is it practical to use a cruiser or touring bike to go to work? I thought if you're working in kl, peak hour sure jam, even kapchai will line up between cars
a pain using a big bike (650cc above) in traffic
Oct 3 2019, 12:22 AM, updated 7y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
170 posts Joined: Jun 2019 |
is it practical to use a cruiser or touring bike to go to work? I thought if you're working in kl, peak hour sure jam, even kapchai will line up between cars
Oct 3 2019, 12:28 AM
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,730 posts Joined: Jul 2016 From: tomato land |
Not practical unless long distance...
Oct 3 2019, 07:48 AM
2 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(azriqii @ Oct 3 2019, 12:22 AM) is it practical to use a cruiser or touring bike to go to work? I thought if you're working in kl, peak hour sure jam, even kapchai will line up between cars Currently on er6n. It is still OK for me, but depends on which part of KL. If u mentioned kapcai also got stucked, then it doesn't matter what bike u ride. Anyway, the difference would be the heat from engine bay. It's hotter, but still in acceptable range for me. |
Oct 3 2019, 08:58 AM
734 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Oct 3 2019, 09:24 AM
31 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Depends on which location your office located. Surely a bit bulky but if taking consideration of your mileage to & from office, you can balance your opinion actually between kapcai & cruiser / touring bike.
Oct 3 2019, 09:51 AM
45 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
From Batu Caves to Sunway Area, is it recommend to use big bike like Er6N?
Oct 3 2019, 10:33 AM
314 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Im using Versys650 as daily commute, mainly Puchong, Bandar Sunway and Cheras. Not really a problem if you just cruising speed within limit.
of coz cannot lane splitting like kapcai but i dont do that always, its dangerous to yourself and vehicle around u. |
Oct 3 2019, 10:40 AM
9 posts Joined: Feb 2019 |
QUOTE(azriqii @ Oct 3 2019, 12:22 AM) is it practical to use a cruiser or touring bike to go to work? I thought if you're working in kl, peak hour sure jam, even kapchai will line up between cars Not sure how is the traffic in KL but in Penang I take my Vulcan to work. Lane split is possible if there are enough space between cars. If not then I just wait patiently till traffic moves. It all depends on individual |
Oct 3 2019, 11:36 AM
232 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
TS ride what bike?
Oct 3 2019, 11:40 AM
2 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Oct 3 2019, 07:18 PM
170 posts Joined: Jun 2019 |
Nov 7 2019, 11:14 PM
58 posts Joined: Oct 2012 From: Serendah |
Using Z650 from bentong to klcc area.. No prob ciloking as the bike is light
Nov 8 2019, 09:29 AM
113 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Get to know ur bike, get use to to the traffic and learn clearance when filtering traffic (side mirror and handle end, braking distance) and angle when manouver (side and tail) for the 1st 3 months, defensive riding at all times and u shall be fine.
This post has been edited by dscythe: Nov 8 2019, 09:29 AM |
Nov 8 2019, 10:15 AM
Daily rider here, using Tracer 900 GT.
Kajang (home) - Shah Alam (office) - Kajang (home), 95 km per day. Take out the side boxes, not using it on daily ride as using backpack / tankbag for storing my raincoat, wallet, etc. So far no issue on lane filtering, easy to maneuver some more. |
Nov 8 2019, 10:34 AM
105 posts Joined: Jul 2019 |
QUOTE(mat_7824 @ Nov 8 2019, 10:15 AM) Daily rider here, using Tracer 900 GT. Tracer is a nice bike but for your distance you should use a big bikeKajang (home) - Shah Alam (office) - Kajang (home), 95 km per day. Take out the side boxes, not using it on daily ride as using backpack / tankbag for storing my raincoat, wallet, etc. So far no issue on lane filtering, easy to maneuver some more. |
Nov 8 2019, 10:45 AM
484 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Nov 8 2019, 10:56 AM
8,930 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(spetnaz @ Nov 8 2019, 10:45 AM) Maybe he read Tracer 90 kot. 90cc saja hahahahhaAnyway, I ride my old 1992 Yamaha XJ600 and it is the perfect balance in terms of being a big bike and riding in the city, if normal highway traffic jam I can usually filter through any gap a kapcai can filter through but of course in the city my turning radius isn't as big, but if talking strictly about gap, I have no issues. |
Nov 8 2019, 10:59 AM
836 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(spetnaz @ Nov 8 2019, 10:45 AM) i was asking myself the same question, 900 not big then what is bigger ? LOLQUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Nov 8 2019, 10:56 AM) Maybe he read Tracer 90 kot. 90cc saja hahahahha for me, if city means really slow and not lane splitting unless permissible, since some cars can't stick to their lane even when all others are not moving. Anyway, I ride my old 1992 Yamaha XJ600 and it is the perfect balance in terms of being a big bike and riding in the city, if normal highway traffic jam I can usually filter through any gap a kapcai can filter through but of course in the city my turning radius isn't as big, but if talking strictly about gap, I have no issues. bear the heat from bike and sun |
Nov 8 2019, 11:04 AM
Nov 8 2019, 11:15 AM
If using highway most of the commuting activities daily, better get atleast 250cc bike so can sustain the highway average car speed for a safer riding...
And tubeless tire with rim is a must.... but if goiing downtown KL which has side to side mirror jam.. Small CC scooter is the winner... Dont be like me ![]() |
Nov 8 2019, 12:22 PM
25 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
Using g310r from Jalan Ipoh to Bangi and sometimes KL office. First month was trouble as didn't know how to drive above 40 while lane splitting. But biggest problem to date is kapchai continously racing with me. Guys you are young I am 40 plus. I damn care about anything in my age.
Nov 8 2019, 01:17 PM
30 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(FulfillmentGuy @ Nov 8 2019, 12:22 PM) Using g310r from Jalan Ipoh to Bangi and sometimes KL office. First month was trouble as didn't know how to drive above 40 while lane splitting. But biggest problem to date is kapchai continously racing with me. Guys you are young I am 40 plus. I damn care about anything in my age. very different frm india? |
Nov 8 2019, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(FulfillmentGuy @ Nov 8 2019, 12:22 PM) Using g310r from Jalan Ipoh to Bangi and sometimes KL office. First month was trouble as didn't know how to drive above 40 while lane splitting. But biggest problem to date is kapchai continously racing with me. Guys you are young I am 40 plus. I damn care about anything in my age. i feel you, on riding Versys and kena kapcai tailgate everyday, even my speed already at 60km/h on standstill traffic jam. |
Nov 8 2019, 02:30 PM
113 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(mat_7824 @ Nov 8 2019, 10:15 AM) Daily rider here, using Tracer 900 GT. sifuuuu Kajang (home) - Shah Alam (office) - Kajang (home), 95 km per day. Take out the side boxes, not using it on daily ride as using backpack / tankbag for storing my raincoat, wallet, etc. So far no issue on lane filtering, easy to maneuver some more. |
Nov 8 2019, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(talentrecruiter @ Nov 8 2019, 11:04 AM) It's a big bike, fall under sports touring category same like Versys 1000 but still practical for daily usage. It's slim body & not very heavy in weight, nimble enough to do lane filtering. My daily route consist of traffic jam areas like Hospital Serdang - IOI Putrajaya, Puchong - PROTON Shah Alam, LKSA up until Shah Alam city centre to the office. Going home via bike lane Federal Highway, NPE, Connaught Highway & Cheras Kajang Highway, you can imagine about cars , lorries & mopeds using the route.650 should be enough for highway, no worries on that. |
Nov 8 2019, 02:42 PM
Nov 8 2019, 03:35 PM
484 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(812799 @ Nov 8 2019, 10:59 AM) i was asking myself the same question, 900 not big then what is bigger ? LOL Perhaps the 1800cc HD and Goldwings ... double displacement mah |
Nov 8 2019, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(spetnaz @ Nov 8 2019, 03:35 PM) I did lane filtering with HD electra Glide even ride on the Federal Highway motorcycle lane.. .. car give way since its a big presence of a bike... just dont go to Downtown KL, or George Town where the road small and narrow.. Forgot.. Bangkok too.. |
Nov 8 2019, 04:03 PM
25 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
Nov 8 2019, 09:16 PM
157 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(ajaibman @ Nov 8 2019, 03:51 PM) I did lane filtering with HD electra Glide even ride on the Federal Highway motorcycle lane.. .. car give way since its a big presence of a bike... just dont go to Downtown KL, or George Town where the road small and narrow.. Cars give way because scared we Ter scratch their car panel or win mirror. I ride with side boxes every day through the kl traffic. Cars usually will open up more lane when they hear me coming. Forgot.. Bangkok too.. A few just ignore or purpose close the lane smaller. This type, a few times I will just ride through scraping my box against their car panel or side mirror. I remember one Singapore car e-class kena. Opppps. Lol. Aaronnnnnn liked this post
Nov 12 2019, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Nov 8 2019, 09:16 PM) Cars give way because scared we Ter scratch their car panel or win mirror. I ride with side boxes every day through the kl traffic. Cars usually will open up more lane when they hear me coming. Pls don't spoil our image la, dah la got sidebox pls stay behind carsA few just ignore or purpose close the lane smaller. This type, a few times I will just ride through scraping my box against their car panel or side mirror. I remember one Singapore car e-class kena. Opppps. Lol. |
Nov 12 2019, 10:36 PM
Nov 13 2019, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Nov 8 2019, 09:16 PM) Cars give way because scared we Ter scratch their car panel or win mirror. I ride with side boxes every day through the kl traffic. Cars usually will open up more lane when they hear me coming. I too ride with side box and top case to work. At first you need to get use to the width of the bike but once used to it you can just lane split like a kapchai.A few just ignore or purpose close the lane smaller. This type, a few times I will just ride through scraping my box against their car panel or side mirror. I remember one Singapore car e-class kena. Opppps. Lol. There are times when cars do open up a lane for me to pass and there are also those who ignores me. If I cannot pass will just try to stop at the next available place to let other pass. I won't scratch other ppl's car as I would not want others to do the same to mine |
Nov 13 2019, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(Kaboku @ Nov 13 2019, 10:16 AM) I too ride with side box and top case to work. At first you need to get use to the width of the bike but once used to it you can just lane split like a kapchai. Ignoring I'm still ok. Maybe they are not aware of couldn't hear me because blasting the music inside the car.There are times when cars do open up a lane for me to pass and there are also those who ignores me. If I cannot pass will just try to stop at the next available place to let other pass. I won't scratch other ppl's car as I would not want others to do the same to mine But not that bugger who purposely close the gap. That one kena use that Singapore car, purposely close the gap and give me the "try to ride through if you dare" look. Purposely close the gap . Traffic jam that time. Usually if I cannot pass through due to road being narrow, for example on mrr2 with the on going road construction, I will just follow behind cars even in traffic jam. This post has been edited by skyblu3: Nov 13 2019, 10:46 AM |
Nov 13 2019, 05:58 PM
6,497 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
daily rider here. im using 2005 zx6rr so its a big and heavy bike. well as for traffic jam, the heaviest i kena is when i was from kajang to shah alam. it was so jam i was stuck for like half and hour and my thigh was freaking painful from the heat of the bike.
other than that, i would say if its really jam, i dont encourage ppl to ride big bikes. i rode it last time because i was going to service my bike and holy hell it was not pleasant at all. i was wearing full face helmet, a mash jacket, a thick 19 oz jeans and a boot and i was sweating like hell. i stopped at the petrol station for a while to keep my bike cool down a bit and re hydrate myself back since i was feeling dizzy because of the excessive sweating. so yeah, if its just a normal traffic jam i would still be okay and i could handle the heat but if its a very heavy traffic, then u better stop and cold down or turn back and find other alternative road. |
Nov 14 2019, 01:32 PM
110 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Depend on location. Some have heavy traffic, medium or mild. Me from puchong to brickfield so far ok, as i use NPE route. But when reach bangsar have to extra careful especially when i put in side pannier. Sometimes i take off panniers so cilok2 get easier
Nov 15 2019, 12:35 PM
40 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
OEM panniers usually not wider than handle bar. So used it as a gauge. After market varies since they produced 1 size fit all concept
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Nov 8 2019, 09:16 PM) Cars give way because scared we Ter scratch their car panel or win mirror. I ride with side boxes every day through the kl traffic. Cars usually will open up more lane when they hear me coming. That e class might not hear you. As much as I agree loud exhaust saved live, modern car bangsawan level has a good noise cabin insulation. So I usually cilok to the other side because one side close is one other side open.A few just ignore or purpose close the lane smaller. This type, a few times I will just ride through scraping my box against their car panel or side mirror. I remember one Singapore car e-class kena. Opppps. Lol. |
Nov 15 2019, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(mypie @ Nov 15 2019, 12:35 PM) OEM panniers usually not wider than handle bar. So used it as a gauge. After market varies since they produced 1 size fit all concept Like I said.That e class might not hear you. As much as I agree loud exhaust saved live, modern car bangsawan level has a good noise cabin insulation. So I usually cilok to the other side because one side close is one other side open. I'm ok if they are not aware. But this bugger look at me , ignore.. and then move forward a bit but turn the steering to close the gap. |
Nov 15 2019, 03:02 PM
110 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Nov 22 2019, 02:09 PM
89 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
I remember when i first angkat my rebel 500 just 2 weeks ago.... Went to batu caves to buy motorcycle cover... Otw back from batu caves to damansara my heart sank when i saw heavy traffic because that was my first time riding on real road... I still feel like that after kerinchi link near mid valley heading to seremban.... Feel like i want to move out from the city la...
Nov 22 2019, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(h4r8_kIlLeR @ Nov 22 2019, 02:09 PM) I remember when i first angkat my rebel 500 just 2 weeks ago.... Went to batu caves to buy motorcycle cover... Otw back from batu caves to damansara my heart sank when i saw heavy traffic because that was my first time riding on real road... I still feel like that after kerinchi link near mid valley heading to seremban.... Feel like i want to move out from the city la... slowly you will feel nothing. i using Versys for Puchong, Subang and Cheras area. After 6 months of routine, now can confident riding through traffic jam. |
Nov 27 2019, 05:23 PM
269 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I am with my z650 and top boxes and side boxes 98% of the time on the road since they are helpful at times you don't expect.
So far not much of a problem unless i need a bigger space (along kapchai) for parking. Scratched an old volvo once since he ignored me and close my 'way'. Feel bad about it but you deserve it since there is a lot more space on the other side of the road. Ignorance is a bliss, but not for that volvo driver. Sorry bro! |
Dec 12 2019, 12:19 PM
174 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
using my 2016 mt-09 with top box exclusively as daily ride and long disntance travel. just passed 80k km mileage now.
it feels like riding a kapchai though. |
Dec 12 2019, 12:23 PM
23 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
no matter how big your ride as long you can handle it wisely and be tolerate to others. The question is why touring bike always bring their big boxes even just ride to work..if for long distance i.e KL to Alor Star that make sense
Dec 12 2019, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(poque @ Dec 12 2019, 12:23 PM) no matter how big your ride as long you can handle it wisely and be tolerate to others. The question is why touring bike always bring their big boxes even just ride to work..if for long distance i.e KL to Alor Star that make sense Put laptop, riding protection gears, locks, rain suit, some times do light grocery shopping my way home. Very convenient. |
Dec 12 2019, 08:35 PM
8,930 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
Dec 13 2019, 09:09 AM
Dec 13 2019, 10:44 AM
Dec 13 2019, 12:02 PM
23 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Dec 13 2019, 12:11 PM
258 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
if you ride like a civilised person who dont split lanes then ok.
Dec 13 2019, 01:10 PM
Dec 14 2019, 01:24 PM
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Dec 13 2019, 10:44 AM) One time I was late, so i park my bike and just went into the office with all the gears on including knee shin guard. Lol. Last time when I took the other bike to work w/o any side cases and I had to bring my gears to office. All of them gave me the same comment you received. Told them some people like to exercise before coming to work, I like to do some racing before coming to work. Some teased me ....wah. racing ah? QUOTE(poque @ Dec 13 2019, 12:02 PM) yes..i understand but did we need two bigger box side by side. i think one box should be enough. how to cilok better drive car je haha I need 2 side cases. One for my jacket and the other for my gloves. I prefer to separate them out so they can "air" out in the cases with packet dehumidifier in each cases. The top box is for hte helmet, head scarf and ear plugsQUOTE(skyblu3 @ Dec 13 2019, 01:10 PM) I'm using side box and still can cilok most of the time. Can still cilok as long as u are used to the width of the bike. Takes time to get use to it but totally worth itBut i cos I'm not using the biggest side box Just a shad sh23. Still ok. |
Dec 14 2019, 01:26 PM
1,081 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
Dec 14 2019, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(Kaboku @ Dec 14 2019, 01:24 PM) I need 2 side cases. One for my jacket and the other for my gloves. I prefer to separate them out so they can "air" out in the cases with packet dehumidifier in each cases. The top box is for hte helmet, head scarf and ear plugs Mind to share what brand. Is it effective. |
Dec 15 2019, 11:15 AM
Dec 16 2019, 01:59 PM
174 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Dec 16 2019, 02:32 PM
734 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Penang |
QUOTE(bumfart @ Dec 13 2019, 12:11 PM) I know right, those barbarians on bike from Asia, Europe always lane-splitting.Only America can shine the light of civilisation. Except for those uncouth Californians; lane splitting and building tech. |
Jan 7 2020, 10:00 PM
1,057 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(azriqii @ Oct 3 2019, 01:22 AM) is it practical to use a cruiser or touring bike to go to work? I thought if you're working in kl, peak hour sure jam, even kapchai will line up between cars It's very simple. If you want to cilok pancung maximum, don't ask about anything bigger than a kapcai.If you want to commute on a big bike, then ride it properly like a big bike. You'll be fine riding even a Harley to work so long as you get your expectations straight... and u got the cash for the maintenance costs. I fail to understand why some people bergolok bergadai hutang 6 tahun to buy a big bike which they then try to ride like a kapcai. Siap lompat divider, langgar lampu merah, lawan arus trafik... and when they get stuck due to their size, siap hon & maki hamun kereta. |
Jan 16 2020, 09:33 AM
122 posts Joined: May 2011 |
80km daily on gsxr750 with backpack (laptop) and tailbag (rainsuit+shoes cover)
persiaran moktar dahari - nkve - federal hiway - pj painful at first...back...arm..u name it....but with correct body positioning/posture and fitness, lama get used already. |
Jan 16 2020, 01:12 PM
859 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Used to travel everyday with Yamaha R1 & Naza Blade 650R for few years, kinda get used to it
Now I am travelling with Modenas Elegan 250 and it feels really awkward..it is comfy as hell, but doesnt feel right for me.. |
Jan 16 2020, 04:02 PM
108 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
I'm using Street Twin to work from Gombak ->KLCC-> Bukit Bintang everyday, the bike is not that big but definitely bigger than kapchai or 250cc scooter. cilok is fine but you need to be patient and realise that you are not riding kapchai so you dont go for every gap. If you think the gap is not big enough just wait and let smaller bike passed you, eventually it will open up and you can move. I ride the same route with my Nmax and found the difference in commuting time is probably 1-2 mins max.
Jan 17 2020, 07:45 AM
2,545 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jan 7 2020, 10:00 PM) It's very simple. If you want to cilok pancung maximum, don't ask about anything bigger than a kapcai. Yes, some are giving bad names to big bikers. Ride accordingly If you want to commute on a big bike, then ride it properly like a big bike. You'll be fine riding even a Harley to work so long as you get your expectations straight... and u got the cash for the maintenance costs. I fail to understand why some people bergolok bergadai hutang 6 tahun to buy a big bike which they then try to ride like a kapcai. Siap lompat divider, langgar lampu merah, lawan arus trafik... and when they get stuck due to their size, siap hon & maki hamun kereta. QUOTE(al3p @ Jan 16 2020, 04:02 PM) I'm using Street Twin to work from Gombak ->KLCC-> Bukit Bintang everyday, the bike is not that big but definitely bigger than kapchai or 250cc scooter. cilok is fine but you need to be patient and realise that you are not riding kapchai so you dont go for every gap. If you think the gap is not big enough just wait and let smaller bike passed you, eventually it will open up and you can move. I ride the same route with my Nmax and found the difference in commuting time is probably 1-2 mins max. Street Twin - nice ride. High low end torque. |
Jan 17 2020, 07:30 PM
108 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(haturaya @ Jan 17 2020, 07:45 AM) Yes, some are giving bad names to big bikers. Ride accordingly Yup I like the Street Twin almost straight riding position and also high torque definitely a plus when commuting in a city. Street Twin - nice ride. High low end torque. The only thing is the heat is noticeable especially if you stuck in a jam or at a long traffic light. I think all these high cc bike had this problem as they are not designed to be ridden very slow in the traffic. |
Jan 18 2020, 11:15 AM
Probation
21 posts Joined: Dec 2019 |
QUOTE(al3p @ Jan 16 2020, 04:02 PM) I'm using Street Twin to work from Gombak ->KLCC-> Bukit Bintang everyday, the bike is not that big but definitely bigger than kapchai or 250cc scooter. cilok is fine but you need to be patient and realise that you are not riding kapchai so you dont go for every gap. If you think the gap is not big enough just wait and let smaller bike passed you, eventually it will open up and you can move. I ride the same route with my Nmax and found the difference in commuting time is probably 1-2 mins max. How to handle the weight...if the rider skinny.. |
Jan 18 2020, 09:54 PM
1,671 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jan 18 2020, 11:03 PM
830 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Jan 19 2020, 05:10 AM
6,497 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(naeezcose @ Jan 18 2020, 11:15 AM) i ride my heavy ass bike (a 2005 zx6r) with a surgically repaired hand and a broken shoulder. just need to be mindful when riding. its stable when ure moving but gets a bit sketchy if u move very slowly or when ure in a stop. if i park front first i need to manually push or pull that bike from the parking spot, align it and then get on the bike. oh and make sure u wear something comfortable and easy to move also. a skinny jeans (example) would limited ur moves and can throw ur balance off. |
Jan 19 2020, 11:12 AM
Probation
21 posts Joined: Dec 2019 |
QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Jan 19 2020, 05:10 AM) i ride my heavy ass bike (a 2005 zx6r) with a surgically repaired hand and a broken shoulder. just need to be mindful when riding. its stable when ure moving but gets a bit sketchy if u move very slowly or when ure in a stop. if i park front first i need to manually push or pull that bike from the parking spot, align it and then get on the bike. oh and make sure u wear something comfortable and easy to move also. a skinny jeans (example) would limited ur moves and can throw ur balance off. Correct, experienced rode fz150i which only about 125kg..feel uncomfort during parking and reverse manually... i cant imagine those to handle more than 250kg.. looks smart and perfect when ride.. just cant imagine if unstable situation happened.. and what should i do.. |
Jan 19 2020, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(naeezcose @ Jan 19 2020, 11:12 AM) Correct, experienced rode fz150i which only about 125kg..feel uncomfort during parking and reverse manually... i cant imagine those to handle more than 250kg.. looks smart and perfect when ride.. just cant imagine if unstable situation happened.. and what should i do.. Once you get the hang of it, then its everyday stuff.. Rid big bike to commute, as you go along, analyse the road ahead or parking space ahead, if you gut feeling (instinct) tells you that cant park or can't fit the gap during ciloking time.. it probably right... |
Jan 19 2020, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(naeezcose @ Jan 19 2020, 11:12 AM) Correct, experienced rode fz150i which only about 125kg.. feel uncomfort during parking and reverse manually ... i cant imagine those to handle more than 250kg.. looks smart and perfect when ride.. just cant imagine if unstable situation happened.. and what should i do.. That is why you see big bike almost always reverse parked or against a slope. With little push the gravity will help the bike roll down. And the most important thing, no need to pull back your heavy bike out of parking. |
Jan 29 2020, 04:22 PM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2014 |
Hi TS. When it comes to big bikes in traffic, the type of bike makes a big difference. I ride to and back from work every day through some of Penang island's busiest roads (still nothing compared to KL jams though). Currently riding an er6n and NC700X.
The er6n is physically small and I removed the handlebar ends and fitted bar end mirrors instead. So it's almost 2 inches narrower than stock, and the bars are lower and narrower than an EX5's. I can actually cilok through gaps that kapchais can't pass. The bike also has more steering angle than my old Ninja 250, which helps a lot when you have to make tight turns with the bike upright. It's also quite stable at low speed so crawling along feels fine instead of scary. The NC700X is very stable and has good low-speed handling and balance but it's also just physically larger, taller and wider (at the handlebars) compared to the er6n. So its a bit more challenging riding through traffic on it. Since most of my riding is commuting I've been taking the er6n more and more and am going to put the NC700X up for sale as a result. I wouldn't want to commute on a Versys or BMW GS (too tall and top-heavy for me) or a full-on sportbike (not enough steering lock) but others manage it fine. Like other posters have mentioned, riding big bikes in traffic requires a different set of expectations and a lot more patience; since you can't really use the bike's power and its size and weight is a disadvantage. But it definitely gets easier with time and experience. |
Jan 29 2020, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(mypie @ Jan 19 2020, 06:19 PM) That is why you see big bike almost always reverse parked or against a slope. With little push the gravity will help the bike roll down. And the most important thing, no need to pull back your heavy bike out of parking. Many years back when I started riding big bikes...few times where I had to get strangers to help me push my bike out from a parking spot. Lol.Now I'm more aware of the slope. Will reverse in if needed. |
Jan 29 2020, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(deadwolf @ Jan 29 2020, 04:22 PM) Hi TS. When it comes to big bikes in traffic, the type of bike makes a big difference. I ride to and back from work every day through some of Penang island's busiest roads (still nothing compared to KL jams though). Currently riding an er6n and NC700X. It's all about getting used to the bike. Be familiar with it.The er6n is physically small and I removed the handlebar ends and fitted bar end mirrors instead. So it's almost 2 inches narrower than stock, and the bars are lower and narrower than an EX5's. I can actually cilok through gaps that kapchais can't pass. The bike also has more steering angle than my old Ninja 250, which helps a lot when you have to make tight turns with the bike upright. It's also quite stable at low speed so crawling along feels fine instead of scary. The NC700X is very stable and has good low-speed handling and balance but it's also just physically larger, taller and wider (at the handlebars) compared to the er6n. So its a bit more challenging riding through traffic on it. Since most of my riding is commuting I've been taking the er6n more and more and am going to put the NC700X up for sale as a result. I wouldn't want to commute on a Versys or BMW GS (too tall and top-heavy for me) or a full-on sportbike (not enough steering lock) but others manage it fine. Like other posters have mentioned, riding big bikes in traffic requires a different set of expectations and a lot more patience; since you can't really use the bike's power and its size and weight is a disadvantage. But it definitely gets easier with time and experience. I ride z1000 with side boxes every day to work. No issues when lane filtering through traffic jam with the kapchais. 99% of the time I'm able to pass through even through narrow space in between two cars without putting the foot down. At times some bikers will give me a thumbs up. Lol. What I learn is that we must master on balancing the bike straight at low speed, even when the bike is almost at complete stop. With this skill and confidence, every day ride through the traffic jam is no issues. |
Jan 30 2020, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jan 29 2020, 09:32 PM) It's all about getting used to the bike. Be familiar with it. That's badass man. How wide are your side boxes? Personally I don't dare to commute with side boxes; always need the handlebars to be the widest part xDI ride z1000 with side boxes every day to work. Yeah slow speed practice is super important with bigger bikes. Personally I like to treat traffic jams as an opportunity to practice slow speed control; sometimes get a nice sense of accomplishment after pulling off some especially smooth moves haha. But if it's really too tight to cilok; its no big deal and you just have to wait...there's always the next ride. |
Jan 30 2020, 11:25 AM
30 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
Jan 30 2020, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(deadwolf @ Jan 30 2020, 11:09 AM) That's badass man. How wide are your side boxes? Personally I don't dare to commute with side boxes; always need the handlebars to be the widest part xD My side boxes aren't that big and wide as those adventure bikes..it's just 23L Shad. The width is about the same as the handle bars. Since I only lane filter during traffic jam and don't cilok cilok between lanes.....it's fineYeah slow speed practice is super important with bigger bikes. Personally I like to treat traffic jams as an opportunity to practice slow speed control; sometimes get a nice sense of accomplishment after pulling off some especially smooth moves haha. But if it's really too tight to cilok; its no big deal and you just have to wait...there's always the next ride. Yes, if the gap gets to small, I'll just ride behind the cars in traffic jam. Just follow the car. No issues. |
Jan 30 2020, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(basilisk @ Jan 30 2020, 11:25 AM) is tht yours @ mudah today? red frm pg? Yup that's the one does the nc hv the engine braking feel like the er6? example shutting gas @ 2nd / 3rd gear the bike will lunge heavily forward.. |
Jan 30 2020, 04:00 PM
247 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jan 29 2020, 09:32 PM) It's all about getting used to the bike. Be familiar with it. mad respect. i am damn pussy in filtering. paranoid about scratching cars. lol...I ride z1000 with side boxes every day to work. No issues when lane filtering through traffic jam with the kapchais. 99% of the time I'm able to pass through even through narrow space in between two cars without putting the foot down. At times some bikers will give me a thumbs up. Lol. What I learn is that we must master on balancing the bike straight at low speed, even when the bike is almost at complete stop. With this skill and confidence, every day ride through the traffic jam is no issues. |
Jan 30 2020, 04:41 PM
Jan 31 2020, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Jan 30 2020, 04:00 PM) Need to practive more, the gap between cars in Klang valley when during Jam in avearge still have space for bike to move in between, different if you need to go through jam in Penang George town for example since its sidemirror to sidemirror wide... Was commuting using an aircooled Murica cruiser (the one that will cook your balls when stuck on traffic) before with side panniers to KLCC and back then changed to boxer engine powered bike.. but now downgrade to a scooter (For commuting purposes) after I found out cost replacing clutch of liquid cooled boxer engine expensive as f!$$! hahaha... So not about the bike width when it comes to traffic jam, but more to conserve my clutchplates.. |
Jan 31 2020, 10:54 AM
1,878 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Medan, ID |
QUOTE(deadwolf @ Jan 30 2020, 03:19 PM) Yup that's the one Upgrade you say? What bike do you have in mind?No put fon number then buyer need to have mudah account to PM you. |
Jan 31 2020, 02:06 PM
247 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 31 2020, 10:41 AM) Need to practive more, the gap between cars in Klang valley when during Jam in avearge still have space for bike to move in between, different if you need to go through jam in Penang George town for example since its sidemirror to sidemirror wide... also the position of my side mirror and also its height. i can't make myself to fold it up like what they do for those kapcai.Was commuting using an aircooled Murica cruiser (the one that will cook your balls when stuck on traffic) before with side panniers to KLCC and back then changed to boxer engine powered bike.. but now downgrade to a scooter (For commuting purposes) after I found out cost replacing clutch of liquid cooled boxer engine expensive as f!$$! hahaha... So not about the bike width when it comes to traffic jam, but more to conserve my clutchplates.. |
Feb 2 2020, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 31 2020, 10:54 AM) Upgrade you say? What bike do you have in mind? Thanks for the tip re: phone number; totally forgot about that!No put fon number then buyer need to have mudah account to PM you. Planning to get a z900 or MT09. Currently leaning more towards the z900 due to its compact size. After riding the NC700X and er6n side by side for several months I realised that while the NC is more comfortable and economical, I still prefer the er6n's compact size and low seat and tighter suspension especially for commuting in traffic and weekend riding. z900 seems like a logical next step since its also quite compact and low for a superbike. |
Aug 2 2021, 02:04 AM
4 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
I ride a 350cc cruiser and riding in inner city traffic is not difficult but no way can I compete with kapcais as I tend to cruise more. I have to pay attention when it concerns squeezing in between cars because I note the height of mirrors of some cars are the same as my mirrors. I agree with someone who said he who is skilled in balancing his ride has the edge in heavy traffic.
Aug 2 2021, 07:03 PM
157 posts Joined: May 2014 |
zx10r > s1000rr from kajang to Shah Alam Hicom
Leave early lejan kesas sampai petronas have breakfast. finish work ikut lorong motor ride chill all the way home... thats back in 2017/2018 |
Aug 5 2021, 12:45 AM
180 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(badaveil @ Aug 2 2021, 02:04 AM) I ride a 350cc cruiser and riding in inner city traffic is not difficult but no way can I compete with kapcais as I tend to cruise more. I have to pay attention when it concerns squeezing in between cars because I note the height of mirrors of some cars are the same as my mirrors. I agree with someone who said he who is skilled in balancing his ride has the edge in heavy traffic. Yeah, the mirrors are really crappy. My previous bike's mirrors were lower. Hence, no problems. My current one |
Feb 26 2025, 04:21 PM
265 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
Hi All,
Want to seek for an advice. Previously I am riding XMAX 250 and now I change to the latest Honda CBR 650R eClutch. Everyday I travel more than 100km with my wife to work. Cyberjaya (Home) > Shah Alam (Wife Office) > KL (My Office) > Shah Alam (Wife Office)> Cyberjaya (Home) I find that my arm feel will like pain or malay we call it as lenguh .. Is that any tips to prevent this? Last time with XMAX I do not have this kind of issue. I think maybe my riding position is incorrect. |
Feb 26 2025, 04:43 PM
1,041 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: shah alam----ttdi |
QUOTE(static_365 @ Feb 26 2025, 04:21 PM) Hi All, with pillion, cant avoid it especially if she 'rebah' badan on you and in slow traffic. hahaha. But if she able to sit well, hug the tank and relax your arm. Want to seek for an advice. Previously I am riding XMAX 250 and now I change to the latest Honda CBR 650R eClutch. Everyday I travel more than 100km with my wife to work. Cyberjaya (Home) > Shah Alam (Wife Office) > KL (My Office) > Shah Alam (Wife Office)> Cyberjaya (Home) I find that my arm feel will like pain or malay we call it as lenguh .. Is that any tips to prevent this? Last time with XMAX I do not have this kind of issue. I think maybe my riding position is incorrect. without pillion, hug the tank using your hips and relax your arm. This post has been edited by marsha1l: Feb 26 2025, 04:46 PM |
Feb 26 2025, 05:53 PM
2,003 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(static_365 @ Feb 26 2025, 04:21 PM) Hi All, use your body core and knee to hold on the tank. Want to seek for an advice. Previously I am riding XMAX 250 and now I change to the latest Honda CBR 650R eClutch. Everyday I travel more than 100km with my wife to work. Cyberjaya (Home) > Shah Alam (Wife Office) > KL (My Office) > Shah Alam (Wife Office)> Cyberjaya (Home) I find that my arm feel will like pain or malay we call it as lenguh .. Is that any tips to prevent this? Last time with XMAX I do not have this kind of issue. I think maybe my riding position is incorrect. keep your hands ligh on the handlebar, dont grip it too tightly and make sure it is bent. also maybe invest in a top box with a backrest for your wife to relieve some weight off your back. |
Feb 26 2025, 06:16 PM
1,281 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(Patent @ Feb 26 2025, 05:53 PM) use your body core and knee to hold on the tank. Topbox on a sportbike not nice laaa keep your hands ligh on the handlebar, dont grip it too tightly and make sure it is bent. also maybe invest in a top box with a backrest for your wife to relieve some weight off your back. |
Feb 26 2025, 06:28 PM
2,003 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Feb 26 2025, 06:32 PM
84 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(ajaibman @ Nov 8 2019, 11:15 AM) If using highway most of the commuting activities daily, better get atleast 250cc bike so can sustain the highway average car speed for a safer riding... Why tubeless tire with rim is a must?...can ajar sikit please?And tubeless tire with rim is a must.... but if goiing downtown KL which has side to side mirror jam.. Small CC scooter is the winner... Dont be like me ![]() |
Feb 26 2025, 08:08 PM
10,530 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Petaling Jaya & Mid Valley |
QUOTE(wigneswr @ Feb 26 2025, 06:32 PM) Tubeless more reliable n less prone to punctures. Easier n cheaper to fix.Tubes, the friction between the tube n the tire can cause premature wear casing punctures..... N tubes for big bikes arent cheap. lowpro liked this post
Feb 27 2025, 11:16 AM
2,484 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(wigneswr @ Feb 26 2025, 06:32 PM) It's not a must. It's just easier to fix a flat with tubeless. In order to fix a flat on a tube wheel, you have to remove the wheel and unseat the tyre from the wheel to pull the tube out. The tough part is breaking the bead and prying out the tyre, especially on a big bike where the side wall can be stiff. Kapchai sized tyre no problem. As you can probably imagine, everything on a big bike is tougher. However off road people still prefer to use spokes and tube, as the rim is more resistant to crack (more likely will bend and repairable) and will still hold air if slightly bent. Harder to fix but more reliable and fixable (not all tubeless punctures can be fixed) if stuck out in the middle of nowhere. Pros and cons. |
Feb 27 2025, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(static_365 @ Feb 26 2025, 04:21 PM) Hi All, You are just probably not used the the riding position of the new bike. Takes some getting used to. Every time on a new bike, I will feel sore for the first week.Want to seek for an advice. Previously I am riding XMAX 250 and now I change to the latest Honda CBR 650R eClutch. Everyday I travel more than 100km with my wife to work. Cyberjaya (Home) > Shah Alam (Wife Office) > KL (My Office) > Shah Alam (Wife Office)> Cyberjaya (Home) I find that my arm feel will like pain or malay we call it as lenguh .. Is that any tips to prevent this? Last time with XMAX I do not have this kind of issue. I think maybe my riding position is incorrect. As for pillion, helps that the pillion can support herself somehow with perhaps better hand holds points or a top box with back rest. You can also invest in a tank mounted pillion grab handle. As for riding position (and this applies to every bike) if you can train and strengthen your core muscles, it will help take the load off your shoulders and arms. Squeeze the tank with your thigh to support yourself. Your shoulders and arms should be relaxed with no weight on them. Keep the elbows bent, out and up (like what the super Moto guys do albeit less extreme) and unloaded. If you are stiff and tense, it will fatigue you even quicker. You need to feel relaxed on the bike. (Being loose on the bike also is a safety benefit, you have better control and quicker responses than if you are all tied up and stiff) Make sure you adjust the brake levers to the proper angle (most are wrong from the factory) This helps if your pillion leans onto your back when riding. Will enable to support herself better. ![]() This post has been edited by jaycee1: Feb 27 2025, 11:29 AM Voopoo liked this post
Mar 6 2025, 06:47 PM
936 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
I semi daily my Duke 200 from Damansara to Kayu Ara. The bike wider than kapcai so I don't split lanes at that high of speed. If there is gap in moving traffic I sometimes move aside to let the kapchais through lowpro liked this post
Mar 7 2025, 10:32 AM
1 key point in riding in traffic and filtering barring the larger physical dimensions on the bike is good clutch play, rear brake and low speed balance. It will come to you with seat time.
The Titi test is there for a reason. This post has been edited by jaycee1: Mar 7 2025, 10:33 AM |
Mar 10 2025, 10:25 AM
593 posts Joined: Aug 2012 From: KL |
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 7 2025, 10:32 AM) 1 key point in riding in traffic and filtering barring the larger physical dimensions on the bike is good clutch play, rear brake and low speed balance. It will come to you with seat time. Sooner or later you will get used to it, I swiping my MT07 at traffic smoothly.The Titi test is there for a reason. |
| Change to: | 0.0350sec
5 queries
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:36 AM |