5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Sirius TV

joshhd
post Jan 18 2021, 05:05 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Jan 18 2021, 03:46 PM)
Actually Josh..both is not correct. Initially , we offered  Media Prima our platform FOC but Media Prima wanted Sirius to get Nielsen Rating to review our customer numbers and confirm the numbers before they would allow TV3 or others on our platform. As a new platform , we would not be able to see any numbers as we barely launch our services. Its a chicken or egg situation. We decided that there is no point to work with them and decide to have our own Seri Channel instead. Anyway , we thought that we might be construed as a competitor. As for now , we only work commercially with TV Al-Hijrah as they are willing to work with Sirius on a win-win basis....and they are friendly too. We are still accumulating channels while Measat is managing the HPA problem at our Uplink now.

Opps... notworthy.gif Seems like for private TV stations, indeed they are more concern in the platform's potential viewer reach, more than anything else? Anyway, their channels nowadays are just shopping non-stop almost whole day whistling.gif
QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Jan 18 2021, 03:54 PM)
As for other channels , we are charging channel lease at RM 500K for Year 1 , RM 500K for Year 2 and RM 2.0 Mil for year 3. We are targeting 500,000 Customer each year which is translated into 7% Household penetration. That is the point when the advertising money will start to kick in. We didnt buy as much STB because we wanted to make our Android OTT+S2 Box our main box using Amlogic S905X4 chipset with legal Apps and AV1 Codec.

So in the case of RTM channels, you previously mentioned that TV1, TV2, RTM Sports and Saluran Berita RTM would be available on Sirius TV platform (I assume RTM TV Okey channel wouldn't be available...), so I assume you guys at Sirius TV were initially offer them FOC too? ohmy.gif

You meant by "as for other channels" is where other local FTA stations that wants its channels to be distributed through Sirius TV platform, including Al Hijrah (and maybe future potential ones like Awesome TV and TVS), they have to pay channel leasing fees to Sirius TV of the approx amount of "RM 500K for Year 1 , RM 500K for Year 2 and RM 2.0 Mil for year 3" in general, is that correct?
That price is for HD quality or SD quality? Or it doesn't matter? hmm.gif
We didnt buy as much STB because we wanted to make our Android OTT+S2 Box our main box using Amlogic S905X4 chipset with legal Apps and AV1 Codec.
Talking about the technicalities, would Sirius TV consider using AV1 video codec for its linear for TV broadcasts instead of HEVC video codec, since it saves almost 50% bandwidth over HEVC? Or AV1 isn't possible for linear TV broadcasts yet, or how?
How Sirius TV plans to utilises AV1 video codec onto its services then? For future VOD streaming? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: Jan 18 2021, 05:05 PM
joshhd
post Jan 18 2021, 10:35 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Jan 18 2021, 06:24 PM)
The offered channel leasing price is for SD channel. We are not charging Al-Hijrah as our partnership are on no cost to each other basis.

Sirius platform is on H 264/265 HEVC . Google has determined that from 31st March 21 ..only those with AV1 Codec will get to use their apps. Thats why our Android Box OTT+S2 will be a little bit expensive as the chipset Amlogic S905X4 is not cheap and we still need to add our ABV encryption system.

You mean both H.264 and H.265 HEVC?
Why not 100% HEVC only on all SD and HD channels, since HEVC uses almost 50% lesser bandwidth compared to H.264?
joshhd
post Jan 19 2021, 10:14 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Jan 19 2021, 08:53 AM)
At the moment , it does not matter on bandwidth saving as we have more than sufficient capacity on the 1 transponder at 54 Mhz providing only 12-13 SD channels and 1 HD Channel when we launch. Certain IRD Box provided by the Channel owner are H.264 in spec , thus the reason why we need both H264 and H265.

Hmm then why not transmit all channels in HD quality, since the number of channels won't be a lot at launch? sweat.gif
If offers more 1080p channels takes up too much bandwidth, at least 720p quality is better than SD quality though... hmm.gif

Also, if the particular channel provider offers the channel/content in Dolby 5.1 surround sound, would Sirius TV offers the same to the viewers?
joshhd
post Jan 20 2021, 02:00 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jan 20 2021, 01:37 PM)
I mean, it would be a good filler for Sirius in-house channel to bring the contents instead of getting the channel one.

Erm, I'd rather see more international channels being introduced, rather than another rojak channels. Hahaha...
joshhd
post Jan 20 2021, 05:27 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Jan 20 2021, 02:43 PM)
We do have a lot of International channel such as M1 Global a Fight channel , Techstorm with AI , Shark Tank etc , Outdoor Adventure , NHK , CNA , MNC , Indonesian drama channel , Euronews , etc It makes our Sirius TV feels and touch almost like a foreign station apart our own in house production of News channel , Seri and Bazaar Home Shopping. Its easy for you guys talking about rojak channels and so forth...try putting your own money and you will see how expensive it is..

Sorry Sirius TV 😭😭😭
But thanks for sharing the info with us though biggrin.gif

And also, I know especially those who craving on more Japanese language shows like anime lovers, would love to have channels like Aniplus, WakuWaku Japan, and also Animax and GEM (by KC Global Media)...

Do you think it is possible to carry some of it in near future?
Or like you said, those channels listed above, are too expensive also?
joshhd
post Jan 21 2021, 09:57 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Jan 21 2021, 09:37 PM)
We need to ensure channels are well received because each channel will cost us around 1 Mhz capacity unlike normal FTA...However , we are currently engaging with Zee TV Entertainment to acquire 1 Hindi channel.

I thought Sirius TV have lease one whole 54MHz transponder from SES 12 at a "fixed price", no? Since the symbol rate would be 45000 already?

I know some backend, IRD box provided is H.264 like you mentioned in the previous post, but I believe Sirius TV can re-encode all channels into HEVC before deliver to viewers via SES 12 satellite, isn't it?
Cuz it would be somewhat a breakthrough to see a new pay TV provider uses only HEVC video codec to deliver its content to viewers.
Because of the bandwidth savings, Sirius TV could have more number of HD channels than SD channels upon launch, which would makes it attractive to viewers... hmm.gif
Just my opinion... notworthy.gif

Oh, how about the audio codec? Which one would Sirius TV plan to use? MP2? AAC-LC? Dolby AC3 or E-AC3?
joshhd
post Feb 6 2021, 05:05 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Feb 5 2021, 11:25 PM)
True....but I have been a member here for much longer time than some people here in other account. Forum Lowyat has been marvellous...

Seems that Sirius TV admin is a long time fan of Lowyat Forum cool2.gif cool2.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
joshhd
post Feb 8 2021, 12:39 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Feb 8 2021, 11:08 AM)
Just wondering....we are looking at opening the Encryption to allow any Decoder box to receive all our channels for 2 months as Siaran Percubaan. Only need to repoint the Ku-Band dish towards SES-12 at 95 deg East. Those who pays RM 299 and the Trial Participant get to watch for free for 12 mths. Any other suggestion ?

Yes. Make all channels in HD quality 😂😂😂😂
And also, be the first satellite TV provider in Malaysia to use 100% HEVC video codec on all channels.

I know bandwidth is not the main concern now, but that's just my suggestion anyway.

As for the channel/content, well, have to wait till you guys start to broadcast the TV channels to SES 12, then only I can comment further.

RM299 for 12 months. So from 13th month onwards, would be RM20 per month or something? Prepaid payment method? Can start and cancel anytime, similar like Netflix?
QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Feb 8 2021, 11:38 AM)
We would like to answer to Joshhd question on why we have not launch our services yet. Apart from the HPA problem at the Uplink , the main problem faced is on the Apparatus Assignment Fees. Under the CMA Act 1998 , all TVRO installed depending on the size of the antenna , will need to pay an AA Fees of average RM 60/120 per year. Measat got an exemption for those using their M-3 satellite and MyTV has got the exemption in 2019 for using Asiasat 9. The exemption are gazetted in the Class Assignment Regulation 2019 and 2020.

If Sirius were to launch now without getting this exemption through the Class Assignment,  Sirius will need to start paying the RM 60 per subscriber per year even though Sirius is not charging Subscription to the customer. We have made application for exemption since last year and has yet to get any decisions. This is the delima we are facing with the Regulator. We hope to get this approval by this month or next. God willing. Why would we want to delay after spending millions for this Pay TV platform. Thats why our second phase will start with our Android Box + S2 + OTT by June 2021. Hope that will answer the question.

My goodness... I find that Malaysia should just waive the AA fees for all local pay satellite TV providers. Cuz you mentioned that only those who uses Measat 91.5E and Asiasat 9 are exempted for the annual fees, this seems to be unfair practice to me, especially to new pay TV startups.

If this were to continue, then Sirius TV would have to separately charge the customer RM60 per year for Apparatus Assignment fee on customer's bill. Just the AA fees, doesn't include the Sirius TV channels packages or whatsoever. Put all the blame to MCMC. If customer ask why, tell them it's MCMC charging it, and the money goes to MCMC, not Sirius TV.
joshhd
post Mar 5 2021, 12:11 AM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Mar 4 2021, 11:57 PM)
Try checking out the website www.siriusmalaysia.tv

Woah... The website has refreshed to a new look now rclxms.gif
Anyway, do inform us if you started the 2 months FTA broadcast on SES 12, and I'll be happy to give some review biggrin.gif
And do list out the frequency, polarity and symbol rate as well 😁
joshhd
post Mar 5 2021, 09:50 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 5 2021, 07:33 PM)
what is the size of sirius satellite dish?

According to Sirius TV website, it uses 60cm size of satellite dish.

Sirius TV I remember previously the website stated that you guys will be using 75cm. Now appears to be 60cm? Could you explain what is the reason behind that change?
joshhd
post Mar 6 2021, 12:43 AM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Mar 6 2021, 12:08 AM)
Hi..with the 3.7m Ku-Band Earth Station in Cyberjaya and the 400w TWTA , the Link Budget Analysis requires 60/65cm dish for West Malaysia +  Indonesia and 70/75 cm dish for East Malaysis/ Kalimantan. Our dish is elliptical in shape,  thus the 60/65cm and the 70/75cm sizes.

Hmm... What if standardise them to 75cm in both West and East Malaysia?
Or do you mean that even if 75cm dish is used for West Malaysia, there won't be any signal improvements at all, compared to 60/65cm dish?
QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Mar 6 2021, 12:10 AM)
We still have the Kementerian Dalam Negeri LPF guideline on the Censorship to adhere to before we can fully transmit our channels fir trials.

The LPF requires to delay the feed by few minutes too? sad.gif

QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Mar 6 2021, 12:14 AM)
For your information...there is no subscription...no contract. After the free 12 mth subscription...you pay on a prepaid/top up basis of RM 20 per mth whenever you want to watch. This will be a Pay-per- view concept.

But..... Is this business model sustainable though?
I mean, how'd you guys ensure able to gain profit to offer more channels in the future?

From consumer point of view, the concept of prepaid basis, start and stop anytime, and no contract, is indeed a plus point.

But how about practicing the similar method as those OTT subscription?
Example let's say Sirius TV from 13th month onwards, if customer is interested, an auto reoccurring option is offered, where RM20/month would deduct automatically through debit/credit card monthly on time.
That way, viewers no need to headache about "forgot to pay", and ensure uninterrupted viewing, and only initiate to cancel the service as per request (whenever you want), similar like Netflix.

Unless if customer prefers other manual payment methods, then can go ahead with topup basis through cash or PIN voucher (e.g. Buy at convenient store or online).

This post has been edited by joshhd: Mar 6 2021, 12:45 AM
joshhd
post Mar 9 2021, 05:09 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Mar 9 2021, 03:41 PM)
This is the umpteenth time that question has been asked on the sustainability of the existing business model which we are not going to share. We have our TopUp/prepaid of RM 20 per mth or RM 200 per year after the12 mths FREE subscription. We are now trying out the broadcast this week.

Okay sorry...
Anyhow, I'll look forward for your good news.
joshhd
post Mar 10 2021, 01:31 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(leftycall9 @ Mar 10 2021, 12:50 AM)
The Outdoor Channel,may I know it's consists of what actually?
Something like Travel & Living style of program?
QUOTE(smileguy @ Mar 10 2021, 08:56 AM)
https://www.outdoorchannel.com/showlisting/77192  its basically abt outdoor hobbies and interest

Yeah. The content of the channel is target towards niche viewers. So not everyone would be interested to that channel, unless you're an outdoor, adventurous type of person...

But in terms of offering "never seen before TV channels", then Outdoor Channel is also a good option...
joshhd
post Mar 10 2021, 03:55 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Mar 10 2021, 03:04 PM)
My memory if  not wrong tells me it was once on hyppotv hmm.gif

Yes you are right.

Years later, Hypp TV (now Unifi TV) ceases that channel, probably due to low viewership.
joshhd
post Mar 11 2021, 01:17 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ Mar 11 2021, 04:47 AM)
The new channel list includes GEM and several SPI international channels.

Ahh nice rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Now we can see a clearer picture on what types of channels they'll be offering biggrin.gif
https://siriusmalaysia.tv/channel-listing/
joshhd
post Mar 11 2021, 05:06 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Mar 11 2021, 02:53 PM)
Doubt , Sirius wl be in HD, hmm.gif
QUOTE(Fazrien97 @ Mar 11 2021, 03:33 PM)
If not mistake i have seen will air in SD. Only limited channls will HD.

Since Sirius TV mentioned before that "bandwidth savings" on the transponders aren't their main concern now, I really think they should just go ahead and launch them in HD quality right away.
Of course, the priority on which channels to be in HD quality would go for those premium channels mentioned.

I mean, Astro has been phasing out its simulcast SD quality channels, and making HD quality channels a norm nowadays.
Even MYTV Broadcasting's digital TV channels has more HD channels than SD channels now.....
If Sirius TV launch all those channels in SD quality, then it's like........ errrr sweat.gif sweat.gif
joshhd
post Mar 11 2021, 05:39 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Mar 11 2021, 05:18 PM)
Oh wow konichiwa! GEM is finally here in Malaysia 🤩🤩

Yeah ikr.... I see a lot of Japanese show fans been suggesting Astro and Unifi TV to offer this channel for many years already, yet until today no news...
And now Sirius TV would to make it happen thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
joshhd
post Mar 12 2021, 12:53 AM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Mar 12 2021, 12:33 AM)
Quite happy to see that! I am quite obsessed with J and K dramas these days.
Still too early to say. Noticeably missing are FTA commercial channels (TV3, 8TV, Awesome TV .etc) and also the entire digital TV offering (except TV Okey on Astro/NJOI) of RTM on all pay platforms.

Hmm, seems like you missed a lot from our previous discussions...
You can start reading from here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=99662796
joshhd
post Mar 15 2021, 01:50 PM

7,792 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Mar 14 2021, 12:59 PM)
I just wondering how the Sirius work after 1 year?
Assuming after 1 year, then I dun wan go for subscriptions RM20/mth..

So is it I cannot watch any single TV channel at all? Coz I dun find which channels under category free channels and which channels are under pay per month channels?

LOL... Don't expect Sirius TV to be like NJOI, can watch certain free TV channels without paying.
If no subscription, then the service will be hard stopped.
joshhd
post Mar 19 2021, 12:21 PM

7,792 posts

Sirius TV Test Broadcast
19 March 2021

Before you read further, do note that I am well aware that Sirius TV broadcasts is still on testing period, so some technical hiccups here and there is expected. Hence, don't expect everything to be perfect just yet.

Here are some technical parameters, if you are interested to know:
Frequency: 12595MHz | Polarity: Horizontal | Symbol rate: 45000
Modulation: DVB-S2 QPSK | FEC: 4/5
Satellite: SES-12 | Orbital Position: 95°E

To be honest, when I was aligning the satellite dish, I kept wonder how come it seems difficult to get good signal readings... Turns out actually, the satellite signal apparently, isn't as strong as I would expect...
C/N (signal-to-noise ratio) of 10.40dB is the very maximum signal strength I can get from my Astro 65cm dish... Signal strength seems "average"? sweat.gif And btw, I'm located in Selangor, Malaysia.
And because of that, I have to be more patient and slow while aligning the dish (If you compare, Astro satellite signals are so much easier to get high signal readings tongue.gif )
It could be due to the satellite coverage footprint itself, so can't really comment much... Perhaps that's the reason they uses QPSK 4/5, to make signal reception more robust to compensate the lower signal strength reception.

TV channels
I perform channel scan earlier, and there's only 3 channels available free-to-air (FTA) now:

user posted image GEM (SD)

user posted image Outdoor Channel (HD)

user posted image TechStorm (HD)

I also noticed that as of the point of writing (19 Mar 2021 morning):
- GEM is not in HD sad.gif And right now there are no subtitle, and no subtitle tracks at all sad.gif And the "SIRIUS TV | TEST TRANSMISSION | SIARAN CUBAAN " indicator looks awful sad.gif
- The date and time info from satellite is inaccurate (Most satellite TV receivers out there tend to sync the date/time info provided from satellite.)
- The actual source of all these 3 channels, are from the same Measat 3 satellite (C band) 🤣 And yeah, there is no EPG data on the channels there.
- The channel names appears the same as what the providers obtain from Measat 3 C band. (Example; "GEM (ENG)") They haven't rename it? hmm.gif Never mind, it gives me the feel of "originality" biggrin.gif
- Whatever subtitle language tracks that Outdoor Channel itself has from Measat 3 C band, Sirius TV has it all too:
Good also la... Can get to see some foreign subtitle languages biggrin.gif

Picture quality
Here are some screenshots on how the original resolution of the actual TV channel look like. Whether it looks good to you or not, I'll let you be the judge:

Bitrate Check
Video Codec and Bitrate details
*click/tap spoiler to reveal
Audio Codec and Bitrates
Tech Storm & Outdoor Channel: MP2 192kbps Stereo
GEM: MP2 96kbps Stereo

Conclusion
Like I said earlier, Sirius TV is in testing phase now, and yeah I do notice that the reception would suddenly blackout for about 1 second or a little pixelation appears occasionally, so I believe they haven't finish testing yet. That is why it is called test transmission 🤣🤣
As you guys know, the Sirius TV launch date was "postponed/delayed" several times since years ago due to many reasons (I believe many stuff happened behind the scene) and some technical hiccups, but still, I believe now we get to see their test broadcasts is indeed a milestone for not just Sirius TV itself, but also the hope for the upcoming second Malaysian satellite pay TV service, which many of us been wanting to see for many years. thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0407sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:27 PM