Beware of insurance "savings plans"

Ramjade
post Aug 24 2019, 02:18 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Aug 24 2019, 02:06 PM)
I started working when I was 21 and now 26.

My first job of 4 years had performance incentives and commission. Times were good and I started 3 savings plans introduced by my insurance agent (the plans are from the insurance company itself). The plans are as follows:

After I changed jobs last year (New job dont have incentives and commission. Admittedly this was a financial mistake), I did not get the increment and bonus I expected due to "below average company performance". It looks like it may be the same next year.

Long story short, I predict my total income next year to be just barely enough to cover living costs (and I live quite minimally) and contribute to my savings plans. There may not be surplus (or very little) for emergency funds and unforseen expenses.

I have about RM50,000 in F.D and thinking of putting a portion of them in other investment options.
I am looking around for a better paying job.

In case of a serious emergency I can still withdraw from any of the above savings plans but the lost amount will have a compounded effect on the future cash-out value unless I return the money soon enough.

Would appreciate your advice and feedback on my situation. smile.gif
Forget about it. Use EPF instead.
A. Contribute RM3,600 per year indefinitely. By age 65 I would have contributed around RM150,000 but the plan's cash-out value would be around RM450,000. Will be higher if I let it sit longer.
EPF will give you 588,475.70 at 65 years old

B. Contribute RM12,000 per year for 20 years (total RM240,000). By my mid 40s I will stop contributing but the cash value continues to grow until whenever I close the account. By age 65 the cash-out value is around RM900,000, RM1.1mil at age 70.
EPF will give you 1,532,158.60 at 65 years old

C. Contribute RM15,000 per year for 20 years (total RM360,000). By my mid 40s I will stop contributing but the cash value continues to grow until age 55 where the account matures and closes. Cash-out value is around RM700,000
EPF will give you 1,915,198.22 at 65 years old

Assuming 6% return from EPF.

Ramjade
post Aug 24 2019, 02:50 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Aug 24 2019, 02:45 PM)
Thank you for the eye-opener. But any self-contributed amount cannot be withdrawn until age 55, correct?
Yes. If you Want to do that and able to withdraw anyrime then use promo FD. Earn more or less same with. But can withdraw anytime you need it.
More info on this page
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4154481

For me personally, I like to use amanah saham fixed price fund
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4801114

Avoid those saving plan/retirement plan/insurnace plan being sold to you by banks or insurnace agents as 50% of commision will enter their pocket and you are funding their holiday or next big house.
Ramjade
post Aug 24 2019, 03:01 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Aug 24 2019, 02:56 PM)
I have seen these promos before but never really rang the bells in my head.

I did look at ASNB but since their units are almost never available, maybe time to make iASNB my homepage.

Yup. My agent saw a fresh and naive graduate who knew nothing about finances and took his chance. Now driving new C class and bought bungalow. Every year at least 2-3 Euro trips

Thanks again for making me realise.  notworthy.gif

I still welcome any extra input from others.
Go for those pure FD promos and not those step up/enmark 10-20% into savings account as it will lower your nett interest.

Oh there's unit. 3x a year when they additional units is given to members. That time most people will sell. Can buy during that time. More info are found on asnb link. I like ASNB as it behaves exactly like FD but give higher returns.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 24 2019, 03:03 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 24 2019, 04:22 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Aug 24 2019, 03:17 PM)
The 30k premium is for the savings plan already.

I.e:
My total annual income is barely enough for Living costs + 30k savings plans premium
yeah I'm reading around and studying the best options instead of the 3.x% interest I'm getting now
Do not commit to anything if total annual income barely cover living cost. Keep cash in high interest account or make a 12 month FD ladder (every month you will have FD maturing) Not sure if you have bought your saving plan. If not, don't buy and don't ever think of buying. If bought, see how much you can get by cancelling it. Savings plan usually cannot withdraw as there's heavy penalty associated with it
Why? In the event of an emergency, you cannot cover the emergency + living cost + saving plan. You might be tempted to take up debt. This is the start of a hole you are digging for yourself.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 24 2019, 04:25 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 24 2019, 08:50 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(yenchex @ Aug 24 2019, 08:13 PM)
What do u mean "3x a year they additional units..." When 3x in a year happens?
One fund paid put once a year. If you hold 3 funds you received, payout 3x a year. Date is found in that thread. Lazy to dig. ASNB I amylaking about is for non bumi. Fixed price version.
Ramjade
post Aug 25 2019, 01:02 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(neverfap @ Aug 25 2019, 12:13 PM)
Thank you so much for pointing this out!!!

The agent should be helping the client to get insured and not just with hitting their sales target in mind!

A few of my peers got persuaded in signing multiple saving plans which are very redundant and ended up with no saving and not enough money for daily expenses. Luckily some plans are just a few months old. So the hit is not that big.

To all insurance agents, you are helping your client to get insured according to their background, dependants and financial status and not just to increase your personal income.
Why should they? They are only selling what gives the biggest contribution to their bank account and whatever which float their boat. Never ask a barber whether you need a haircut.
Ramjade
post Aug 27 2019, 02:37 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(yourinfohere @ Aug 27 2019, 01:25 AM)
Ramjade,

If RigerZ in year 2015 is 21 year old, after 44 years, RigerZ 65 year old in year 2058.
If every year RigerZ contributor RM 3600 with yearly 6% dividen.

The RM 3600 when obtain dividen impact the result, so my calculation is RM 715528.91 or RM 677523.60

Can you teach me, how you can get RM 588475.70

I really no what of you, because I thank you always willing share your info and how you do of your money.
Just if I know my wrong, myself not count wrong of my calculation.
Thank you.
Use this. Follow his criteria. For A, B, C.
http://www.moneychimp.com/calculator/compo..._calculator.htm

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 27 2019, 02:39 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 27 2019, 04:52 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(yourinfohere @ Aug 27 2019, 04:47 PM)
Thank you for your reply and link.
Now, my standard only know count A.
B,C don't understand what happen, so just like that.
I use the conditions mentioned by TS in A, B, C. Start contributing, stop contributing and how much money at xx age
Ramjade
post Aug 28 2019, 02:41 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(joe8489 @ Aug 28 2019, 02:12 PM)
amanah saham is for BUMI only right? if non-bumi can buy, how to buy ya?

plz advice...
Got only 3 funds for non bumi. Kindly refer to that specific thread.
Ramjade
post Nov 28 2020, 10:58 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Nov 28 2020, 04:29 PM)
Update:

I confronted my agent about the situation, initially he promised to refund me the full amount I demanded (agent commission + policy surrender losses).
Then he kept delaying and gave excuses for not being able to pay me back, and now he says he will hire his own lawyer if I decide to escalate this to my insurance and/or Bank Negara.

I know my chances are slim since there was nothing illegal or fraudulent in nature, but I do not want to leave this lying down.

I dont see how filing a formal complaint to my insurance will help me get my money back, but I think for record/legal purposes, this should be the next step?

Ramjade MUM neverfap Reventon kbandito  summoning any advice you may have (max can only tag 5 people)
Just surrender the policy and don't get aught again. Use FSM to buy your insurance. At least they got nothing to sell you unlike insurance agents.
Let this be an expensive lesson to you.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 28 2020, 10:59 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 24 2021, 10:43 AM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(Macam Yes @ Mar 24 2021, 09:45 AM)
How life insurance compare to saving plan?
Life insurance is what the name suggests protect your life. In case anything happen to you they payout to your family depending on which life insurance plan you buy.
The more premium you pay, the more the payout. There's a thing call over insurance and under insurance.
Ramjade
post Mar 24 2021, 08:23 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(Macam Yes @ Mar 24 2021, 02:56 PM)
mean if buy medical insurance then better buy standalone 1?
dont buy those insurance investment linked?
Of course.
Ramjade
post Mar 25 2021, 02:16 PM

24,428 posts

QUOTE(Macam Yes @ Mar 25 2021, 01:01 PM)
but it increase around 20-30% for standalone insurance

investment linked will help us pay the premium when reach age 70 right?
Don't get caught by insurance nice word of payout. I am getting minn 6%pa payout before this without insurance. Now I bump it up to 20-40%p.a payout a year. If you learn how to invest, you can create your own payout.

Yes all this without any savings/investment plan.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 25 2021, 02:16 PM

0.0297sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:05 PM