PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V2, Comparison and advice needed...

Proclaimer
post Jan 17 2009, 09:20 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(MusashiX @ Jan 17 2009, 07:03 AM)
i just bought myself logitech x 230 after reading a staggeringly positive reviews from Amazon UK. Why UK cos these people are a hi fi connoiseur and they have more separates system than the rest of the world. So when it comes to sound system trust the brits.

Cheap, presentable, non invasive (small sized) yet superb sound and neat build quality. Im an audiophile so i have quite a few system at home as benchmark but i find that these small speakers emit a  faboulus sound for my desktop considering the price. Forget sonic gear or ediifier, they look so ahbengs.U can also forget altec lansing or creative cos IMO, they look a bit dodgy but hey, we are all unique.

However, as alternatives, after days of extensive research online and visual inspections at Lowyat plaza, i found that logitech speakers are always neatly designed.  In order to get best value for your $$$, these are the Price range and recommended system for a 2.1.

< RM150 - Logitech x 210 (rm129)
<RM300 - Logitech x 230 ( not 240 cos they sound worse and i mean a distant second than 230 - Rm160)
<Rm400 - Klipsch Promedia GMX (rm399)
<Rm600 - Logitech z 2300 THX (rm500++)

But Why spend more when you can have excellent sound from x 230?  blush.gif they got the bass, nice treble and respectale midrange execution. Stocks in most shop in LYP are running out (they are oold speakers but logitech still produces em cos u know y) so you better hurry if you wanna grab one. drool.gif

You may want to audition them first before buying cos we are all unique in taste. Good luck.
u recommend z2300...? And u call ur self an audiophile... laugh.gif shakehead.gif The highs on this speaker is really lacking.. Bass too boomy.. Bla bla..

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Jan 17 2009, 08:33 PM)
wadda? confirm is S330? RM295 is like RM100+ discount from retail price
i will grab one if it's that price! it's even cheaper than C3!!!!
Unless u r living in JB or somewhere near SG i dun think its worth getting.. hmm.gif

Proclaimer
post Jan 18 2009, 03:11 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(MusashiX @ Jan 18 2009, 01:24 AM)

I'm sure people have different views on things they see or noises they hear but can a positive testimony of a few hundreds people (including myself) be used as reference? I'm pretty certain that most people would agree.

The big q is how much we are willing to spend and whether the cost is worth it when all we do is listen to MP3 or gaming or some youtube streaming. 

Well, im here to share, not to show-off or compete whos hearing is better.

Of course there is no end to how much you can pay for impeccable music reproduction. Some lucky people have unlimited fund for their necessities but some unfortunate soul like me ( and probably you) will always be looking for value for money stuff. I call it prudent spending.  laugh.gif

We are all  in complete freedom to buy what we think suit us the most. Best of luck to all ya.
I dun mind what speakers u recommend at all.. But the thing is u call urself an audiophile... To call urself that u gotta have a certain standard.. well mayb that's just me.. biggrin.gif
Proclaimer
post Jan 18 2009, 01:06 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(MusashiX @ Jan 18 2009, 08:34 AM)
Im not quite sure of your motive but im pretty sure (maybe) you have a high end speaker system which emits top of the line audio quality but maybe thats unaffordable to some of us here. In a way, we love to belittle others do we?

Try to read between the lines. suppose we set the standard higher but then that would only benefit only a few of us here than the masses would it?

Flexibility to appreciate quality audio at certain price ceiling matters. thats why various reccommendations at different price range. I have a few equipments for different purposes but lets not go there. No such thing as single ultimate speaker system.

In Malaysia unfortunately, almost everything from cars to hi-fi are grossly overpriced and our economy is in a very difficult situation..hence the need to knw best value your money could buy. Dont you think so? again, im just sharing to help some of us here. To some who were offended with my recommendations, my utmost apology ya.  smile.gif
1st no.. I don't own rm200k speakers.. And no i do like to belittle others..If u don't set a higher standart when others are goin to follow..?

Again i never did say ur recommendation of speakers was wrong but when u claim urself an audiophile everything changes if u kno what i mean..

Oh well i might have sounded abit offensive at first and if i did i apologize and like chew86 said.. Back to recommendations.. biggrin.gif
Proclaimer
post Jan 20 2009, 08:47 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(yen262 @ Jan 20 2009, 06:27 PM)
I am interested in Creative Gigaworks T3!But cannot find it in Lowyat...
Where can get the Creative Gigaworks T3?and how much is it? hmm.gif
I haven't seen 1 also.. perhaps you need to order it..
Its about rm600 if not mistaken..

QUOTE(zerorulez @ Jan 20 2009, 07:43 PM)
thx.. which shop at LYP carry the s330
Most shops do... All it, thundermatch, sri com..

This post has been edited by Proclaimer: Jan 20 2009, 08:48 PM
Proclaimer
post Jan 21 2009, 11:57 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(yen262 @ Jan 21 2009, 05:31 PM)
If compare the Gigawork T3 with Altec MX5021,which one would be better choice?
T3 focused for music.. Very detailed..

MX5021 good for movies and games..

I would say go for the T3 if u have the cash to spare.. smile.gif
Proclaimer
post Feb 3 2009, 01:39 AM

1,150 posts

THX certified dosen't make the speaker any better that its competitors..

MX5021 is good for movies and games coz of its more boomy woofer.. While for music tighter bass such as from edifier is much better..

For 730D i would say there is recessed mid-range but if paired with a good soundcard its barely noticeable.. Havent audition T3 yet so no comment on that..
Proclaimer
post Feb 3 2009, 03:35 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(kayden @ Feb 3 2009, 03:29 AM)
I notice no1 yet asked bout logitech's z2300 performance. How does this THX certified babe compare to Edifier S530D??

z2300 on paper,

z2300 bass too boomy, lacking in high range sound.. Ok for gaming and movies but a no no for music..

For me S530D wins hands down coz its better overall.

Proclaimer
post Feb 3 2009, 11:12 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(Razzd @ Feb 3 2009, 09:03 AM)

For RM300, buy the Edifier S330/S2.1M (revised price)

Is there a price cut in Malaysia also..? Seems only SG have price cut ATM.. hmm.gif
Proclaimer
post Mar 30 2009, 01:37 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Mar 29 2009, 11:01 PM)
hi all...why does my m3400 subwoofer feel like it wana explode when i turn up the volume on tight bass songs? like the woofer produce some crunchy sound

...and the blue colour light on the remote control and front of woofer become dimmer when the bass hits lik boom boom boom then the light will (dim dim dim). Is it underpower?

Cos even when i play mariah carey songs slightly loud the woofer seems like it cannot take it, dont say other genre like hip hop, the woofer wana explode lik that!

any way to improve or solve this problem?

my woofer knob is about 65% full
m3400 is not meant to blast songs anyways.. Guess its time to upgrade.. Haha..

Bout the controller gets dimmer when there's heavy bass, i also experienced it with my previous S2.1M..
Proclaimer
post Apr 5 2009, 08:55 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Apr 5 2009, 07:49 PM)
damn, tomorrow im going to singapore without any speaker there. will then move house somemore.... nearly cannot survive with built-in laptop speaker.

any 2.1 speakers within ~200SGD? (500-600RM)
i am thinking of the Klipsch GMX (260$), Altec MX5021 (220$), Edifier C3 (180$) and AEGO M (222$). have auditioned all, but since this is for movie and gaming, i think aego m will be out.

GMX are excellent, but its too big and heavy, i'll be moving house couple of times in the near future (20kg). C3 are also too big, 16.6kg. hence thinking about the MX5021. big but dunno how heavy.

any other speaker? and, no Z2300. thx smile.gif
creative T3.. thumbup.gif
Proclaimer
post Apr 8 2009, 02:56 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Apr 7 2009, 02:00 PM)
Logitech Z5500 will pawn Razer Mako of coz. Razer Mako is gd in term of design only I guess xD Since you're going to watch movies, gaming and listening to music with the speakers, you should go for Logitech Z5500 with no doubt.
QUOTE(zs3889 @ Apr 7 2009, 06:25 PM)
IMO razer is only a new brand in speaker field, they are main in gaming accessories, just get a z5500 without considering if you can reach the budget.
Mako SQ is actually very2 good.. Very good highs.. Smooth feeling.. Z5500 will probably pawn mako in terms of power but in terms of SQ there might be more to it..

Added on April 8, 2009, 2:58 am
QUOTE(hapa @ Apr 8 2009, 01:21 AM)
hi.. need some suggestion or recommendation...

i need a new speaker set.. prefer 2.0 but 2.1 oso can coz my budget is quite low.. max around 300...

currently eyeing creative t20 but unfortunately is kinda expensive, rm400 price tag..
and altec lansing VS4121, price around rm200 plus but it is a 2.1 system (this will be my last choice if none meet my requirement)

how about creative t3?? price?? performance??
creative t10???
or any others suggestion tat meet my requirement...

thx everyone notworthy.gif
dude.. You can get a refurbished/rejected cosmetic T20 set for below rm200 in garage sales..
Got money go for T3.. rm600

This post has been edited by Proclaimer: Apr 8 2009, 02:58 AM
Proclaimer
post Apr 10 2009, 06:14 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Apr 10 2009, 03:10 PM)
i oso already tested s530d at pc spec...seriously im disapointed with the saound actually....in my house got R501,altec cs21 and Mx5021...all cheaper than s530d but seriously the sound is much more better...i cant feel s530d bass...kit2(owner of pc spec) is my fren so he let me examine it kaw2..so i test few type of songs...bass,clarity....the clarity ok but the bass...it is not what i expected for 8 inch woofer....

y like dat? now im confuse dy to buy high end edifier or not...
You sure or not dude...? SQ wise S530D pawns Mx5021 la.. I've tested it side by side.. U tested with 64kbps song izzit...? sweat.gif
Proclaimer
post Apr 18 2009, 10:11 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(shinzhizu @ Apr 18 2009, 10:54 AM)
just want to ask where confirm got Edifier S730? lowyat and digital mall there? which shop got and can i get their contact no? coz my friend want to buy and they live in kelana jaya..damm far
Then go to Digital mall.. All it top floor have it..
Proclaimer
post Apr 21 2009, 08:54 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Apr 21 2009, 06:21 PM)
Sonic Gear? Haha, their policy=buy now, regret later smile.gif
Ouch.. Their product still needs alot improvement.. Go and try out in shops and compare with other brands and you guys will know why..
Proclaimer
post Apr 22 2009, 01:31 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Apr 22 2009, 01:14 AM)
Oh ? now i only know about Sonic Gear..look cool ya?! but ...haaa..you see how important is the reviews..haaaa..then Edifier seems still the best choice in terms of SQ and design yo?
There is no such thing as the best.. Though Edifier is certainly good.. Like xk2 said.. Trust your ears.. If you cant tell the diff between Edifier and sonic gear then get the cheaper 1 will do.. biggrin.gif

Like for me.. I still love my S330 even though i've tested S530D and S730.. Though like the power from these huge speakers.. drool.gif
So in the end its still up to you to decide..
Proclaimer
post May 12 2009, 02:50 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ May 12 2009, 01:55 AM)
Ah yea, forgotten the prime question.
Classicals, pop or all ranges. No bassy music for me. biggrin.gif
Some reviews claim that T3 is much better than Aego M.. But T3 is not available in malaysia.. Some one should make a bulk la.. sad.gif
Proclaimer
post May 13 2009, 02:10 PM

1,150 posts

lol dude.. More expensive dosen't mean better quality la.. sweat.gif Some are just overpriced..
Proclaimer
post May 16 2009, 11:36 PM

1,150 posts

Haha.. Yeah good soundcard definitely make alot of difference... Expensive speaker with onboard soundcard is a waste..
Proclaimer
post May 19 2009, 12:45 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ May 19 2009, 12:43 PM)
Maybe you're basshead...actually C3 not bad, just because you feel the bass weak. But if you can find the spot properly C3 bass is suifficient, you can try plug it to your TV or DVD player and you'll blown away by it. I wonder why my C3 sound better when using it wih my PS2 rather than my PC? is my Realtek ALC888 really suck?
Yes it does.. laugh.gif
Proclaimer
post May 21 2009, 04:30 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 21 2009, 01:13 AM)
but some said is the vibration/shaking that cause by the subwoofer will damage the HDD and lense hmm.gif
There is a chance.. As HDD is prone to vibration..

0.0612sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:37 AM