Laptop for photo editting, any recommendations?

TSlost123
post Jul 31 2019, 05:38 PM, updated 5y ago

1,019 posts

Does anyone have any recommendations for a good laptop for photo editting? I currently use my desktop as my main photo editting device. My existing laptop has a horrible screen therefore can't do any photo editting on the go.

There are a few laptops i am looking at, but based on the price/weight/perfomance ratio, on top of the list at the moment is the Huawei Matebook 13, followed by an older gen Dell XPS 13. Anyone have any experience with laptops which cost below RM4.5k which are suitable for photo editting? Would be nice to get some input on this.
kelwin2504
post Aug 3 2019, 01:51 PM

193 posts

MacBook Pro 13’ latest 👍🏼
mastering89
post Aug 3 2019, 03:15 PM

miao miao
2,545 posts

i'd suggest the latest MBP too.
or maybe surface pro?
TSlost123
post Aug 3 2019, 09:57 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(kelwin2504 @ Aug 3 2019, 01:51 PM)
MacBook Pro 13’ latest 👍🏼
I wish i could afford it, but thats beyond my budget
TSlost123
post Aug 3 2019, 10:06 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Aug 3 2019, 03:15 PM)
i'd suggest the latest MBP too.
or maybe surface pro?
Would love a MBP, but cant afford it. For the surface pro, im not a big fan of the kick stand and the keyboard and plus, the pricing locally doesn't seem very fair. Any other recommendations? MBP always seems to be the recommended laptop, how i wish the pricing wasn't so cutthroat.
mastering89
post Aug 4 2019, 08:09 AM

miao miao
2,545 posts

QUOTE(lost123 @ Aug 3 2019, 10:06 PM)
Would love a MBP, but cant afford it. For the surface pro, im not a big fan of the kick stand and the keyboard and plus, the pricing locally doesn't seem very fair. Any other recommendations? MBP always seems to be the recommended laptop, how i wish the pricing wasn't so cutthroat.
true.
i personally own a 13inch 2018 mbp before, sold it due to underutilize.
bought a surface go.
really underpowered but very portable like tablet with full detachable keyboard. with the surface pen , really makes it worth it.
i too wont spend the price of surface pro.

huawei matebook / pro was my next option
but decide to buy sueface go due to points above & dont need the extra power.
i was looking for thin & light < 1.3kg option then.

TSlost123
post Aug 6 2019, 01:26 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Aug 4 2019, 08:09 AM)
true.
i personally own a 13inch 2018 mbp before, sold it due to underutilize.
bought a surface go.
really underpowered but very portable like tablet with full detachable keyboard. with the surface pen , really makes it worth it.
i too wont spend the price of surface pro.

huawei matebook / pro was my next option
but decide to buy sueface go due to points above & dont need the extra power.
i was looking for thin & light < 1.3kg option then.
Yeah, Huawei matebook 13/ xpro is currently top of the list at the moment due to its weight and screen. I wish the surface go is enough for my use, but sadly its too underpowered.

Oh am also considering the hp envy 13. However, the screen isn't as nice with a lower srgb coverage, less accurate and lower res screen. Not sure whether it's worth the trade off.
Escaflowne
post Aug 11 2019, 02:15 AM

279 posts

I'm using an xps 13 for most of my editing
TSlost123
post Aug 13 2019, 01:02 AM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(thomas910 @ Aug 12 2019, 09:05 PM)
First You should mention here what you need laptop configuration for photo editing.

If possible you may change the some devices.
Essentially, the screen is the most important. One that has at least 95% SRGB and good colour accuracy, or at least one that can be colour calibrated. I have used some badly colour calibrated screens before, and i ended up having to reedit them because they were all off. Next would be a minimum RAM of 8GB. I can survive with 8GB running photoshop and lightroom, but running them simultaneously while having my browser opened will normally bog down the system, therefore, 16gb is preferable, but if there isnt a viable option at 16gb, I can suck it up and settle for 8GB. Screen size, would be minimum 13" and max 14" and weight would be nice to be 1.5kg and below.

Based on the laptops ive surveyed around, my options are quite limited, especially considering my budget of rm4.5k. So far most people use either the macbook, or a dell XPS device for their photo editting on the go. Unfortunately, both are beyond my budget thats why I decided to ask around to see whether there are other options I can consider.
TSlost123
post Aug 13 2019, 01:03 AM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(Escaflowne @ Aug 11 2019, 02:15 AM)
I'm using an xps 13 for most of my editing
Nice, i really like the XPS 13, but its pricing is really steep. Nonetheless it is one heck of a device tho.
goldfries
post Aug 13 2019, 02:00 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

Do have a look at MSI's Prestige models.

My Photo Editing notebook is an Acer Swift 5, very light weight but the IPS screen isn't that good but within my tolerance.

My photos output are almost always spot on for everything so very little edit is involved. If ever I do edit it's for exposure purpose as sometimes in semi-auto mode the camera compensates not to my liking but again it's within the acceptable margin and after all there's the histogram.
TSlost123
post Aug 13 2019, 10:12 AM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 13 2019, 02:00 AM)

My Photo Editing notebook is an Acer Swift 5, very light weight but the IPS screen isn't that good but within my tolerance.

My photos output are almost always spot on for everything so very little edit is involved. If ever I do edit it's for exposure purpose as sometimes in semi-auto mode the camera compensates not to my liking but again it's within the acceptable margin and after all there's the histogram.
Thanks for the idea, ill go check out the MSI prestige lineup.

Btw, your current laptop is running on 8gb or 16gb of ram? U think 8GB of ram is suffice?
Snoopycute98
post Aug 15 2019, 11:43 AM

299 posts

I am using MSI PS42, i5 8250U + MX150.

Color accuracy quite accurate and nice.
I always double check with my smartphone(S10+) as it provides more accurate color.

SRGB 100%, DeltaE 1.00

https://www.notebookcheck.net/MSI-PS42-8RB-...oc-connectivity

This post has been edited by Snoopycute98: Aug 15 2019, 11:43 AM
TSlost123
post Aug 15 2019, 04:44 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Aug 15 2019, 11:43 AM)
I am using MSI PS42, i5 8250U + MX150.

Color accuracy quite accurate and nice.
I always double check with my smartphone(S10+) as it provides more accurate color.

SRGB 100%, DeltaE 1.00

https://www.notebookcheck.net/MSI-PS42-8RB-...oc-connectivity
Oh damn, such a good DeltaE for a laptop screen. I actually saw this in a shop recently, heavily considered it. But I just settled on the Matebook 13 because I really didnt like the built of the PS42, felt rather flimsy with quite a bit of flex. Now im second guessing myself whether i should have gone for the MSI instead... hmmmmm...

update: i just saw that the PS42 has a 16gb model, now heavily second guessing my purchase. bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by lost123: Aug 15 2019, 04:56 PM
Snoopycute98
post Aug 15 2019, 06:03 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(lost123 @ Aug 15 2019, 04:44 PM)
Oh damn, such a good DeltaE for a laptop screen. I actually saw this in a shop recently, heavily considered it. But I just settled on the Matebook 13 because I really didnt like the built of the PS42, felt rather flimsy with quite a bit of flex. Now im second guessing myself whether i should have gone for the MSI instead... hmmmmm...

update: i just saw that the PS42 has a 16gb model, now heavily second guessing my purchase.  bangwall.gif
Ya the chassis is a bit flimsy and plasticy feel.

The msi also will create a streak of line at lcd due to pressure towards the lcd from the chassis when put in bag, with many other stuffs. Need to use carefully

No soldered ram or ssd. Can self upgrade later.
Snoopycute98
post Aug 15 2019, 06:20 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 13 2019, 02:00 AM)

Edit : i tot is swift3, see wrongly paiseh

This post has been edited by Snoopycute98: Aug 15 2019, 07:40 PM
Tanakwagu_noh
post Aug 26 2019, 02:19 PM

Photographer
866 posts

macbook pro 2012 model

0.0130sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 11:06 PM