4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The iPhone 11 Discussion Thread | V1, Just the right amount of everything.

samurai_ghost
post Sep 27 2019, 10:42 AM

83 posts

Ahhh, the good old days. I remember how wowed I was when the iPhone 4 first launched laugh.gif
Same here. Perhaps late Uncle Steve was correct all this while. Glass sandwich phone with stainless steel band indeed the future & best design. Pro model as of now.
samurai_ghost
post Sep 27 2019, 10:45 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 13 2019, 10:14 AM)
Yeah. All iPhones can use min 5 years.

XR will have at least another 3 more years of iOS support. But give the powerful A12 with so much excess power for even for this year, there is chance that it can have even longer iOS support like iPhone 5s which has 6 iOS versions supported.
Correcto. That's the beauty I think. Been using mine iPhone 6. Apart of battery, performance still Ok lah. Reasonable lah with the age.

This time has to upgrade. Not getting new iOS after 5 years. Sad. Sad.

samurai_ghost
post Sep 27 2019, 10:48 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 13 2019, 09:22 PM)
iPhone 11 is totally value for money. The only difference I've read so far between the 11 and the Pro is:

1. Screen technology
2. Screen Resolution
3. Additional Telephoto Camera
4. Battery Life
5. Casing material
6. IP68 rating (2m vs 4m)

Anymore that I've missed out?
7. Fast charger

samurai_ghost
post Sep 27 2019, 10:58 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Sep 14 2019, 01:47 PM)
I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for 5G bro... The adoption in our country might take some time. Even our 4G coverage and speed is pathetic in certain areas right now. Plus being new technology and all, 5G devices may be very expensive to begin with.
Unless if you plan to use your phone for more than 3 years (let say iPhone 2020 support 5G). Which I believe 5G should be available by then.

Technology penetration not so aggressive here. Look at the transition from 3G to 4G adoption (telco infra readiness, pricing, subscriber, coverage, etc). Took years.

samurai_ghost
post Sep 27 2019, 04:01 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Sep 20 2019, 02:16 AM)
just need opinion, is 128gb enough ? coming from android, micro sd cards are easy solutions but ipong tak boleh
Depends on usage. If not using any cloud service for storing data, 128 GB will be ngam-ngam lah for OS, apps (games the biggest for apps), photo & videos (full storage culprit).

Either pay extra for 256 GB or subscribe to cloud service. I.e. iCloud. RM13.90 monthly for 200 GB. Paying extra for 256 GB like paying upfront lah. iCloud like EZ payment scheme. tongue.gif

Put all kind of backup files, photo & videos there. Internal storage purely left for OS & apps. In this case, 128 GB will be more than enough. iOS will not consume so much since Apple nowaday able to compress OS file size to minimal.

Unless you're particular with photo or video leaks. Or else storing in iCloud is like peace of mind. In case iPhone kaput & need to replace, our precious stuff stored safely in iCloud. No hassle. thumbup.gif
samurai_ghost
post Sep 28 2019, 10:16 AM

83 posts

Got it yesterday. Woot.. woot..
samurai_ghost
post Sep 29 2019, 08:41 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(3dwin014 @ Sep 29 2019, 06:17 PM)
Nice case, today I just bought a XR case first for my iPhone 11 while waiting to arrive from Shopee. Just temporary use first.
Square bump hidden. biggrin.gif

samurai_ghost
post Sep 30 2019, 04:26 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(JayLii- @ Sep 30 2019, 09:20 AM)
Just bought an iPhone 11 red and was told that they actually donate 50% of the price to the aids foundation. Never felt happier buying a new phone. Lol.
I don't think they pledge to donate 50%. Based on previous Apple product, normally pledge to donate around 5% or less.

Previously they mention how much they going to donate. Recently they didn't disclose any figure. Just mention "portion" only.

samurai_ghost
post Oct 1 2019, 10:38 AM

83 posts

My new iPhone 11 review.

1. Bigger Screen / form factor
- Still getting use of big form factor. Practically not a single hand use kind of phone anymore. In fact I'm a fan of Reachability function on my old iPhone 6 especially when want to reach Back button on opposite top corner using right hand. Even now Reachability also not so helpful. Maybe I'll get use with it over the time.

Heavier also. Can feel a bit tired from holding the phone for more than 10 minutes. Again, maybe I'll get over it too.

I like iPhone 4 aesthetics design. The best for me. But I like how the phone feel in hand when they switch to iPhone 6 casing style. Perhaps this will be the last casing design with curve round edge. They been using the same design language since iPhone 6 though. Time to add boxy edge like iPhone 4 & 5. tongue.gif

2. Display Quality
- More or less very similar with iPhone 6 apart of bigger, brighter, full edge to edge & notch. Top quality for LCD panel which I already get use with it already. I'm not prefer to watch Netflix movie on phone. I have big TV for that. Heh! HDR video / movie is not a concern for my case. However I watch a lot of Youtube clips on phone. Youtube HD on compressed 1080p version should be excellent enough for me especially on this size of device screen.

3. iOS 13 + A13 Bionic + 4 GB RAM
- Buttery performance. Except for bugs on initial iOS 13. Most fixed on iOS 13.1.1. But still have minor bug. Found on share screen & some other function. Definitely will be fixed on next release. Perhaps together with Deep Fusion function release later. With more optimised iOS in term of performance, speed including smaller file size for OS & apps, I can guarantee that this specs will provide ample buffer for next 4 to 5 years of usage & iOS upgrade. Apple promise to provide at least 5 years worth of iOS update. So this specs will still be good by then.

In fact I've been using iPhone 6 for 6 years (not getting iOS 13 this year). Tolerable apps launch & switching speed. Seldom experience system hang or kaput. Way better compared with my experience with iPhone 4. By the time iPhone 6 release 4 years later, sometime I can't pick up incoming call. System freeze. But still, I never give up on Apple. biggrin.gif

4. Camera
- Wide & Ultra Wide, superb. Especially on good lighting condition. Video as well. Bokeh effect solely on software processing. On par quality I suppose comparing with Bokeh effect using telefoto lense on previous iPhone. Sometime it'll not produce a very good result (specs, hair on very bright backgound, etc) but tolerable, not happen all the time. Maybe it will be better on future release.

Night Mode, OMG. Totally crazy result. Trust me. Literally taking picture on low light will not be a concern anymore. Point, snap, hold. Walla. rclxm9.gif

5. Color
- Mine is red. Bloody red. Put in clear casing. Happy. wub.gif

6. Extra point - Transfer Data
- This is totally awesome man. Duplicating system configuration from old iPhone including all installed apps & data restoration from iCloud are so so super easy. Imagine how easy to do initial AirPod pairing with iPhone. Something like that (with more steps of course). So impressed. No need iTunes, no need cable. Just need a stable wifi (at least). Crazy stuff. Thank god for iOS 13.
samurai_ghost
post Oct 2 2019, 08:11 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(Omgf @ Oct 1 2019, 02:26 PM)
What clear case u r using?
Can gip link?
Spigen Ultra Hybrid clear case. Bought from Shopee.

At first not sure to choose between Liquid clear or Ultra Hybrid. But since this is my first time using phone with glass back & bigger size summore, decided to go with Ultra Hybrid. Will go for Liquid for replacement in future.

Hopefully TPU back casing will give me “extra” protection when needed. biggrin.gif

samurai_ghost
post Oct 2 2019, 08:18 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(jAsOs @ Oct 1 2019, 11:57 PM)
Hi, has anyone been able to edit photos and use content outside the frame?
I’m able too. Just did random test lah.

We can zoom out photo in crop edit mode.
samurai_ghost
post Oct 2 2019, 09:28 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(jAsOs @ Oct 2 2019, 09:12 AM)
I've been trying with different settings and random photos, yet i still haven't seen the option appear.
I think no option or indicator mention about outside frame. It should be in photo crop function. Literally we can pitch to zoom out from original 1x photo.

samurai_ghost
post Oct 2 2019, 10:47 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(jAsOs @ Oct 2 2019, 09:30 AM)
According to youtube, when you select a photo > edit > click on the "..." on the top right corner and you'll see the option to use image outside frame
Ah, Ok. Hmm.. the option not in my phone too. iOS 13.1.2.

samurai_ghost
post Oct 3 2019, 12:30 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(limyuyang @ Oct 3 2019, 11:06 AM)
Guys,

1) does dark mode affect ip11 battery life? Or it only does make a slight difference on oled screen in the pro version??

2) is there any way to access to settings other than going back to homepage and click on settings icon. Because I’m used to Android where I only have to pull down the notification panel then I can access to settings already.
1. Don't think it'll make much different on iPhone 11. As LCD panel still need to lit up for black. Unlike Pro on OLED can fully turn off black pixel. Reason for true black color on OLED panel. Maybe slight battery saving on iPhone 11.

2. Scroll down from top right (Wifi, telco carrier & battery icons area). Haptic touch on icon for detail settings. Add more widget there on Settings > Control Centre menu.

samurai_ghost
post Oct 3 2019, 12:37 PM

83 posts

Apple just release iOS 13.2 beta for developer. Coming soon to public. Woot.. woot..

Deep Fusion included weh.. But look like will only available for Pro series? Because Deep Fusion utilise telephoto lense. hmm.gif
samurai_ghost
post Oct 3 2019, 09:24 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Oct 3 2019, 05:10 PM)
any screen protector to recommend? that can cover the earpiece to prevent dust go in?
I used Spigen Glas*TR full cover tampered glass.

1. Can’t feel any bump when swipe up because glass cover from edge to edge.

2. Comes with plastic frame as guide for accurate installation. They called it Ezi Fit or something.

3. Not so expensive.

4. Tough? Supposedly as per claimed or from review. Haven’t experienced any unfortunate incident yet. *touch wood*

5. Glass over all Face ID cameras area. But not earpiece. Got screen protector cover earpiece leh?
samurai_ghost
post Oct 3 2019, 09:30 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(limyuyang @ Oct 3 2019, 06:18 PM)
Is it possible to add my own words into keyboard ?? Can’t seem to find it on settings.

For example, every time I type “ma”, “leh”, “eh”, all of these get autocorrected. I wanted to save it so that every time I type those words it won’t get autocorrected.

Even though I tap the word a few times already from the keyboard, it still gets autocorrected, I’m guessing i can’t save my own word then?
Disable autocorrect.

iOS will scan & learn from words we typed in over the time (not sure how long) & those frequent word will be included in keyboard top 3 word predictions. QuickType (swift keyboard) will adapt those predictions as well.

This post has been edited by samurai_ghost: Oct 3 2019, 09:31 PM
samurai_ghost
post Oct 4 2019, 07:07 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Oct 3 2019, 11:43 PM)
Where did you buy it bro?
Lazada.
samurai_ghost
post Oct 4 2019, 07:35 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 4 2019, 03:58 AM)
Nice. As per expected. 😜👍

https://www.cultofmac.com/656760/no-iphone-11s-2020/

Reliable source says there will be no ‘iPhone 11S’ in 2020

Apple will not release an “iPhone 11S” in 2020, according to one reliable analyst.

Cupertino is instead expected to name its next-generation smartphone — which will launch next September — the “iPhone 12.” This could mean a big break from tradition going forward.

Since the iPhone 3GS back in 2009, Apple has almost always following the same naming formula. It delivers big upgrades to the lineup every other year, with incremental “S” releases in between.

There has been once exception to that rule: iPhone 8 and iPhone X followed the iPhone 7 in 2017, so we never saw an iPhone 7S. Now it seems we won’t be getting an iPhone 11S, either.

‘iPhone 12’ to arrive in 2020
Trusted TF Securities analyst Ming Chi-Kuo believes the 2020 iPhone refresh, scheduled for September, will be named iPhone 12. Apple is expected to skip the iPhone 11S altogether.

This could mean one of two things: Either iPhone 12 will be a significant upgrade over iPhone 11, with radical changes in design, features, and specs. Or, Apple is doing away with “S” updates.

It could be a bit of both.

What will we see from iPhone 12?
It is likely we will see design tweaks next year. Rumors have claimed Apple is working on even larger screens for 2020, while others have hinted its next refresh will take inspiration from iPhone 4.

It has also been reported that Touch ID will make a comeback next year (working alongside Face ID) as Apple finally embraces 5G connectivity after spending $1 billion on Intel’s modem business.

But even without all that, it’s about time those biannual “S” upgrades were scrapped anyway. The “S” no longer stands for anything, so it really only complicates the iPhone’s naming system.
S naming convention become irrelevant when Apple decide to go with 3 years cycle upgrade rather than 2 years. Heard they’re planning for 4 years cycle instead now.

No surprise I think. Apple skipped 7s, 8s, 9 & 9s altogether. biggrin.gif

samurai_ghost
post Oct 4 2019, 08:52 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Oct 4 2019, 08:38 AM)
Eh? Spigen official store got sell kah?

Last i purchase one is 2.5D one which doesnt cover edge to edge =.=

Now using Ugreen 3D edge to edge : https://tinyurl.com/y6xpm2lp
Spigen Malaysia official store not selling full cover protector.

Bought from this seller. https://s.lazada.com.my/s.ZQWAD

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:47 AM