Movies Cloverfield 2

jenniferjen
post Jan 18 2008, 11:19 AM

410 posts

Watch it yesterday nite and here is what I think of it

very good ideas for a monster flick, original and nothing like the godzilla havoc. But somehow, I dont like how the film was made. Is not about the webcam view, is more like is everything is a bit more clearer, the film will goes much better.

I was aspecting the shaking, but not this much. Is just too shaking and cant concentrate anything at all. I already prepared for the run and escape camera shot, but maybe i was aspecting something like documentary filming, so the view would be more stable, but hell, they make it so real till not much ppl could really appreciate the movie. They are already lot of point which is not that real in the movie itself, so why not make the camera more stable for audience to enjoy the movie? I got friend who really got vomit, where i really pity him. I dont get any sickness at all, but still I would had a feeling like "Watching what oo? Shake here shake there" I know it should be like this since they plan to make it so real, but as somebody who wish to appreciate a good movie, it would spoilt everything.

But is not like they cant shot the movie this way, they should really shot the movie in a more stable manner. THey can just dump in that hud is some kinda reporter and was kinda pro in handling the viewcam, so the shaking can be reduced especially in parts like

This will made the movie more acceptable my wider range of movie goer. The feeling should be more on watching a exciting documentary types of movie (I saw documentaries dealing with real life disaster like tornadoes, hurricane, earth quake and etc, and is really amusing). The movie should go in this direction! The feeling of amusing. The feeling which will bought us to wow.....

Somehow, some documentaries got shaking effect too, if you watch them, its cant be helped cause everything is in real life. But the shaking is not as bad as in this movie. In this movie, not only that the view is shaking like crazy until you can interprete what you are actually watching and trying to catch, but the lighting is also a problem with blinking here and there, not to mention the capsized building where ppl are actually walking in non flat surfaces. Its make you feel real more confuse and frustrated.

Therefore, camera handling is important to let the audience to really enjoy the movie. Shaking here and there does increase the feel of realism, but fail to present the overall motive of the movie.

If a movie go to the big screen, is a movie. Even with interesting viewcam concept, they still should make it in a movie manner, more stable moving view, real we all agree, but able to accept or not is another issue.

Overall the movie got really good idea but somehow shot in a wrong way imho.
Anyway, good for those who love it, i was just hoping for perfection, this aint the perfect touch, but something new.
jenniferjen
post Jan 18 2008, 11:42 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(Cruzer @ Jan 18 2008, 11:34 AM)
do u remember DOOM the movie and their fps view , it was dumbest scene i ever saw in my life
Haha i agree on that, thank god that the movie was not made in full FPS... other wise, it would be double fail topping up by an early fail smile.gif
jenniferjen
post Jan 18 2008, 12:59 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 18 2008, 12:49 PM)
I agree with you.

If someone go to overseas and take holiday movie but keep on shaking his camera,
I won't watch one.

FYI, I'm a camcorder user. Since I intend to let people watch the movie I take,
I make sure it is properly hold. Shake also shake in a very slow motion.  Else,
no matter how new the thing in the camera, I won't go and see it liao.
Very true....
If only they would indicate Hud as an expert cam handler and work as a reporter, it would be much better eliminating the shaking and explain why he would follow rob to rescue her gf. SOrt of wanted to make a big news from the cam!
jenniferjen
post Jan 18 2008, 02:47 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(copyyen @ Jan 18 2008, 02:18 PM)
It won't change much even if you put Hud as an expert cam handler. How do you expect him to be calm all the way of the invasion? Especially during Marlena being dragged away by the military since Marlena was his crush.

I do agree that using the viewcam method could not bring out the best; but if we try to appreciate the movie the other way around, you will know what the producers are to convey to us.
Not much changes I agree but not as bad as now? No?

The point is, how you shot the cam and capture the emotion of the audience as if they are part of the survival in the movie, not running around with the view upside down all the time, and shaking to a unacceptable degree even in a calm situation?

I remember last time I watched couples of Tsunami video and most of it was amusing, is bad to think that way cause lot of death toll up from this disaster, but the emotion is different when we look at it from the eye of an eyes withnesses. THey hold their cam, they saw the wave growing, cheering and fansinating voice all around, and all of the sudden, the wave come closer and bigger and ppl start running. Cam holder start to run as well, is shaking hell of course is shaking, but at least, during the wave grow, he really took the whole process and make audiences see how its grow.

A true reporter or pro cam user know when to take the best shot, where to take and how to take. THat is why If Hud is a char with pro skill in handling the cam, thing would be different and maybe lot more ppl could accept it. He just shot blindly and keep expressing that he want everyone to know what actually happen, but what most of us really saw is escaping of a group of friends in a very confusing way.

Again, I am saying this because i treat it as a movie, of course if this is a documentay, I would had given a different opinion based on my logic and feeling. A movie is away a movie, no matter what method u try to shot it. And when its went into the big screen, certain criteria must be there to be ranked as a great movie.

jenniferjen
post Jan 18 2008, 03:03 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(Goblinsk8er @ Jan 18 2008, 02:51 PM)
My guess is the venom from the zergling has somesort of chemical reaction.
Just like vinegar and baking soda.

Maybe the chemical reaction follows 1st order reaction which reaction starts slowly then rises exponentially building lots of gas in the victim and explodes.
THis is what I think...

This post has been edited by jenniferjen: Jan 18 2008, 03:04 PM
jenniferjen
post Jan 18 2008, 06:02 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jan 18 2008, 05:52 PM)
Well, I read a comment from a forumer on the fact that shaking =/= realism and that even if you had a real disaster, there wouldn't be that much shaking. Well I disagree on couple of points:

-HUD is not a professional cameraman. He can barely focus on shots if his life depended on it.
-Most tornado footage that you and I see are of people who stand from a highplace and shoot it or start walking with 'OMG, OMG" or they are from inside their own safespots filming it.
-HUD has ran for seven hours for his life and traveled miles through New York, cut him some slack.
Haha i think u are refering to me...
And due to your mentioned reason, I think they should had make Hud a pro cam user or working as a reporter...
This might minimize the shaking and how he really should position his cam. smile.gif
jenniferjen
post Jan 18 2008, 06:28 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(Klesk @ Jan 18 2008, 06:22 PM)
i dont think u get the idea on what the makers of the movie wants to portray, picture urself in a scenario where there happened to be a massive hysteria, would you still be holding your camera still taking sweet steady shots from the best prospective and stuff?
furthermore u've sounded as if you're being forced to watch this movie from the very beginning? what gives?
Well we all understand what the film maker wish to address here...
Just that it whole cam recording can be done in a better way, least logic but much pleasent to watch for the audiences smile.gif
jenniferjen
post Jan 21 2008, 09:55 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(i_love_japan @ Jan 21 2008, 04:29 AM)
lol....i nearly die after watching this movie and i really dun understand why there are so many LYN forumers who love it so much. rclxub.gif

honestly many ppl left the cinema after around 30 minutes show time but at least i watched the whole show.

and the guy sitting next to me went to washroom like few times. i duno why la..... maybe vomit or something. but then he just keep continue watching after he came back from washroom. laugh.gif
Well dont feel surprise.
Is you look at it, those who likes the movie were the same person over this topic.
I believe lot like the film, really... but not the motion filming of the movie, or how the movie was taken.
Is not easy to appreciate the movie, but require big mind and patient especially on the motion sick
That y i keep stressing, if the camera motion is more stable, lot more ppl will get to appreciated it more
But then it would be realism vs commercially acceptable. smile.gif
jenniferjen
post Jan 21 2008, 10:53 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(c_calvin @ Jan 21 2008, 10:41 AM)
lol
should put this in 1st post so that other ppl noe

Added on January 21, 2008, 10:43 am

oh i remember u
the one that hate shaky cam but yet still watch the movie
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
THe truth is how shaking it was, and for this movie...
the shaking degree is high.... sad.gif
jenniferjen
post Jan 21 2008, 11:47 AM

410 posts

Well basically I didnt get motion sick as well
(Which explain why I like using alien in AVP PC games tongue.gif)
Anyhow, the compliant from me is not about the motion sickness, but rather towards the shaking degree of the movie.

For those who is motion sick, like some of my frens, they are green pale after the movie, puke a few time, and i really kesian them, cant blame them, they like monster movie but not this way.

For those who is healthy enough to watch this movie like me, i think the real concern is being realistic vs the acceptable value of a normal move goer who wanted to appreciate the movie himself.

The whole movie is shaking even when they are in a calm situation, nevertheless, is realistic, ppl cant be calm if they are in emergency situation, and not to mention, Hud is not an expert user of the cam. So here is where all the realistic comes in.

But in the other hand, the realistic had surpassed the acceptable standard of the movie to be appreciated by the viewer. I had no ideas how many of the movie goer who actually go for the movie but do not really like it. For me, the shaking of the whole movie from the start till the end is the biggest drawback of the movie. For once, I wonder if the cam doenst shake so much, but still filmed in this kind of technique, it would be much better! Yah its might not be that realistic anymore, but I dont think ppl will be complaining that "Hey why the camera doesnt shake furiously? Wasn't the situation is so tense? How come Hud can be so calm one?" For better excuse, they can just simply made Hud and expert cam user rather than an amatuer.

Anyhow, the movie had been done, some like it, some dont like it. Some even suffer from it. Is a gret movie nevertheless, just that it could be better. smile.gif

cheer

0.0372sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:54 AM