The iPhone 11 Discussion Thread | V1, Just the right amount of everything.
limyuyang
Oct 3 2019, 12:12 AM
Any recommendations on casing? I don’t need extremely tough casing, preferably medium protection transparent with protruding lips to protect the screen and camera lens.
limyuyang
Oct 3 2019, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(attw @ Oct 3 2019, 07:46 AM) Thanks, will look into it
limyuyang
Oct 3 2019, 11:06 AM
Guys,
1) does dark mode affect ip11 battery life? Or it only does make a slight difference on oled screen in the pro version??
2) is there any way to access to settings other than going back to homepage and click on settings icon. Because I’m used to Android where I only have to pull down the notification panel then I can access to settings already.
limyuyang
Oct 3 2019, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(TongCN @ Oct 3 2019, 12:21 PM) 1) Dark mode is a trend nowadays  2) Pull down from top right corner and u can see certain setting, you can customise those in Setting > control centre QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Oct 3 2019, 12:21 PM) just swipe up already see home setting lol QUOTE(samurai_ghost @ Oct 3 2019, 01:30 PM) 1. Don't think it'll make much different on iPhone 11. As LCD panel still need to lit up for black. Unlike Pro on OLED can fully turn off black pixel. Reason for true black color on OLED panel. Maybe slight battery saving on iPhone 11. 2. Scroll down from top right (Wifi, telco carrier & battery icons area). Haptic touch on icon for detail settings. Add more widget there on Settings > Control Centre menu. ok thanks for the input
limyuyang
Oct 3 2019, 01:13 PM
anyone here using fast charging car charger for ip11? any recommendations ??
limyuyang
Oct 3 2019, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(kuntaker @ Oct 3 2019, 04:41 PM) Hi guys, who buy from T&L, when they ship to Malaysia, do we need to pay any tax? or free of tax? I bought from them, didn’t have to pay for tax, don’t think we have to pay that too
limyuyang
Oct 3 2019, 06:18 PM
Is it possible to add my own words into keyboard ?? Can’t seem to find it on settings.
For example, every time I type “ma”, “leh”, “eh”, all of these get autocorrected. I wanted to save it so that every time I type those words it won’t get autocorrected.
Even though I tap the word a few times already from the keyboard, it still gets autocorrected, I’m guessing i can’t save my own word then?
limyuyang
Oct 3 2019, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(EON @ Oct 2 2019, 11:14 PM) Hello all, can i ask how long is your sot for iphone11.. my sot for iph11 i feel is quite low.. from 90% to 36% with only 3.5hour sot. Unplugged yesterday at 8pm. Now still have 40% left
QUOTE(TongCN @ Oct 3 2019, 02:59 PM) Thanks bro
limyuyang
Oct 3 2019, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(samurai_ghost @ Oct 3 2019, 10:30 PM) Disable autocorrect. iOS will scan & learn from words we typed in over the time (not sure how long) & those frequent word will be included in keyboard top 3 word predictions. QuickType (swift keyboard) will adapt those predictions as well. Alright but I can’t disable autocorrection because I need it as well, at least now I know iOS keyboard will learn the words. Will continue use for a few days and see. Thanks.
limyuyang
Oct 4 2019, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(Derps @ Oct 4 2019, 04:34 PM) anyone here with the green colour ip11? wonder which one is the real colour as it look different from the apple website.   I remembered the one at the bottom looks closer to real life colour, ive seen one at epic center last week not really sure also
limyuyang
Oct 5 2019, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(yeahbaby @ Oct 5 2019, 11:45 AM) Anyone has this issue around the camera?  Not on my white iPhone though
limyuyang
Oct 6 2019, 10:45 AM
Is the iPhone lock sound linked to the volume of phone? Like when my phone is on it’s lowest volume ( totally no sound from media but not mute), my lock sound is gone.
limyuyang
Oct 8 2019, 12:00 AM
anyone here using lightning to 3.5mm adapter? saw original apple selling for rm49 but i did a quick search at shopee, some of the cheap ones work but have weird noises? those who have bought cheap lightning to 3.5mm adapter can share some experience?
limyuyang
Oct 8 2019, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(CPURanger @ Oct 8 2019, 11:39 AM) Look for 3.5 mm adapter or any accessories that are MFI certified by Apple. Alright. Thanks. QUOTE(Barricade @ Oct 8 2019, 11:43 AM) Anyone of you guys using clear case? Using spigen ultra hybrid and loving it QUOTE(Yen8on3 @ Oct 8 2019, 11:59 AM) T&L Telecom said as per Malaysia's custom law, any items valued above RM500 is subject to be imposed with tax limit. And this includes CIF (Cost, Insurance, and Freight/Shipping). This is bared by the buyer/customer. Did you pay any additional taxes from the listed price ? https://www.qoo10.my/item/IPHONE11-FREE-GIFT-APPLE-IPHONE-11-DUAL-SIM-64GB-128GB-256GB-NANO-DUAL/666968323[attachmentid=10329797] I bought from t&l but didn’t pay for tax, and I believe buyers don’t have to worry because seems like t&l never charge tax to buyers before(according to some forumers) ? This post has been edited by limyuyang: Oct 8 2019, 11:11 AM
limyuyang
Oct 8 2019, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Oct 8 2019, 03:33 PM) How long it takes to ship from T&L HK? Need to wait long? Ordered on Friday, received on Tuesday
limyuyang
Oct 13 2019, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 13 2019, 08:15 PM) swiping up to get into the phone is fine i mean if you think abt it, if you have notifications and you want to unlock to view the messages, for androids they straight up unlock into home screen and to view messages you have to swipe notification down. if you ask me thats abit extra step i find apple's method of below is much practical seeing as when i unlock phone its to view the notifications >phone notification buzz >me look at phone >faceID unlocks, messages unlock and readable >read them >if want to reply, Haptic/3D Touch to preview and reply >otherwise lock phone and cont own stuff if you want to skip it anyway just lift phone to trigger raise to wake, then full bottom swipe immediately. voila, in home screen ed  Not all android devices’ face unlock will straightaway bring you to home screen based on my experience. Earlier on I was using oneplus 6, you do have the option to stay on the lock screen and choose swipe up to unlock after face has been recognised. But what I do like about apple is the ability to hide your messages(privacy) until apple recognises your face, this is what my op6 couldn’t do, it’s either not show the message at all(hide all sensitive contents) or show all regardless unlock or lock. This post has been edited by limyuyang: Oct 13 2019, 09:32 PM
limyuyang
Oct 14 2019, 09:01 AM
So after a week using iOS (I come from android and this is my first time experiencing iOS), here is my thoughts on android & iOS.
App optimization Apps on iOS felt much compatible, optimized in a way such that social media apps (particularly Instagram, snapchat)are able to retain the quality of images and videos especially when it is posted as story (not post). For instance, I wasn't able to upload a smooth video story on Instagram, android's ig always compressed my video to a point where videos are very choppy as compared to ios ig. Of course, i don't blame android for this since there are so many android devices, app developers may not optimize their app so that it is compatible on every android devices.
Gestures Gestures on iOS is simpler IMO, much easier to control everything just by using gestures, like swipe right from the edge to go back (it works on almost every app, like fb, photos, WhatsApp) or swipe down after seeing the photos on fb/album. But android relies very much on back button, so it feels like there are not much gestures on android. Apps on iOS merge very much with the gestures, using gestures on iOS apps is smoother, like I am able to see the transition and animation, I couldn’t experience this on android before. I do appreciate if android is able to implement gestures like iOS on android, it makes controlling and handling the phone much easier. Thus, it feels better control on iOS at least on my side.
Fluidity and speed IP11 may not be the fastest device, but what I can tell is it indeed is one of the smoothest devices compared to my earlier device (OnePlus 6), but speed is what i experienced on OP6. Fluidity on iOS might be due to its animation or other factors? I'm not entirely sure about this but at least that's what I experienced and loved it.
Battery Standby battery is much better on iOS, I'm able to squeeze more SOT as compared to android, might be due to google play service on android which is sucking my battery juice (this is the problem I have not been able to solve since early android stages).
IOS or Android Will I ever stay on iOS? Yes, I would, and now I do understand when people talk about it's hard to change to other devices once you've tasted iOS due to apple ecosystem (few of my friends did tell me that when I asked about their opinion of switching to iOS). It's only a week of using iOS, and I'm already loving it and used to it, feels very much in control.
Will I ever switch back to Android? Yes, I would, if android apps (social media apps) are being optimized and keep up as iOS devices. But android does have the option to sideload apk (something iOS couldn't do), that's what I do miss on Android.
This post has been edited by limyuyang: Oct 14 2019, 09:08 AM
limyuyang
Oct 16 2019, 09:42 AM
iOS 13.1.3 is out guys
limyuyang
Oct 17 2019, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(sj0217 @ Oct 16 2019, 09:48 PM) Haven’t get the phone yet but all accessories arrived   Got the same charger and cable as well, now aiming for ugreen car charger too
limyuyang
Oct 23 2019, 06:45 AM
QUOTE(fleur_cherie @ Oct 22 2019, 11:29 PM) Nowadays my phone overheated when doing multiple tasks. Youtube+instagram+safari..didnt happen before(bought on 27 sept)..i think happen after ios update..anyone experience the same thing? I feel like I experienced overheating the other way round, when I got my phone, it feels kinda hot even I wasn’t running any games at all. Then after updating to 13.1.3, there’s no heating issue anymore at least on my phone