Guitars Things that we need to know when buying guitar

TSnightzstar
post Jul 5 2007, 09:03 AM, updated 19y ago

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

Hello all the sifus here, i would like to know several tips and must know thing when come to purchase a guitar either acoustic and electric guitar. I am pleased to let the sifus list a some important matter when buying guitar rclxms.gif notworthy.gif
quarantined
post Jul 5 2007, 10:20 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

If you're not sure how to choose one, bring along an experienced player to test the guitar for you. Maybe try searching the forum, I think this topic had been discussed before.
TSnightzstar
post Jul 5 2007, 10:27 AM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

I see. That is the problem. I don't have any friends that play guitar. Erm..but i do some research on the net for guitar for newbies. Electric ones should be Ibanez GAX70 but i am still not sure about acoustic guitar. Planning to buy second hand though because i want to learn. Any sifu can recommend me acoutic for starter?
zeroglyph
post Jul 5 2007, 02:15 PM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

i'd say the gsz120 is a tad better then gax series. i dunno, maybe just me. biggrin.gif

anyway, either follow quarantined's advice, or gamble on your own. the good part of having an experienced friend with you is he can tell a good guitar from a bad one. the bad, he maybe bias to certain brand laugh.gif .

in general, just pick the one with the sound that you like....with the best looks...and most importantly, the best feel to you. it's stupid to buy a flying V just because some artist use it although you are uncomfortable with the design.
TSnightzstar
post Jul 5 2007, 02:26 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

I see. Actually i want to play eletric guitar but then i think i need to build my finger basic skill and strength with the acoustic as the the picking on the acoustic quite hard. What do you all think? smile.gif notworthy.gif That mean i have to fork out another money if i want buy electric.

This post has been edited by nightzstar: Jul 5 2007, 02:27 PM
kev da man
post Jul 5 2007, 02:32 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

get an acoustic first biggrin.gif the wide bridge will help you familiarise with each note easier.
strinq
post Jul 5 2007, 05:05 PM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

Hi dude,

Like a few of the previous posters said, its vital to have an experienced friend to go along with you when getting a new guitar. He can tell a lot of things that you will not realise about the guitar.

The fact is, every guitar (even the same model) and especially the lower end ones cam be very different in playability due to the lower QC on those guitars. I've tried Squiers that was bad and some that plays really well for its price.

2ndly, what's ur budget. Its very important.

3rd, if ur a total newbie, it is not necessary to start with an acoustic but it depends on what u wanna play. If u wanna play the electric, by all means go get one. Cuz its a diff feel altogether. But it is true that by starting on an acoustic will give u more strength etc.

'Normal' beginners acoustic:
1. Kapok
2. Yamaha F210

'Normal' beginners electric:
1. Sx Strats
2. Squier Strats
2. Ibanez GIO series (i would recommend a non-floating bridge or u'll have a headache trying to tune it, and then an additional headache trying to keep it in tune)

For acoustics, try to get a guitar that has relatively 'low' action (meaning the height of the string from the frets). If not i dread that u might give up playing the guitar because its too 'hard' to press.

all in all, best advice here? get an experienced friend, or u just might get conned.
tongue.gif
Everdying
post Jul 5 2007, 05:12 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

the ONLY thing you need to know.
never buy from mahogany, oh and ironwood too.
the_registered
post Jul 5 2007, 05:17 PM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 5 2007, 05:12 PM)
I'll include Bentley... Their prices are all crazy...but damn, they are the only retailers here for Fenders and Ibanez and Taylors and WTF else...

Anyway, TS, the neck will be very vital, be it acoustic or electric. Try to slide your finger through the edge/side of it and if you can feel the frets hitting your finger, than that's a bad guitar. I once had a guitar like that and it really hurts to slide..

The neck must not be twisted or warped too.
blacktrix
post Jul 5 2007, 05:28 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Bentley not THAT bad, considering some of the items are almost the same price as their US counterparts.......
asura_86
post Jul 5 2007, 05:53 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

it really boils down to what type of music you're into and what you wanna play...no point getting an acoustic when what you really wanna play is some good rock'n'roll biggrin.gif

all i did was just pick up the guitar in the shop and play it. if it feels good, sounds good, price's good...then it's good to me smile.gif of course get tips from experienced friend will help a lot..
the_registered
post Jul 5 2007, 06:11 PM

844 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jul 5 2007, 05:28 PM)
Bentley not THAT bad, considering some of the items are almost the same price as their US counterparts.......
well maybe you're comparing with guitar centre.

One more thing I hate about Bentley, they judge their customers puchasing potential by looking at what you wear, what watch at your wrist etc. Once, I went there with slippers and shorts and I asked to test their top end acoustics... That Chinese faggot gave me that kinda stare..F*CK HIM

TS, keep out from Mahogany or Bentley

For me, the only shop in Malaysia worth considering is Sinamex although I haven't buy anything from them doh.gif
Everdying
post Jul 5 2007, 06:13 PM

30,735 posts

bentley have got the WORST ever sales people.
if you're good, you can sell any product without knowing much about them.
but no, the bentley staff all cant talk, cant serve, cant do jack shit.
PetroToxin
post Jul 5 2007, 06:22 PM

1,179 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 5 2007, 06:13 PM)
bentley have got the WORST ever sales people.
if you're good, you can sell any product without knowing much about them.
but no, the bentley staff all cant talk, cant serve, cant do jack shit.
If you go down to Mahogany SS2 it will be the direct opposite compared to Bentley.

I bet those people there can sell A Refrigerator to Eskimos. laugh.gif

So, Beware! sweat.gif
blacktrix
post Jul 5 2007, 06:27 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Hmmmmmmm...... Maybe it's because I bought an RR3, EMGZW Pickups, Wylde Wah and a Digitech Whammy from Bentley which is why they treat me so nice........

That and because I always pay with my Plat Master......

RR3......Rm2400
EMG ZW Pickups..... RM650
Wylde Wah...... Rm650
Digitech Whammy.... RM900

EXCELLENT customer service?

Priceless.

There are some things money can't buy. For everything else, there's Mastercard..... tongue.gif
asura_86
post Jul 5 2007, 06:49 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

i don't have much problem with bentley's staff. maybe i'm just too blunt to notice their behavior? hmm.gif

TS: i guess the safest way is to bring your friend along or do research...but do remember every guitarist have different style, so their taste in guitars are different.
ReeveX.com
post Jul 5 2007, 07:14 PM

Music Fanatic "but" NooB
840 posts

went to bentley a few times....service there is ok la....nothing special....worse wan is woh fatt...service like a$$ only....1k+ guitar oso dun let ppl to try....summore say not buying kennot try....mahogany's service is very good...consultant there is very friendly n helpful...but price is sky high.....

as for choosing acoustic guitar....go for a yamaha....zero neck adjustment....fret everything is clean....n it's quite cheap

SweetTooth
post Jul 5 2007, 09:12 PM

2,650 posts

i think the acoustic is unnecessary if you want to buy it just to strengthen your fingers. an electric guitar can do just that too.

as for staff... mahogany people really know how to chop you, know how to talk all kinds of shit. bently.. the fella follow you close close if you wear cheap cheap clothes and anything you want to touch they will try to stop you and go "yess can i helps you?"

but many shops also like that so..
quarantined
post Jul 6 2007, 01:54 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Don't bother to start from an acoustic if you only interested in an electric. The cheap but good package for a starter that I can recommend you is a SX Tele or Strat (available in Woh Fatt for RM480, but should be less) + a Roland MicroCube guitar amplifier(can get from Bentley at RM380). Ask them to throw you a bag, guitar cable, picks, strap, strings, picks and whatever you can think of. Buying second hand is actually a good option as you'll be able to buy a better build guitar which can serves and satisfy you longer than a cheaper axe at a lower price, but beware of dishonest sellers lo..
soulfly
post Jul 6 2007, 10:52 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

Personally I think Rhapsody in Midvalley has good customer service, but their price is expensive.
freakfingers12
post Jul 6 2007, 05:28 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

the_registered
post Jul 6 2007, 05:55 PM

844 posts

PetroToxin
post Jul 6 2007, 06:30 PM

1,179 posts

the_registered
post Jul 6 2007, 06:33 PM

844 posts

PetroToxin
post Jul 6 2007, 07:47 PM

1,179 posts

Everdying
post Jul 6 2007, 07:51 PM

30,735 posts

bentley's 2-3 months is just their minimum wait time for their next shipment.
wonder why u didnt check other places, cos for sure bentley isnt the only place that stocks ritter.

PetroToxin
post Jul 6 2007, 08:27 PM

1,179 posts

Well I tried some other music stores but they just dint bother to order one for me.

All they said was: No stock. Try Bentley. sweat.gif
TSnightzstar
post Jul 7 2007, 09:51 AM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

I have brought acoustic guitar to train and pratice. Damn hard but will not give up. Passion for rock n roll is still there. icon_rolleyes.gif When i already can play well time to switch electric brows.gif
apique
post Jul 7 2008, 01:31 AM

71 posts

gudluck in your playing dude..
cheers..=D
crysania
post Jul 7 2008, 09:34 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 5 2007, 05:12 PM)

Same ere 4 mahogany.Cutthroat price.
@Everdying:Can pls tell me y dun buy from Ironwood ar? hmm.gif
Wanna get BC Rich guitar from them coz they'r the only dealer ere.
Elsewhere i only saw at Rhapsody.Goin 2 buy new guitar soon.
Pls icon_question.gif

Cheers...

x-crusader
post Jul 7 2008, 08:57 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jul 6 2007, 10:52 AM)
Personally I think Rhapsody in Midvalley has good customer service, but their price is expensive.
they are...
dunno for their price..
coz the things they sell like..
to few...
Everdying
post Jul 7 2008, 10:06 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(crysania @ Jul 7 2008, 09:34 AM)

Same ere 4 mahogany.Cutthroat price.
@Everdying:Can pls tell me y dun buy from Ironwood ar? hmm.gif
Wanna get BC Rich guitar from them coz they'r the only dealer ere.
Elsewhere i only saw at Rhapsody.Goin 2 buy new guitar soon.
Pls  icon_question.gif

Cheers...
i think chambers in sungei wang also have a few bc rich.
u can go check and compare prices.

chambers has quite a few old stock guitars there also, some like the epiphone wildkat still there...
just like woh fatt with their gibson old stock thats been there for 10yrs...
enteryourusername
post Jul 7 2008, 10:19 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 7 2008, 10:06 PM)

chambers has quite a few old stock guitars there also, some like the epiphone wildkat still there...
NOS mou....
crysania
post Jul 7 2008, 10:49 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 7 2008, 10:06 PM)

I think i hav mistaken Rhapsody for Chambers.My mistake..SORI notworthy.gif
I did checkout Chambers few days back, but tis guy from Ironwood said he can giv better price.
Around RM400++ cheaper compared 2 Chambers.Might b bcoz they r the dealer for BC Rich.
Never been der,jus call them.So was wondering if Everdying has any story regarding Ironwood lo.. hmm.gif

Cheers...

Everdying
post Jul 7 2008, 10:53 PM

30,735 posts

not only me...but everyone tongue.gif
when ironwood first got the bc rich dealer iirc about 7yrs ago...i was eyeing the acrylic series...they were selling it for close to RM3k.
previously bc rich was doremi...and it was RM1.8k...
funny how price can jump so much within a month or so...

when ask ironwood why...well typical mahogany/bentley sales pitch...cos it was better quality...
better quality my ass...cos theres only 1 model for it.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Jul 7 2008, 10:54 PM
hotfootpowder
post Jul 7 2008, 11:05 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 7 2008, 10:53 PM)
when ironwood first got the bc rich dealer iirc about 7yrs ago...i was eyeing the acrylic series...they were selling it for close to RM3k.

when ask ironwood why...well typical mahogany/bentley sales pitch...cos it was better quality...
hmmm... i think i saw one of those acrylic bc rich guitars at cash converter ampang... was going for rm1800... a bit high for second hand guitar but i think can tawar2 one... the color was bright fluorascent green though... reminded me of the predator's blood... blink.gif
Everdying
post Jul 7 2008, 11:07 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(hotfootpowder @ Jul 7 2008, 11:05 PM)
hmmm... i think i saw one of those acrylic bc rich guitars at cash converter ampang... was going for rm1800... a bit high for second hand guitar but i think can tawar2 one... the color was bright fluorascent green though... reminded me of the predator's blood...  blink.gif
cash converters another one with dumbass ppl there tongue.gif
u bring in a beat up branded guitar and confirm it will get less than a brand new looking no name guitar.
crysania
post Jul 7 2008, 11:30 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 7 2008, 10:53 PM)

Wow i'm eyeing the acrylic series too.The Ice warlock.So tempting. drool.gif
Damn,so much price difference between doremi n ironwood ar.
But the price was 4k++ in Chambers few months back when they still hav d stock.
But now no more liao,only the acrylic mocking bird.

As for the quality,agree with u everydying:i doubt the sales person knows any shit bout it.
I only know its more heavier than normal warlock.Should b around 7kg..i'm only guessin
Btw,thanks 4 d info. icon_rolleyes.gif

Cheers..
Everdying
post Jul 7 2008, 11:38 PM

30,735 posts

chambers had it for 4k++? u sure?
maybe the took stock from ironwood tongue.gif

actually the only guitars i go see in chambers are the mini ones.
they have mini sx guitars and bass, mini acoustics.
and they sell fast.

crysania
post Jul 8 2008, 12:00 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 7 2008, 11:38 PM)
chambers had it for 4k++? u sure?
maybe the took stock from ironwood tongue.gif

actually the only guitars i go see in chambers are the mini ones.
they have mini sx guitars and bass, mini acoustics.
and they sell fast.
Yup,thats right..4k++..Very sure coz i ask for d price.Interested mah. drool.gif
Ur guess is as good as mine.Definitely from dealers.
Thats'y was shock when enquire pricing from ironwood.Big big difference. shocking.gif
But if Deadeye could get cheaper,definitely buyin from him. notworthy.gif

Mini ones do sell fast mayb coz hard 2 comeby elsewhere.
Mayb cheaper n affordable..Only guessing

Cheers...
Everdying
post Jul 8 2008, 03:07 AM

30,735 posts

heres one on ebay.
http://cgi.ebay.com/BC-Rich-Acrylic-Series...1QQcmdZViewItem

i doubt it will sell for more than USD500.
crysania
post Jul 8 2008, 01:28 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 8 2008, 03:07 AM)
heres one on ebay.
http://cgi.ebay.com/BC-Rich-Acrylic-Series...1QQcmdZViewItem

i doubt it will sell for more than USD500.
Wow,cool... tongue.gif
Eyeing the ice warlock rather than other colour.But still cheap compared to ere. shocking.gif
Btw,any idea how much it cost when it 1st came out?Jus wanna compare it to the recent price.
Dun seem 2 hav any site that show these. hmm.gif

Cheers...
besoul_58
post Jul 8 2008, 03:12 PM

173 posts

guys...i gonna get a new acoustic guitar next month...i juz wanna make sure how do you check the guitar iz gud or not...? i meant by...do you need to check every fret...does it sound nice or cacat....how shud i check the bridge and the headstock?? whut shud i looking at for any possible defect? sweat.gif
leong7
post Jul 8 2008, 05:37 PM

check everything from head to toe smile.gif

and make sure u play with it,see it suits ur feeling or not.

any small flaw mayb cause u (at least it will look abit ugly compared to a mint one ^^ )
Everdying
post Jul 8 2008, 06:01 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(crysania @ Jul 8 2008, 01:28 PM)
Wow,cool... tongue.gif
Eyeing the ice warlock rather than other colour.But still cheap compared to ere. shocking.gif
Btw,any idea how much it cost when it 1st came out?Jus wanna compare it to the recent price.
Dun seem 2 hav any site that show these. hmm.gif

Cheers...
thought i mentioned doremi was selling it for RM1.8k then.
so US probably around $400?
crysania
post Jul 8 2008, 10:22 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 8 2008, 06:01 PM)
thought i mentioned doremi was selling it for RM1.8k then.
so US probably around $400?
Sori,slip my mind..Back then was RM1.8k.
Wish i knew bout it sooner back then. doh.gif
I call doremi (jln ipoh)in the afternoon,
unfortunately they dun carry BC Rich anymore.
Guess hav 2 scout around 4 better price then. rclxub.gif

Cheers...

Everdying
post Jul 8 2008, 10:29 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(crysania @ Jul 8 2008, 10:22 PM)
Sori,slip my mind..Back then was RM1.8k.
Wish i knew bout it sooner back then. doh.gif
I call doremi (jln ipoh)in the afternoon,
unfortunately they dun carry BC Rich anymore.
Guess hav 2 scout around 4 better price then. rclxub.gif

Cheers...
or u could custom make one tongue.gif
there is someone in shah alam offering acrylic bodies for RM650.
only thing is u need to bring a body for him to scan so can copy.
crysania
post Jul 8 2008, 10:52 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 8 2008, 10:29 PM)
or u could custom make one tongue.gif
there is someone in shah alam offering acrylic bodies for RM650.
only thing is u need to bring a body for him to scan so can copy.
Woa..that's new.
Bring guitar body to scan huh?
Any idea how they do it? hmm.gif
Could u pm me their contacts pls. notworthy.gif
I hav a red warlock so mayb tempted 2 do it in the future.

Cheers...

0.0255sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:15 PM