post Jan 16 2008, 11:39 PM

474 posts

Just back from the premiere...
One spoiler to answer one of the question here tongue.gif

Anyway, my conclusion is..

Cloverfield = CloverFAILED doh.gif

My advice: Better be prepared for all the shaky scenes, my gf cannot tahan and feel dizzy half way through the movie... sweat.gif
Cyrus2k
post Jan 16 2008, 11:45 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Jan 16 2008, 11:43 PM)
You watched the sneak preview?  blink.gif
Yup, and I did prepared for it.. the only problem is my gf cannot tahan sweat.gif
Cyrus2k
post Jan 17 2008, 12:44 PM

474 posts

I think its better if you put spoiler for your review smile.gif

And yes, this movie stinks if you watched it just like any regular movie. But, take a moment and think what the producer are trying to bring out from the movie. Try to put yourself in the same shoes of the characters in the movie. IF there is ever something like to attack KL, don't you think we will end up just like them? Its common sense for the movie to just show how they struggle to run away from the monster from the perspective of a civilian.

The movie is actually great, but with the shaky cam shooting style, sometimes it just took away the intensity (eg. someplace where its suppose to be scary does not appear that scary since we can't really see properly whats happening with the shaky cam). smile.gif

Cyrus2k
post Jan 17 2008, 03:29 PM

474 posts

whoa, thats quite near.. almost 100% same!

Where you found that?
Cyrus2k
post Jan 17 2008, 03:39 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jan 17 2008, 03:38 PM)
What almost 100%... it is 100%!

I remember it clearly... it does have the two things on each cheek... and the snappy jaw...

Fantastic... kudos to you funnyTone
aiya, with the shaky cam you expect me to remember 100% of the details of the monster? tongue.gif

But is that image the original artwork for the movie?
Cyrus2k
post Jan 17 2008, 03:51 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jan 17 2008, 03:47 PM)
Well, almost towards the end, they did have a full frontal of it... there's a review of the film from the same site:-

http://www.bloody-disgusting.com/review/1789

They love the film... guess the dizziness doesn't effect them...
Yes, I know, but when you watch the movie, you wanna remember the details of the monster or the story? tongue.gif

I didn't feel dizzy as well, maybe I'm used to play FPS game smile.gif I do enjoy the movie, but again, the shaky cam took out part of the fun sad.gif
Cyrus2k
post Jan 17 2008, 04:02 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jan 17 2008, 03:56 PM)
Yeah... why shake so much? They have a "night vision" camera (spoiler) but no anti-shake function... duh...

Actually, because of all the hype about this monster, I want to remember the detail of the story and monster... seeing the monster upclose, the back portion, the limbs and all... so was detailing everything... even the "backups" also... smile.gif

haha, yeah but even with anti-shake function, if the hand shaking also no use lor biggrin.gif

Big monster.. I dun really recall he got those "lumps" on the back hmm.gif and the small creeps were scary tongue.gif although look a bit like Halflife 2 Antlion (well.. only a bit) sweat.gif
Cyrus2k
post Jan 17 2008, 06:13 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jan 17 2008, 06:06 PM)
I didn't stay till the end of the credits. T_T
Me too... since my gf very dizzy and need to go to toilet fast.. doh.gif

zerggg: well, those creeps can move very fast and have night vision eyes too; thats why they can hunt well in dark area tongue.gif And their bites are nasty... *explodes* sweat.gif
Cyrus2k
post Jan 17 2008, 11:46 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jan 17 2008, 11:36 PM)
Don't get me wrong, the movie aint perfect, but I facepalm'd at some of the comments I've read here from people who whined about the movie without understanding what story it's trying to say.

Quoted for truth smile.gif (although my gf was also one of those typical viewer.. sweat.gif )

However, the whole movie does not meet up to my expectation though hmm.gif I think using the camcorder style shooting could not bring out the best for cloverfield hmm.gif

Cyrus2k
post Jan 17 2008, 11:55 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(ongpohheng @ Jan 17 2008, 11:47 PM)
well, using a movie cam can bring out cloverfield. but it will just be a rip-off of godzilla and get low rating. and no re-watch value.
Hey man, dun always compare it to godzilla! There are unlimited possibilities in this world tongue.gif Using normal shooting style to film cloverfield doesn't mean it will be a godzilla rip off smile.gif

0.0360sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:55 AM