73 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

SUSTOS
post Feb 25 2022, 12:59 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Feb 25 2022, 12:58 PM)
Fingers crossed. Hopefully, account will be approved without any issue.

Just wondering regarding 1 step. After account is approved, must put in funds straight away or can wait until like 1 month time?
Can wait as long as you like, since there is no minimum balance requirement now.

But some features will not be available unless you deposit enough money to start trading.

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 25 2022, 12:59 PM
SUSTOS
post Feb 25 2022, 01:12 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Feb 25 2022, 01:01 PM)
Ai, thanks for the confirmation.

Yep, won't be trading international stocks soon as need to save up the funds first and some time for the approval of the Singapore bank account.

Rm6k is the target for Singapore REITs
Good head start you have there.

I have created a Google Drive account to host all the scanned newspaper PDF copies, I find the PDF Host IO website is too slow. Have fun reading.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1JKI9r2vzDW...iew?usp=sharing

SUSTOS
post Feb 25 2022, 03:33 PM

8,667 posts

Swiss RE results: https://www.swissre.com/investors/financial-information.html
SUSTOS
post Feb 26 2022, 06:28 PM

8,667 posts

No newspapers on Saturdays and Sundays due to "labour shortage in library" as a result of pandemic laugh.gif

Anyway. not sure if you guys like to read The Economist. Just realize my uni has electronic subscription as well, next time I will just share the permalink directly.

Also some news for prospective or current TSMC shareholders published by 天下杂志 from Taiwan. https://zh.wikipedia.org/wiki/%E5%A4%A9%E4%...%9B%9C%E8%AA%8C

Enjoy.

The Economist (5th Feb 2022 edition)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/19dHLgCyxMd...iew?usp=sharing

The Economist (12th Feb 2022 edition)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1YnSkHvyaq-...iew?usp=sharing

天下杂志 12-01-2022 articles related to TSMC

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1N6x4URRBZF...iew?usp=sharing

SUSTOS
post Feb 26 2022, 09:44 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 26 2022, 06:31 PM)
you really have too much free time... lol

BTW... you doing MBA or what in HK?
You guys don't like to read the magazines and newspapers I posted? I can stop uploading them if that is the case.

Now I am doing my undergrad, BSc in Physics, but my interest these days are in Finance, and I am please to find out that there are research works combining both Physics and Finance/Economics, a field called "physical economics"

Pretty interesting stuff and that is my future research topic for my postgrad study (hopefully in Singapore, BTW gonna go SG this summer for a 3-month research exchange program at SUTD).

The free time is due to the nature of the coursework for me this semester, as it's mostly writing reports, I can prepare them earlier. I only have one mid-term and final exam to take, so the workload is a bit lighter for the study part, though pretty heavy on writing assignments. I need some rest and "standing" time, so standing while scanning newspapers and magazines just to kill time and rest in a quiet library.

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 26 2022, 09:47 PM
SUSTOS
post Feb 27 2022, 12:41 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 26 2022, 11:23 PM)
i used to subscribe to the economist and others... but nowadays I don't read anything anymore... lol... I hope many folks appreciate your efforts... it really does take a lot of time

I was just curious with all the financials and business info you keep posting, that you might be doing research in this area. smile.gif
Oh what do you read these days for business news? Bloomberg? Reuters?

Not that much efforts actually, just scan the pages into a single PDF files or multiple PDF files and save it to my thumdrive (all done by the scanner automatically), then I just split and reorganize some of them e.g. ETF stuff to the ETF thread, others here at IB etc. before uploading them to Google Drive and share the link. biggrin.gif

I hope you find them interesting anyway.
SUSTOS
post Feb 27 2022, 03:00 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 27 2022, 01:44 PM)
i just read the charts and ignore the noises... smile.gif

having said... with fa info to backup ta would be perfect
Wow so you have no issues doing TA on a counter that you have no idea what its business is? Very brave of you haha
SUSTOS
post Feb 28 2022, 05:02 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Feb 28 2022, 04:07 PM)
Anybody did some calculation on how much to buy in one shot to minimize the fees incured?
yo physicist. I am pretty sure a Physics student can solve this. tongue.gif

The calculation depends on the share price though, but since the share price fluctuates, it's nearly impossible to compute. Most people would trade less than 300k shares a month.

So, if given this simplification, then you only have one condition to deal with. 0.35 USD minimum, 0.0035 USD per share thereafter, an upper bound of 1% trade value.

For a single purchase, in graph, it would look something like this:

Maybe you can recall your "Monte-Carlo method" to simulate fluctuating share prices with a given purchase value and an initial stock price, then run through your simulation to find the condition of purchase which incur the minimum fee. (Sounds like an optimization problem.)

SUSTOS
post Mar 1 2022, 01:06 PM

8,667 posts

FT news: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qxzwA9xuM2...iew?usp=sharing
SUSTOS
post Mar 2 2022, 12:48 PM

8,667 posts

FT news: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1XPVfZc5Q1-...iew?usp=sharing
SUSTOS
post Mar 2 2022, 02:40 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(evangelion @ Mar 2 2022, 02:30 PM)
Since you guys using ibkr (US), can you guys buy Singapore sgx listed shares?

Tyvm
Yes, you can buy SG, Canadian, Japaneses, European, HK (and China A shares via Stock Connect), Australian, and Indian counters.

https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/index...=1590&p=stocks2
SUSTOS
post Mar 2 2022, 03:27 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Mar 2 2022, 03:10 PM)
Wanted to open CIMB SG account for IBKR usage, for the initial S$1000 deposit, i wonder is it still workable to transfer like S$50 from Malaysia account to CIMB SG and S$950 from Wise? just to save a little from using the Fx rate. and if were to buy SGX listed shares, we don't need to do another conversion right? (Since topping up IBKR is in SGD)
It's best you ask here. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1440794/+3980

This info might help you. (See reply from Gracie.)

https://ringgitfreedom.com/banking/opening-...ns/#comment-478

In fact the clause has been there on their website since June 2021 but so far from what I've gathered, seems like it'll still be fine as long as we perform the eKYC CIMB Malaysia Transfer ASAP (and as close to the $1K SGD funding as possible to avoid issues). Some readers opted to complete the eKYC transfer first before funding with Wise to avoid potential hiccups.

Yes, if you deposit IBKR in SGD from CIMB SG, then you can directly buy SG shares without the need for further FX conversion.
SUSTOS
post Mar 3 2022, 12:54 PM

8,667 posts

FT 3rd March 2022: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1t602zCgCX0...iew?usp=sharing
SUSTOS
post Mar 4 2022, 12:43 PM

8,667 posts

FT 040322: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1AYZTUVHIxm...iew?usp=sharing
SUSTOS
post Mar 7 2022, 12:47 PM

8,667 posts

FT 070322: https://drive.google.com/file/d/12_vUcfnFlx...iew?usp=sharing
SUSTOS
post Mar 8 2022, 12:42 PM

8,667 posts

FT 080322: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZSR9DTiRjD...iew?usp=sharing
SUSTOS
post Mar 8 2022, 09:08 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(adam1190 @ Mar 8 2022, 07:24 PM)
Does interactive brokers pays any interest for those uninvested balance in the account?
https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/accou...erest-rates.php

Yes, depending on the amount, but these days the interests on idle cash balance has become a lucrative source of profit for brokers, so forget about earning them.

As for negative interest rates, don't worry unless you hold too much euros or Swiss Franc, if you have less than 50k CHF or 50k EUR, you won't earn anything nor be charged any interest. I can confirm my CHF has not been deducted of any interests. (I have less than 100 CHF left in IB since my last Swiss stock purchase, it has remained so since.)
SUSTOS
post Mar 8 2022, 10:36 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(HumbleBF @ Mar 8 2022, 09:54 PM)
Guys , anybody recently just open CIMB SG?
For the SGD1,000. The banker from SG called me and say must transfer via their direct transfer from cimb clicks and not WISE or other 3rd party platform..
Can i just transfer like a few ringgit then transfer SGD1,000  from WISE?

Their rates so much difference from WISE

Cimb: 3.118
Wise: 3.085 (after Fees)
Why didn't you ask the banker when they call you?
SUSTOS
post Mar 9 2022, 12:29 PM

8,667 posts

FT 090322: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1aBk274wHEP...iew?usp=sharing
SUSTOS
post Mar 9 2022, 03:39 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Mar 9 2022, 03:10 PM)
One silly question, how do we withdraw dividend?
Cash dividends will be credited in cash to your account, so you will see your cash balance in that currency (in which your dividends are paid) will increase. So just withdraw the cash (i.e. the dividend).

Stock dividends on the other hand will be credited in to your account holdings, so you get more shares. In order to "withdraw", you just sell your shares to get the "cash", then withdraw the cash like above.

73 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.1880sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:26 AM