22 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 >Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

TSmoosset
post May 11 2021, 07:43 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(kart @ May 11 2021, 11:15 AM)
a16791

What is the name of USD account that you have in that bank? How did you manage to open that account?

Thank you for your information. smile.gif
QUOTE(a16791 @ May 11 2021, 11:47 AM)
It's standard chartered bank's foreign currency cheque & save ac. Ac opening just by the usual ic and employment pass .
you two work in Singapore?
TSmoosset
post May 12 2021, 12:38 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(yuiopoiuy @ May 11 2021, 10:04 PM)
Does IBKR now hold deposits for a certain time now before execute buy order? I just deposited this afternoon and until now i couldn't execute any order and it says insufficient amount in my account when in fact i have more than enough cash already.
sometimes yes, especially if you're on a cash account.
TSmoosset
post Jun 24 2021, 07:45 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Jun 22 2021, 03:26 PM)
What's SOW? How about calling them? I believe HK number. Or request them to call you. IBKR called me from HK before... Lol. Just to tell me lockdown period cannot send me the security card.
what is a security card?
TSmoosset
post Jun 28 2021, 01:48 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jun 25 2021, 11:57 AM)
I have a noon question.

I want to fund ibkr with cimb sg, wire sgd

I'm in cimbclick my, and I got 1k sgd inside d. but I don't know which option should I use.

Telegraphic transfer? Speed send? Foreign transfer? Or I need cimbclick sg?  Thank you
you need CIMBclicks SG if you want to access your SGD. I don't think you can access it from CIMBclicks MY.
TSmoosset
post Jun 29 2021, 11:08 AM

1,917 posts

Maybe Maybank is stepping up their compliance check....
TSmoosset
post Jul 2 2021, 01:04 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Jul 1 2021, 09:45 PM)
Hi Sifus, experienced users etc etc...
So apparently received some dividends as cash position has increased...but how to track which counter distributed the dividends? or do I have to check all my counters 1 by 1?
TSmoosset
post Jul 2 2021, 01:06 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Solskjaer66 @ Jun 30 2021, 03:49 PM)
Anyone experienced something like this before? below is my report to IBKR...
"I’m surprised my account bought 2 shares of XLF without me knowing… I did not initiate the trade. You can check my past records… usually I do not trade such a low amount in a single trade. Anyhow I do not mind keeping it. I just want to know what went wrong?
IBCS 2021/06/28 14:23:19
Dear,

Thank you for contacting Interactive Brokers.

After reviewing your profile, your account appears to be in good order.

We see that you use a mobile phone for 2 factor security and your login history appears consistent on mobile.

If you observe any other suspicious activity on your account, please reply to this message to let us know."
Impossible!
If it was bought, then you (accidentally) or someone with access to your account did it.

It's not free right? Not like donation from Saudi etc.
TSmoosset
post Jul 3 2021, 03:41 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Solskjaer66 @ Jul 2 2021, 05:51 PM)
seriously i really don't know.....accidentally? could it be possible? Need to click, enter price amount, unit amount, then swipe right to confirm trade..... so many steps required.... i seriously wonder how i could accidentally bought 2 XLF shares... 2 unit XLF is below $100.... i never trade anything below 100 before.....  sweat.gif
Can't be hackers trying to help you to buy 2 units of XLF.

Could be by accident when your phone is in your pocket etc. Must always log out from ibkr even though you're just away for a minute, and phone must auto lock. No unlock without facial recognition.
TSmoosset
post Jul 5 2021, 03:15 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Jul 5 2021, 12:24 AM)
just to confirm, so use Transferwise can straight SGD/EUR to IBKR?
SGD / EUR / GBP / AUD / HKD .... can! Tried before.
TSmoosset
post Jul 8 2021, 07:29 PM

1,917 posts

so now TSG no more business? laugh.gif

you should be able to relink to TSG anytime....
TSmoosset
post Jul 9 2021, 03:43 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(collingwood @ Jul 9 2021, 02:15 PM)
no minimum, ive tried to deposit less than MYR100 value before
wow..... haven't seen you posting here for so long. You posted the second reply on this thread. biggrin.gif
TSmoosset
post Jul 9 2021, 04:23 PM

1,917 posts

Has anyone tried using HSBC to receive foreign currencies (USD, EUR, GBP etc)???

What type of account do you have and does HSBC charge any fees for receiving incoming foreign currencies?
TSmoosset
post Jul 10 2021, 03:19 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jul 9 2021, 04:55 PM)
I have HSBC Everyday Global account and tried it when I was withdrawing about  USD313.2 from eToro.
Receiving or sending out will cost at least USD 4 per transaction (plus any intermediary bank fees up to USD6++).

Alternatively once you have received the USD, can convert into MYR HSBC account using HSBC rate (which is typical banks rate)

Either way its a losing end 🥲 cry.gif so I sent it straight into IBKR account back then.

Read more : https://cdn.hsbc.com.my/content/dam/hsbc/my...iff-charges.pdf
does the 6 usd apply to both receiving and sending USD?
I want to keep USD at HSBC, don't want to convert to MYR.
TSmoosset
post Jul 15 2021, 01:54 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Msxxyy @ Jul 15 2021, 08:21 AM)
Guys, those tat register via tradestation, do u guys get IB free shares?

Apparently IB users all getting free IB shares based on how much money they deposited
Nope, because you're no new IBKR users.

If you had delinked before the $10 min activity fee was waived, you'd not be getting 3 months fee waiver either that normally enjoyed by new users.

QUOTE(TOS @ Jul 15 2021, 10:46 AM)
Finally submitted the de-link form... Bye bye Javier and Christian. bye.gif

As Ram said, the rebates really can't match pure IB. In the end Christian admitted that they cannot make money if price same as IB and re-send me the form just ask me to de-link.

In my email I asked IB to call me, save some expensive IDD money.
No surprise there. No way they could match IBKR.
If they close their business now, they could maybe end their business with a profit. Giving you guys extra discount to fight IBKR is just leaking their profit, prolonging their inevitable death.

They could have taken 2 weeks to reply you, or ping-pong multiple emails trying to delay your request and hoping to squeeze every penny out of you, but they didn't. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jul 15 2021, 10:49 AM)
He has been asking about the same question in multiple threads despite receiving the same answers/replies.  laugh.gif

TSmoosset
post Jul 17 2021, 10:34 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(wildshot_willy @ Jul 17 2021, 10:53 AM)

2. And if you want dividends to be reinvested rather than taking cash, enable it.

Wonder will it work in sync for the above 2. lol.
You can enable this but standard commission applies. So it's like buying yourself.
TSmoosset
post Jul 18 2021, 10:16 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jul 18 2021, 09:07 AM)
It seems far more complicated than what I thought earlier: https://forums.bearbulltraders.com/topic/25...ed-commissions/

Tiered if small volume < 200 shares, fixed is cheaper at larger volumes.

Also, mentioned in the thread is fixed pricing already factored in exchange and miscellaneous fees, so my SG friend's case should only be 2.50 SGD minimum. There is also a chance that he bought more shares so he is charged greater than 2.50. I will contact him again to clarify this.
I think IBKR SG also charges GST??
TSmoosset
post Aug 1 2021, 05:24 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jul 22 2021, 05:12 PM)
Ok, switched to tiered and can confirm that tiered is more expensive than fixed, for SGX market.

Some screenshots from tiered pricing. Notice commission changes from counter to counter due to exchange fee calculated as a percentage of trade value. In the fixed pricing case, it is always 2.50 SGD regardless of amount purchased add irrespective of counter/REITs/trusts. 

So, if you have (or intend to have) larger stakes in SGX counters and REITs/Trusts, you may want fixed pricing for pure IB, otherwise stick to tiered if you have (or intend to have) larger stakes in US/HK/UK.

Take note that the change will take around 24 hours to take effect (unless you submit your change request after 16:00 ET). So you cannot switch to fixed/tiered pricing and buy/sell immediately.
Always check the commission in the "Order Confirmation" dialog box before continuing with your transaction.

I will have to switch back to fixed pricing...  blush.gif
Did you execute the trades? Because these are just estimates... there may be discrepancies.

I tried with ETFs in EUR but I noticed the range of the estimate is quite vast.
TSmoosset
post Aug 3 2021, 02:39 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Aug 2 2021, 11:00 AM)
I am just explaining why some ppl see estimated fees with a huge ranges...

myself I've seen from 29-99 euros on estimated fees...

you can set priorities on how ibkr execute your smart order... you can end up paying 70 euros more unnecessarily if not careful... smart routing does not mean cheapest fees
so smart routing is not so smart? laugh.gif

QUOTE(KekTart @ Aug 3 2021, 02:14 PM)
Oh my god opening CIMB bank is extremely bureaucratic. Why tf do they need a company letter for a savings (debit) account? I’ve never seen such a letter before. And a payslip is not even enough wtf

The employees there literally do not have any idea what they’re doing.

Maybe I should try transferwise to EUR.
Citibank also wanted an employment letter from me when I wanted to open a savings account with them.

TSmoosset
post Aug 7 2021, 05:38 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Aug 7 2021, 05:25 PM)
Is anyone facing issues getting the validation code (sent to handphone via SMS) during login into IBKR?

The code either comes late or not at all (and I have to keep trying until it does).
should authenticate using mobile app....

SMS is less reliable.
TSmoosset
post Aug 9 2021, 11:10 PM

1,917 posts

yeah, usually banks don't accept deposit in foreign currencies.

22 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 >Top

0.2867sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:37 PM