73 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 >Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

SUSTOS
post Nov 2 2024, 12:19 PM

8,667 posts

Hermes shareholders should play close attention to this one.

WSJ BUSINESS

A Luxury Giant, a Reclusive Heir and the Case of the Missing $13 Billion
A member of the Hermès family says his fortune is gone. Was it the handyman? The consigliere? Someone else?

https://www.wsj.com/business/nicolas-puech-...share_permalink
SUSTOS
post Nov 3 2024, 04:58 PM

8,667 posts

Just to repeat this once again:

Firms are bound by rules to secure the best price for customers, and proponents say the practice has supported zero commission trading. But opponents argue there are hidden costs embedded in payment for order flow, partly due to how the segregation of the market reduces competition. Even in the US, regulators have mused on the informational advantages players such as Citadel Securities gain from the order flow.

“They will tell you that you can trade for free on Robinhood or Ameritrade, but as Milton Friedman always said there is no such thing as a free lunch,” said the head of a rival trading firm.

https://www.ft.com/content/e7c88737-f972-43...ac-1af358a85f07

SUSTOS
post Nov 4 2024, 09:57 AM

8,667 posts

Bloomberg Industries | Consumer

LVMH’s Empty Chinese Megastore Signals Deepening Luxury Crash
Upmarket brands are scrambling to adjust strategy after being wrongfooted by the rapid downturn in Chinese spending.

Signs that the slump has further to run are multiplying. Sales people at Hermes, whose Birkin bags could easily sell for tens of thousands of dollars, reduced how much shoppers need to spend to be able to buy the iconic products in a rare move, according to people familiar with the matter.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/features/202...d=homepage-asia

Opps...
SUSTOS
post Nov 5 2024, 08:06 AM

8,667 posts

An interesting analysis on the direct-selling MLM-like business model for Tupperware.

https://www.reuters.com/graphics/TUPPERWARE...CY/lgvdjnejkvo/
SUSTOS
post Nov 5 2024, 08:52 PM

8,667 posts

Ferrari release its results today: https://www.ferrari.com/en-EN/corporate/financial-documents

Financial report to be uploaded some time later in the link above. Meanwhile, other documents available for inspection.

Presentation slides: https://cdn.ferrari.com/cms/network/media/p...resentation.pdf

Press release: https://cdn.ferrari.com/cms/network/media/p...s%20Release.pdf

Conference call/webcast: https://edge.media-server.com/mmc/p/phousua5/

------------------------------------

For newbie fundamental investors, let me share with you one investment tip:

Whenever you see words like "even more confidence..." in the slide deck or uttered by the executives in the conference call, that's a sign that you should run.

And indeed that's the case:

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 5 2024, 08:56 PM
SUSTOS
post Nov 5 2024, 09:17 PM

8,667 posts

The recent Fashion Valet incident highlighted the moral hazard of VC/PE firms in boasting their valuations prior to closing deals: here's one such article.. but with paywall at the second half of the article...

明白了这些操作的背后逻辑,你就能够明白为什么VC/PE喜欢搞什么科技的独角兽企业,因为只有这些企业的商业模式才能够提供足够空间让大家吹捧估值。

黄子伦 | 亏尽公家钱,看透资本玩家的游戏规则

2024年11月4日财经

最近,财政部透露国库控股(Khazanah)和国民投资机构(PNB)在本地知名时尚品牌dUCk的控股公司FashionValet(以下简称FV)共投资了4,700万令吉,而最后只能以310万令吉出售他们的股权。

此消息一出,可说是激起千层浪,让人再次对这两家机构的投资决策是否公允和透明提出质疑。而两家官联投资机构反复强调,这部分亏损和其他投资收益相比是微不足道,但他们依然坚持这出售决策只是投资组合上的调整。

其实在这则消息被报道之前,早在2022年就有媒体报道并提出质疑,FV作为一家累积亏损至少8,000万令吉的公司(FV在2020年的保留亏损高达8,344万令吉),究竟怎么拿到官联投资机构的投资。而我也曾听过从事时装零售业务的老板提及FV这家公司,他们知道官联投资机构正在寻求买家,该老板原本有意投资或收购,奈何估值上被狮子开大口而只能作罢。

那么,这是怎么一回事?是不是官联投资机构的投资都极度糟糕?

要回答这道问题,我们首先需要搞明白资本市场在这类投资的运作逻辑。

说到投资,许多人马上想到的就是股票投资。而股票原本就是公司股份的一部分,股票交易所也只是提供一个场所供大家买卖上市公司的股票。当公司尚未上市之前,就被称之为私人企业,里面的大股东往往都是创办人以及一些在公司创立初期提供融资的投资者。

投资者为何愿意投资未上市企业?由于这类公司的股权交易成本极高(反之,上市后可能转变为溢价),加上许多资讯并不公开,只有当事人知道,因此,使得公司估值被大打折扣。此时入资,在未来上市后有翻数倍,甚至十余倍,乃至数十倍的潜力。

在这领域,有两种常见的投资机构,分别是风险资本(Venture Capital)和私募股权(Private Equity)。这两者虽然在一些投资细节上有些不同,但都是专注在企业早期阶段的投资(只要是还没有上市的企业)。由于我们会反复解释这两种投资的角色和思维模式,以下我们简称他们为VC/PE。

那么,VC/PE怎么赚钱?

VC/PE有两个主要收入,第一个自然是投资。在金融的角度来说,很多VC/PE都是玩这一个概率游戏。假设你把10个投资项目介绍给这些VC/PE,每个项目要100万令吉,共计1,000万令吉。VC/PE投出去1,000万令吉之后,心知肚明大部分的项目都会惨淡收场。不过,只要当中有一个项目能够赚到钱,而且是赚到10倍,那么他们就能够收回1,100万令吉。这笔收益就已经能够抵消其余9个项目的亏损。

当然,这一切都只是理论上。现实生活会更加复杂,例如有可能这10个项目都亏钱、或者是赚钱的项目所提供的收益无法抵消全部亏损、或者VC/PE在亏钱项目投入更多钱而赚钱项目投入更少钱、又或者VC/PE不断给已投资的亏损公司继续注资,希望能够转亏为盈。这些都会让许多VC/PE蒙受亏损。

而VC/PE的第二个主要收入则是管理这些投资项目的管理费(management fee)。假设管理费是1.00%,而VC/PE旗下的投资项目估值为100万令吉,那么一年的管理费则为1万令吉。严格来说, VC/PE和管理投资的团队是分开的,前者负责找客户筹钱,后者负责投资项目,但很多的VC/PE机构会同时处理这两项工作。

有些读者可能会发现,既然VC/PE可以收取管理费用,那么岂不是有强烈诱因把这些私人企业的估值给吹上天?

是的,这就是这行业的道德风险。

假设A公司在第一轮融资时,以200万令吉卖出了20%股权,那么其估值就是1,000万令吉。在第二轮融资时,A公司以1,000万令吉卖出5%股权,意味着公司估值已经是2亿令吉了,第一轮的投资者就握有价值4,000万令吉的股权,账面盈利为3,800万令吉!而公司创办人则通过出售股权,拿到了1,200万令吉,身价也涨到了1.5亿令吉,然后开始策划各种...

https://vip.sinchew.com.my/huangzilun-kuiji...%9C%88%E5%A5%97

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 5 2024, 09:17 PM
SUSTOS
post Nov 6 2024, 09:38 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Night Shift @ Nov 6 2024, 02:55 AM)

Any idea wat is this?
You have 50k USD in assets in IBKR? You enabled margin account liao?

SYEP is basically IBKR lending your shares to short sellers out there to earn "pocket money". These are safe lending usually and are backed by collaterals like US T-bills. The downside is you are helping to pull down the share price in the short-run..., so you also get hurt, at least in the short run.
SUSTOS
post Nov 6 2024, 05:17 PM

8,667 posts

Novo Nordisk results: https://www.novonordisk.com/investors/financial-results.html

MAGA president is back again... Good for those who long dollar lol
SUSTOS
post Nov 6 2024, 07:08 PM

8,667 posts

Shell investors beware:

FT The Big Read | Oil & Gas industry

Big Oil’s dirty legacy in Nigeria
Who will clean up the environmental mess when Shell and others pull out of the Niger Delta?

https://www.ft.com/content/a9850445-50be-41...f9-0238d7a0218b
SUSTOS
post Nov 6 2024, 07:10 PM

8,667 posts

And what happens if your exchange is a trader itself, playing against you?

FT Futures contracts

CME draws ire from customers with futures broker plan
Derivatives traders warn over potential ‘conflicts of interest’ after exchange wins license

https://www.ft.com/content/ff20e1fd-e778-44...40-5afa4c34c968
SUSTOS
post Nov 7 2024, 08:19 AM

8,667 posts

Luckin teaches SBUX how to do coffee business...

Bloomberg Opinion

by Shuli Ren, Columnist

China’s Luckin Shows Starbucks How to Sell Coffee
Is a Frappucino an expression of individualism or a habit? The Chinese chain is betting on the latter.

https://www.bloomberg.com/opinion/articles/...-to-sell-coffee
SUSTOS
post Nov 7 2024, 10:10 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 7 2024, 09:10 AM)
dunno man about usa... trump in office... anti china strong...
Luckin is cheap... Americans vote for Trump because they feel the heat from inflation... with 2 USD coffee, that save their budget... like 5 USD McD meals...

Can't resist... not sure how they taste though... You try before? laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Nov 7 2024, 10:11 PM

8,667 posts

Extend and pretend... you hear it again... whistling.gif

FT US banks

Banks face growing risk as double defaults on commercial loans mount
A bank practice known as ‘extend and pretend’ has delayed a write-off reckoning but may hide a growing systemic risk

https://www.ft.com/content/185f7b12-5baf-42...dd-1c723ed90a7b
SUSTOS
post Nov 8 2024, 08:38 PM

8,667 posts

Hermes stock drops today.

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/inves...milar-to-sp-500 (Use a paywall bypass).

New info:

-There is no official figure released for the number of bags made annually, but it has been estimated at 12,000 Birkin bags a year, according to Bernstein Research.

- While Ms Joseph said the Kelly does not retain as much value as the Birkin – it can still fetch around 20 to 30 per cent less than the Birkin – it very much depends on the colour and whether the bag’s stitching is hidden or visible.

- According to Sotheby’s, Hermes Kelly bags are generally made from Epsom leather, which is less expensive than the Togo, Swift and Clemence leather used for the Birkin bags.

The Birkin bag, in particular, by French luxury house Hermes, is the gold standard when it comes to luxury bags as investment assets (Forbes has even called the bag a better investment than gold).

The Himalayan Birkin Diamond 30, made from Nile crocodile leather and studded with about 250 diamonds, sold for US$450,000 (S$595,700) at a private Sotheby’s auction in 2022. Its retail price was said to have been more than US$100,000 in 2021. (The numbers in the bag models indicate their size in centimetres across the top.)

Even the less flashy and more common style in calfskin leather, which costs about $15,100 in stores for the Birkin 25, will get you a profit of at least $9,900 on the resale market.

Bookmark the page if you are a Hermes or Channel investor.
SUSTOS
post Nov 11 2024, 09:51 AM

8,667 posts

WSJ Business | Retail | Heard on the Street

Has Luxury Lost Its Shine?
Customers are complaining that they are getting less bang for their buck at the luxury store

https://www.wsj.com/business/retail/luxury-...share_permalink

-One study found that for every $5,000 increase in the price of luxury goods, the brand’s logo shrinks by a centimeter. In other words, the guy wearing head-to-toe logos is unlikely to be one of luxury’s biggest spenders.

-“Prices were used as a way to cope with an avalanche of demand for luxury brands during the pandemic,” says Luca Solca, luxury analyst at Bernstein. “But if customers have to pay higher prices, you have to give them something new and surprising.”

-But social media is making it harder for luxury brands to maintain exclusivity. “Social media makes it easier to see what others are wearing, but when part of what you are selling is scarcity, that can be challenging,” says Jonah Berger, a professor of marketing at the University of Pennsylvania. “Things can feel less scarce, and smart companies are trying to think about how to manage this.” One way to lower the risk of overexposure is to sell fewer items at much higher prices.

-The problem is, brands’ shift toward democratization has made them much more reliant on comfortable, if not rich, consumers for a huge chunk of revenue. More than half of the luxury-goods industry’s sales are from shoppers who spend less than $3,000 a year on designer products. Alienate them with price hikes and sales will inevitably suffer.
SUSTOS
post Nov 11 2024, 08:04 PM

8,667 posts

FT High frequency trading

Is Chicago’s Don Wilson the smartest man in trading?
From cleaning up after Lehman Brothers to early bets on Bitcoin, DRW has become an industry colossus

by Costas Mourselas in London (7 hours ago)

https://www.ft.com/content/4001099b-12a9-4a...21-7333e88b536d

-------------------------------

The complete series of "New titans of Wall Street" can be found here:

https://www.ft.com/content/e86a8960-fd66-49...80-a7098d4a40bd
SUSTOS
post Nov 12 2024, 05:18 PM

8,667 posts

FT The Big Read | Oil & Gas industry

How oil and gas companies disguise their methane emissions
FT analysis shows that firms regularly hide leakages of the deadly greenhouse gas — despite this being one of the easiest climate fixes there is

https://www.ft.com/content/374e78dc-69ae-41...83-0842b3833d9d
SUSTOS
post Nov 12 2024, 05:21 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Nov 12 2024, 11:30 AM)
hi, i would like to ask based on this, https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/accou...erest-rates.php

is this based on per account name (in my case, it's one) or per account (in my case it's two)? as my account has 2 sub- accounts, as i try to differentiate the origin of both money, for tax purposes...
The same link above already stated
The balances across multiple Interactive Brokers accounts will not be consolidated.

Different accounts should have different numbers beginning with the letter U (e.g. U1223456 and U13445678 are separate accounts).

Anyway, the first 10k USD won't earn any thing, and if you have more than 10k USD, you are better off buying ultrashort term T-bills ETFs or buy US T-bills directly, so you won't bother keeping cash balances in IBKR's account anyway.
SUSTOS
post Nov 12 2024, 09:55 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Nov 12 2024, 05:34 PM)
Thanks a lot. That's a good point.

Buy t bill, there's transaction fee for it I suppose?

I'm keen to have cash ready in case there is a sudden opportunity, can I sell my t bills and still earn the interest for that particular days/weeks/mths or am I better off leaving it  in my account?
Yes, transaction fee is 5 USD minimum: https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/prici...nds.php?re=amer

For comparison, buying some 500 USD worth of stocks on IBKR usually cost about 0.3 USD = 0.06%

To achieve 0.06% commission fee as a percentage of your purchase amount, with a 5 USD commissions, you gotta buy 9000 USD minimum worth of T-bills (remember T-bills trade with a minimum denomination of 1000 USD, and increments of 1k USD).

So, if you don't have minimum 10k USD cash, it's a lot cheaper to gain exposure via BIL ETF or SGOV ETF. These T-bills ETFs give you 1-2 month USD risk-free interest rate exposure by buying various US T-bills with 1-3 months of duration. The effective duration is 1-2 months.

With ETFs, now I can purchase T-bills at the same commission level as a US stock on IBKR, even with fractional shares if I want to although I don't recommend that since the ETF price is very low at close to 100 USD a unit.

--------------------------------

To address your question on opportunity. Yes, that's the purpose why I park huge sum of USD in US T-bills ETF as well. You can sell 23 hours and 50 minutes for each trading day (barring trading holiday the next day if you are in Asian hours trying to trade in US Overnight session, as the trades are supposed to cleared the next day following US time). If you spot a crash, you can always sell and get cash instantly even without margin account. The USD can then be used to purchase say VOO or QQQM etc.

There is one caveat, you cannot withdraw the cash or buy stocks/bonds/ETF or anything denominated in other currency on the same day you sell your BIL or SGOV ETF units. The selling trade settles at T+1, so you can only withdraw the cash the next day. They also don't want to bear any overnight FX risk, so they will only allow FX conversion once the selling trade is settled (which means you will have real USD in your account by then, T+1).

They do allow same currency purchase, like sell BIL ETF and buy VOO/QQQM or other US stocks which I stated above. This "contra" trade is allowed, provided the settlement period is the same, i.e., in this case, T+1.

Now, if you have margin account however, the restrictions above do not apply. If you sell BIL and say buy Nestle stocks (SIX: NESN) on SIX in Switzerland the same day, you are effectively shorting USD.CHF overnight forwards, i.e., borrowing CHF from IBKR (or some other market participants) with any outstanding cash/stocks as collateral for one day to buy NESN, and repay back at T+1 with USD proceeds from selling your stake in BIL/SGOV the day before. IBKR will charge interest on the overnight loan I believe, but sifus here can give you more color on this topic.

Relevant info from Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/interactivebrokers...ant_settlement/

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 13 2024, 12:36 AM
SUSTOS
post Nov 12 2024, 10:08 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 12 2024, 09:29 PM)
bro tos has a post few pages back trying to game the system... have a look, you may be able to buy it cheaper his way...
Shhhhhh.... Don't tell people... mad.gif vmad.gif ranting.gif

My profits have dropped to zero for the past 2 weeks... Someone here has clearly manipulated both the bid and ask side of the trading books, the spread has narrowed dramatically...

And no, it's not gaming the system, it's called making markets "more efficient" laugh.gif (Wall Street bros love to say that eh laugh.gif )

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 12 2024, 10:09 PM

73 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 >Top

0.2532sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:14 PM