PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V2, Comparison and advice needed...

akachester
post Aug 19 2009, 03:55 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Need a recommendation here guys. Looking to get myself a replacement for my dying AL ACS45.1 and considering my budget, i wouldn't mind spending in the range of RM400 for a good pair of 2.1 speakers. Any recommendation here?

I am not a bass head so, bass is not going to be a priority but of course, having it is an advantage. I am in no means, needing to maximise all the budget. Looking for something that is going to be value for money as well as performing well.

At first, i am looking at purchasing the AL VS4121 as my friend had one and they sounded good to me. However, considering the mix reviews on the new Black Version for the 4121, i am not sure whether i still wanted that. I am currently considering the Edifier C3. How good is that? And there are people that are saying the S330 is better than the C3. How much difference between them? Any other recommendation?
akachester
post Aug 19 2009, 04:54 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Thanks xk2. In your oppinion, how is the S330 better than the C3? I mean, why would you say its better?
akachester
post Aug 20 2009, 09:12 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Aug 19 2009, 08:41 PM)
the ring tweeter on S330 can produce better and dynamic treble compare to C3, C3 sounds abit dry when comes to female voice, i can say S330 perform very good in especially in female voice biggrin.gif totaly sweet and wet .. midrange wise, although C3 has the advantage with its 3.5inch driver, but the 2 inch driver specially develop  for  S330 was not lack behind. Woofer wise, u might impressed when u hear C3 got 8inch driver, but due to the power assign to it is quite low, the performance of the 8 inch driver is ntg to shout out. C3 is more suitable for gaming if u ask me. The woofer of S330 is completely different, it is a dual voice coil 6.5 inch driver,providing cleaner and tighter bass, if u are music lover, this is the speaker for u at RM400 budget . biggrin.gif  There are many S330 user out there and each of them is satisfied with it. u can ask some opinion from them .
Wow..Thank you so much for your oppinion bro. Well, i will be testing it in a week or 2 at LYP. Just wondering which shop have both of them for testing. I have listened to the C3 before and it impresses me. Until i came across a lot of reviews/oppinions mentioning that the S330 is a much better buy compared to C3. Well, i am a gamer + music lover as well. Looking for something that will be good on both sides tongue.gif Anyway, as said, probably gotta test it out myself before making a decision but thanks alot for your oppinion smile.gif

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Aug 19 2009, 11:09 PM)
Nice describing... sweet and wet...  brows.gif  brows.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

agree on that tho..

I think s330 sounds generally better. I find c3 sounds more sweet than s330 when auditioning it a few times...
S330 for me sounds more flat-ish AT THE SHOPS. Only drawback s330 has is, cannot fine tune the treble level...

Most shop like to put c3 at the bottom of the display rack.

Those speaker at the bottom can use wall behind and the floor underneath as a 90 degree corner to boost the bass. Just like how we put our woofers at a left/right corner...
This time its the floor and the wall behind it create a 90 degree reflector...

And they like to put s330 at chest-level... so the woofer only the back wall to boost the bass. No 90 degree corner. Plus the satellite put so near each ...

haih, can't someone design better display racks ><
Thanks for the oppinion as well. Gotta ask them to put both on the floor to test i guess tongue.gif Does Edifier at LYP allow us to test it? Do they have both models? Gotta find a shop that have both of them to test them out though.

This post has been edited by akachester: Aug 20 2009, 09:13 AM
akachester
post Aug 24 2009, 10:22 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Aug 20 2009, 11:46 AM)
Most of the shop selling it, u can go Sri computer in Low yat Plaza to test S330 and C3 coz they has been put together in a same rack . ( not sure got change or not ) easy for u to test biggrin.gif
Well, just gotten the C3 instead yesterday tongue.gif Tested both of them at ALL IT, Ikano and kinda like the sound of the C3 more. So i picked that instead. But thanks for your help anyway smile.gif
akachester
post Aug 24 2009, 01:16 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Aug 24 2009, 11:05 AM)
cool
tell us more about the performance after you burn-in the speakers
Now, then i have another question. How long do we need to burn-in the speakers?

Well, initial test (before burn-in) was that my previous AL ACS45.1 seems to suit my taste more. Bassy when you need it but also crisp clear. The C3 wise, the bass are not that good as compared to my previous one but treble is good enough for me. smile.gif Pairing it with my Audigy 2 though. Not sure whether i need a better sound card or not tongue.gif
akachester
post Aug 25 2009, 08:43 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Aug 24 2009, 03:09 PM)
there's one part here shows you how others burn-in their speakers
here

but you can play music or any sound when you burn-in
just don't put it LOUD once you bought them brand new
Alright. Thanks alot. Will start "burning" it tonight and see whether the sound are better or not smile.gif Weird thing about the C3 is that the damn remote control have 2 volume buttons. I wonder why tongue.gif
akachester
post Aug 27 2009, 09:09 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Aug 25 2009, 03:38 PM)
as zs said, need time to burn in liao... i listen to my new R501 day by day i realized there are some differences between new and not-new.
that is why sometimes i like to buy second speaker in good condition, because totally burnt already. lol

anyway, the remote, i saw it. its indeed good, because some people like me like to adjust + & - volume frequently. so if one button spoilt, u still have spare button. laugh.gif
Yea, coming to my third day of burning in at the moment. Gonna turn up the volume abit more tonight and slowly burn it. smile.gif Hopefully it does not dissapoint tongue.gif

Well, at first, i thought the remote was so weird, allowing me to control left and right side speaker seperately. Until i realise, they are actually controlling the same thing. Oh well, better than nothing tongue.gif
akachester
post Sep 2 2009, 09:54 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(B u B u @ Aug 31 2009, 07:10 PM)
my ears are geographically seperated from the showroom, which is why the reason I'm asking here.
Well, i tried them side by side before i made my purchase. Tested them at ALL IT, Ikano. Pretty sure they can do side by side testing in LYP as well. I prefer the C3 more. But many people had been recommending the S330 which at the same time, aint bad either. That is why the oppinion varries and no one can tell you which one will fit you more. I am no bass head, thus, i have chosen the C3 which sounds sharper to me, with less bass as compared to the S330.

Anyway, just an update. Burned my C3 for about a week now and starting to feel the difference. Bass is much better compared to the first time and starting to enjoy it very much smile.gif

0.0208sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:13 AM