Hong Kong Exchange & HK Stocks, Per title post-Extradition Bill W/drawal

Cubalagi
post Jan 4 2023, 12:30 PM

4,499 posts

HSI up 2.3%, HSCEI up 2.46%

Looks like finally going to get CNY angpao from HK.

Cubalagi
post Jan 5 2023, 11:09 AM

4,499 posts

Baba above HKD100, hopefully can stay above. 110 by CNY?
Cubalagi
post Jan 8 2023, 10:34 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 7 2023, 08:28 PM)

China portfolio journey in a nutshell. Finally tied with a slight edge over S&P after an entire year of trailing performance. But still underwater  doh.gif

Better off buying KWEB to be honest. The tried and tested method of ETF investing has proven superior once again especially if we take a long term approach.

Anyway this year let me see can i beat KWEB. Like buffett said, in a bull market everyone is a wizard until the tide blah blah blah.
If you track from Feb 21 then you will see its much worse for China tech.

Quite fortunate that I exited the bulk of my China position in early 21. UnfortunateIy, I jumped back in too early n DCA until I hit my allocation limit. Break-even last trading day of last year n now green. Looking to take some profits hopefully before CNY.

Cubalagi
post Jan 9 2023, 10:31 PM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jan 8 2023, 10:55 AM)
For china usually exit before cny is the safest bet. As the gov will do all the window dressing, feel good policy to make mainland investors happy before the big holiday.

But this round i dont plan to take anything off the table, it has been a terrible year for china and i believe the turnaround is only just starting. We might dip a little bit post cny or when big tech release earnings and forecast but overall i think china will end 2023 pretty strong.
Im still bullish China but for me its part of risk management.

Mainland China will be closed the whole CNY week, then soon after its US FOMC.

Since the big rebound, my China related position has become quite big, I will trim some position but not exit completely.

Cubalagi
post Jan 11 2023, 10:15 AM

4,499 posts

More bullish talk about China among international IBs.

https://www.marketwatch.com/story/chinese-s...ish-11673351396

Cubalagi
post Jan 20 2023, 06:48 PM

4,499 posts

Wow..good angpao in HK for last day before CNY!

Cubalagi
post Mar 1 2023, 07:49 AM

4,499 posts

All my Chinese gains gone already 😩

Looks like exiting b4 CNY remains a valid strategy.

In my case, I only reduce about half.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Mar 3 2023, 07:39 PM
Cubalagi
post Mar 3 2023, 07:46 PM

4,499 posts

I was reading this piece n thought to share

https://www.premia-partners.com/insight/hav...very-trajectory

Tldr
1. China still at initial stage of economic recovery and a lot of the positives havent been priced in
2. Major international n retail investors still underweight
3. Best opportunities are in A shares market

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Mar 3 2023, 07:47 PM
Cubalagi
post Mar 10 2023, 11:13 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(ivanpei @ Mar 10 2023, 10:31 AM)
Btw want to ask what kind of withholding tax or royalty we kena for HK stock dividends as a Malaysian? Quite confusing la from the information I'm getting online.
China stocks listed on HKEX has a 10% dividend witholding tax.
Cubalagi
post Mar 28 2023, 10:17 PM

4,499 posts

Baba ADR jumped on splitting news

https://www.cnbc.com/2023/03/28/alibaba-say...ds-and-ipo.html

Jack Ma now back in China..all good?

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Mar 28 2023, 10:19 PM
Cubalagi
post Dec 30 2023, 01:46 PM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Dec 23 2023, 10:24 PM)
For now is not to add any position no matter how cheap the valuation is until there is a real political shift in how they approach business.

He he I just added some china position this week 😰

Hopefully can make some profits.

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.0602sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:43 PM