73 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

SUSTOS
post Sep 4 2024, 11:30 PM

8,667 posts

Good news for TSMC, bad news for INTC. Perhaps expected.

TSMC now monopolizes all high end CPU and GPU chips production: https://semiwiki.com/forum/index.php?thread...e-launch.20912/

And the A16 already excites customer well before entering volume production... https://semiwiki.com/forum/index.php?thread...oduction.20905/ (OpenAI and AAPL secure orders years in advance...)

-------------------------

INTC's first 18A customer Broadcom is unhappy with the initial checkouts, it seems: https://www.reuters.com/technology/intel-ma...ces-2024-09-04/

Though the CEO says otherwise: https://www.tomshardware.com/tech-industry/...s-are-lining-up

SUSTOS
post Sep 5 2024, 08:13 PM

8,667 posts

Sold iFAST, bought Hermes today... Catching the falling knife requires lots of guts, especially when it's a heavy one! laugh.gif

SUSTOS
post Sep 6 2024, 10:29 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Sep 6 2024, 10:25 AM)
why would they collect additional stamp duty if we are dealing with US / non-Malaysian securities? Its not like LHDN has a legal right there.
I have the same question too. But Moomoo charges it anyway: https://www.moomoo.com/my/pricing

I checked FSM Malaysia's charges for buying US shares, stamp duties are imposed as well: https://www.fsmone.com.my/pricing/stocks

So looks like you can't run away with it.
SUSTOS
post Sep 6 2024, 11:14 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Sep 6 2024, 10:59 AM)
im 100% agree with you. nowadays im very worried what will happened to all my investment in IBKR should i suddenly die.

my family dont know a thing about how IBKR works.
Include your assets in a will, that would need to be drafted separately from your Malaysia's will (and that of other Commonwealth countries, if any)

If your IBKR account is based in the UK, Australia or Singapore, then no worries, can include them in your will.

If you have kids, expose them to investment world when they start to grow up... at least that's what I plan to do.

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 6 2024, 11:16 AM
SUSTOS
post Sep 6 2024, 11:47 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Sep 6 2024, 11:39 AM)
thanks for your detailed response.

my ibkr is US based, should i transfer it to singapore (as it is the nearest and easiest)?

also what does it mean by 'separate will from Malaysia'? does it mean if let say my IBKR in US, i need to have will approved by US government using US lawyer? and If based in Singapore, i need to have a will using singapore goverment using Singapore lawyer?
IBKR SG can only be opened by those with SG address (and SG FIN/NRIC number), so unlikely you can transfer over to SG unless you are SG resident.

As for will for assets in foreign countries, this is one good advice: https://www.sinchew.com.my/news/20240603/finance/5650482

https://www.kuekong.com/?p=22054

https://www.yeolaw.my/%E5%A4%96%E5%9B%BD%E9...AE%A4%E5%90%97/

There are lawyers in Malaysia who understand US estate laws which can help you in drafting will for your will for your IBKR assets. I don't expect the charges to come cheap nevertheless. tongue.gif

One of my old female classmate is now a lawyer in Penang (practising), but she's busy reading cases... too bad can't ask her much lol

My asset (and foreign asset) is still too small to worth seeing a lawyer for will preparation... some years later when it grows into the millions I will update you guys here again on IBKR US estate issue...

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 6 2024, 11:48 AM
SUSTOS
post Sep 6 2024, 01:05 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 6 2024, 01:02 PM)
just open joint ibkr acct with your partner. if cannot, can consider to move to Moomoo Singaporejust generate your report statement, if it's IBKR HK it'll show as such. mine is IBKR LLC

if TOS generates, his will be IBKR UK (since he opened it via tradestation)
No, mine changed to IBKR LLC liao. I switched to LLC (US side) at the end of 2022 (account transfer finalized April last year with the closure of IBKR UK account). tongue.gif
SUSTOS
post Sep 7 2024, 12:54 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 5 2024, 08:13 PM)
Sold iFAST, bought Hermes today... Catching the falling knife requires lots of guts, especially when it's a heavy one! laugh.gif
Shit. Lost 90 EUR in 24 hours! laugh.gif Gonna average down my EPA: RMS position soon... tongue.gif

I notice IBKR will deduct the 0.3% Financial Transaction Tax (FFT) one day after your purchase of French stock*. I paid nearly 6 EUR of tax to the French government for my purchase of Hermes shares 2 days ago...

*My Hermes stock trade was executed on SBF (EPA, Euronext Paris) with 1.61 EUR commissions. I used SMART routing after noticing that the reported stock price dropped below my BATS and CHI-X ETNs' limit order price but the orders still had not been filled.

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 7 2024, 01:04 AM
SUSTOS
post Sep 9 2024, 12:40 AM

8,667 posts

After parking USD at DBS for nearly 2 years, it's time to reverse the flow of money back to IBKR. USD 2 month yields 4.67% p.a. for DBS but 2-month T-bills still yields 5.14% p.a. (50 basis points spread! blink.gif) and given the 30% WHT refund will come next February which is not too far from now, it makes more sense to go back to BIL ETF.

First time doing it in reverse and first time using DBS Remit.

Anyone send USD to IBKR via DBS Remit before? Are there any incoming charges from Citibank for the IBKR side (receiving bank side)?

I know it's free on DBS (sender side) using DBS Remit, but receiver side not so sure. hmm.gif
SUSTOS
post Sep 9 2024, 10:29 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 9 2024, 03:29 AM)
TOS online says that IBKR USD (in singapore) is using DBS?
Oh that's probably for IBKR SG users.

Mine is IBKR LLC, money sent directly to CITIBANK N.A (CITIUS33XXX).

Make sure you guys fill up the ABA Routing Number in the Clearing Code section during your transfer: https://www.dbs.com.sg/ibanking/help/faq/clearing-code.html
SUSTOS
post Sep 9 2024, 10:39 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 9 2024, 10:29 AM)
Oh that's probably for IBKR SG users.

Mine is IBKR LLC, money sent directly to CITIBANK N.A (CITIUS33XXX).

Make sure you guys fill up the ABA Routing Number in the Clearing Code section during your transfer: https://www.dbs.com.sg/ibanking/help/faq/clearing-code.html
Sent liao sent liao. Money is out!

SUSTOS
post Sep 9 2024, 08:34 PM

8,667 posts

Citibank received money at 8 pm, confirmed by DBS via email and notification on phone.

And money is available for trading within the same day!

DBS Remit is fast! No money deducted from IBKR side or Citibank's side!

SUSTOS
post Sep 12 2024, 11:41 PM

8,667 posts

https://robbreport.com/style/menswear/herme...ian-1235821303/

Didn't know Hermes ban consultants... that's good for the company. Had they followed Gucci they would suffer horribly now.

SUSTOS
post Sep 13 2024, 09:20 AM

8,667 posts

Companies shift HQ for tax reasons usually... but this one called Brookfield shifts its base to the US to be included in the S&P 500 (not likely humm, but Russell and CSRP indices are more likely...) laugh.gif

The power of passive investing...

https://www.ft.com/content/c8d953f8-c77d-4e...f4-9f1691f7e774

(No paywall): https://archive.ph/m3n8q

They put it nicely: “to chase the pot of gold at the end of the S&P rainbow”. laugh.gif

Now the very index we are chasing after is being manipulated by the companies looking to join them...

SUSTOS
post Sep 14 2024, 12:30 AM

8,667 posts

WSJ Business | Retail | Heard on the Street

Luxury Brands’ New Snag? Handbag Arbitrage
It is cheaper to buy designer goods in Europe than in China, and resellers profit from the gap. Posh labels find it hard to crack down.

https://www.wsj.com/business/retail/luxury-...share_permalink

SUSTOS
post Sep 16 2024, 08:34 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 16 2024, 03:42 PM)
sorry, would like to enquire.

can interactive brokers accept ringgit? or did you mean wise converted the ringgit to usd/sgd/whatever before transferring the funds to your ibkr account?

Medufsaid's example actually indicated that conversion happened with wise.
Yea the conversion happened within Wise regardless of which method you choose.

IBKR does not support MYR (for now... not sure if things will change in the future...)
SUSTOS
post Sep 17 2024, 09:56 PM

8,667 posts

For European luxury stockholders:

FT Opinion|Andrea Felsted, Columnist

Has It Gotten Too Hard to Buy a Birkin or Kelly?
A lawsuit against Hermes and a scandal around Dior pricing show how the threat to luxury isn’t just economic.

https://archive.ph/TE1TY

---------------------------------------

FT Book awards

FT and Schroders Business Book of the Year 2024 — the shortlist
Judges of the £30,000 annual prize select the year’s most compelling and enjoyable title

https://www.ft.com/content/27f60ee7-94cc-40...5a-52fbf2f71b39

(Without paywall): https://archive.ph/2JcCj

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 17 2024, 09:57 PM
SUSTOS
post Sep 18 2024, 11:37 AM

8,667 posts

UniCredit's surprise bid for Commerzbank sent chaos into Germany's financial circles.

FT Commerzbank AG

Berlin blindsided after JPMorgan asked UniCredit to bid for Commerzbank stake
Opposition politicians riled by top government officials caught unaware of talks with Italian lender

https://archive.ph/cEQ0u

-----------------------------

FT Opinion | Markets Insight

The questions over Commerzbank’s stake sale
Deal is textbook example of how not to create price tension in a capital markets offering

by Craig Coben

https://archive.ph/VIBv6
SUSTOS
post Sep 18 2024, 06:06 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(lhshyong @ Sep 18 2024, 06:00 PM)
Halo

Good day all sifu. I am newbie here.
I reactivate my account to follow up and get updates related to IBKR here.
tongue.gif
Welcome to Lowyat's IBKR community. biggrin.gif

We are active here as always. Ready to update you anytime, anywhere...

Maybe we should start a news subscription service soon.. charges will be... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 18 2024, 06:15 PM
SUSTOS
post Sep 18 2024, 08:55 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(lhshyong @ Sep 18 2024, 06:23 PM)
Thanks taiko

I was bump into this when checking about trade station.

Not sure anyone know about this,
I bit confused about
-tradestation
-tradestation International
-tradestation Global

are they same ?
can we malaysian open account for tradestation , not sure where is their nearest office...SG ?
You are probably my taiko tongue.gif

We don't use Tradestation (TSG) anymore after IBKR removed the inactivity fee back in July 2021, now we just bypass all introductory brokers and go straight for IBKR.

IBKR serves as TSG's backend "white label" broker, not unlike Rakuten Malaysia right now.

As for the differences between the different "TSGs": https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TradeStation

Tradestation Securities is the US version offered to US residents, Tradestation International is the UK version catering to the rest of the world. Tradestation Global is just an alternative name for TS International.

The company was acquired by Monex Japan back in 2011 and all info about Tradestation can now be found in Monex Japan's website: https://www.monexgroup.jp/en/investor.html

Hope that helps. smile.gif
SUSTOS
post Sep 19 2024, 12:46 AM

8,667 posts

Airline miles? Think again...

FT Opinion Airlines

The fury of the frequent flyer
Airline loyalty programmes have tested customer patience and now face government probes

by Brooke Masters

https://archive.ph/RwrED

How did a marketing gimmick designed to build customer loyalty in the 1980s after US airline deregulation become such a cultural flashpoint? These days, frequent flyer programmes are highly sophisticated businesses, more profitable in some ways than the airlines to which they are attached.

Airlines sell miles to credit card issuers, who use them as rewards to lure affluent customers and convince them to spend more. Co-branding agreements, such as United’s deal with JPMorgan Chase, also include a share of the transaction and annual fees. Compared to ticket sales, it is easy revenue, unaffected by storms and other operational issues.

Loyalty schemes have also become more sophisticated about the way customers cash in their miles. Dynamic pricing steers most reward bookings to seats that would otherwise go unsold — maximising profits from point sales — while reserving the most attractive deals for the high-value customers airlines want to keep sweet.

“The programmes have become smarter and better run, and some people are bearing the brunt of that,” says Evert de Boer, managing director at consultancy On Point Loyalty.

Thus I never manage to book reward tickets to anywhere enticing, while my globetrotting attorney friend gets upgraded every time she flies.

Life has never been fair, but the Covid pandemic and its aftermath have put the system under extra strain. When travel was curtailed, customers continued to rack up miles on their credit cards. American Express and other issuers offered bonuses to encourage cardholders to put streaming, shipping and goods purchases on their cards. Meanwhile, relatively few miles were being redeemed, and airlines let customers roll over miles and retain perks.

After lockdowns eased, leisure travel rebounded first, flooding airports with the kinds of customers who make more extensive use of lounges and reward seats. Faced with a crush, the airlines prioritised buyers of expensive tickets and cut benefits they had promised to ordinary cardholders.

The cries of bait and switch reflect just how far these programmes have wormed their way into customer lives. “People get really invested and emotional. When things change . . . it can feel like an affront,” says Tiffany Funk, co-founder of Point.me, a travel reward website.

There is also a competition problem. Many passengers do not have the freedom to change loyalty programmes. An Atlantan has to take a lot of Delta flights if they want to fly nonstop. A Denverite is beholden to United. And credit card companies penalise customers who cancel their cards too soon or too often.

“Consumers suffer these harms and don’t have many alternatives because the airline industry has become so concentrated,” says Ganesh Sitaraman, law professor at Vanderbilt University. “That’s why the DoT and CFPB actions are so important.”

But smart executives would not wait for government intervention. Carefully tailored bonuses could do much to rebuild loyalty. Mileage programmes won’t be nearly as lucrative in the future if customers end up loathing the associated airlines.

73 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.2481sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:18 AM