian Chinese wife.

OTOH, his sonless FIL ended up with a brain-stroke by pursuing the birth-surname-right offer from his Team B's pregnant youngest daughter. His belief in traditional Chinese custom of patriarchy and ancestor-worship caused him to pursue it.

So, our purpose in life is mostly derived from who and what we belief. False or wrong beliefs = wrong purpose in life = wrong actions or deeds.

Hope TS repents or changes for the better, which seems so = his life getting better or less troubled.

Good day to all.

SUSlurkingaround
post Nov 23 2025, 06:16 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(Schumacher @ Nov 23 2025, 05:45 PM)
wrong replied

QUOTE((Schumacher @ Nov 23 2025, 05:46 PM)
Both also like to interfere in people’s family affairs. Just to prove how stupid lurking reasoning is.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=112416084
Above post for our reference for why he necro this 2020 thread.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0260sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:17 AM