6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

> My experience as a victim of job discrimination, Are you a victim of job discrimination ?

Have you been a victim of job discrimination ?

Yes [ 49 ] ** [55.06%]
No [ 40 ] ** [44.94%]
Total Votes: 89
Guests cannot vote 

TSCalvin871989
post Sep 25 2019, 05:55 PM, updated 7y ago

Im Batman
1,256 posts

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...discrimination/

My experience as a victim of job discrimination

I entered the workforce in the early 1990s and have worked as a recruiter for close to a decade. Over the years, I have seen discrimination happening numerous times – to me and others.

The first time I encountered discrimination, I was in my late 20s. When I showed up for the interview, the person interviewing me was shocked to see that I was Indian (despite it being obvious from my name) and muttered that she thought I was Chinese.

She went ahead with the interview since I was already there, but told me that they would pay me less than what they would pay another candidate who fits their race criteria. Being young at the time, I was very vocal and told her “if you want a quality candidate then you should pay what the candidate deserves and race should not be part of it”. Unsurprisingly, I was not offered the position.

Later, I was hired as a recruiter for a Fortune 500 recruitment firm. This is when I saw the extent of racial discrimination in employment. In my position, I had to deal with many hiring managers from multinational companies (MNCs), government-linked companies (GLCs), and local companies who blatantly stated that they only wanted a certain race, and told us not to send over curriculum vitae (CVs) of extremely qualified candidates who do not fit the race criteria.

The hiring managers were willing to employ a candidate even if they were less qualified than others, so long as they fit the race criteria. This results in not only a loss to the company, but to the country, as qualified candidates who face repeated discrimination may end up finding employment outside of Malaysia.

Even the human resources (HR) departments of some of the organisations I encountered would practise racial discrimination. For instance, I remember speaking to an HR personnel of a GLC, who told me that although when they advertise for an opening they do not state that they are only seeking candidates of a particular race, the applications of those who do not fit the internal race criteria get chucked into the trash bin. I had applied to this company before becoming a recruiter, so now I knew what had happened to my CV.

Another encounter I had with racial discrimination was when I was called in for an interview by a GLC property development company for a business development-related role.

It was a panel interview. This interview opened my eyes further to other forms of discrimination, including gender discrimination and sexual harassment. Although it was supposed to be a panel interview, the general manager asked all the questions. There was one question he asked that I will never forget: “If the client asked you to go to his hotel room to get the document signed, will you go?”

I was shocked at the question and I told him “no”, as it was inappropriate. My answer didn’t go over well with him, and he kept pushing for a different answer. Our conversation became very heated as we were each relentless in our opinion, until one of the other interviewers stepped in to put a stop to the line of questioning by the general manager.

The general manager later told me directly that they had a policy that no matter how well a particular candidate performed, when it came to promotion, only a Malay candidate would be promoted even if the individual was not as qualified as the non-Malay candidate. At this point, this didn’t come as a huge surprise to me, but what was surprising was how open he was about the discrimination. I left the interview knowing that even if I was offered the role, I would not accept it.

Yet another encounter I’ve had with racial discrimination as a job-seeker was with a renowned educational institution. I was waiting to be interviewed, seated outside the manager’s office. When the staff member gave the manager my CV and application form, I heard the manager admonishing her worker for calling me for an interview when the manager had informed her that only Chinese candidates should be called.

I was shocked at how the manager was practically yelling at the staff member for calling a non-Chinese candidate for an interview, even though the candidate had the necessary qualifications and experience to do the work. I went in for the interview, which lasted about 10 minutes as the interviewer refused to give me a chance.

Coming out of the interview, I was angry at myself for not being as vocal as I was when I was younger, and also wondered how a renowned educational institution could do this, especially when they are educating young people of all races.

I know I am not alone in my experience of discrimination while seeking employment. I truly hope that the government will put a stop to such discrimination by including protection for job-seekers in the amendments to the Employment Act. This may not necessarily stop all employers from discriminating, but it would send a message that such discrimination is wrong and illegal, and gives candidates an avenue for redress.

Everyone loses when discrimination goes unchecked. It harms workers, it harms companies, and it harms our country. Malaysia must end discrimination against job-seekers. We are better than this.

===

intresting read just wanted to share here.

now im sure we or some of us have gone through this similar situation before.

please share your story if you ever encountered job discrimination during interview or discrimination in general at work.

ive also added a poll to vote if you been a victim of job discrimination before ?

thank you.
ikankering
post Sep 25 2019, 05:57 PM

42 posts

too long.
we have 15 second every topic.

Pikichu
post Sep 25 2019, 05:58 PM

2,278 posts

All this started by British colony who divide-and-rule folks so in the 80s NEP set public company share holders no less than 30% of Bumiputera then today who discriminate who? .... the main point is still discrimination exists. Malaysia anti ICERD so there will never be fair and equality.
SUSwilsonjay
post Sep 25 2019, 05:59 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

The general manager later told me directly that they had a policy that no matter how well a particular candidate performed, when it came to promotion, only a Malay candidate would be promoted even if the individual was not as qualified as the non-Malay candidate. At this point, this didn’t come as a huge surprise to me, but what was surprising was how open he was about the discrimination. I left the interview knowing that even if I was offered the role, I would not accept it.

eh manada....only prince earth face discrimination not others....u jgn tipu oh... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by wilsonjay: Sep 25 2019, 06:00 PM
WallMaker
post Sep 25 2019, 06:00 PM

98 posts

HCF, not discrimination. Like BMF.
Tak paham?
SUSdarthsmasher

98 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Sep 25 2019, 05:59 PM)
eh manada....only prince earth face discrimination not others....u jgn tipu oh...  whistling.gif
TSCalvin871989

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(ikankering @ Sep 25 2019, 05:57 PM)
too long.
give chance la this wont take long if you spent a bit of your time blush.gif
Eurobeater
post Sep 25 2019, 06:01 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

No ICERD, no problem owai
SUSwankongyew
post Sep 25 2019, 06:03 PM

1,177 posts

Next government will make this illegal. PH won't do anything.
Drian
post Sep 25 2019, 06:05 PM

4,999 posts

Is this surprising? NOpe
ZerOne01
post Sep 25 2019, 06:09 PM

124 posts

need companies name
or else just sembang
stupiak07
post Sep 25 2019, 06:09 PM

397 posts

What he tell is true but it the end still depend on what the company work environment. There still got company that did not discriminate also even for foreign worker.

Btw, the biggest discrimination is the goverent and GLC in the country

This post has been edited by stupiak07: Sep 25 2019, 06:11 PM
hjffgjng
post Sep 25 2019, 06:10 PM

221 posts

Bmf bmf bmf bmf!!!!

Folks,get ur pitchfolk
reed90
post Sep 25 2019, 06:11 PM

Road to the End
1,552 posts

Plotek maaaaa...

Dia cakap olang lacist takpa...kita sendili lacist boleh...
Starbucki
post Sep 25 2019, 06:11 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(ikankering @ Sep 25 2019, 05:57 PM)
too long.
i can probably see why he is discriminated against

he wrote a chapter on something which can be written in 2 sentences
haroldz123
post Sep 25 2019, 06:12 PM

1,062 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Sep 25 2019, 06:03 PM)
Do it for GLC and civil servants first k

In sabah n swak, Malays are not majority but still dominated civil servants.

In petronas carigali in these states, malaya malays used to be in high rankings position (still do).
Now these states implement quota to hire more locals n more strict work permit.
But comparing them to shell or Murphy oil or nippon oil (at these states), these companies have better non malays ratio.

ipohmali70

1,133 posts

One can go to UK and US and its still the same.

Officially racial discrimination is illegal, but unofficially it is rampant.

jueiri

158 posts

In Malaysia kita sokong Segala Bentuk Diskirminasi Kaum
crazee
post Sep 25 2019, 06:14 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Sep 25 2019, 06:03 PM)
Boooo

What BN did for the past 50 years in power??

It is well known fact.

Kolos pls nothing to see here
limfreelance
post Sep 25 2019, 06:16 PM

343 posts

i know...
chinaman company only look for malay and cainis...they dont like hired indian.
sorry, but the true hurt.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » 

0.0480sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:14 PM