Lenovo ThinkPad & IdeaPad Reviews thread, You guys can shares your stuffs here šŸ˜

BeastX
post Oct 19 2019, 06:37 AM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(splua333 @ Oct 19 2019, 02:40 AM)
Just receive E495 which order on 7th Oct
Everything after upgrade, price 50%

processor : Ryzen 7 3700U (upgrade from Ryzen 5 3500U)
RAM : 1 dimm 8G DDR4 (web customize from 1x4G to 1x8G, self add 1 more dimm of 16G DDR4)
HDD : none
NVME : Samsung PM981a 256G NVME
LCD : 14" FHD IPS (upgrade from TN 1366x768)
power adapter : 65w (free upgrade from 45w)
other spec still default as website

final price RM2349.50 vs RM3054.35 now

not include the sleeve bag (RM1) and mouse (RM1)
RAM upgraded by myself (add 16G DDR4)

next week will replace the wireless card to intel card AC9260

overall of this laptop.....

good
-super snappy to use. Ryzen 7 + NVME + dual channel RAM after self upgrade
-overall heat of laptop is ok, can feel abit heat on upper side (after the Q row keyboard)
-Rapid charge is the main point to upgrade
-keyboard just like x230, but abit abit harder to press
-IO that i need for work and it has all (USB x 3, HDMI, RJ45, USB-C, MicroSD card reader)

bad
-sharp edge on palm rest area
-heavy (compare my mighty x230+9cell)
-no backlite keyboard option
-super high CP rate of Thinkpad series although Eseries is low range

advice

-Processor
Not a must to upgrade to Ryzen 7. i upgrade it because the upgrade cost doesn't much....

-LCD
LCD MUST upgrade to IPS FHD, no regret

-RAM
RAM upgrade not a must if you know DIY, few screw only to open the whole D panel.
Kingston HyperX 16G DDR4 i bought in RM276 include shipping
(Was adding RM200 to upgrade from 4G to single slot 8G DDR4, although final price of this upgrade is 50%, but still not worth)

-Wifi
From review, the realtek card is xxxx
But there is no option to change it from web, so DIY only (abit regret that intel AX200 is same price as i bought AC9260, which AX200 is wifi6)

-NVME
just upgrade to NVME, no regret (HDD option i choose dummy harddrive, add below RM100 to get NVME 256G
(lucky to get Samsung PM981 NVME, not Lite-on NVME. speed different so much)
(self change can be more worth, every thing put default and get the NVME you want... Cost should lower if compare u customize in web)
I got the E595 instead.... w Ryzen7 also...

You should have match your RAM for the full dual channel mode...your 24GB system should be running flex mode if not single channel.... either total up to16GB or 32GB.
With 50% off the 8GB upgrade was RM100...and the 16GB upgrade was RM200....worth it in my opinion.

My system is currently at 32GB....@1866MHz speeds....currently searching for ways to force it to at least 2400MHz (if possible).

Also running w 1TB or Adata 8200pro....

Will upgrade to AX200 WiFi as you pointed out.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Oct 19 2019, 08:28 AM
BeastX
post Oct 19 2019, 09:14 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(splua333 @ Oct 19 2019, 08:46 AM)
Running 8G + 16G now with dual channel show in CPUZ. Will upgrade to 16+16 after my colleague pc is coming (default 4G only)

Default 4G ram, upgrade to 16G ram (1slot) cost RM600 in system
For E595 during the 50% off...4Gb to 16GB stick only cost RM200....

This post has been edited by BeastX: Oct 19 2019, 09:17 AM
BeastX
post Oct 19 2019, 09:17 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 19 2019, 09:12 AM)
E595 maximums can upgrade to 32gb or 16+16gb ram.
I assume one could even push it to 64Gb... but speed/timings may drop even further....
BeastX
post Oct 19 2019, 05:03 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 19 2019, 04:56 PM)
E495 or E595?
E495
BeastX
post Nov 1 2019, 10:20 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 31 2019, 10:24 PM)
Ya almost there , if ur laptop come with Samsung PM981a has much better than the pm981 only.

Got this from X395
Adata 1TB 8200pro... on E595

This post has been edited by BeastX: Nov 1 2019, 10:20 AM
BeastX
post Nov 18 2019, 10:48 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(JungWoo @ Nov 18 2019, 08:18 AM)
Yoga can do light gaming?
QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 18 2019, 08:19 AM)
I don’t think so.. integrated graphic can ?
QUOTE(JungWoo @ Nov 18 2019, 08:26 AM)
Kenot...which model lines comes with gpu?
With this year's release....

Actually Yoga C940 (15) can.... it comes with a discreet GTX1650... not on Lenovo MY yet....

If you could still source the yoga 730 (15).... it comes with a GTX1050 4GB

p.s. Benefon's C940 is a 14 inch ice-lake....

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 18 2019, 08:46 AM)
ThinkBook can selection the AMD GPU,
ThinkPad E14, and T490 MX250 or Yoga S740 (15) or X1 X1 Extreme or Legion gaming laptop only.
Yoga S740 (15) is basically a C940 (15) that actually doesn't do Yoga (360)...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Nov 18 2019, 10:55 AM
BeastX
post Nov 18 2019, 11:05 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 18 2019, 10:55 AM)
New release yesterday I think.
Yoga S740 15 inch come with dedicated GPU.

https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/yoga/y...H/p/88YGS701211
Yes a Yoga that doesn't do Yoga.....
BeastX
post Nov 18 2019, 11:14 AM

5,987 posts

Lenovo adverts....

BeastX
post Nov 18 2019, 11:18 AM

5,987 posts

BeastX
post Nov 20 2019, 08:28 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 19 2019, 11:38 PM)
Just got the T13s on hand right now.

So, you have three TB 13s(s) on hand...?
BeastX
post Nov 20 2019, 05:52 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 19 2019, 11:32 PM)
Damn today so busy to unboxing my Yoga S730
Today I unboxed my Yoga C740 (15):

C740(15), 10210U, 8GB, 512GB, 250nits FHD, on top of my E595

802.11ax wifi, lots of empty unused space (could have easily added another 10Wh battery), heavy at 1.8kg, only upgradable ssd and wifi card. soldered on RAM, no TB3 (unlike yoga 730),
Only advantage would be 2 fans for greater cooling efficiency. Solid built though.

Same board used in the 14" (below) with a few alternate connectors used:

Default SSD speeds.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Nov 20 2019, 05:58 PM
BeastX
post Nov 20 2019, 06:28 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 20 2019, 06:21 PM)
BeastX

Feel like ram with aluminium cover.

I was hopefully to for a free slot.... however the RAM cover on the C740 is only 6 cm in length... while a typical SODIMM without the slot is 7cm...

C740's rams are running dual channel.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Nov 21 2019, 07:18 AM
BeastX
post Nov 20 2019, 06:37 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 20 2019, 05:54 PM)

But this unit selling around 3.6k right?
Malaysia at 3.9k... US same specs at around 3.3k (-USD100 promo)

This post has been edited by BeastX: Nov 20 2019, 06:37 PM
BeastX
post Nov 22 2019, 08:20 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Nov 20 2019, 05:52 PM)
Today I unboxed my Yoga C740 (15):

C740(15), 10210U, 8GB, 512GB, 250nits FHD, on top of my E595
I jumped the gun with the wrong conclusion.... The LCD panel I got was actually the "VESA400 HDR with Dolby Visionā„¢3, Touchscreen, 500 nits"....indeed a nice unexpected surprise when I cranked up to brightness to the max...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Nov 22 2019, 08:21 PM
BeastX
post Nov 25 2019, 01:32 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(glauncher @ Nov 25 2019, 12:53 PM)

thinking of buying a Lenovo notebook to replace my Surface Pro 4. I have some questions as this is my first purchase of Lenovo product.

1) Is customer service and support of Lenovo Malaysia ok?

2) Whats the difference between Thinkbook 14s and Thinkbook 14?

3) Is there any shop in Penang which I can see the demo?
ThinkBook 14s:
Whiskey Lake
1 SODIMM slot
Radeon 540X 2GB
1 NVME M2

ThinkBook 14: << though not available on the Lenovo MY site, not shipped/in market yet.
Comet Lake
8GB soldered + 1 free slot (dual channel)<<assumed
Radeon 625 4GB
1 NVME M2 + 1 SATA

45Wh battery with 2 drives, 57Wh battery with the NVME drive only.

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 25 2019, 12:58 PM)
Except weight and graphic card wise maybe is battery.
14 can able to use type C charger , 14s must be use the slim tips
Actually: Both 14 and 14s has slim-tip power ports.... and both has one usb-c 3.1 gen2 (10Gbps) that can do power delivery too, 14s however has an extra usb-c 3.1 gen1 (5Gbps)...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Nov 25 2019, 01:50 PM
BeastX
post Dec 4 2019, 04:30 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Dec 4 2019, 04:14 PM)
Latest price :  drool.gif  drool.gif

Well, your previous price actually has the UHD screen and the highest-end 15W ice-lake w G7 graphics + MX250
BeastX
post Jan 25 2020, 11:54 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(jenglots @ Jan 23 2020, 09:03 AM)
I am having issue with ac charging via usbc after windows upgrade on t470. The port is working as it can detect my other usbc device. Anyone experience similar issue?
In case you didn't read the other thread:
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Recent-Lenovo...s.451061.0.html
BeastX
post Jan 26 2020, 03:22 PM

5,987 posts

Lenovo update on TB3
BeastX
post Jan 30 2020, 01:56 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(cookieamos @ Jan 30 2020, 01:06 AM)
hi all sifu,

which one would u all suggest to pick ? Lenovo Yoga C740 (14) vs S740 (14)
both model I will choose for I7-processor.
C740:
Touch with Pen, 360 screen, comet-lake...Poor Integrated Graphics (IG), No TB3

S740:
Non-touch, 180 screen, ice-lake... Better IG, has TB3, option to have MX250 GPU...

c740 only has the Touch/Pen advantage.... with Malaysia's price...S740 is cheaper and better in almost everything else...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jan 30 2020, 02:04 PM
BeastX
post Mar 3 2020, 08:00 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Mar 3 2020, 02:11 PM)
2018 ideapad 310, use few time every month and now the battery capcacity is only 1/3 from original state. can power on 50 minutes only.

why ideapad battery so fast degrade ? anyone got contact for battery seller ?
You can try aliexpress...

Li-ion have a limited number of charge cycles....battery typically last 3 years... (Not 5)...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Mar 4 2020, 07:56 AM

0.0180sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:22 PM