> Why so hard to find job?

jojolicia
post Oct 8 2019, 05:03 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(ahpooki @ Oct 8 2019, 03:59 PM)
better to be an entrepreneur ... start your own little business...start small.. then take it from there..
correct, my nephew CS grad 5 years ago, 1st job as service technician only, 3rd yr start selling PC/ laptop, now owner of a pc outlet and authorized service center
Redhunt
post Oct 8 2019, 05:05 PM

51 posts

lousy tax structure, lousy gov support, lousy marketing and radicalization of malaysian society , as supported by TDM and his gang = foreign companies pulling out of malaysia as can be seen by weekly news of how sucky our stock exchange is (still) and how much money is being pulled out

sad thing is that no media dares to write about RnR issues affecting foreign investments ( requirements on hiring practices spooks them hard. even local companies are spooked a.f when reading them ) . Only say this pullback is caused by China-US trade war, but all our neighbors unnnntttuuunngg saja.

This post has been edited by Redhunt: Oct 8 2019, 05:07 PM
ipohmali70
post Oct 8 2019, 05:10 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(Kennchew @ Oct 8 2019, 03:38 PM)
But seriously, its 2019 now and if the company is still paying only 2k especially in the it field is considered as underpaid imo
While I sympathize with you but you have to recognize these facts:

1. Tens of thousands of fresh graduates every year.
2. Thousands of graduates unemployed / underemployed / misemployed (e.g. Grab)
3. Not enough proper jobs
4. Country in middle of economic downturn.

Its the employers market now.

Every year I have a few hundred fresh grad applicants.

I wish I can hire all but I cant.

Some of them even beg me for an internship, with allowance as low as 400, as long as they don't have to sell nasilemak or remain unemployed.

I'm not saying you can't ask for RM2,800.

You can continue to try, no harm. Good luck!

limfreelance
post Oct 8 2019, 05:19 PM

343 posts

even a doctor is over supply.
apo boleh buat. over population..
soon when machine and ai take over some data enrty job, delivery and accounting baru tau.

SUSLiamness
post Oct 8 2019, 05:22 PM

445 posts

TS.. welcome to the real world.

hahahaha
suweys
post Oct 8 2019, 06:46 PM

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Oct 8 2019, 03:57 PM)
you can consider join Silverlake

good starting ground for fresh grad

http://www.silverlakegroup.com/
silverlake not easy to join.
There is alot of IT grad nowadays.
CyrusWong
post Oct 8 2019, 07:07 PM

1,643 posts

QUOTE(suweys @ Oct 8 2019, 06:46 PM)
silverlake not easy to join.
There is alot of IT grad nowadays.
silverlake is in lacking hands currently

i cgpa 2.7 also can join

been working for 8 months now

This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Oct 8 2019, 07:07 PM
TSKennchew
post Oct 8 2019, 07:10 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Oct 8 2019, 07:07 PM)

i cgpa 2.7 also can join

Relating to support and administration?
Lyu
post Oct 8 2019, 07:13 PM

772 posts

Almost more than 1 month jobless = hard to find job

Grad nowadays...
oc_rooney
post Oct 8 2019, 07:14 PM

405 posts

PM me and send me ur resume
faizalmzain
post Oct 8 2019, 07:15 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(Kennchew @ Oct 8 2019, 01:57 PM)
I am a fresh graduate computer science student who recently has just completed my studies during august. I have applied almost 30 companies on websites such as linkedin, glassdoor and jobstreet.
But so far almost more than 1 month only two of the companies did call me up for an interview but still got rejected in the end. The job i have applied are more towards IT support and administration
such as linux and windows as I have some knowledge towards it.

Company 1:
I did manage to answer most of the technical questions given by them during the interview and told me that will arrange for 2nd interview with the executive director.
After two weeks up to now still no news.

Company 2:
Call me up for phone interview yesterday, ask me some technical questions also told me will arrange for an interview today but suddenly got rejected this morning told me that there are a
change of job requirements and they are not hiring anymore.

Is it really normal for a fresh graduate to find it hard in securing for a job these days? As my expected starting salary is only RM2800 and its not even considered very high lol
IT support normally plenty of jobs.
list down the companies you applied.
ohman
post Oct 8 2019, 07:17 PM

1,178 posts

500k jobless you know?

Resume put your photo la
faizalmzain
post Oct 8 2019, 07:20 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(tien171 @ Oct 8 2019, 04:50 PM)
IT graduates  from what i understand very  easy to secure a job. 
my  nephew  from APU  univ  @ TPM  got  a  job  offer    before he sit for exam 
so i guess  Which  Univ you come from  counts .

maybe  also  you are fresh , trying for first job...    you need to convince  them  harder without doubt  . 
just  keep applying  to  every  IT  Advert  you  see  within your qualification.  prepare to go for lower salary , cos with no exp  you are in  weak position.
good luck..
in IT it's all about your skills, it doesn't matter where you were graduated.

faizalmzain
post Oct 8 2019, 07:22 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(KcX35 @ Oct 8 2019, 03:03 PM)
Dafuq? It job is everywhere, Tbh I don't think getting a job is hard, getting the job u wan is hard
yes, recruiter once told me it's hard to find local talents in IT especially programming.

wh0cares
post Oct 8 2019, 07:23 PM

700 posts

Most companies already freeze hiring already
Windows 8 or 10 have this system restore/refresh/reset which can be done by end users without it person
hirano
post Oct 8 2019, 07:36 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

TS probably not pro in any programming languages, that's why only apply for IT support/admin jobs

Those that you see freshies getting 3k+ are on the programming side. IT support/admin pls ask 2.6k instead. Employer's market now.

And pls apply for small companies (not MNC) for higher chance to be employed.
IvanWong1989
post Oct 8 2019, 07:41 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

Pm me your resume. Of course with your personal info redacted if u want.

Will see if I can give pointers n tips. But I'm firmware. So.... Lol. Just trying to help.

#ihireformydepartment
suweys
post Oct 8 2019, 07:41 PM

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Oct 8 2019, 07:07 PM)

i cgpa 2.7 also can join

oh wait weird , i heard from friends he is around ur gpa and applied + interviewed + finished assessment test yet there is no call back from silverlake so i assume silverlake is hard to get in.
Alot of my IT fresh grad i known struggling for job , recently even service helpdesk job ,i saw 30 IT fresh grad come in for interview and that is not even IT field job@_@.
tien171
post Oct 8 2019, 07:42 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 8 2019, 08:20 PM)
in IT it's all about your skills, it doesn't matter where you were graduated.
can you guess why student want go Imperial college or MIT

why students dont go India study engineering ?
you think easy to find a job

if one see 2 CV s , one graduate from MIT the other from Chanei University and assuming both are recognize degree.
who will get the job ?

Mr. Najib Razak
post Oct 8 2019, 07:43 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Steven Hoi @ Oct 8 2019, 02:02 PM)
what language?
English

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » 

0.0205sec    1.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:19 AM