Dog Lover Mamaktiam! V2!, A Place For Dog Lovers To Gossip...

Syrian
post Aug 12 2007, 10:25 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Aug 12 2007, 10:13 PM)
erm......i think the spray is useless la..since u all tried b4  n its useless....haha......neva heard any1 say tat spray is useful b4
Yaya ... conclusion is the housebreaking aid is useless laugh.gif
Syrian
post Aug 12 2007, 10:46 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Aug 12 2007, 10:42 PM)
pets wonderland i think also don sell already those housebreaking aids..coz i haven seen them since i bought my furkid...
they are only selling those spray that will help us keep our furkids away from certain ares or prevent them from biting stuff...
Owh .. no need to buy tongue.gif. If u wanna prevent ur dog from biting certain stuffs .. jz put pure pepper on them OR rub some cili padi on them laugh.gif
Syrian
post Aug 13 2007, 08:33 AM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Aug 12 2007, 10:53 PM)
har syrian...thats how u keep Hepy away from the wiring thingy??
the others actually also suggested this, and actually i wanted to try your method on his poo playing problem..but then i was afraid it would hurt his taste bud..
Hepy is kinda guai. He didn't bite my things or mess up any of my stuffs before wor tongue.gif. Last week was his first time pulling out my notebook and torn it into pieces and that was during midnite when my bf was sleeping. I was back in my hometown for a week. Then when my bf woke up, he saw Hepy still playing with it, he jz took da book and smack his ass. Then scold him loud loud. So, now when he sees the book, he's not sked BUT when he saw us swinging the book high up, he'll get sked and run into his cage to hide laugh.gif. Last time he used to bite my box but I scold him lor. Jz like wud digitral mentioned, raised ur tone and show him ur angry face. It works for my dog but doesn't work for every dog. U need to keep trying new methods until u found one which suits ur dog.

QUOTE(Digitral @ Aug 12 2007, 11:56 PM)
Actually when u see Mikey play with his own poo then u just straight away say ' NO '
a voice of tone from you which is a unhappy voice tone may help ur Mikey know you are unhappy with his attitude which is play it own poo .
slowly Mikey will get the message too
If me, I'll say "noooo, you dirty little dog!! Bad boy!!!" and then wash him and put him into cage laugh.gif. I think raising tone is a way to sked ur dog. U need to let ur dog noe when u're angry, sad, happy thru ur tone. Let him get used to it. Needs time.

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Aug 13 2007, 12:14 AM)
Casper knows how to pee on the papers already but some times, when he hold it in too long and too far away from papers (downstairs), he will just whack off somewhere like upstairs or etc. For example, today I shower him in the bathroom, he dont pee. As soon as we finish and I dry him, he run off to his cage but then pee outside the cage - I dont know if he did it purposely or he cannot tahan but I let it pass.

I want to try this method but then have to wake up early to encourage him to do his business. What if he doesnt do it? I need to leave house at 8.30am for work. What time should I wake up to 'encourage' him to shee shee?? Lol!!

Syrian, share with us your lifestyle abit about how you deal with this technique. I am curious to know.
Up to u one ma. For me, no timing one laugh.gif. He can control his bladder quite well now but not perfect yet coz he's only 6 months old. When I wake up (no time one), let him out from cage. Guide him to the tray and say "hepy, go shee shee". Then he will surely wanna come out one, i jz say "stay" and he stood at the tray staring at me. If he pee, give him lotsa treats and sayang him (i rubbed his neck hard hard laugh.gif ). If within 10 min, he still din pee, I will say "come, boy" and play with him for a while lor. Then give him lotsas water to drink. Then repeat again, go back to tray to shee shee. Repeat and repeat until he peed. Sometimes it took me 1 hour plus for him to pee sweat.gif. If u need to go to work at 830am, maybe u wake up 1.5 hour earlier to start the training b4 u leave ur house ?? Jz suffer for few weeks and u'll get the rewarding results.

After he peed in the morning, then afternoon or everytime after he played and drank some water, 5 min later, I'll asssist him to the tray to shee shee again lor tongue.gif. When he peed in the cage, I'll jz scold him and point my finger at him while nagging loudly at him laugh.gif. For my case, it's a bit easier to teach him coz he's sked when I raise my voice.
Syrian
post Aug 13 2007, 03:07 PM

2,761 posts

eeeeekkkkkkkk .. Taro is so cute!!! Look at his expressionless face laugh.gif. So cute!
Syrian
post Aug 13 2007, 04:21 PM

2,761 posts

Taro looks like he kenot lift his eyes up laugh.gif. His eye lids looked so heavy ..ha hahahaahha .. Cute fella !! How old is Taro now ??
Syrian
post Aug 15 2007, 09:30 AM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Aug 15 2007, 12:26 AM)
he dowan eat..empty stomach den owez vomit bile..
dunno wats wrong wif him..
Ic. Ask the vet lor the next time u bring him there or if too worried, bring to vet immediately. Can't help you much coz I've never experience this myself.

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Aug 15 2007, 07:53 AM)
Hi guys,

I have been wanting to post this question for a while but always forgot when I come in to chat.

Casper has two issues now.
1. He likes to bite his treats or sleep on the newspaper where he is supposed to do his business!! More often than not, he wont sleep on his pillow / cage but prefer to sleep on newspaper.  However, once he had done his business there, he would stay away from it. Is there any way I can encourage him to eat his treat / sleep nearer to the cage side or on the pillow instead because of hygienic purposes?

2. Whenever I call Casper to come to me and sit, he would sit with his back facing me (means he will face whatever direction I am facing). Some people tell me this is a sign of submission. Others tell me that he lansi me, giving me the back. Is there any way to train him, come sit face-to-face? Does it mean submission or lansi actually?

Please advise.
Issue 1 : Be stern to him and scold him or smack his hind leg if needed whenever you see him to that. As long as he's not sleeping on the newspaper, then it should be fine where he wanna sleep ma. If I were you, I'll scold him "no" and see how he reponses to it lor. If he's still very stubborn, I'll start to smack his ass or hind leg and at the same time, say "no, you bad boy!". I will repeat and repeat and repeat until he gets the idea that if he sleep on newspaper, his ass will open flower tongue.gif. But when I see him pee/poo on newspaper, then I'll sayang him and give him a hug and give him lotsa treats. Why? Coz I don't want to discourage him from pee/poo-ing on newspaper as he might get the wrong concept that he should not go near the newspapers. That's what I would do personally lar tongue.gif. Wait for others to reply you .. hehe.

Issue 2: No idea ... hahaha. Maybe it's submission ? laugh.gif.

Syrian
post Aug 15 2007, 11:07 AM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Aug 15 2007, 10:51 AM)
haha my pups does worst than Casper leh..
when u call them to come in front u n sit down, they'll stay where they are till ur really angry, u walk towards them, den they lay down instead of sit down.
(@*#&)!(*@&P!*
WUAAHAAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAAAA laugh.gif
Syrian
post Aug 16 2007, 09:40 AM

2,761 posts

digitral is so successful in training lui lui. I wanna teach Hepy roll over and play dead ler. Anyone any idea how to teach in an effective way?? Hepy gets so excited when he sees snacks - he can't even roll on the floor laugh.gif
Syrian
post Aug 16 2007, 05:40 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Aug 16 2007, 03:22 PM)
i'll put inside a plastic bag, wrap den throw downstairs garbage there ma..y throw in da kitchen where u know there're dogs in da house n dog loves blood?

after that incident, jack2 would bark at her whenever she comes home till she move away..haha..
Ur ex-housemate is a sickening person lar!! Why cincai throw her used pad in kitchen one ?? So gross and unhygienic!! Some more jack jack go and chew *PUKE* shocking.gif .

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Aug 16 2007, 03:49 PM)
last time he owez go n sniff da girl's private part lor when she's walking around da house.. lol..
Syrian
post Aug 17 2007, 08:35 AM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Aug 17 2007, 12:52 AM)
Woo hooo... I'm so happie!! I just want to share with you guys that I have managed to teach Casper bang bang!!! He knows how to lie down one side with his head down already!!
jaunty,
So did you rescue the kitty later on? I hope you dont get into fights with your boyfriend, etc. I've seen couple break-up because of reasons like this.

I'm sure he meant no harm. If can help, try to help la. God bless and thank you!
Yerrr .. nice !!! How did u teach bang bang ?? Share share tongue.gif. I wanna teach hepy to play dead too!!
Syrian
post Aug 17 2007, 09:32 AM

2,761 posts

i tried to teach him bang .. i asked him to "down" .. then i turn his body and say "bang"! THen give him treats. When i turned his body down liao, then i say "bang", he will put his head down and raise up his leg a bit. But when i asked him to "down" again and ask him to "bang", he still didn't get the concept. He gave me his "hand" sweat.gif. I tried it for 30 minutes until my saliva also dried up rclxub.gif
Syrian
post Aug 17 2007, 04:52 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ Aug 17 2007, 09:57 AM)
i feel better to teach Hepy master roll over 1st only Play dead. ( Just my 2 cents anyway )  wink.gif
very difficult to make his body roll. His legs are so stiff sweat.gif. It's easier when I make him fall off and drop dead instead of rolling over tongue.gif.
Syrian
post Aug 22 2007, 12:38 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Aug 21 2007, 11:02 PM)
I manage to buy a bee-design shirt for Casper yesterday for RM22 discount 10%, makes that RM19.80 from a pet-store in Klang.

Here are some of the picts I took. The shirt comes with a hood and two tiny thing pointing up on the head, like the bee antenna? Dunno what its called but its hard to have him wear the hood all times cause he will shake it off.

[attachmentid=282253]

[attachmentid=282254]

[attachmentid=282255]
Yo .. finally u managed to find the bee design shirt!!! Casper looks nice in it icon_rolleyes.gif. I like the hood with the two antenna pointing up .. hehehe. Looks cute!! Hepy only got the bee design shirt sweat.gif. Everytime i go out, i wanna buy new shirts for him but my bf dun let. He said waste money doh.gif

QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Aug 21 2007, 11:20 PM)
Angel looks pretty ladylike in that hat smile.gif

this is mikey in his hoodie biggrin.gif
its still a little oversize now..so i cant let him wear more often yet sweat.gif

[attachmentid=282264]
[attachmentid=282265]
[attachmentid=282266]
The shirt is so huge for mickey laugh.gif !!!! How much is it ?
Syrian
post Aug 22 2007, 01:34 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Aug 22 2007, 01:16 PM)
MIKEY!!!,,,, vmad.gif ...not mickey mouse...hehehe

Added on August 22, 2007, 1:19 pmcomin christmas i oso wanna get mikey a santa hat...the 1 luilui wearing really so nice....
if got merdeka hat sure nice...ill go n get 1 n celebrate merdeka wit him..
Hahahahahahaahahahahahaha!!!! Then how u pronounce his name?? "maiki" ma? Or pronounce like "mickey mouse" ?
Syrian
post Aug 26 2007, 10:59 AM

2,761 posts

niel, dun worry so much. Last time when I first took Hepy to the shop for full grooming .. then come home liao, he also cried. He kept whining and he looked so down and sad. He kept dogding his head and dun dare to look at us and dun want to play with anyone - run into his cage to hide. I said he is very handsome after grooming biggrin.gif. Then I kept playing with him, give him treats, etc. U see him now ar .. when I full groom him myself ar, he's so hyper icon_rolleyes.gif. He will sit quietly / stand properly at the chair for me to groom him... heheh. Then while I'm grooming him ar, can see his tail wagging one laugh.gif
Syrian
post Aug 28 2007, 08:22 PM

2,761 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Aug 28 2007, 08:13 PM)
We all live in Malaysia, it's best that we do not bring our pet dogs near to any Muslims.

I am not too familiar but I have asked my friend before. He told me that it is said in the Quran that the angels will not visit whoever house that has dog. Or the assumption of dogs can see angels and bark to chase angels (luck) away started then.

I mean if got Malay kids, then bring your dog somewhere else la. Dont go cari pasal with them. When it comes to law in Malaysia, a Muslim versus a dog - you use your brain and think who would win? I think they will say put your dog to sleep. Then what can you REALLY do about it? Please dont tell me run them over with car and etc. Logical answer ok?

So, I say its best to avoid trouble. If we truly love our dog, we should not put them in these unnecessarily nonsensical risk. Besides, if they throw stone at your dog, you should NOT slap / hit them. Remember, in the eyes of the law, hitting people FIRST is considered wrong. I wouldnt know what might happen if you say take self-defense for a dog in this country. I dont even want to imagine.

Avoid is the best. Live in a happy neighbourhood and always supervise your dog in the outdoor rather than having them run around and get into these sort of trouble, totally unnecessary.

Once I brought Casper for grooming at Seapark Pet Supplies and a VERY modern Malay lady (around 20s yrs of age) came in, looking super sexy and bought food for her cat. The shop uncle also said, please hold your dog closely as Malay dont like dogs. The Malay girl look so modern and sexy, wearing hotpants and all but then still dont like mer. So no matter how modernized they are, dont take it for granted. Dogs naturally smell and sometimes tempted to lick them, dogs are forbidden item for Muslim so dont push your luck.

Some people, even Chinese or Indian dont like dogs licking or smelling them because naturally their nose is wet and sometimes they get too close and you're frightened, you moved, touched it - irritated and run off saying AIYERR!! or more drastic respond is to kick your dog. Just like my aunt who came over on Chinese New Year and Casper licked her hand, she freaked out and say Casper is ugly, pariah dog, why buy this dog and etc. And all her comments to pandang-rendah my dog, her own Golden Retriever at home is lagi teruk - stay in the sun 24/7. No communication, no play, dunno basic command, 1 year bath one time (chinese new year time), eat all the leftover by humans, bones, fish bones, vege all campak into a metal bowl and have zero intelligence, yet they dare call my dog pariah. See, not only Muslim hate doggys, some Chinese too (pathetic ones of course).

Very rare may think they are cute and even more rare is to keep them but then if you want to live in this country, I think we have no choice but to abide to their laws unless of course, one day something happen and they want to put your dog to sleep. No matter how disatisfied you feel, it will not bring your furkid back.
Yupe .. I totally agree on Pennywise's advice. Neat and sensible!! When I bring Hepy go out, what I do is, when I see Malays, I'll walk further away a bit. When i bring him to the park, I'll pull him nearer to me (leash him) to avoid the malays. It's better to be safe than finding faults with them coz they'll win. Our law does not provide security for dogs. But i've come across some very modern malays too. A few times at the park where the parents saw hepy and they asked their children to see and they said "so cute". And once at Ikano where a malay daddy actually let her little girl pad pad hepy's head wink.gif . But still, you as a dog owner, jz take precautions and avoid all the hassles larr nod.gif

This post has been edited by Syrian: Aug 28 2007, 08:22 PM

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0491sec    1.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:53 PM