5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

[2019] Apple Watch Series 5 Discussion Thread | V1, You’ve never seen a watch like this.

celciuz
post Nov 9 2019, 09:12 AM

14,033 posts

Whitestone arrived yesterday and just installed this morning. The provided installation kit made it easy for alignment and it’s bubble free! My AW5 screen for some reason the oleophobic is gone, so the glue actually spread around by itself than forming a ball like the video I watched 😓

Paid RM 172.80 for the 44mm kit, it comes with 2 TG, UV kit and a nice aluminum case (Spigen thin fit can’t snap in completely).

Well packed, time to inbox.

Initial 15 seconds UV curing on the jig

Closer view on the subsequent curing

Whitestone included aluminum case for side protection, definitely feels more premium than Spigen Thin Fit I was using.

Nice opening cutting but it’s a little difficult to press the power button

All in all, I think it’s worth it especially for aluminum users since the case actually looks good. But those SS users probably won’t bother with the case so it might be a bit overpriced to pay this much for just the TG.

Doesn’t work with cases that provide lip protection, but those that do not like X-Doria should work.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Nov 9 2019, 09:58 AM
celciuz
post Nov 13 2019, 08:29 AM

14,033 posts

For Digi AirSIM, need to walk in to Digi Store to enable first?
celciuz
post Nov 16 2019, 03:05 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 16 2019, 02:50 PM)
Ah thanks, will go and check them out. How does the plastic protection handle against sharp objects?
Those pet/gel type? Doubt they would protect better than glass type, but based on your explanation... falling from bikes and likely onto stones etc.. uhh... I think glass will crack anyways.
celciuz
post Nov 20 2019, 03:30 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(clocksmolder @ Nov 20 2019, 01:43 PM)
thanks. means I have to port my number for phone and watch to sync.

wonder if Maxis will launch similar service. surprising DiGi got the lead here.
Cause only Digi and U Mobile offering VoLTE, need that feature for the AirSIM. But I guess Maxis is going for a workaround.
celciuz
post Nov 22 2019, 11:10 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Nov 22 2019, 08:33 AM)
Hey guys, should I go for glass or those film type protectors?
Seems like the most common complaint i heard with glass is that it doesn’t really cover the whole surface/got bubbles or just reduce touch sensitivity.
Glass type using double sided tape doesn't really stick well and bubble easily. I tried a few cheap ones and then finally settled with Whitestone Dome. Easy to install and quality is good, nice oleo phobic effect too. If you use the provided case, you won't even notice it having a TG. But careful la, the original case is aluminum, I got some minor scratches on the edges.

celciuz
post Dec 9 2019, 09:37 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(playboy88 @ Dec 9 2019, 08:33 PM)
hi all, i interest to get an apple watch series 5. but i have some question on it hope you all can assist.

1.can we get whatsapp notification on the watch?

2. when the notification appear on the watch, will it show the contain? or only when we turn the watch toward us, the massage contain only will appear? (like what happen on iphone with face id)
1. Yes

2. Exactly the same you see on the phone's notification. It will display if you raise when it vibrates. else you will need to swipe down like checking notification on your phone.
celciuz
post Dec 20 2019, 10:55 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Dec 20 2019, 12:48 AM)
got it at some shop in ioi city mall....its somewhere at the top near czone

what i find damn frustrating is finding a proper case for the watch for 44mm..
yeah sure i can order online but a lot of shops physically only has tons of options for 40mm...
What sort of case you looking for? Aluminum type? X-Doria is nice. If those plastic black type the Rhinoshield is nice fitting and many color options.
celciuz
post Dec 20 2019, 04:20 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Dec 20 2019, 04:13 PM)
rhino.
everywhere i go black 44mm sold out.
got 40mm black for da waifu
just gonna order it online.
RhinoShield I usually just order directly, since I have -25% discount code cause I backed their SolidSuit sometime ago.
celciuz
post Dec 21 2019, 05:40 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(bmwcaddy @ Dec 20 2019, 02:45 PM)
Plan to get the Aluminium-44mm variant (RM 2 k on Machines i believe?).

Any thoughts on the battery? Is it really that bad that it requires charging everyday? How do you all overcome this issue for frequent travellers? Need some input, abit dilemma now (my current Fossil timepiece giving up now - such a bad investment!)
I charge the AW5 daily, just got back from a short Singapore trip. More or less same, I just let it charge after I arrived back to the room, shower and before sleep I pop back in (probably 30minutes to 1 hours charge time). The battery gets close to 100% and more than enough to last the next day.
celciuz
post Jan 7 2020, 01:15 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(economist @ Jan 7 2020, 10:58 AM)
Just got mine on Dec 18, first time using Apple Watch and loving it so far but maybe i am not maximising its capabilities so far....using for exercise tracker, alarm, sleep tracker, notifications etc.

Any other good functions it can be used for?

also just ordered rhino shield online
RhinoShield is one of the better case for AW5 around, able to use with full screen TG too. The rest I've bought not compatible uhh.
celciuz
post Jan 7 2020, 03:15 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(cHaRsIeWpAu^^ @ Jan 7 2020, 02:13 PM)
rhinoshield series 4 and 5 is same?

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/rhinoshi...1e17FEqwvq&mp=1

i can just buy this for 44mm series 5? icon_question.gif
Just select the correct size will do, 44mm is the same.

QUOTE(economist @ Jan 7 2020, 02:57 PM)
Btw how do you guys / gals clean the AW?

Just wipe it? or can wash it?
I usually just wash under the tap, always have the dead skins from my arm at the back shakehead.gif
celciuz
post Jan 15 2020, 07:29 PM

14,033 posts

So far all with black color eh, here’s a grey instead. 44mm with glass TG.

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Jan 15 2020, 09:51 AM)
If I have the cellular version, I do not have to pair it with my iPhone using Bluetooth?
Better to pair with BT, cause the watch uses the least energy consuming connection for the notifications. BT -> WiFi -> 4G.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jan 15 2020, 07:30 PM
celciuz
post Jan 15 2020, 08:30 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Jan 15 2020, 07:59 PM)
Thank you so much smile.gif
I thought it’s better to use cellular to save battery on my phone. Lol
The AW5 I doubt the battery can last that long on LTE, it’s usually BT when iPhone is nearby.
celciuz
post Jan 17 2020, 12:29 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(EddieBrock @ Jan 17 2020, 11:48 AM)
Like I said, you don’t need protectors for everything lah

Apple Watch is a watch

Wear and tear is very common for a watch
I use RhinoShield for color customization, screen protector cause I like the screen to be slick 😂 once it’s not oleophobic I replace the protector and it will feel brand new again.

Last time I read someone wanted to use the AW5 just as fitness tracker, I wonder how long the battery last 😅 I’m doing somewhat similar cause I forgot to charge it. Woke up at 25%, it’s 17% now. Airplane + theater mode, it’s basically just a fitness band today until I get back.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jan 17 2020, 12:37 PM
celciuz
post Jan 21 2020, 08:52 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(newbuyer @ Jan 20 2020, 07:53 PM)
Hi can still install screen protector with this case?
I’m using Whitestone Dome glass screen protector with RhinoShield crash guard.
celciuz
post Jan 21 2020, 04:27 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(economist @ Jan 21 2020, 11:01 AM)
do you know where to get the rim for the rhinoshield?
I buy directly from RhinoShield website, can just add on 😅 but if you plan to just buy the rim then it’s not worth the delivery fee. Unless share few items can get free delivery USD 40 minimum.
celciuz
post Feb 16 2020, 11:17 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Feb 14 2020, 04:55 PM)
Just got the Whitestone TG - feels great and the bundled bumper is good.
I won't recommend using the supplied aluminum bumper for long, 4 edges of my watch had minor scratches due to the case. If you feel, the 4 edges which contacts on the watch is quite sharp.
celciuz
post Feb 17 2020, 10:16 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Feb 17 2020, 09:36 AM)
What replacement bumper are you using currently? Looking for a new one as well.

Every time the bumper gets flung out of the case by accident, my heart cringe.
Check my posts for images, I after that aluminum bumper, I changed to xdoria but the edges was pretty sharp, didn't quite like it either. Then I'm now using RhinoShield... every now and then changing color combination haha!
celciuz
post Feb 17 2020, 03:43 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Feb 17 2020, 11:53 AM)
Ahh hard to find the Rhinoshield, alot of online sellers only carry 40mm. Ended up with Spigen Clear Case.
I buy directly from their website, so far ok la. Cause when I'm buying my phone cases and all, above USD40 delivery fee is free.
celciuz
post Mar 21 2020, 06:22 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Mar 21 2020, 11:29 AM)
Actually how do you fit the whitestone TG on the Crashguard?

I just installed it and the TG popped out  sweat.gif thats 2 TG gone. Now using it naked without TG.
Just install as per normal, the rim will sit on the TG. I think you probably tried to fit the rim around the TG 😅

Here’s how it looks like. I’ve been changing colors on the rims and case never popped out before.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0628sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:46 AM