14 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

Yggdrasil
post Aug 5 2020, 05:30 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(erizdagreat @ Aug 5 2020, 05:08 PM)
Sifu here. I'll help answer your question.

Before you apply for trading permission on an additional security/product, make sure you have met the requirements needed. For CLPs, the requirements according to IBKR are:

"In the case of Complex & Leveraged Products, you must have a Good or Extensive Knowledge Level for stocks and options, or stocks and futures, or take a test."

Additionally, they require you to have a certain amount of liquid net worth and income according to your age. For age 31 to 40, liquid net worth should be at least $50k and income at least $45k.

Once you have submitted the permission request, on the account permissions main page, the link "request for permission" next to the product should have been replaced with a greyed out "global". That means it's pending. If it still shows "request for trading permission", then you have not submitted the request yet.

It usually takes less than 24 hrs on a weekday, but because of the influx of noobs like you to platforms like IBKR and robinhood, there might be delays.

Good luck, boy!
Lol why you create dupe to answer your own question?
Yggdrasil
post Aug 5 2020, 07:17 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(erizdagreat @ Aug 5 2020, 07:16 PM)
Back when I asked the question, I was still noob. Now that I am older and have gained years of experience, I have become sifu. Of course, I will help answer noob questions, including my own.

Come, come noobs. Unker help answer your questions.
3 days from noob to sifu? biggrin.gif
Yggdrasil
post Aug 7 2020, 01:59 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(sherynchans @ Aug 6 2020, 03:31 PM)
May I know the reason why we need to convert the currency according to each stock exchange?

Let's say I have USD, and I would like to trade on hkse. Can I just place the trade without converting??

Thank you..
It might be possible if it's margin. But you will be shorting HKD and paying an interest until you settle with real money or close the trade.
Yggdrasil
post Aug 8 2020, 06:32 PM

2,210 posts

Anyone face this issue before?
Something wrong with their system? Sent EUR via Instarem.
Yggdrasil
post Aug 9 2020, 02:52 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(erizdagreat @ Aug 9 2020, 02:49 AM)
The status in your picture seems to indicate the date 31 December 4712 as the expected completion date. So slow, that's why I just use bank transfer instead.

Perhaps resident instarem expert Ramjade can help you out.
Obviously it's an error la. Where got 31 Dec 4712?
Yggdrasil
post Aug 10 2020, 09:21 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Aug 8 2020, 06:32 PM)
Anyone face this issue before?
Something wrong with their system? Sent EUR via Instarem.
Here's what happened if anyone's interested
Yggdrasil
post Aug 10 2020, 09:31 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(wendygoh @ Aug 10 2020, 09:28 PM)
How much u sent?
I don't think amount matters. Just SOP I guess.
Yggdrasil
post Aug 10 2020, 10:16 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(erizdagreat @ Aug 10 2020, 10:04 PM)
It matters because your transaction was flagged under their anti-money laundering controls. You should try sending smaller amounts (below $1million) first. Just curious, have you ever been convicted of money laundering or financial fraud prior to this?
The amount didn't exceed $1m biggrin.gif I would be so pissed if $1m stuck there. Imagine the interest I could've earned.
But I frequently deposit there, maybe that's why got flagged.
Or maybe Malaysia is flagged as high risk for terrorism financing.
Yggdrasil
post Aug 12 2020, 12:51 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(h0lycha0s @ Aug 11 2020, 08:58 PM)
Just had the exact same thing happened to me. Please update here if it has been resolved?
Still stuck. Sent money again yesterday. Received by IBKR today but not available for trading yet.
Yggdrasil
post Aug 12 2020, 11:07 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(h0lycha0s @ Aug 11 2020, 08:58 PM)
Just had the exact same thing happened to me. Please update here if it has been resolved?
Login to IBKR on desktop and check your messages.
They asking for documents.
Don't forget to email them too.

Edit: Solved. Money credited to my account.

This post has been edited by Yggdrasil: Aug 13 2020, 11:09 AM
Yggdrasil
post Aug 13 2020, 11:15 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Aug 12 2020, 09:44 PM)
u mean any IBKR whitelabel that has UI similar to Rohinhood?

AFAIK the answer is no, having said that even for Tradestation global (TSG) we are using IBKR UI but not TSG own none-user friendly UI.
TSG's UI so confusing. I don't even know how to buy laugh.gif
Yggdrasil
post Aug 13 2020, 07:12 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Aug 13 2020, 07:07 PM)
Which documents did you submit via e-mail to IBKR?
They ask for proof that I sent money to Instarem.
As latest bank statement is not out, I emailed them June's statement and a screenshot of Maybank2U transaction.
Yggdrasil
post Aug 14 2020, 10:00 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(HolyAssasin4444 @ Aug 14 2020, 09:56 PM)
Hi all Sifus! Initially I wanted to use the method of Maybank -> Maybank SG -> IBKR method but as a student they rejected my application for the Maybank SG acc. May I know if there are any other methods besides TT?

I was thinking of using Transferwise. IBKR says that they support TW but I think it's better to ask sifus here if any has experience with doing so. And if Transferwise can jalan, should I send SGD and convert USD in IBKR or just send straight USD and save the $2 commission?
You don't need SG bank account to open IBKR. You only need it to bring back money.
When you open Maybank SG account, you go Maybank Malaysia branch to hand the form correct?
What was the reason for opening?

In my experience, Maybank was quite slow and needed a 1,000 SGD to be maintained or else they charge monthly fee.
CIMB is much better. Don't even need to walk in branch.

Anyways, you can ask the dedicated SG bank account thread.
Yggdrasil
post Aug 14 2020, 10:16 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(HolyAssasin4444 @ Aug 14 2020, 10:09 PM)
Yup I'm not worried about bringing money back. Don't plan to anyways. But I thought the method everyone use is Bigpay to SG bank acc, then FAST to IBKR? Or I got sth wrong oops sad.gif
Yep went to Menara Maybank, I said that it was to store investment funds in SG for investment. At the time the clerk also said that students (21 y/o) with no valid income tend to get rejected but I tried anyways.
You can send SGD/EUR to IBKR directly using Instarem. But I'm not sure if USD is allowed.
Previously you can't, so the only way was to send to SG Bank then to IBKR (Citibank in SG).
Refer to the 1st post of this thread. Moosset already did a great job putting most of the info there.

QUOTE(HolyAssasin4444 @ Aug 14 2020, 10:09 PM)
Is CIMB SG also strict? I haven't read much about CIMB jalan as I'm currently not a customer of theirs yet.

But I think my main question is more about if people here use Transferwise/ Instarem etc to directly transfer money into IBKR
CIMB SG did call me and ask me the reason for opening the account.

Yes, banks may reject you because without income, it's unlikely that you have money to invest.
This is why you should get a job asap.
Yggdrasil
post Aug 14 2020, 10:36 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(HolyAssasin4444 @ Aug 14 2020, 10:23 PM)
Ah thanks alot Yggdrasil, I read all the old posts saying Instarem can't directly transfer that's why got confused some say can some say cannot  biggrin.gif

I think I'll maybe try my luck with CIMB then. Don't have official taxable income and can't work either as a full time student but I have quite alot of assets and savings for someone my age, maybe they will check networth instead?
I don't think Maybank Singapore have assess to your Maybank Malaysia records. So, even if you have RM1m in your account, they won't know.

Even if you apply to open Maybank SG account, Maybank MY just help with paper work and courier the documents to Maybank SG.
They are the ones who will decide whether to open your account or not.
Yggdrasil
post Aug 14 2020, 11:20 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(HolyAssasin4444 @ Aug 14 2020, 10:50 PM)
Sorry for bothering you Yggdrasil, but I'm currently filling in the recipient details in InstaRem, I type the bank Name as Citibank N.A and the swift code only appear as "CITISGSG", not "CITISGSGXXX". Is this the same?
I just checked. I never sent SGD directly to IBKR before :X
Sent to my CIMB SG account then transfer to their IBKR account via FAST.
Haven't done so in a long time.

Maybe the others can help?
I can only help if you're transferring EUR.

Yggdrasil
post Aug 14 2020, 11:41 PM

2,210 posts

Edit: Remove personal info

This post has been edited by Yggdrasil: Aug 29 2020, 12:58 AM
Yggdrasil
post Aug 14 2020, 11:45 PM

2,210 posts

Edit: Remove personal info

This post has been edited by Yggdrasil: Aug 29 2020, 12:58 AM
Yggdrasil
post Aug 15 2020, 12:44 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Aug 15 2020, 12:42 AM)
So you told them for investments? And they open account for u even though they know u r not employed in Sg?
Yeah. Wrote the purpose on the form: To invest in US shares using IBKR.
Took them like 1.5 months to approve because they slow.
Need keep pestering the Malaysian branch to chase.
The manager say pending will rush them etc.

My experience with CIMB was faster.
Yggdrasil
post Aug 15 2020, 12:44 AM

2,210 posts

double post

This post has been edited by Yggdrasil: Aug 15 2020, 12:46 AM

14 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.2830sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:50 AM